We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels

Hostel | The King William IV, 111 Grosvenor Road, London, England SW1V 3LG

88.6% Overall Rating

485 out of 520 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

"The staff is very nice and helpful, everything is well organized, the location is perfect, the rooms are clean, very nice bar downstairs"

Read all Travel Joy Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

FRESH @ The White Ferry, Victoria
19.45 USD

Hostel 81.8% 763 reviews
Caswell Hotel
40.56 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 8 reviews
Melita House Hotel
73.02 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
30.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Astor Victoria
34.07 USD

Hostel 81.0% 1572 reviews
Vegas Hotel
32.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.7% 29 reviews
Surtees Hotel
43.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.8% 3 reviews
Golden Star Hotel
39.72 USD

Hostel 49.9% 187 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

485 out of 520 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Joy Hostels'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 379 of 498 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location! We were able to walk to things like the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, etc. There is also a Tube station very close by. Staff was awesome, as well!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice having a little pub under this hostel. The staff I found to be really friendly and helpful and when I first arrived I was given maps and directions to cool things to do in London. The room itself was a little crowded, but that's to be expected with a hostel, I guess. I was not expecting the bathrooms to be unisex, but they were still private enough.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Merlin Bauer

07 April 2010 Merlin would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was extremely helpful really nice!! really good location and the people were great as well!! i loved to go there another time

Disliked: Merlin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great. The staff are helpful and very nice. The location is nice, nice view out of the window. the rooms are secure and save.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

27 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bus station near the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean White

25 March 2010 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the lobby doubled as a pub/restaurant.Very convenient to access public tranportation.The staff was remarkably welcoming and helpful.I definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Sean left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jurgen Huurnink

23 March 2010 Jurgen would recommend this property

Liked: First of all the staff was very helpfull and flexible. we checked out sunday morning already but we were allowed to leave our suitcases in the room and pick em up later that night! next to that this is a perfect location: directly in front of the street there is a 24-hour bus stop which takes you further in the city (tube is 5-10m walk). Good value for money

Disliked: Jurgen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Hrones

18 March 2010 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Great pub downstairs with wide menu of thai and english cuisine, very helpful staff, great breakfasts, separated bathrooms for every room and good connection to the centre of London(near to Victoria Station-buses to airports, for near trips to Oxford...). Definitely I would recommend this hostel to my friends. Great stuff...

Disliked: Michal left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mainly frendiliness and helpfulnes of the staff, and the crowd gather in the evening for drinks and enjoy the music are very nice. But the disavantage is quite a long walk from underground. When I found out that there is a bus 24 , from Victoria which end at just at the coner of the hostel it was my depature day, If I vist London again I will stay there, of course if they have room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had character, was affordable, and the location was central enough to be convenient but not so central that it was chaotic.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

yingzi cai

24 February 2010

Liked: ok

Disliked: yingzi left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sonia Branco

23 February 2010 Sonia would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay specialy if you want a place to rest and sleep a good night. Breakfast is very complete and it represents a nice moment to socialize and get to know people. I would recomend to take better care of the bathrooms cleaning them more often.

Disliked: Sonia left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Timothy Jennings

22 February 2010 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: good friendly atmosphere, breackfast ok good music

Disliked: Timothy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hu yuou

17 February 2010

Liked: the assistant is very friendly

Disliked: Hu left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly people there and a great pub just downstairs!Great value for money! I can higly recommend staying there!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laureano Mon

16 February 2010 Laureano would recommend this property

Liked: Great!

Disliked: Laureano left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

15 February 2010

Liked: Sehr nettes Personal, gute Lage aber Sauberkeit wird nicht so groß geschrieben. Netter Pub und perfekte Verkehrsanbindung mit dem Bus.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly manager.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub underneath had a great kitchen - mostly thai food but also some regular pub food. The staff is all very friendly and fostered a relaxed atmosphere. Location is perfect - 10 minute walk from hostel to big ben and house of parliament. Underground is a 10 minute walk or a 2 minute bus ride. A bus line stops right outside the hostel. Security is not a problem. Door into the hostel is coded and the door into the room is also coded. Also in a very posh area and low crime. For the price, you can't beat it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hsun Ying Hsun

11 February 2010 Hsun Ying would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and friendly. Met some friends there

Disliked: Hsun Ying left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very convenient to have bus stop in front of the hostel. Please prepare your bus ticket as there is no vending machine at the bus stop.I like their 24 hour hot shower with strong water pressure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

08 February 2010

Liked: It is awful! There were 2 toilets in the whole hostel and one of them was out of work. You can imagine one toilet for more than 40 people!!! It is not clean at all and the bed are horrible! I've never laid in such bad mattresses in all my life. The atmosphere is weird and not welcoming and friendly. I definitely do not recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels