HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels

Hostel | The King William IV, 111 Grosvenor Road, London, England SW1V 3LG

93.0% Overall Rating

474 out of 508 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

DOYOUNG KIM thinks…

"Staffs are so bubbly, kind, so helpful anytime. Breakfast also great especially smoothie is so good, omelet is randomly good. There are so many free offers in the pub (drinks/sweets/tea/coffee/etc)…"

Read all Travel Joy Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

FRESH @ The White Ferry, Victoria
18.47 USD

Hostel 76.0% 730 reviews
Caswell Hotel
33.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.9% 5 reviews
Melita House Hotel
75.62 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
66.38 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.9% 23 reviews
Astor Victoria
35.29 USD

Hostel 80.5% 1569 reviews
Vegas Hotel
39.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 26 reviews
Surtees Hotel
44.82 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Golden Star Hotel
33.57 USD

Hostel 52.7% 125 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

474 out of 508 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Joy Hostels'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 372 of 487 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast with omelettes, free drinks, free wi-fi, free towel and linen. The atmosphere in this hostel was great! The staff was really welcoming and friendly. Can definitely recommend to everybody! Terveiset suomalaiselle työntekijälle, oli mukava tutustua:)

Disliked: No kitchen, only a microwave and a small fridge.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yasmin Burtally

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

14 April 2013 Yasmin would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent amenities and location was perfect. Very good value for money, and loved the live music downstairs in the pub.

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

DIMITRIOS DIMITRIADIS

Alone

City break

13 April 2013 DIMITRIOS would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel lives up to its name: great atmosphere, it's on the river Thames at a very nice area with friendly staff. very good showers and basin in rooms.they also give you a free towel.

Disliked: small room. not much space for luggage.Dirty and untidy beds

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar, fun weekend nights, friendly atmosphere to meet people. Awesome breakfast.

Disliked: Room size was small, but I guess that's typical for London. Lockers could be a bit more sturdy as my one couldn't handle the weight of the bag on top, so it was quite a mission to lock my locker. 3 sets of door pins to keep with you, so it takes a while to get into your room after a late night. But the good parts about the hostel more than outweigh these minor issues.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Burdick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: I really like this place. I've stayed here before about a year ago (the manager recognized me!) and I'm glad I came back. The free breakfast is excellent - a huge step above the regular toast & cereal, adding hard boiled eggs and fresh prepared omelets. There's a mini-fridge and microwave to use. The rooms are nice and have free lockers (with your own lock,) free (non-alcoholic) drinks all day, great staff, good wifi (with one caveat, read below,) staff play good music in the pub downstairs, and it's well-connected via public transport. The beds have a curtain, which is nice for privacy and sleep quality. Free towel, and the showers are good (they have adjustable temperature and stay on without having to push a button every 10 seconds.)

Disliked: It's not in a great location, but it is well connected via a bus just outside the hostel or if you're willing to walk. The wifi wouldn't let me fetch mail on my iPhone, which is weird, but allowed everything else and was reasonably quick. The hostel is above a pub - the norm for London it seems, which is fine but it closes at midnight, meaning there's no common area after 12 - you have to go to bed or leave the place. The rooms (at least mine) lacked power outlets - pretty normal for an older place like this. No kitchen but a microwave and mini fridge, which is more than most places without kitchens can say. A few negatives among a load of positives. Stay here.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - free wifi - free soft drinks - location

Disliked: nothing really, we had a good stay

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free soft drinks and juices

Disliked: the bar was a bit isolating -- perhaps because of the arrangement of couches and chairs... Shower did not have warm water in the morning...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely area, ideal transport, nice relaxed atmosphere, very English. Great staff. The pub is cosy to hang around. Good service with food and drinks.

Disliked: The bunk beds. Was a bit sleeping like in a doubledecker bus shaking easily by another sleeper. Cold in the room but fortunately managed to have an extra blanket. In the dorm relatively little space to lockers there's always someone at the same time. The shower room upstairs icy with a broken window. No toilet in the room only a shower with low pressure water.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice pub, good atmosphere and good food availability.

Disliked: Unclear bunk assignments in shared rooms. Came back to find someone else sleeping in my bunk on several occasions.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Choi Ching Lai

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Choi Ching would recommend this property

Liked: Great to have free drinks provided anytime. Stuff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There are few shower rooms and toilets. Not very clean in the common area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yun-Ting Lee

Alone

Events / festivals

28 March 2013 Yun-Ting would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean and the food was good. Staffs are very nice.

Disliked: Yun-Ting left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful, the atmosphere was very nice and the hostel had excellent location - only 20 minutes by foot from Victoria Coach Station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, juice, tea and coffee. Staff is mostly super friendly. Good atmosphere. I really recommend this hostel.

Disliked: The beds are squeaky! The window did not close properly in the room. They do not have dorms just for girls...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oleksandr Naglov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Oleksandr would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff - they printed a couple of documents on my request. Free ear-plugs, free soft drinks, free lock (5 pounds deposit).

Disliked: The hostel provides no kitchen, poor water pressure in showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Neisch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed at. Even the free breakfast was great, with made to order omelets and pancakes.

Disliked: Rooms are quite small, but who is hanging out in the room with such a nice common area/bar.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Kitschke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was the best in london! Literally made you an omlette with veggies infront of you. Also free juuce and soft drinks all day!! I've stayed in 4 hostels in london and this one is the best value for money. The rooms are also quite good. Heaps of lockers and the bottom bunks in he 14 person have curtains.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all together it's a great place to stay!the pub is very nice,the staff is helpfull,you get free softdrinks all the time.breakfast is absolutely fine.wifi in every room available.

Disliked: the only thing i was missing was a kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: None

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

10 March 2013

Liked: Good food, good access to transit.

Disliked: The staff neglected to tell me that I needed to switch rooms (I was only staying 2 nights, so I'm not sure why this couldn't have been avoided) so when I came home all my stuff was GONE - it had been thrown in a garbage bag and put on my new bed. Because I originally had a bottom bunk and my new room was a top, I asked if I could switch to the empty bottom bunk below me due to the circumstances. They said it wasn't possible because someone else was coming in - who had not arrived yet - who requested a bottom bunk and so couldn't be bothered. Poor communication could have been forgiven, but terrible service with no recompense will not. Won't be staying here again.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, good walking and transport distance to all main sights while still remaining quiet. Food downstairs was great and the staff are really friendly.

Disliked: On our second day we woke up to a small colony of cockroaches which where trying to claim to room. The room appeared clean enough but these guys ain't paying for there stay!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 March 2013

Liked: Beautiful view of the river, great pub downstairs.

Disliked: When the pub shut everyone goes up to the giant hallway and it's really noisy. Needs a better common area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: HMM.. THAT WHEN I ASKED FOR A DRINK AT MIDNIGHT THEY SAID "NO LICENCE FOR SO LATE"SO TIME TO REST.MANY THANKS!

Disliked: I CAN TSAY ANYTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

José Torres

Alone

Business / conference

26 February 2013 José would recommend this property

Liked: Overall look and location.

Disliked: José left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs were really kind and meal was good.

Disliked: Location is somewhat uncomfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There nothing not to like about this hostel. Everything is perfect. Rooms are decent, they even have a computer mounted on walls in every room. These computers, which have a touch screen, shows your place in the room by displaying your name near the correspondent letter. They even recommend places you can go! You can get a half price discount at the Ministry of Sound club by staying at this hotel by paying just 10 pounds instead of 20. The hostel's first floor is basically a pub, a great pub that is. Drinks are absolutely free to hostel customers (alcoholic beverages are excluded). A free breakfast is being offered to customers but don't expect a full-fledged open buffet and please don't forget you can have a free breakfast in London and in a hostel which overlooks the Thames. Hostel is very safe, I haven't seen any indecent people or incidents during my stay. Hostel has safety precautions at the entrance of the hostel and at the entrance of rooms, all doors guarded with a different code. Hostel also provides safe lockers to customers.

Disliked: This will be a recommendation to the crew of the hostel, I was just a little uncomfortable this issue. Please make a significant sign for the hostel. Before my first arrival to the hostel, I have searched nearly EVERYWHERE for the hostel and walked past the hostel with a few hundred meters. Then I remembered that hostel's first floor was a pub from a comment I read on this site and I walked back to find the hostel.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels