HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels

Hostel | The King William IV, 111 Grosvenor Road, London, England SW1V 3LG

93.1% Overall Rating

473 out of 507 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

DOYOUNG KIM thinks…

"Staffs are so bubbly, kind, so helpful anytime. Breakfast also great especially smoothie is so good, omelet is randomly good. There are so many free offers in the pub (drinks/sweets/tea/coffee/etc)…"

Read all Travel Joy Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

FRESH @ The White Ferry, Victoria
18.42 USD

Hostel 76.0% 730 reviews
Caswell Hotel
33.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.9% 5 reviews
Melita House Hotel
75.44 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
54.48 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.9% 23 reviews
Astor Victoria
35.21 USD

Hostel 80.5% 1569 reviews
Vegas Hotel
31.68 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 26 reviews
Surtees Hotel
44.71 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Golden Star Hotel
41.88 USD

Hostel 51.7% 121 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.1%

Overall Rating

473 out of 507 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Joy Hostels'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 372 of 487 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Sole Favetti

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 August 2011 Maria Sole would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is nice and clean, there is a good pub with music on weekends, and you can eat delicious Thai and British food . The location is good, quite but not far away from Victoria station and the city centre. I chose it because of the 24 bus stop right in front of the hostel, it is really useful. The general vibe is really good.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is so great, they did me a special favor and let me sleep in the lenin room becuase all of London was sold out. Big thanks to the Travel Joy staff. Also great location very close to the awesome Sloane Square and VA museum, magnificiant!

Disliked: flawless.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margot Van Den Biesen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Margot would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived we could settle down immediatly and we got a free drink. The staff was very helpfull and there was a pleasant atmosphere. I loved our stay there! We could get everywhere very easily with the tube and the bus. that bus drove 24 hours long. It was fantastic! I would recommend this hostel to everyone.

Disliked: The showers were too soft, it was hard to get all of the shampoo out of my hair.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free (non-alcoholic) drinks in the pub downstairs. Free on the counter next to the check in (in the pub). Free wifi in the pub downstairs. Friendly staff. Linen, towels, etc. included. Lockers in the rooms (although only 6 in a 10-bed room. but there's more in the hallway, and I never had a problem with not having a place to keep my things) Quite affordable considering it's in London. Great location. You can get most places on the 24 bus which stops right outside, and the tube station is only a 10 minute walk, if that. Quiet, safe neighborhood. Enough showers and toilets. Toilet paper etc. Consistently stocked with soap, toilet paper, etc. Towel/mats on the floor outside the showers. Free ear plugs in a dispenser in the hallway.

Disliked: Room 6 is pretty cramped. It's hard to get in and out without bumping the beds near the door. After staying there for five nights, room 8 seemed palatial despite having the same number of beds. (These were the two 10-bed female-only dorms). I did have to move once (though I was here for a week, so only one move is pretty good). The beds are a bit creaky, so it's hard to come in quietly after people are asleep, especially when on the top bunk. One of the shower doors didn't latch (but there are curtains between the door and the shower, so it's not too bad). One of the showers was only hand-held, since the thing to put it in on the wall was broken (I did find a way to get it up while rinsing my hair, but it was kind of tricky). It was loud one evening (I think Friday) because of music in the pub. Normally, though, you couldn't hear the pub from the rooms. And even that night it stopped being loud at 11 or so. Once one of the staff who came in to show someone to their bed turned on the light even though we were already asleep. Normally, though, they try to be quiet and don't turn on lights.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHUN KHAN LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011 CHUN KHAN would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean. well done! recommend for the backpackers, as the bus no.24 can reach most of the tourist spot and it is 24 hours operating!

Disliked: limited shower and WC. but understandable with a dorm type. not 24 hours online service, but still acceptable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel, great staff always willing to help you out with whatever you need, will be recommending all my friends from home stay here when they visit

Disliked: not alot to dislike, has its own thai kictchen great food, cheap beers and a great feel about the place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great experience!

Disliked: everything is fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quality of Staff. Cleanliness. Price. location.

Disliked: It seems a bit isolated at dark, rainy nights.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kathrine Dela

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Kathrine would recommend this property

Liked: Love how friendly and helpful the staff is -especially John who is the Director. Also offers a decent breakfast and it's nice that they offer free (non-alcoholic) drinks. The 24 bus also stops right in front which is convenient.

Disliked: In a fairly quiet area, so not much happening in the neighborhood.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Md Redzuan Zoolfakar

Alone

City break

04 July 2011 Md Redzuan would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nil

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sonja Rehme

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very friendly. Each day you get a free drink

Disliked: Rooms far too small. Had problems getting in my bed, had to squeeze myself through the ladder and the bed post

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011

Liked: Free drink definitely is a good thing, but the bar closes too early (like 12AM/1AM) so you can't take too much advantage from it.

Disliked: The lower deck bed provides incredibly small space. You will be very likely to hurt your head when you get up (or head up). I can't see the reason why they set it so slow...maybe that prevents us from staying in the room too long, thus lowering housekeeping cost.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, they couldn't help enough. Good services too.

Disliked: Location.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Orsolya Szommer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Orsolya would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff providing map and direction to where we want to go. Close to any major attraction from the Northern part of Thames: Victoria station 15 mins, Trafalgar square 35-40 mins by foot. Food is great. There is a pool table and football table in the bar.

Disliked: Bar closes early: 11.00pm 12.00pm. Rooms are quite crowded.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

edward phipps

Alone

Events / festivals

25 June 2011 edward would recommend this property

Liked: location was excellent-right across from battersea power station-a good landmark if u get lost,staff were very friendly and helpful and a really nice vibe going on

Disliked: nothing whatsoever-it was 100 per cent awesome

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived after midnight at the hostel, the staff gave me the code through e-mail, so that I could enter the hostel safe and sound.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The service

Disliked: The location

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price, possibility to stay 1 night only

Disliked: breakfast, 6 beds in 8 square meters;) everything is possible

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011

Liked: Nice location, good breakfast, some members of the staff were very helpful and friendly (e.g. Anik), good pub with a food for a decent price...

Disliked: Bathrooms are not very clean, 10 beds female dorm where we stayed was too small for that capacity...I had a bottom bed and it was blocked but two other bunk beds...I asked a member of staff to change it because I use the toilets during the night and it was impossible to get in or out of bed without disturbing a person from the bottom bed next to you...He was helpful so I spent first night in the top bed. The next day their manager called and rudely asked how I could have changed the bed without asking. After I had explained the situation, he apologized and offered a free meal, but I was obliged to go back to that blocked bed. I was really disturbed with this.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

damian mccallion

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 damian would recommend this property

Liked: the bar gives free non-alcholic drinks and the free internet is great

Disliked: internet reception in the bedrooms was very poor...best to use in the main bar area.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good prices in a easy to get to city location, staff were very helpful and where trying to help me with everything i asked,normal beer prices,free refreshment drinks unlimited. I will get back there for sure.greetings from Theo,Greece

Disliked: could be more fun,lack of socializing events,could have also happy hour some time during the day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: people who work there were very kind and helpful, and the atmosphere was very good!!!

Disliked: it wasn´t too close from the center

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2011

Liked: Nothing really although the staff were nice enough to check us in over the phone as we did not arrive until 1am

Disliked: The bathroom was quite dirty and at one stage there was no hot water. No apology or notice of this was given even when I asked about it at reception. The pub closed quite early and was mot very happening anyways.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap accomodation in a good spot , free soft-drinks and tea/coffee all day, good enough breakfast, friendly and welcoming staff, very comfortable beds, rent-a-bike-terminal and (night-)bus-stop (to all centrical destinations) within 100 metres and Victoria Station not far.

Disliked: There was no live music in the bar the weekend when I was there


See all London hostels
See all London hotels