HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels

Hostel | The King William IV, 111 Grosvenor Road, London, England SW1V 3LG

88.6% Overall Rating

485 out of 520 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

"The staff is very nice and helpful, everything is well organized, the location is perfect, the rooms are clean, very nice bar downstairs"

Read all Travel Joy Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

FRESH @ The White Ferry, Victoria
30.82 USD

Hostel 81.1% 766 reviews
Caswell Hotel
44.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 8 reviews
Melita House Hotel
73.03 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
50.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Astor Victoria
30.83 USD

Hostel 81.0% 1572 reviews
Vegas Hotel
47.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.2% 30 reviews
Surtees Hotel
43.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.8% 3 reviews
Golden Star Hotel
32.39 USD

Hostel 52.3% 190 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

485 out of 520 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Joy Hostels'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 379 of 498 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a clean and nice atmosphere in the bar downstairs. The staff were generally friendly, and helpful. Sheets and bathrooms were well kept and in general it felt like the place was well cared for!

Disliked: Unfortunately there was a break in and I had some things stolen, so I recommend using the lockers in the lobby and not in the rooms (for things more than clothes) and just to keep and eye out. They were very helpful with everything afterwards, and although the situation was unfortunate the hostel was not so much to blame.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ATMOSPHERE LOCATION

Disliked: THE CLEANING OF THE ROOMS AND THE BEDS

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El desayuno es muy rico. El ambiente muy acogedor. Y el personal muy buena onda, el chixo espanol adrian fue muy amable y helpful. ; me ayudo en unas dudas que tenia de a donde ir y todo eso; ademas tiene unos ojos muy lindos y bobby tmb ;) 100% recomendable

Disliked: Todo me ha gustado

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and common area downstairs are nice. They have free wifi, sheets, towel, etc. You can pay to use computers there and you can print for free.

Disliked: It's kind of remote. Some of the staff members are nice, others are a little surly (you don't have to be my friend, but please don't seem like you resent me). Bathrooms and shower rooms are unisex which might bother some guests. Lots of people to a room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Seok Tin Tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Seok Tin would recommend this property

Liked: Clean shower room (soap & conditioning shampoo provided), toilet, towel and linen. Free large locker provided. Free WIFI, tea, coffee, fruit juice and soft drinks for whole day. 5 star service. Bus No. 24 just outside the hostel, operates 24 hours, takes you to city.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aniko Kun

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

27 June 2012 Aniko would recommend this property

Liked: This friendly hostel is located in a pub, you can play pool in the evening and enjoy tipical British athmosphere. It is quite, clean. I had a really good sleep and my window was overlooking the Thames!! You have unlimited supply of soft drinks, like tea, orange and apple juice and candies. Very good value of money.

Disliked: I needed to wear a plastic wrist band during my stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yann LE COGUIC

Alone

City break

25 June 2012 Yann would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in central London. Very friendly & helpful staff. Good atmosphere. You can have a good dinner in the hostel for less than 10 pounds! Bus 24 just in front of the hostel which is very useful to visit London : Trafalgar Square, Oxford Street, Camden Town ...

Disliked: Yann left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very friendly. cleanliness. very reliable wi-fi. relaxed atmosphere. drinks included. towels included.

Disliked: a bit noisy because of main road but at the hostel they make their possible to make your stay enjoyable and they provide free earplugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: las instalaciones y todo lo que incluye

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Very helpful staff. Free drinks all day. Linen, towel and breakfast included.

Disliked: Typical breakfast - boring bread and some cornflakes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly. The sheets, towels etc were clean. It is a ten minute walk from the underground but thats was not a big deal, especially considering the cheap price. I appreciated the unlimited free soft drinks/tea/coffee throughout the stay. The atmosphere in general was great.

Disliked: The showers were not the best. The one I used was warm but the water only dribbled out some of the time. However, in general the hostel was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and soft drinks, clean rooms, nice bathrooms, very helpful staff.

Disliked: Beds were very squeaky

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i thought it was a good location. some other people were complaining about the distance of the hostel from the "closest" metro station, but they must've been walking the wrong way, because i thought it was fine. the rooms were clean enough, linen and towel provided. i liked the bar downstairs too and it wasn't too noisy.

Disliked: although some of the staff were great, some were not entirely friendly. also sometimes they weren't available at the counter. the fact that the hostel itself closes overnight seems a bit strange to me, as when i was leaving at 3 am there was a young man waiting outside with his luggage and didn't know where else to go (although he surely could've researched this beforehand) the shower situation was not ideal, but if you lucked out and the private shower and toilet was free, that was good. but it was pretty untidy, i wouldn't say dirty, but the tiny garbages get filled very quickly. overall it was fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were so nice. they offer free drinks all day, there's wifi and the hostel is clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Richards

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 May 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The free drinks and towels were a nice touch.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patricia Caballero Molina

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 May 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: They are quite eassy going. We arrived before check in time but they took our bags, checked us in and gave us all the info that we need it. The location is quite handy. It´s very close to Victory and also is a nice walk to the city by the river bank. There is also a good range for public transport and the night bus 24 leaves you nearly at the door if you dont want to get a taxi on a night out! (that was very to us) Breakfast is nice and simple. Muesly, cornflakes, coffee, tea, toast, jam, butter, boiled eggs and you can help you as much as you can. We went down to for it at 10 am and the plates/trays were a bit empty however the stuff refilled the toasts, eggs and coffee. We were very lucky because we meet some people that had stayed the previous night and new a bit of the night life and we ended up going out with them. It was quite fun, althought the hostel stuff were very helpfull and new a lot of places to go. They also sold pubcrawl tickets and Ministry of sound tickets.

Disliked: Bed linnen, not all the stains came out and pillows and duvets were quite worne out and stained. Beds were quite confortable but if you stay in a 12beds room, tray to change top bed for the botton bed, or you will feel like taken a sea trip everytine the person sleeping bellow moves. Only been picky I could say that the stuff maybe was a bit slow when serving/helping and they where a bit impatient at paying time, making feel like you were going to run away without paying. The atmosphere was quite quiet, travellers resting. Music wise (only U2) and the night that we stayed there was a cellebration (communion cellebration) so having kids running around didn´t go very well with partying mood. Althought we didn´t mind.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a clean, basic but fully adequate, place. The breakfast is appropriated. The downstairs pub is a great place to meet people.

Disliked: The bunk beds are a bit shaky. One locker per bed in the dorms would be good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ioana Ionescu

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 May 2012 Ioana would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great. Even if I stayed only for night, I made myself a friend from the second I arrived. The stuff was very friendly and helpful. Security was not a problem at all: It s a safe place and a safe area. I think the price really justifies, since the rooms are very clean, and the bathrooms look nice, new and spacious. I guess there enough shower cabins, since I never qued. So it is a very nice and cosy place, I will stay there again.

Disliked: It s not that near to Victoria actually. About 15- 20 min of fast walking and 15 min from Pimlico station as well. Honestly, it s just a small matter, because the hostel is very nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Panward Prasongpholchai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2012 Panward would recommend this property

Liked: Super best...you all must try this hostel....bestest of all hostels I stayed in London

Disliked: Panward left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff! Good location (in front of the river) and free beverages!

Disliked: The room was way too small..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are friendly

Disliked: -One of the staffs doesn´t seem to know how many days am I staying, nor does he know when should I move to another room even though it´s written clearly on the pc. -Plenty of steps, so not suitable for those with big luggage.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nory Holle

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 March 2012 Nory would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice hostel. Friendly staff, free breakfast and wifi and the free drinking all day long was also a big plus. Hot showers, and fairly clean. You can relax downstairs at the pub, where there are mostly hostelguests. The rooms were ok, I stayed in a mixed 8 people room. It had also a balcony, wich seems great in the summer.

Disliked: Nory left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoy my stay, the complimentary ear plugs are a big plus. Great value for the money, close to Pimlico statikon, the 24hr bus drop you off close to the hostel (like a 1 min walk). Would certainly stay there again.

Disliked: The bathroom did get a bit mucky one night but it was mainly water from the showers. The rooms are a bit small but since you're only in the room to sleep it's fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nathalie Schluchter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, helpful, welcoming and almost everybody speaks french, moreover than english of course!!! The location is not too bad and it's situated just next to the Thames River.

Disliked: Nathalie left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels