HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels

Hostel | The King William IV, 111 Grosvenor Road, London, England SW1V 3LG

93.1% Overall Rating

473 out of 507 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"I liked the friendly staff and the handy no24 bus outside the door. Also the free soft drinks all day is great value"

Read all Travel Joy Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

FRESH @ The White Ferry, Victoria
18.42 USD

Hostel 76.0% 730 reviews
Caswell Hotel
33.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.9% 5 reviews
Melita House Hotel
75.44 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
54.48 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.9% 23 reviews
Astor Victoria
35.21 USD

Hostel 80.5% 1569 reviews
Vegas Hotel
31.68 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 26 reviews
Surtees Hotel
44.71 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Golden Star Hotel
41.88 USD

Hostel 51.7% 121 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.1%

Overall Rating

473 out of 507 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Joy Hostels'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 371 of 486 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Hrones

18 March 2010 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Great pub downstairs with wide menu of thai and english cuisine, very helpful staff, great breakfasts, separated bathrooms for every room and good connection to the centre of London(near to Victoria Station-buses to airports, for near trips to Oxford...). Definitely I would recommend this hostel to my friends. Great stuff...

Disliked: Michal left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mainly frendiliness and helpfulnes of the staff, and the crowd gather in the evening for drinks and enjoy the music are very nice. But the disavantage is quite a long walk from underground. When I found out that there is a bus 24 , from Victoria which end at just at the coner of the hostel it was my depature day, If I vist London again I will stay there, of course if they have room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had character, was affordable, and the location was central enough to be convenient but not so central that it was chaotic.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

yingzi cai

24 February 2010

Liked: ok

Disliked: yingzi left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sonia Branco

23 February 2010 Sonia would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay specialy if you want a place to rest and sleep a good night. Breakfast is very complete and it represents a nice moment to socialize and get to know people. I would recomend to take better care of the bathrooms cleaning them more often.

Disliked: Sonia left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Timothy Jennings

22 February 2010 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: good friendly atmosphere, breackfast ok good music

Disliked: Timothy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hu yuou

17 February 2010

Liked: the assistant is very friendly

Disliked: Hu left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly people there and a great pub just downstairs!Great value for money! I can higly recommend staying there!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laureano Mon

16 February 2010 Laureano would recommend this property

Liked: Great!

Disliked: Laureano left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

15 February 2010

Liked: Sehr nettes Personal, gute Lage aber Sauberkeit wird nicht so groß geschrieben. Netter Pub und perfekte Verkehrsanbindung mit dem Bus.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly manager.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub underneath had a great kitchen - mostly thai food but also some regular pub food. The staff is all very friendly and fostered a relaxed atmosphere. Location is perfect - 10 minute walk from hostel to big ben and house of parliament. Underground is a 10 minute walk or a 2 minute bus ride. A bus line stops right outside the hostel. Security is not a problem. Door into the hostel is coded and the door into the room is also coded. Also in a very posh area and low crime. For the price, you can't beat it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hsun Ying Hsun

11 February 2010 Hsun Ying would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and friendly. Met some friends there

Disliked: Hsun Ying left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very convenient to have bus stop in front of the hostel. Please prepare your bus ticket as there is no vending machine at the bus stop.I like their 24 hour hot shower with strong water pressure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

08 February 2010

Liked: It is awful! There were 2 toilets in the whole hostel and one of them was out of work. You can imagine one toilet for more than 40 people!!! It is not clean at all and the bed are horrible! I've never laid in such bad mattresses in all my life. The atmosphere is weird and not welcoming and friendly. I definitely do not recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Paul Carton

07 February 2010 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The place was fine, staff friendly enough, the bar inside closed early but there is a shell across the road that you can buy beer from.Its a bit of a trek along the thames to get to if your not familiar with the tube. Dont be afraid of the regluar who talks to himself he is harmless.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anastasia Zacharaki

05 February 2010 Anastasia would recommend this property

Liked: It was conveniently located , close to metro, with a 24hour-bus stopping right outside the hostel.

Disliked: Anastasia left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good pub, nice atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite good in general, good atmosfere, helpfull staff, price including everything (towel, locker, etc), good non-expensive restaurant

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly stuff, room was nice and clean, but the bathroom could have been cleaner a bit.. and there wasn't hot water in the shower a couple of times.. Greate view over the Thames, enjoyed my stay overall!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

31 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff super helpful, washroom could have been a little cleaner, but its a hostel...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathon Nguyen

30 January 2010 Jonathon would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first stay at a hostel and I must say it was quite an enjoyable one at that. The immediate standout I would say was the friendliness of the staff; each one was just as approachable and accommodating as the next - so unnecessarily kind that it baffled me. Not only did they offer me an escort to the train station, they even granted my unusual request for lasagna. The pace boasts some great personality - a chilled, laid-back, larrikin-like joint that's kinda reminiscent of an Irish pub. It was warm and clean, there was hot water when i needed, there were safety deposit boxes for my own security, and staff were always amiable and persistent to assist. I guess the only bummer in my opinion was that i had to pay 5 pounds for 24 hours usage of internet...but hey, i guess that's something i should accept! The location was good, close to Buckingham Palace and Big Ben, however, it did isolate itself quite a bit from other destinations. The breakfast provided consisted of toast, cereal, and juice, but what more would you expect from such a bargain of a stay!This place has opened my eyes up and given me a better appreciation for hostels. I didn't just stay here once....I came back a week later! I felt as if i were in the comfort of my own home. Props to the amazing staff....and props to such an amazing hostel. Travel Joy, you made my London travels joyful!

Disliked: Jonathon left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owners were nice. Wifi was 9 pounds for 1 week or 5 pounds for 1 day, a bit pricey. otherwise it was good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels