We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels

Hostel | The King William IV, 111 Grosvenor Road, London, England SW1V 3LG

92.3% Overall Rating

503 out of 538 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

Pao Chan thinks…

"The breakfast is the best. Not sure any other hostel can match it now I've been here.. Custom omelettes, pancakes, smoothies plus the usual toast ,cereal, juices etc. Another plus was the bar kitchen…"

Read all Travel Joy Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

PubLove @ The White Ferry, Victoria
17.12 USD

Hostel 73.4% 792 reviews
Caswell Hotel
31.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.3% 10 reviews
Melita House Hotel
70.10 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
778.94 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Astor Victoria
28.04 USD

Hostel 89.1% 1590 reviews
Vegas Hotel
38.56 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.6% 32 reviews
Surtees Hotel
44.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.1% 6 reviews
Golden Star Hotel
31.13 USD

Hostel 45.3% 226 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

503 out of 538 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Joy Hostels'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 391 of 516 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haejin Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013 Haejin would recommend this property

Liked: This place is so cool!! Clean beds, you can use both private and sharing bathrooms, serves omelette and nice breakfast, free drinks everytime you come in and out, very friendly staffs. It's one of the best among 10+ hostels I stayed,

Disliked: Nothing. But the season I stayed was really hot( end of July), so the temperature in the room was quite hot.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chiung-I Huang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2013 Chiung-I would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff always friendly, and free drink...:)

Disliked: a little far from underground!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For me, the locaiton was beyond great. It is on a bus line directly to Victoria Station (this trip wasn't about London) and it is a 24hr bus. I'm 95% sure the same bus runs into Central London as well so you have that going for you. The hostel looks out on the Thames as well which is cute.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ulla Mathiesen

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Ulla would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful all the way. Also with turist information. Free cold drink Fint med wi-fi 1/2 time daglig

Disliked: Manglede information om at tage hænge lås med. Manglede en fane pga hedebølge. We stay 8 days an cleaning the room more would be nice. Specify the floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nick Willems

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and close to everything you might want see and do..

Disliked: Nick left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ram dau

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 July 2013 ram would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a nice, clean pleasant area of London to stay in. First time staying in a mixed dorm by myself and the staff were great!! Made me feel very welcome and safe. The showers, toilets and dorms are so clean and tidy and it smells nice!! Great wifi connection and the breakfast they serve in the morning is the best. Could not ask for anything better!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Stephens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds; clean sheets; clean bathroom stocked with hand soap, body wash, and shampoo; incredibly awesome bar underneath with unbelievable staff. All non-alcoholic drinks are free at bar if you stay at hostel.

Disliked: The curtains in the room are light-coloured and thin. The sun comes through and wakes you up early.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the metro stop and there was a bus stop right outside the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful and the drinks provided during the day were a nice touch.

Disliked: The windows in our room were single pane and sometimes didn't sound like they were shut all the way and didn't keep a lot of noise out

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent atmosphere and VERY welcoming staff. Much more friendly and helpful then previous hostels I've stayed at.

Disliked: Location wasn't absolutely prime but the the view was quite good and only a thirty minute walk from major monuments. Really everything was practically perfect though

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Good breakfast. friendly staff, free drinks( water, juice, coffee and soft drink areFREE:)Don't have to go market to buy water!!)

Disliked: Wifi is 1 pound

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

jenny fu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013 jenny would recommend this property

Liked: close to the bus stop and 5mins walk from the tube. the hostel is in a nice old pub. good free breakfast with omelettes. lockers available.

Disliked: have to pay £1 per day for wifi.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was Awesome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samet Özcan

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Samet would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very helpful. the athmosphere is nice.

Disliked: beds are very uncomfortable!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shawn Tobin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Staff were friendly and patient.

Disliked: Shower pressure was not the greatest and the 12 person room was a little small/awkward but manageable.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013

Liked: Friendliness of the staff nice location and balconies

Disliked: lack of cleanliness of the bar cleanliness of the incredible small shared rooms payed wifi when was advertised that it was free

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location and a very cute bar on the ground floor.

Disliked: The price (we had a twin bedroom at an off season period). I guess one pays the "london" location more than the facilities.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Keisha Hanbury

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013 Keisha would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are fantastic, they make you feel very welcome. Rooms have secure lockers and there are security measures to get into the dorms and room, always felt very safe. Free breakfast was great, the best omelettes I've ever eaten! Good selection of juice, cereal, toast, yoghurt etc. Central location, 20 minute walk to Big Ben/Parliament Square/London Eye or straight bus outside hostel to all main attractions. I will definitely be staying here again.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

xavier Lavayssere

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2013 xavier would recommend this property

Liked: An ancient pub with caractere, a friendly and helpful staff, bathrooms in the rooms, great breakfast, concerts on Friday, terraces.. Everything is done to make you feel welcome, to relax, and to enjoy your stay. During my stay in London I tried a few hostels with 80 something grades. If you look for a warm place, not an usine for drunk teenagers trying to rip you off, this is your choice.

Disliked: With this much style in the common area, rooms could gain from more elaborated paintings and decoration.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Orive

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: This was the first hostel we have ever stayed in and we found it outstanding! The staff were extremely helpful and went above and beyond to help us out when we needed advice. They also let us use their phone. The breakfast is great; cereal, toast, omelettes and pancakes! For free! The wifi is excellent in the common area and in the rooms. Free soft drinks, juice and tea and coffee at the Bar anytime you like. We felt really safe and welcomed. Not really a party hostel, but you can book pub crawls from the staff.

Disliked: You could feel the springs in the mattress, but I stil slept fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast with omelettes, free drinks, free wi-fi, free towel and linen. The atmosphere in this hostel was great! The staff was really welcoming and friendly. Can definitely recommend to everybody! Terveiset suomalaiselle työntekijälle, oli mukava tutustua:)

Disliked: No kitchen, only a microwave and a small fridge.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yasmin Burtally

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

14 April 2013 Yasmin would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent amenities and location was perfect. Very good value for money, and loved the live music downstairs in the pub.

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

DIMITRIOS DIMITRIADIS

Alone

City break

13 April 2013 DIMITRIOS would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel lives up to its name: great atmosphere, it's on the river Thames at a very nice area with friendly staff. very good showers and basin in rooms.they also give you a free towel.

Disliked: small room. not much space for luggage.Dirty and untidy beds

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar, fun weekend nights, friendly atmosphere to meet people. Awesome breakfast.

Disliked: Room size was small, but I guess that's typical for London. Lockers could be a bit more sturdy as my one couldn't handle the weight of the bag on top, so it was quite a mission to lock my locker. 3 sets of door pins to keep with you, so it takes a while to get into your room after a late night. But the good parts about the hostel more than outweigh these minor issues.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Burdick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: I really like this place. I've stayed here before about a year ago (the manager recognized me!) and I'm glad I came back. The free breakfast is excellent - a huge step above the regular toast & cereal, adding hard boiled eggs and fresh prepared omelets. There's a mini-fridge and microwave to use. The rooms are nice and have free lockers (with your own lock,) free (non-alcoholic) drinks all day, great staff, good wifi (with one caveat, read below,) staff play good music in the pub downstairs, and it's well-connected via public transport. The beds have a curtain, which is nice for privacy and sleep quality. Free towel, and the showers are good (they have adjustable temperature and stay on without having to push a button every 10 seconds.)

Disliked: It's not in a great location, but it is well connected via a bus just outside the hostel or if you're willing to walk. The wifi wouldn't let me fetch mail on my iPhone, which is weird, but allowed everything else and was reasonably quick. The hostel is above a pub - the norm for London it seems, which is fine but it closes at midnight, meaning there's no common area after 12 - you have to go to bed or leave the place. The rooms (at least mine) lacked power outlets - pretty normal for an older place like this. No kitchen but a microwave and mini fridge, which is more than most places without kitchens can say. A few negatives among a load of positives. Stay here.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - free wifi - free soft drinks - location

Disliked: nothing really, we had a good stay


See all London hostels
See all London hotels