HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea London Hostel

111 Grosvenor Road, Pimlico, London, England

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 93%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 93%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 86%

Showing 81-63 of 63 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff are fantastic, they make you feel very welcome. Rooms have secure lockers and there are security measures to get into the dorms and room, always felt very safe. Free breakfast was great, the best omelettes I've ever eaten! Good selection of juice, cereal, toast, yoghurt etc. Central location, 20 minute walk to Big Ben/Parliament Square/London Eye or straight bus outside hostel to all main attractions. I will definitely be staying here again.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: An ancient pub with caractere, a friendly and helpful staff, bathrooms in the rooms, great breakfast, concerts on Friday, terraces.. Everything is done to make you feel welcome, to relax, and to enjoy your stay.During my stay in London I tried a few hostels with 80 something grades. If you look for a warm place, not an usine for drunk teenagers trying to rip you off, this is your choice.

Disliked: With this much style in the common area, rooms could gain from more elaborated paintings and decoration.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was the first hostel we have ever stayed in and we found it outstanding! The staff were extremely helpful and went above and beyond to help us out when we needed advice. They also let us use their phone. The breakfast is great; cereal, toast, omelettes and pancakes! For free! The wifi is excellent in the common area and in the rooms. Free soft drinks, juice and tea and coffee at the Bar anytime you like. We felt really safe and welcomed. Not really a party hostel, but you can book pub crawls from the staff.

Disliked: You could feel the springs in the mattress, but I stil slept fine.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Excellent amenities and location was perfect. Very good value for money, and loved the live music downstairs in the pub.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: This hostel lives up to its name: great atmosphere, it's on the river Thames at a very nice area with friendly staff. very good showers and basin in rooms.they also give you a free towel.

Disliked: small room. not much space for luggage.Dirty and untidy beds

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really like this place. I've stayed here before about a year ago (the manager recognized me!) and I'm glad I came back. The free breakfast is excellent - a huge step above the regular toast & cereal, adding hard boiled eggs and fresh prepared omelets. There's a mini-fridge and microwave to use. The rooms are nice and have free lockers (with your own lock,) free (non-alcoholic) drinks all day, great staff, good wifi (with one caveat, read below,) staff play good music in the pub downstairs, and it's well-connected via public transport. The beds have a curtain, which is nice for privacy and sleep quality. Free towel, and the showers are good (they have adjustable temperature and stay on without having to push a button every 10 seconds.)

Disliked: It's not in a great location, but it is well connected via a bus just outside the hostel or if you're willing to walk. The wifi wouldn't let me fetch mail on my iPhone, which is weird, but allowed everything else and was reasonably quick. The hostel is above a pub - the norm for London it seems, which is fine but it closes at midnight, meaning there's no common area after 12 - you have to go to bed or leave the place. The rooms (at least mine) lacked power outlets - pretty normal for an older place like this. No kitchen but a microwave and mini fridge, which is more than most places without kitchens can say. A few negatives among a load of positives. Stay here.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good bar, fun weekend nights, friendly atmosphere to meet people. Awesome breakfast.

Disliked: Room size was small, but I guess that's typical for London. Lockers could be a bit more sturdy as my one couldn't handle the weight of the bag on top, so it was quite a mission to lock my locker. 3 sets of door pins to keep with you, so it takes a while to get into your room after a late night.But the good parts about the hostel more than outweigh these minor issues.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: - free wifi- free soft drinks- location

Disliked: nothing really, we had a good stay

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: free soft drinks and juices

Disliked: the bar was a bit isolating -- perhaps because of the arrangement of couches and chairs... Shower did not have warm water in the morning...

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great to have free drinks provided anytime. Stuff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There are few shower rooms and toilets. Not very clean in the common area.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability