HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels

Hostel | The King William IV, 111 Grosvenor Road, London, England SW1V 3LG

93.0% Overall Rating

474 out of 508 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

DOYOUNG KIM thinks…

"Staffs are so bubbly, kind, so helpful anytime. Breakfast also great especially smoothie is so good, omelet is randomly good. There are so many free offers in the pub (drinks/sweets/tea/coffee/etc)…"

Read all Travel Joy Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

FRESH @ The White Ferry, Victoria
18.48 USD

Hostel 76.0% 730 reviews
Caswell Hotel
31.52 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.9% 5 reviews
Melita House Hotel
75.66 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
54.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.9% 23 reviews
Astor Victoria
35.31 USD

Hostel 80.5% 1569 reviews
Vegas Hotel
30.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 26 reviews
Surtees Hotel
44.84 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Golden Star Hotel
42.00 USD

Hostel 52.9% 122 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

474 out of 508 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Joy Hostels'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 372 of 487 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very friendly. cleanliness. very reliable wi-fi. relaxed atmosphere. drinks included. towels included.

Disliked: a bit noisy because of main road but at the hostel they make their possible to make your stay enjoyable and they provide free earplugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: las instalaciones y todo lo que incluye

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Very helpful staff. Free drinks all day. Linen, towel and breakfast included.

Disliked: Typical breakfast - boring bread and some cornflakes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly. The sheets, towels etc were clean. It is a ten minute walk from the underground but thats was not a big deal, especially considering the cheap price. I appreciated the unlimited free soft drinks/tea/coffee throughout the stay. The atmosphere in general was great.

Disliked: The showers were not the best. The one I used was warm but the water only dribbled out some of the time. However, in general the hostel was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and soft drinks, clean rooms, nice bathrooms, very helpful staff.

Disliked: Beds were very squeaky

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i thought it was a good location. some other people were complaining about the distance of the hostel from the "closest" metro station, but they must've been walking the wrong way, because i thought it was fine. the rooms were clean enough, linen and towel provided. i liked the bar downstairs too and it wasn't too noisy.

Disliked: although some of the staff were great, some were not entirely friendly. also sometimes they weren't available at the counter. the fact that the hostel itself closes overnight seems a bit strange to me, as when i was leaving at 3 am there was a young man waiting outside with his luggage and didn't know where else to go (although he surely could've researched this beforehand) the shower situation was not ideal, but if you lucked out and the private shower and toilet was free, that was good. but it was pretty untidy, i wouldn't say dirty, but the tiny garbages get filled very quickly. overall it was fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were so nice. they offer free drinks all day, there's wifi and the hostel is clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Richards

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 May 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The free drinks and towels were a nice touch.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patricia Caballero Molina

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 May 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: They are quite eassy going. We arrived before check in time but they took our bags, checked us in and gave us all the info that we need it. The location is quite handy. It´s very close to Victory and also is a nice walk to the city by the river bank. There is also a good range for public transport and the night bus 24 leaves you nearly at the door if you dont want to get a taxi on a night out! (that was very to us) Breakfast is nice and simple. Muesly, cornflakes, coffee, tea, toast, jam, butter, boiled eggs and you can help you as much as you can. We went down to for it at 10 am and the plates/trays were a bit empty however the stuff refilled the toasts, eggs and coffee. We were very lucky because we meet some people that had stayed the previous night and new a bit of the night life and we ended up going out with them. It was quite fun, althought the hostel stuff were very helpfull and new a lot of places to go. They also sold pubcrawl tickets and Ministry of sound tickets.

Disliked: Bed linnen, not all the stains came out and pillows and duvets were quite worne out and stained. Beds were quite confortable but if you stay in a 12beds room, tray to change top bed for the botton bed, or you will feel like taken a sea trip everytine the person sleeping bellow moves. Only been picky I could say that the stuff maybe was a bit slow when serving/helping and they where a bit impatient at paying time, making feel like you were going to run away without paying. The atmosphere was quite quiet, travellers resting. Music wise (only U2) and the night that we stayed there was a cellebration (communion cellebration) so having kids running around didn´t go very well with partying mood. Althought we didn´t mind.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a clean, basic but fully adequate, place. The breakfast is appropriated. The downstairs pub is a great place to meet people.

Disliked: The bunk beds are a bit shaky. One locker per bed in the dorms would be good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ioana Ionescu

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 May 2012 Ioana would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great. Even if I stayed only for night, I made myself a friend from the second I arrived. The stuff was very friendly and helpful. Security was not a problem at all: It s a safe place and a safe area. I think the price really justifies, since the rooms are very clean, and the bathrooms look nice, new and spacious. I guess there enough shower cabins, since I never qued. So it is a very nice and cosy place, I will stay there again.

Disliked: It s not that near to Victoria actually. About 15- 20 min of fast walking and 15 min from Pimlico station as well. Honestly, it s just a small matter, because the hostel is very nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Panward Prasongpholchai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2012 Panward would recommend this property

Liked: Super best...you all must try this hostel....bestest of all hostels I stayed in London

Disliked: Panward left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff! Good location (in front of the river) and free beverages!

Disliked: The room was way too small..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are friendly

Disliked: -One of the staffs doesn´t seem to know how many days am I staying, nor does he know when should I move to another room even though it´s written clearly on the pc. -Plenty of steps, so not suitable for those with big luggage.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nory Holle

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 March 2012 Nory would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice hostel. Friendly staff, free breakfast and wifi and the free drinking all day long was also a big plus. Hot showers, and fairly clean. You can relax downstairs at the pub, where there are mostly hostelguests. The rooms were ok, I stayed in a mixed 8 people room. It had also a balcony, wich seems great in the summer.

Disliked: Nory left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoy my stay, the complimentary ear plugs are a big plus. Great value for the money, close to Pimlico statikon, the 24hr bus drop you off close to the hostel (like a 1 min walk). Would certainly stay there again.

Disliked: The bathroom did get a bit mucky one night but it was mainly water from the showers. The rooms are a bit small but since you're only in the room to sleep it's fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nathalie Schluchter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, helpful, welcoming and almost everybody speaks french, moreover than english of course!!! The location is not too bad and it's situated just next to the Thames River.

Disliked: Nathalie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Athanasopoulos

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing! So friendly and extremely helpful. We had a great experience with a staff member named Hubert. He was especially helpful and nice. Public transport will take you anywhere in London in less than 20 minutes from this hostel. Great stay. Bedrooms are good.

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked just about ever think about this property. The common area is large and drinks are included in the price of your stay. Breakfast is great, and the Spanish/Japanese girl that checked us in was really friendly, helpful and made us feel really welcome and at home right from the get-go. The WiFi worked great and the complimentary towels were definitely a plus. You guys are a really great hostel, please keep it up. Luke

Disliked: The lounge area closes at 11, which can be a bummer because there isnt anywhere else that you can really hang out, other than in the dorms, where people are usually already sleeping by that time.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012

Liked: the stuff were really help full with helping me get around the city...

Disliked: the size of the room for 12 bed is far to small....

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub is nice and the stuff is really friendly.

Disliked: Some sinks had broken down and the toilets were a bit dirty

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mila Petrova

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 December 2011 Mila would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in good location (although having views in a London ho(s)tel matters so little - you just don't stay in your accommodation). The bar is cosy and inviting, I wish I had more time in the morning just to stay there and read, looking out on the Thames. The sheets were pure white cotton and immaculately ironed. The staff were friendly and somehow caring and personal. I am just not in the habit of going back to the same hostel, but would recommend this one to others.

Disliked: The location is good, but is relatively far from the city centre if you want to get there walking. Yet bus services are close and convenient and the tube is not too far either. I arrived quite late so it may not be very representative, but the bathrooms were somewhat messy. Reception closes around midnight and I had a previous experience of having booked in this hostel and being unable to stay after much knocking on their door (my phone was down). Just keep it in mind if you are arriving late as it is not much fun (or hysterically hilarious)!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Olga Martynova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 December 2011 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: Quite nice place, liked the pub downstairs. Breakfast insluded - great bonus!

Disliked: The rooms are too tiny for such amount of people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Ng

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly members of the staff, complimentary drinks, the clean and spacious bathrooms, and the location

Disliked: Nothing


See all London hostels
See all London hotels