HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels

Hostel | The King William IV, 111 Grosvenor Road, London, England SW1V 3LG

93.1% Overall Rating

473 out of 507 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"I liked the friendly staff and the handy no24 bus outside the door. Also the free soft drinks all day is great value"

Read all Travel Joy Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

FRESH @ The White Ferry, Victoria
18.42 USD

Hostel 76.0% 730 reviews
Caswell Hotel
33.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.9% 5 reviews
Melita House Hotel
75.44 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
54.48 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.9% 23 reviews
Astor Victoria
35.21 USD

Hostel 80.5% 1569 reviews
Vegas Hotel
31.68 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 26 reviews
Surtees Hotel
44.71 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Golden Star Hotel
41.88 USD

Hostel 51.7% 121 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.1%

Overall Rating

473 out of 507 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Joy Hostels'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 371 of 486 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and safe, and in a location that is close enough to the Tube to be convenient and far enough off the tourist path that you feel genuinely at ease while staying there. Plus a very decent breakfast and really nice staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Antonio Samaniego

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

16 August 2010 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are young and friendly. They make you feel at home right away and answer any questions you may have. The humble environment makes your London experinece that much better!

Disliked: The bunk beds are a little dirty.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was good for me, easy to get around lodon on the 24 bus, good facilities

Disliked: rooms were a little crampt and not enough toilets and showers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Ahn

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2010 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: I shared a room with 9 other people, but no big deal. They give you free breakfast with toast, juice, coffee, tea, and cereal. Free linens and towel (5 lb deposit which you get back when you return it). It's a 15 minute walk to Tate Museum; a 10-15 minute walk to the tube, but there is a bus (#24 that's right in front of the hostel that can take you to the tube).I found this out at the LAST night, but you get free soda and juice throughout the day! There's also a bar at the reception so you can just lounge there. Really chill. I had a view of the Thames River which was just across the street from the hostel. The shower, toilet, and sink are communal to the floor.

Disliked: So, they overbooked my room. I was awoken at 3 in the morning because one of the girls came in late and there were not enough beds. In the morning, when we tried to settle the issue, the staff refused to acknowledge the problem. They kept saying that they had no idea what happened. There were no compensations. Other than that, the hostel was still amazing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johan Relefors

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

08 August 2010 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean room and decent breakfast. Location is a good trade-off; not too loud but still close to where you want to go.

Disliked: The staff was not the friendliest I've met. When asked you got answers but they simply did not seem to be paying attention. I also dislike paying for internet but it says in the description so I shouldn't complain.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lian Imm Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

28 July 2010 Lian Imm would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and staff friendly and go all out to make you comfortable.

Disliked: i would say the narrow stairway is a minus point .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The manager John is so nice and took care of us when we had problems. The other staff was nice as well

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money spend, well located near river Thames and Victoria station,nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rositsa Ivanova

11 May 2010 Rositsa would recommend this property

Liked: If i am honest i expect something terribly, but i was surprising from ever?thing, it was clean and the stuff was nice. I can recommend this hostel to everyone who want travel to London. Good location, good stuff, clean, cheap. :)

Disliked: Rositsa left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paul Marr

07 May 2010 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money for a place to stay in the centre of London, with really friendly staff. Would definitely consider going again.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Frans van Hartingsveldt

06 May 2010 Frans would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff.Having on the TV all evening in the pub and music simultanesly, would not be my choice

Disliked: Frans left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bus that drives 24/24 hour al the days is in front of the hostel. You have 10-15 minutes of walk to the nearest metro statition (pimplico). I have a private room with the toilet and the shower. All was very clean. The bad wasnt so good. You must pay for the wi-fi internet. A good simple self-service breakfast from 8.30 - 11.00.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

23 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfulness of the stuff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefan Flörkemeier

20 April 2010 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel! The bar downstairs is a great place to hang out and relax. The food you can buy there is really good and also cheap. John, one of the owners, was really helpful and made us feel very welcome. I can only recommend this hostel to everyone. Great location, great staff, great place to be!

Disliked: Stefan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here with a group of friends for a weekend. The place is awesome! The 24 busline stops directly in front of the hostel and busses stop every 5-10 minutes during the night so you do not have to worry about traveling at night back to the hostel. Furthermore the people working at the hostel are some of the most friendliest I've met, they are very helpful and they bring a good athmosphere to the hostel and pub. I'd recommend the hostel, you'll definately feel at home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

12 April 2010

Liked: Location, but to be honest, it's better to pay a little more, feel safe and stay in a better hostel or hotel. I have stayed at plenty hostels and this one was by far one of the worst and most unsafe, the staff were nice but it doesn't make up for the place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place and staff was very accommodating. It is a long walk from the Tube station though. However, there is a more convenient bus that leave from right out front of the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location! We were able to walk to things like the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, etc. There is also a Tube station very close by. Staff was awesome, as well!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice having a little pub under this hostel. The staff I found to be really friendly and helpful and when I first arrived I was given maps and directions to cool things to do in London. The room itself was a little crowded, but that's to be expected with a hostel, I guess. I was not expecting the bathrooms to be unisex, but they were still private enough.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Merlin Bauer

07 April 2010 Merlin would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was extremely helpful really nice!! really good location and the people were great as well!! i loved to go there another time

Disliked: Merlin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great. The staff are helpful and very nice. The location is nice, nice view out of the window. the rooms are secure and save.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

27 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bus station near the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean White

25 March 2010 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the lobby doubled as a pub/restaurant.Very convenient to access public tranportation.The staff was remarkably welcoming and helpful.I definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Sean left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jurgen Huurnink

23 March 2010 Jurgen would recommend this property

Liked: First of all the staff was very helpfull and flexible. we checked out sunday morning already but we were allowed to leave our suitcases in the room and pick em up later that night! next to that this is a perfect location: directly in front of the street there is a 24-hour bus stop which takes you further in the city (tube is 5-10m walk). Good value for money

Disliked: Jurgen left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels