We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels

Hostel | The King William IV, 111 Grosvenor Road, London, England SW1V 3LG

89.8% Overall Rating

495 out of 530 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2015)

Ingigerdur Osk Gunnarsdottir thinks…

"It was full of character, looks like a pub from the outside. Inside, the dining/lounge area is really spacious. The 6-bed dorm we stayed in was very clean, had a balcony and best of all, two seperate…"

Read all Travel Joy Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

PubLove @ The White Ferry, Victoria
16.43 USD

Hostel 80.3% 782 reviews
Caswell Hotel
26.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.3% 10 reviews
Melita House Hotel
67.29 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
747.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Astor Victoria
28.41 USD

Hostel 81.4% 1574 reviews
Vegas Hotel
33.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.2% 31 reviews
Surtees Hotel
42.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.8% 3 reviews
Golden Star Hotel
18.66 USD

Hostel 47.7% 218 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

495 out of 530 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Joy Hostels'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 385 of 508 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff! Good location (in front of the river) and free beverages!

Disliked: The room was way too small..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are friendly

Disliked: -One of the staffs doesn´t seem to know how many days am I staying, nor does he know when should I move to another room even though it´s written clearly on the pc. -Plenty of steps, so not suitable for those with big luggage.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nory Holle

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 March 2012 Nory would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice hostel. Friendly staff, free breakfast and wifi and the free drinking all day long was also a big plus. Hot showers, and fairly clean. You can relax downstairs at the pub, where there are mostly hostelguests. The rooms were ok, I stayed in a mixed 8 people room. It had also a balcony, wich seems great in the summer.

Disliked: Nory left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoy my stay, the complimentary ear plugs are a big plus. Great value for the money, close to Pimlico statikon, the 24hr bus drop you off close to the hostel (like a 1 min walk). Would certainly stay there again.

Disliked: The bathroom did get a bit mucky one night but it was mainly water from the showers. The rooms are a bit small but since you're only in the room to sleep it's fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nathalie Schluchter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, helpful, welcoming and almost everybody speaks french, moreover than english of course!!! The location is not too bad and it's situated just next to the Thames River.

Disliked: Nathalie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Athanasopoulos

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing! So friendly and extremely helpful. We had a great experience with a staff member named Hubert. He was especially helpful and nice. Public transport will take you anywhere in London in less than 20 minutes from this hostel. Great stay. Bedrooms are good.

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked just about ever think about this property. The common area is large and drinks are included in the price of your stay. Breakfast is great, and the Spanish/Japanese girl that checked us in was really friendly, helpful and made us feel really welcome and at home right from the get-go. The WiFi worked great and the complimentary towels were definitely a plus. You guys are a really great hostel, please keep it up. Luke

Disliked: The lounge area closes at 11, which can be a bummer because there isnt anywhere else that you can really hang out, other than in the dorms, where people are usually already sleeping by that time.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012

Liked: the stuff were really help full with helping me get around the city...

Disliked: the size of the room for 12 bed is far to small....

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub is nice and the stuff is really friendly.

Disliked: Some sinks had broken down and the toilets were a bit dirty

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mila Petrova

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 December 2011 Mila would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in good location (although having views in a London ho(s)tel matters so little - you just don't stay in your accommodation). The bar is cosy and inviting, I wish I had more time in the morning just to stay there and read, looking out on the Thames. The sheets were pure white cotton and immaculately ironed. The staff were friendly and somehow caring and personal. I am just not in the habit of going back to the same hostel, but would recommend this one to others.

Disliked: The location is good, but is relatively far from the city centre if you want to get there walking. Yet bus services are close and convenient and the tube is not too far either. I arrived quite late so it may not be very representative, but the bathrooms were somewhat messy. Reception closes around midnight and I had a previous experience of having booked in this hostel and being unable to stay after much knocking on their door (my phone was down). Just keep it in mind if you are arriving late as it is not much fun (or hysterically hilarious)!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Olga Martynova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 December 2011 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: Quite nice place, liked the pub downstairs. Breakfast insluded - great bonus!

Disliked: The rooms are too tiny for such amount of people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Ng

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly members of the staff, complimentary drinks, the clean and spacious bathrooms, and the location

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

huijeong yang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2011 huijeong would recommend this property

Liked: So kind staffs. so nice night view. if you know where is bus stop(no. 24), everything is perfect.

Disliked: Hostel fee is different. I think it's just web site error. I was so upset when I have to pay more. And little problem was bus stop. I didn't know where is no.24 bus stop at victoria station, that's why I was walking with heavy bag. T.T

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Collantes

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 November 2011 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, I couldn't find anything to complain about.

Disliked: That you have to buy an electric plugg adapter instead of just borrowing them. :(

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Georgi Farfarov

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011

Liked: лоцатион

Disliked: too less space in the room, very tight, too much beds.......

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evgeniya Makarova

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2011 Evgeniya would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location, services were great, I'd recommend this hostel for everyone. There is a bus stop just one meter from the front door and it takes only 10-15 min to get to Trafalgar Square. Free breakfast, wi-fi and very nice building with a terrace.. Everything was fine, really. I'll stay there again for sure

Disliked: Bathrooms were not very new and my room (#6) wasn't big, but everything was clean and simple

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANNA ZENONOS

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 ANNA would recommend this property

Liked: VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFULL STAFF, FREE COLD DRINKS ALL DAY, COMFORTABLE BEDS, BEAUTIFUL LOCATION BY RIVER THAMES IN A GOOD LONDON AREA

Disliked: A LOT OF STAIRS

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff,very helpful. Great showers.

Disliked: matresses are a bit lumpy,foam would be better.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and pub.

Disliked: Bathrooms not cleand every day and some of the stuff are not speaking english.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet area within walking distance to underground, yet still safe outside at night

Disliked: No common kitchen for hostellers to use, too many beds in one room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oyeniyi Lawal

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2011 Oyeniyi would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my brief stay in the hostel especially the atmosphere in the bar where there is a pool table and free drinks. The free Wi fi was also a plus coupled with the Thai restaurant. As an African I was worried if I was going to get food that suits my taste but I wasn't disappointed. I liked the clean towels and bathrooms which were en-suite and the staff were highly courteous!

Disliked: The lockers ought to be provided with padlocks

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything a hostel could need.

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jorge Stegmann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: Generally good

Disliked: I got a room too small for 12 people

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2011

Liked: Nice atmosphere

Disliked: It is quite a distance from the tube


See all London hostels
See all London hotels