We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels

Hostel | The King William IV, 111 Grosvenor Road, London, England SW1V 3LG

88.9% Overall Rating

486 out of 521 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

"The staff is very nice and helpful, everything is well organized, the location is perfect, the rooms are clean, very nice bar downstairs"

Read all Travel Joy Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

FRESH @ The White Ferry, Victoria
17.84 USD

Hostel 81.1% 766 reviews
Caswell Hotel
32.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 8 reviews
Melita House Hotel
73.03 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
811.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Astor Victoria
35.70 USD

Hostel 81.0% 1572 reviews
Vegas Hotel
43.82 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.2% 30 reviews
Surtees Hotel
43.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.8% 3 reviews
Golden Star Hotel
32.42 USD

Hostel 52.3% 190 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

486 out of 521 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Joy Hostels'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 379 of 499 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Richter

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpfull staff

Disliked: no kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

James Rankin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The bar

Disliked: The bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Following free stuff: soft drinks, breakfast, earplugs, charger, printing, and a lot more things. Movie screening in the pub. Salsa night. They have a really good pib. Great that food.

Disliked: Honestly, nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a second time that i'l going in this hostel. I'm feeling very good there. The staff is awesome, every soft free, good playlist of music and very close to go to the center of London. Nothing bad, i will be back for sure!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly stuff and nice atmosphere, good location (close to Victoria).

Disliked: The 12-bed rooms are pretty packed with travellers, but the value to price ratio is OK.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hands down the best hostel I've ever stayed in so far: great staff & amazing facilities.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ambience made by the pub was excellent.

Disliked: Serving alcohol until 11pm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MURAT GENCER

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

24 October 2012 MURAT would recommend this property

Liked: Travel Joy Hostel is in Pimlico walking distance to Westminister and London Eye. And with Bus No. 24 you may go to Trafalgar Sqr. and all other atractions. Besides all these Travel Joy Hostel is very clean, has very friendly staff who are helping you in every question. Staying in Travel Joy was a great joy!

Disliked: MURAT left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upon arriving the staff member who served me was extremely helpful and friendly. I was greeted with a drink then checked-in, given some info/maps on London, next when I was ready she even showed me to my room with a quick tour of the facilities on the way. Relatively close to Victoria Coach Station

Disliked: Rooms were a bit crammed with limited space for luggage (lockers were available but I didn't use one as I was only there for one night).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free drinks are nice and so is the free breakfast which includes eggs! The staff was amazing and even thiug I was early and couldn't check in they gave me a bracelet so I could have breakfast and get drinks. The staff was really awesome! The bar has a nice atmosphere and the wifi is great!

Disliked: The room was really small and a kittle grungy though not dirty. My ensuite shower was broken so Inused the shared one which was no big deal except that the shower stall is really a room that is enclosed and so it gets really humid so you don't dry off. Also there was no where to put the clothes except to hang them. My door was unlocked when I came back from breakfast because a guy was fixing the shower, I didn't really think that was ok.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carolin Müller

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 October 2012 Carolin would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphaere, Charakter, Stil.

Disliked: Carolin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best atmosphere and most helpful staff ever!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vaibhav mehra

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 vaibhav would recommend this property

Liked: The location is superb. Right on Thames. The staff is very cheerful helping and extremely beautiful :). The food was great. Saturday night is karaoke night which made the place really lively. Balcony in room 4 faces Thames; loved it.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Rizzo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the breakfast and free beverages all day long. Also close to the bike rental rack.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012

Liked: The hostel has a pub on the ground floor that serves thai and english food, which was very good. It also offers free beverages all day.

Disliked: The hostel has 2 floors but only one of them has bathrooms and showers. In total, there were 3 bathrooms and 4 showers for all the guests, so it was very hard to find one vacant. Also, the showers were terrible, there was no pressure and some of them didn´t even warm up. Furthermore, even though there was cleaning every morning, often I found the bathroom with no toilet paper and the water gallon empty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: open mic night

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free soft drinks:) Every one could play a guitar which is eagerly awaiting for your skills:) Is a secure place and quite.

Disliked: When I stayed, the shower wasn't working well, but there were many others upstair:) If u want to cook something...there is only a microwave and fridge, but is ok:) Thee bed wasn't as comfy as my...I slept on worse though

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff Good facility Cleaness Excellent location Free drinks

Disliked: No individual light source. I have to do things in dark when someone is sleeping.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Knights

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 September 2012 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the price. I had a lovely private twin room, with en suite washroom, television. Very clean.

Disliked: There is no one working or even available overnight should someone be needed. The tap in my washroom broke, with the hot water not shutting off. Since this happened at 6am, there wasn't anyone about to get help from until the reception/bar downstairs opened at 730am. Luckily there wasn't a flood. Also, the hostel is about a 10-15 minute walk from Pimlico station when carrying a pack, not the 5-7. Not a huge deal, but when tired it adds up. Also, there isnt much around. So while the hostel itself is pretty great, there arent any restaurants or bars around (other than the hostel's).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David West

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: friendly helpfull staff, nice surrounds, nice building, good food in the bar. dorms nice, good facilities. free drinks was excellent.

Disliked: was a bit warm over night so trouble sleeping. Someone i met over breakfast had had her laptop stolen from a locker.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhishuang Zhu

Alone

Events / festivals

13 August 2012 Zhishuang would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaning and cozy

Disliked: People in the main reception are not that friendly

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebecca Allen

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 July 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Didn't have noisy occupants, so was pleasant to stay in. Free breakfast. Friendly.

Disliked: Get up early for the bathrooms! Technologically backwards when it comes to security - a laminated card with pin codes on and bring your own lock for the lockers. On website it said free 'internet and wi-fi', implying it's free to use the internet on the computers, but it isn't. Very noisy in the room I was in due to traffic.. Was on a top bunk (no choice, even though the room wasn't totally full at that time) and it wobbled a lot whenever the person below rolled over in the night - not fun!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, breakfast included, secure rooms

Disliked: Too noisy during the night, lines for the shower and restroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ioan sapariuc

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 ioan would recommend this property

Liked: music, friendliness, meeting new people, free breakfast and free soft drinks

Disliked: not enough space in room (locker), noise in room, relatively remote location (especially on the way back need to walk 10-15 minutes from nearest subway)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jong Bin Park

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Jong Bin would recommend this property

Liked: first location is the best thing because it close to Pimlico station and this line direct to Victoria station Victoria station is easy to transfer other line so this is the best strong point of this hostel. And second is free beverage and breakfast. the breakfast is not a good quality but serve free of charge. thats not bad

Disliked: It has no lift. so if you have big or heavy luggage it must be really hard move to your room and small aisle also weak point of this hostel. And bed is so shaking when someone move! And concents are only exist below wall so if your bed is second you have to use multiplugs to charg your electronic things


See all London hostels
See all London hotels