HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea London Hostel

111 Grosvenor Road, Pimlico, London, England

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 91%

Location 89%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 91%

Location 89%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 85%

Showing 81-71 of 71 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was the first hostel we have ever stayed in and we found it outstanding! The staff were extremely helpful and went above and beyond to help us out when we needed advice. They also let us use their phone. The breakfast is great; cereal, toast, omelettes and pancakes! For free! The wifi is excellent in the common area and in the rooms. Free soft drinks, juice and tea and coffee at the Bar anytime you like. We felt really safe and welcomed. Not really a party hostel, but you can book pub crawls from the staff.

Disliked: You could feel the springs in the mattress, but I stil slept fine.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Excellent amenities and location was perfect. Very good value for money, and loved the live music downstairs in the pub.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: This hostel lives up to its name: great atmosphere, it's on the river Thames at a very nice area with friendly staff. very good showers and basin in rooms.they also give you a free towel.

Disliked: small room. not much space for luggage.Dirty and untidy beds

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really like this place. I've stayed here before about a year ago (the manager recognized me!) and I'm glad I came back. The free breakfast is excellent - a huge step above the regular toast & cereal, adding hard boiled eggs and fresh prepared omelets. There's a mini-fridge and microwave to use. The rooms are nice and have free lockers (with your own lock,) free (non-alcoholic) drinks all day, great staff, good wifi (with one caveat, read below,) staff play good music in the pub downstairs, and it's well-connected via public transport. The beds have a curtain, which is nice for privacy and sleep quality. Free towel, and the showers are good (they have adjustable temperature and stay on without having to push a button every 10 seconds.)

Disliked: It's not in a great location, but it is well connected via a bus just outside the hostel or if you're willing to walk. The wifi wouldn't let me fetch mail on my iPhone, which is weird, but allowed everything else and was reasonably quick. The hostel is above a pub - the norm for London it seems, which is fine but it closes at midnight, meaning there's no common area after 12 - you have to go to bed or leave the place. The rooms (at least mine) lacked power outlets - pretty normal for an older place like this. No kitchen but a microwave and mini fridge, which is more than most places without kitchens can say. A few negatives among a load of positives. Stay here.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good bar, fun weekend nights, friendly atmosphere to meet people. Awesome breakfast.

Disliked: Room size was small, but I guess that's typical for London. Lockers could be a bit more sturdy as my one couldn't handle the weight of the bag on top, so it was quite a mission to lock my locker. 3 sets of door pins to keep with you, so it takes a while to get into your room after a late night.But the good parts about the hostel more than outweigh these minor issues.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: - free wifi- free soft drinks- location

Disliked: nothing really, we had a good stay

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: free soft drinks and juices

Disliked: the bar was a bit isolating -- perhaps because of the arrangement of couches and chairs... Shower did not have warm water in the morning...

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great to have free drinks provided anytime. Stuff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There are few shower rooms and toilets. Not very clean in the common area.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: A lovely area, ideal transport, nice relaxed atmosphere, very English. Great staff. The pub is cosy to hang around. Good service with food and drinks.

Disliked: The bunk beds. Was a bit sleeping like in a doubledecker bus shaking easily by another sleeper. Cold in the room but fortunately managed to have an extra blanket. In the dorm relatively little space to lockers there's always someone at the same time. The shower room upstairs icy with a broken window. No toilet in the room only a shower with low pressure water.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Nice pub, good atmosphere and good food availability.

Disliked: Unclear bunk assignments in shared rooms. Came back to find someone else sleeping in my bunk on several occasions.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability