We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels

Hostel | The King William IV, 111 Grosvenor Road, London, England SW1V 3LG

92.3% Overall Rating

503 out of 538 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

Pao Chan thinks…

"The breakfast is the best. Not sure any other hostel can match it now I've been here.. Custom omelettes, pancakes, smoothies plus the usual toast ,cereal, juices etc. Another plus was the bar kitchen…"

Read all Travel Joy Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

PubLove @ The White Ferry, Victoria
15.59 USD

Hostel 73.7% 793 reviews
Caswell Hotel
34.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.3% 10 reviews
Melita House Hotel
70.17 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
779.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Astor Victoria
28.07 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1592 reviews
Vegas Hotel
45.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.6% 32 reviews
Surtees Hotel
41.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.1% 6 reviews
Golden Star Hotel
31.16 USD

Hostel 45.3% 226 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

503 out of 538 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Joy Hostels'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 391 of 516 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free soft drinks and juices

Disliked: the bar was a bit isolating -- perhaps because of the arrangement of couches and chairs... Shower did not have warm water in the morning...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely area, ideal transport, nice relaxed atmosphere, very English. Great staff. The pub is cosy to hang around. Good service with food and drinks.

Disliked: The bunk beds. Was a bit sleeping like in a doubledecker bus shaking easily by another sleeper. Cold in the room but fortunately managed to have an extra blanket. In the dorm relatively little space to lockers there's always someone at the same time. The shower room upstairs icy with a broken window. No toilet in the room only a shower with low pressure water.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice pub, good atmosphere and good food availability.

Disliked: Unclear bunk assignments in shared rooms. Came back to find someone else sleeping in my bunk on several occasions.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Choi Ching Lai

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Choi Ching would recommend this property

Liked: Great to have free drinks provided anytime. Stuff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There are few shower rooms and toilets. Not very clean in the common area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yun-Ting Lee

Alone

Events / festivals

28 March 2013 Yun-Ting would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean and the food was good. Staffs are very nice.

Disliked: Yun-Ting left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful, the atmosphere was very nice and the hostel had excellent location - only 20 minutes by foot from Victoria Coach Station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, juice, tea and coffee. Staff is mostly super friendly. Good atmosphere. I really recommend this hostel.

Disliked: The beds are squeaky! The window did not close properly in the room. They do not have dorms just for girls...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oleksandr Naglov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Oleksandr would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff - they printed a couple of documents on my request. Free ear-plugs, free soft drinks, free lock (5 pounds deposit).

Disliked: The hostel provides no kitchen, poor water pressure in showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Neisch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed at. Even the free breakfast was great, with made to order omelets and pancakes.

Disliked: Rooms are quite small, but who is hanging out in the room with such a nice common area/bar.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Kitschke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was the best in london! Literally made you an omlette with veggies infront of you. Also free juuce and soft drinks all day!! I've stayed in 4 hostels in london and this one is the best value for money. The rooms are also quite good. Heaps of lockers and the bottom bunks in he 14 person have curtains.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all together it's a great place to stay!the pub is very nice,the staff is helpfull,you get free softdrinks all the time.breakfast is absolutely fine.wifi in every room available.

Disliked: the only thing i was missing was a kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: None

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

10 March 2013

Liked: Good food, good access to transit.

Disliked: The staff neglected to tell me that I needed to switch rooms (I was only staying 2 nights, so I'm not sure why this couldn't have been avoided) so when I came home all my stuff was GONE - it had been thrown in a garbage bag and put on my new bed. Because I originally had a bottom bunk and my new room was a top, I asked if I could switch to the empty bottom bunk below me due to the circumstances. They said it wasn't possible because someone else was coming in - who had not arrived yet - who requested a bottom bunk and so couldn't be bothered. Poor communication could have been forgiven, but terrible service with no recompense will not. Won't be staying here again.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, good walking and transport distance to all main sights while still remaining quiet. Food downstairs was great and the staff are really friendly.

Disliked: On our second day we woke up to a small colony of cockroaches which where trying to claim to room. The room appeared clean enough but these guys ain't paying for there stay!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 March 2013

Liked: Beautiful view of the river, great pub downstairs.

Disliked: When the pub shut everyone goes up to the giant hallway and it's really noisy. Needs a better common area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: HMM.. THAT WHEN I ASKED FOR A DRINK AT MIDNIGHT THEY SAID "NO LICENCE FOR SO LATE"SO TIME TO REST.MANY THANKS!

Disliked: I CAN TSAY ANYTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

José Torres

Alone

Business / conference

26 February 2013 José would recommend this property

Liked: Overall look and location.

Disliked: José left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs were really kind and meal was good.

Disliked: Location is somewhat uncomfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There nothing not to like about this hostel. Everything is perfect. Rooms are decent, they even have a computer mounted on walls in every room. These computers, which have a touch screen, shows your place in the room by displaying your name near the correspondent letter. They even recommend places you can go! You can get a half price discount at the Ministry of Sound club by staying at this hotel by paying just 10 pounds instead of 20. The hostel's first floor is basically a pub, a great pub that is. Drinks are absolutely free to hostel customers (alcoholic beverages are excluded). A free breakfast is being offered to customers but don't expect a full-fledged open buffet and please don't forget you can have a free breakfast in London and in a hostel which overlooks the Thames. Hostel is very safe, I haven't seen any indecent people or incidents during my stay. Hostel has safety precautions at the entrance of the hostel and at the entrance of rooms, all doors guarded with a different code. Hostel also provides safe lockers to customers.

Disliked: This will be a recommendation to the crew of the hostel, I was just a little uncomfortable this issue. Please make a significant sign for the hostel. Before my first arrival to the hostel, I have searched nearly EVERYWHERE for the hostel and walked past the hostel with a few hundred meters. Then I remembered that hostel's first floor was a pub from a comment I read on this site and I walked back to find the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although there wasn't a lot in the immediate area, the location is still fantastic. With the bus stop at the door and the frequency of the bus you could be at Trafalgar Square in 10-12 minutes. The subway is a 10 minute walk as well. It wasn't as clean as I'd like but I think that was a reflection of the clientele rather then the property as it was cleaned thoroughly every day. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was good as well. Everything was very fresh and plentiful. I was surprised at the made to order omelettes. Unlimited non-alcohol drinks was also very nice. Ralphie the dog was a bonus. lol

Disliked: This is also a reflection more of the clientele but this is the kind of clients this property gets; people walking in the room late at night, turning on the lights and having loud conversations. Some nights it was great and others not so much. Might explain the free earplugs which I used a lot. There are no or very few hooks in the showers. I think it's so gross to have to put your towel or clothes on the floor or the back of the toilet but you haven't a choice because there is nowhere else.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to hang out.... friendly, good bar, peaceful...

Disliked: Nothing...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly McCosker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi, excellent breakfast as it included ommelette. Love the free drinks all day long. It feels like they 'get' travellers and what we need. Great space to hang out downstairs. They offer a fridge & microwave so you can heat food too. Excellent hostel.

Disliked: Only negative comment is the staff seemed 'flat' and not so friendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Especially the smooth music at breakfast!

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicholas Symes

Alone

City break

01 February 2013 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Really felt looked after, staying here. Loads provided freeall day, coffee, juice, pepsi etc breakfast is standard cereal and toast number, with eggss and sometimes fruit a yoghurt. I like that the behind where you prepare breakfast is a window looking over the thames and battersea power station. Free luggage storage, free wifi in every room, though some a stronger connection than others. Super friendly staff and lockers in every room. Just bring a padlock.

Disliked: The showers could have a little more pressure but the water was always hot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin Armstrong

Alone

City break

30 January 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant atmosphere and helpfull staff.

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels