HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea London Hostel

111 Grosvenor Road, Pimlico, London, England

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 94%

Location 92%

Safety 93%

Staff 96%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 94%

Location 92%

Safety 93%

Staff 96%

Value 87%

Showing 101-110 of 251 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Good food, good access to transit.

Disliked: The staff neglected to tell me that I needed to switch rooms (I was only staying 2 nights, so I'm not sure why this couldn't have been avoided) so when I came home all my stuff was GONE - it had been thrown in a garbage bag and put on my new bed. Because I originally had a bottom bunk and my new room was a top, I asked if I could switch to the empty bottom bunk below me due to the circumstances. They said it wasn't possible because someone else was coming in - who had not arrived yet - who requested a bottom bunk and so couldn't be bothered. Poor communication could have been forgiven, but terrible service with no recompense will not. Won't be staying here again.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff - they printed a couple of documents on my request.Free ear-plugs, free soft drinks, free lock (5 pounds deposit).

Disliked: The hostel provides no kitchen, poor water pressure in showers.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very good location, good walking and transport distance to all main sights while still remaining quiet. Food downstairs was great and the staff are really friendly.

Disliked: On our second day we woke up to a small colony of cockroaches which where trying to claim to room. The room appeared clean enough but these guys ain't paying for there stay!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: HMM.. THAT WHEN I ASKED FOR A DRINK AT MIDNIGHT THEY SAID "NO LICENCE FOR SO LATE"SO TIME TO REST.MANY THANKS!

Disliked: I CAN TSAY ANYTHING

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free breakfast, juice, tea and coffee.Staff is mostly super friendly.Good atmosphere.I really recommend this hostel.

Disliked: The beds are squeaky! The window did not close properly in the room. They do not have dorms just for girls...

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Beautiful view of the river, great pub downstairs.

Disliked: When the pub shut everyone goes up to the giant hallway and it's really noisy. Needs a better common area.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Overall look and location.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There nothing not to like about this hostel. Everything is perfect. Rooms are decent, they even have a computer mounted on walls in every room. These computers, which have a touch screen, shows your place in the room by displaying your name near the correspondent letter. They even recommend places you can go! You can get a half price discount at the Ministry of Sound club by staying at this hotel by paying just 10 pounds instead of 20. The hostel's first floor is basically a pub, a great pub that is. Drinks are absolutely free to hostel customers (alcoholic beverages are excluded). A free breakfast is being offered to customers but don't expect a full-fledged open buffet and please don't forget you can have a free breakfast in London and in a hostel which overlooks the Thames.Hostel is very safe, I haven't seen any indecent people or incidents during my stay. Hostel has safety precautions at the entrance of the hostel and at the entrance of rooms, all doors guarded with a different code. Hostel also provides safe lockers to customers.

Disliked: This will be a recommendation to the crew of the hostel, I was just a little uncomfortable this issue. Please make a significant sign for the hostel. Before my first arrival to the hostel, I have searched nearly EVERYWHERE for the hostel and walked past the hostel with a few hundred meters. Then I remembered that hostel's first floor was a pub from a comment I read on this site and I walked back to find the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staffs were really kind and meal was good.

Disliked: Location is somewhat uncomfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place to hang out.... friendly, good bar, peaceful...

Disliked: Nothing...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability