We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels

Hostel | The King William IV, 111 Grosvenor Road, London, England SW1V 3LG

92.3% Overall Rating

503 out of 538 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

Pao Chan thinks…

"The breakfast is the best. Not sure any other hostel can match it now I've been here.. Custom omelettes, pancakes, smoothies plus the usual toast ,cereal, juices etc. Another plus was the bar kitchen…"

Read all Travel Joy Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

PubLove @ The White Ferry, Victoria
20.28 USD

Hostel 73.7% 793 reviews
Caswell Hotel
34.74 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.3% 10 reviews
Melita House Hotel
70.27 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
780.76 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Astor Victoria
28.11 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1592 reviews
Vegas Hotel
48.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.6% 32 reviews
Surtees Hotel
41.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.1% 6 reviews
Golden Star Hotel
27.30 USD

Hostel 45.3% 226 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

503 out of 538 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Joy Hostels'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 391 of 516 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kiara Gallop

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 January 2013 Kiara would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Also loved the location (about 7 mins walk from Pimlico tube station, which is only a few stops from central London) Also really close to Camden and there's a bus stop right outside the hostel. They offer free soft drinks (juice, tea, coffee) all the time, a free breakfast (until 10:30 every day) and free wifi (although the signal wasn't great in the bar area). The dorms are a little cramped but on the plus side there's plenty of plug sockets and plenty of showers. There's no kitchen for those planning a more long term stay but we were only here for the weekend, so it didn't matter to us. For the price and the fact that it's minutes from central London, I'd definitely recommend it.

Disliked: As mentioned above, dorms are a little cramped and there's no kitchen but only minor complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Comiskey

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 January 2013 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful with bonus breakfast when I arrived early, secure storage of my bags either side of check in/out, advising on transport and helping with how to work the hot water. The location was awesome, 5 minutes to Big Ben, and I highly recommend the fun, cheap and easy Barclays bicycles right outside the door as a great way to see London. The food from the Thai restaurant was good and affordable. I missed the pub party nights, but with the relaxed international vibe I'm sure it's fun. Stay here. Fantastic!

Disliked: Not a single thing. Its awesome :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A pesar de haber tenido problemas con la reserva el staff del hostal nos dió todas las facilidades posibles para acomodarnos y sólo tengo cosas buenas que decir de el. El ambiente es muy agradable, sirven todo tipo de bebidas gratis para que te sientas cómodo. Las habitaciones y lavabos están en muy buenas condiciones y limpios...quedamos muy contentas con nuestra estadía.

Disliked: Un poco desastre con el tema de reservas, hay que confirmar bien antes de hacer una.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina Vant

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 January 2013 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: This place is absolutely amazing. Very friendly staff, you're offered a drink while you do your check-in and after that you are shown to your room. The rooms are really nice, with pretty spacious lockers in them (you will need your own padlock) and also an interactive screen that lets you browse through the best events going on in London, check the weather and use google maps. Plenty of shared showers and toilets...all nice and clean. Again, really friendly atmosphere downstairs in the Reception area (which is actually a pub haha), always with good music on and plenty of sofas. You also get: Free breakfast, free (good speed) Wi-Fi, free soft drinks all day, free earplugs, free towel and free good times for all :)

Disliked: Cristina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for what I needed (Needed a quick stay in London before travelling onwards to the airport) Staff were really helpful and the hostel offers a load of really good services and nice extras (which are all free, just as promised on the website) As I was only staying there for a night I obviously didn't get 'the full experience of the hostel' but I chatted to a couple of other people who had been there for a while and they were obviously impressed too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siamnat Panassorn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Siamnat would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities and friendliness of staff

Disliked: Only the location is a bit far from tube station. However, there is a bus stop just in from of the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Glenn Rodgers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: Very good Value for money! Location right on the Thames is nice and it isn't too far from Pimlico Underground Station.

Disliked: Glenn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Soto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: everything, totally recommended.!!! very friendly staff

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and very nice location. The bus stop is 10 meters away and tube just a couple of streets!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, perfect location, decent bunk beds, towel, breakfast and soft drinks/juice included. Had a nice stay there.

Disliked: Showers/toilets get owercrowded in the mornings.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very friendly and helpful, free breakfast, security lockers

Disliked: no kitchen, loads of stairs. have to pay for lockers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vaclav Tmej

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 December 2012 Vaclav would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have ever stayed, all started with unbelievably friendly stuff and ended with very good breakfast in the morning... free soft drinks and discounts for the others is so good idea. My number one choice for next time

Disliked: maybe pressure of water in showers but it is problem of the whole UK not just this hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Richter

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpfull staff

Disliked: no kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

James Rankin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The bar

Disliked: The bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Following free stuff: soft drinks, breakfast, earplugs, charger, printing, and a lot more things. Movie screening in the pub. Salsa night. They have a really good pib. Great that food.

Disliked: Honestly, nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a second time that i'l going in this hostel. I'm feeling very good there. The staff is awesome, every soft free, good playlist of music and very close to go to the center of London. Nothing bad, i will be back for sure!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly stuff and nice atmosphere, good location (close to Victoria).

Disliked: The 12-bed rooms are pretty packed with travellers, but the value to price ratio is OK.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hands down the best hostel I've ever stayed in so far: great staff & amazing facilities.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ambience made by the pub was excellent.

Disliked: Serving alcohol until 11pm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MURAT GENCER

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

24 October 2012 MURAT would recommend this property

Liked: Travel Joy Hostel is in Pimlico walking distance to Westminister and London Eye. And with Bus No. 24 you may go to Trafalgar Sqr. and all other atractions. Besides all these Travel Joy Hostel is very clean, has very friendly staff who are helping you in every question. Staying in Travel Joy was a great joy!

Disliked: MURAT left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upon arriving the staff member who served me was extremely helpful and friendly. I was greeted with a drink then checked-in, given some info/maps on London, next when I was ready she even showed me to my room with a quick tour of the facilities on the way. Relatively close to Victoria Coach Station

Disliked: Rooms were a bit crammed with limited space for luggage (lockers were available but I didn't use one as I was only there for one night).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free drinks are nice and so is the free breakfast which includes eggs! The staff was amazing and even thiug I was early and couldn't check in they gave me a bracelet so I could have breakfast and get drinks. The staff was really awesome! The bar has a nice atmosphere and the wifi is great!

Disliked: The room was really small and a kittle grungy though not dirty. My ensuite shower was broken so Inused the shared one which was no big deal except that the shower stall is really a room that is enclosed and so it gets really humid so you don't dry off. Also there was no where to put the clothes except to hang them. My door was unlocked when I came back from breakfast because a guy was fixing the shower, I didn't really think that was ok.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carolin Müller

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 October 2012 Carolin would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphaere, Charakter, Stil.

Disliked: Carolin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best atmosphere and most helpful staff ever!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vaibhav mehra

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 vaibhav would recommend this property

Liked: The location is superb. Right on Thames. The staff is very cheerful helping and extremely beautiful :). The food was great. Saturday night is karaoke night which made the place really lively. Balcony in room 4 faces Thames; loved it.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels