We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels

Hostel | The King William IV, 111 Grosvenor Road, London, England SW1V 3LG

89.8% Overall Rating

495 out of 530 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2015)

Ingigerdur Osk Gunnarsdottir thinks…

"It was full of character, looks like a pub from the outside. Inside, the dining/lounge area is really spacious. The 6-bed dorm we stayed in was very clean, had a balcony and best of all, two seperate…"

Read all Travel Joy Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

PubLove @ The White Ferry, Victoria
19.63 USD

Hostel 80.3% 782 reviews
Caswell Hotel
28.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.3% 10 reviews
Melita House Hotel
67.99 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
755.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Astor Victoria
28.71 USD

Hostel 81.4% 1574 reviews
Vegas Hotel
47.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.2% 31 reviews
Surtees Hotel
40.29 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.8% 3 reviews
Golden Star Hotel
26.41 USD

Hostel 49.3% 219 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

495 out of 530 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Joy Hostels'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 385 of 508 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, juice, tea and coffee. Staff is mostly super friendly. Good atmosphere. I really recommend this hostel.

Disliked: The beds are squeaky! The window did not close properly in the room. They do not have dorms just for girls...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oleksandr Naglov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Oleksandr would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff - they printed a couple of documents on my request. Free ear-plugs, free soft drinks, free lock (5 pounds deposit).

Disliked: The hostel provides no kitchen, poor water pressure in showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Neisch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed at. Even the free breakfast was great, with made to order omelets and pancakes.

Disliked: Rooms are quite small, but who is hanging out in the room with such a nice common area/bar.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Kitschke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was the best in london! Literally made you an omlette with veggies infront of you. Also free juuce and soft drinks all day!! I've stayed in 4 hostels in london and this one is the best value for money. The rooms are also quite good. Heaps of lockers and the bottom bunks in he 14 person have curtains.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all together it's a great place to stay!the pub is very nice,the staff is helpfull,you get free softdrinks all the time.breakfast is absolutely fine.wifi in every room available.

Disliked: the only thing i was missing was a kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: None

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

10 March 2013

Liked: Good food, good access to transit.

Disliked: The staff neglected to tell me that I needed to switch rooms (I was only staying 2 nights, so I'm not sure why this couldn't have been avoided) so when I came home all my stuff was GONE - it had been thrown in a garbage bag and put on my new bed. Because I originally had a bottom bunk and my new room was a top, I asked if I could switch to the empty bottom bunk below me due to the circumstances. They said it wasn't possible because someone else was coming in - who had not arrived yet - who requested a bottom bunk and so couldn't be bothered. Poor communication could have been forgiven, but terrible service with no recompense will not. Won't be staying here again.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, good walking and transport distance to all main sights while still remaining quiet. Food downstairs was great and the staff are really friendly.

Disliked: On our second day we woke up to a small colony of cockroaches which where trying to claim to room. The room appeared clean enough but these guys ain't paying for there stay!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 March 2013

Liked: Beautiful view of the river, great pub downstairs.

Disliked: When the pub shut everyone goes up to the giant hallway and it's really noisy. Needs a better common area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: HMM.. THAT WHEN I ASKED FOR A DRINK AT MIDNIGHT THEY SAID "NO LICENCE FOR SO LATE"SO TIME TO REST.MANY THANKS!

Disliked: I CAN TSAY ANYTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

José Torres

Alone

Business / conference

26 February 2013 José would recommend this property

Liked: Overall look and location.

Disliked: José left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs were really kind and meal was good.

Disliked: Location is somewhat uncomfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There nothing not to like about this hostel. Everything is perfect. Rooms are decent, they even have a computer mounted on walls in every room. These computers, which have a touch screen, shows your place in the room by displaying your name near the correspondent letter. They even recommend places you can go! You can get a half price discount at the Ministry of Sound club by staying at this hotel by paying just 10 pounds instead of 20. The hostel's first floor is basically a pub, a great pub that is. Drinks are absolutely free to hostel customers (alcoholic beverages are excluded). A free breakfast is being offered to customers but don't expect a full-fledged open buffet and please don't forget you can have a free breakfast in London and in a hostel which overlooks the Thames. Hostel is very safe, I haven't seen any indecent people or incidents during my stay. Hostel has safety precautions at the entrance of the hostel and at the entrance of rooms, all doors guarded with a different code. Hostel also provides safe lockers to customers.

Disliked: This will be a recommendation to the crew of the hostel, I was just a little uncomfortable this issue. Please make a significant sign for the hostel. Before my first arrival to the hostel, I have searched nearly EVERYWHERE for the hostel and walked past the hostel with a few hundred meters. Then I remembered that hostel's first floor was a pub from a comment I read on this site and I walked back to find the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although there wasn't a lot in the immediate area, the location is still fantastic. With the bus stop at the door and the frequency of the bus you could be at Trafalgar Square in 10-12 minutes. The subway is a 10 minute walk as well. It wasn't as clean as I'd like but I think that was a reflection of the clientele rather then the property as it was cleaned thoroughly every day. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was good as well. Everything was very fresh and plentiful. I was surprised at the made to order omelettes. Unlimited non-alcohol drinks was also very nice. Ralphie the dog was a bonus. lol

Disliked: This is also a reflection more of the clientele but this is the kind of clients this property gets; people walking in the room late at night, turning on the lights and having loud conversations. Some nights it was great and others not so much. Might explain the free earplugs which I used a lot. There are no or very few hooks in the showers. I think it's so gross to have to put your towel or clothes on the floor or the back of the toilet but you haven't a choice because there is nowhere else.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to hang out.... friendly, good bar, peaceful...

Disliked: Nothing...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly McCosker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi, excellent breakfast as it included ommelette. Love the free drinks all day long. It feels like they 'get' travellers and what we need. Great space to hang out downstairs. They offer a fridge & microwave so you can heat food too. Excellent hostel.

Disliked: Only negative comment is the staff seemed 'flat' and not so friendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Especially the smooth music at breakfast!

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicholas Symes

Alone

City break

01 February 2013 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Really felt looked after, staying here. Loads provided freeall day, coffee, juice, pepsi etc breakfast is standard cereal and toast number, with eggss and sometimes fruit a yoghurt. I like that the behind where you prepare breakfast is a window looking over the thames and battersea power station. Free luggage storage, free wifi in every room, though some a stronger connection than others. Super friendly staff and lockers in every room. Just bring a padlock.

Disliked: The showers could have a little more pressure but the water was always hot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin Armstrong

Alone

City break

30 January 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant atmosphere and helpfull staff.

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kiara Gallop

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 January 2013 Kiara would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Also loved the location (about 7 mins walk from Pimlico tube station, which is only a few stops from central London) Also really close to Camden and there's a bus stop right outside the hostel. They offer free soft drinks (juice, tea, coffee) all the time, a free breakfast (until 10:30 every day) and free wifi (although the signal wasn't great in the bar area). The dorms are a little cramped but on the plus side there's plenty of plug sockets and plenty of showers. There's no kitchen for those planning a more long term stay but we were only here for the weekend, so it didn't matter to us. For the price and the fact that it's minutes from central London, I'd definitely recommend it.

Disliked: As mentioned above, dorms are a little cramped and there's no kitchen but only minor complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Comiskey

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 January 2013 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful with bonus breakfast when I arrived early, secure storage of my bags either side of check in/out, advising on transport and helping with how to work the hot water. The location was awesome, 5 minutes to Big Ben, and I highly recommend the fun, cheap and easy Barclays bicycles right outside the door as a great way to see London. The food from the Thai restaurant was good and affordable. I missed the pub party nights, but with the relaxed international vibe I'm sure it's fun. Stay here. Fantastic!

Disliked: Not a single thing. Its awesome :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A pesar de haber tenido problemas con la reserva el staff del hostal nos dió todas las facilidades posibles para acomodarnos y sólo tengo cosas buenas que decir de el. El ambiente es muy agradable, sirven todo tipo de bebidas gratis para que te sientas cómodo. Las habitaciones y lavabos están en muy buenas condiciones y limpios...quedamos muy contentas con nuestra estadía.

Disliked: Un poco desastre con el tema de reservas, hay que confirmar bien antes de hacer una.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina Vant

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 January 2013 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: This place is absolutely amazing. Very friendly staff, you're offered a drink while you do your check-in and after that you are shown to your room. The rooms are really nice, with pretty spacious lockers in them (you will need your own padlock) and also an interactive screen that lets you browse through the best events going on in London, check the weather and use google maps. Plenty of shared showers and toilets...all nice and clean. Again, really friendly atmosphere downstairs in the Reception area (which is actually a pub haha), always with good music on and plenty of sofas. You also get: Free breakfast, free (good speed) Wi-Fi, free soft drinks all day, free earplugs, free towel and free good times for all :)

Disliked: Cristina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for what I needed (Needed a quick stay in London before travelling onwards to the airport) Staff were really helpful and the hostel offers a load of really good services and nice extras (which are all free, just as promised on the website) As I was only staying there for a night I obviously didn't get 'the full experience of the hostel' but I chatted to a couple of other people who had been there for a while and they were obviously impressed too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siamnat Panassorn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Siamnat would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities and friendliness of staff

Disliked: Only the location is a bit far from tube station. However, there is a bus stop just in from of the hostel.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels