HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels

Hostel | The King William IV, 111 Grosvenor Road, London, England SW1V 3LG

93.0% Overall Rating

474 out of 508 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

DOYOUNG KIM thinks…

"Staffs are so bubbly, kind, so helpful anytime. Breakfast also great especially smoothie is so good, omelet is randomly good. There are so many free offers in the pub (drinks/sweets/tea/coffee/etc)…"

Read all Travel Joy Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

FRESH @ The White Ferry, Victoria
18.45 USD

Hostel 76.0% 730 reviews
Caswell Hotel
31.48 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.9% 5 reviews
Melita House Hotel
75.54 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
33.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.9% 23 reviews
Astor Victoria
35.25 USD

Hostel 80.5% 1569 reviews
Vegas Hotel
30.22 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 26 reviews
Surtees Hotel
44.77 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Golden Star Hotel
33.54 USD

Hostel 52.9% 122 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

474 out of 508 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Joy Hostels'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 372 of 487 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free beverages all day long, (well until the pub closes down in the evening). One friendly worker during check-in.

Disliked: One very unfriendly worker. No blinds/curtains on one large window in bedroom. Beds tightly fitted into small room. Very small room. Co-ed lavatories. 3 men came into my all female room within the first 3 hours saying they were "checking on things." I thought I paid for an only female room? Pub closes very early, (including computers/internet access).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff! very helpfull, extremely friendly, they all made me feel welcome, eager to assist me at any time of day.Well placed in a really nice area with a bus stop in front, with easy access to all major sites.

Disliked: That I couldnt stay longer!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tsuyoshi Kurokawa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Tsuyoshi would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good service.

Disliked: The beds are so small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amanda fahey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 amanda would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are extremely helpful, the location is great not to far but not to close to the city

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a couple of problems with our beds because the people were sleeping in the wrong ebds and the workers helped us a lot getting the right beds. They also helped us to get to all the events (concerts, etc.) we wanted to see

Disliked: asf

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011

Liked: The bar and restaurant were nice and the staff were really friendly.

Disliked: While the location was beautiful it took at least 30 minutes to get anywhere, even if you took the subway. It was at least a ten minute walk to the nearest station and to get to most places downtown/most of the main sites you needed to transfer. Also the bathrooms were not ideal. Not that they were unclean, but the water was so unbelievably hot that I actually burned myself and refused to shower again during my stay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really good for me, because I was pending only 1 night in London an needed to be close to victoria Station and it's a pleasant 15 minutes walk from the hostel. Free soft drinks in the bar downstairs!

Disliked: There was some mess with assigning beds to guests, but it was rather the guests' fault, not staff''s. The door in one shower didn't close and in the other shower the water was cold.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The interior and the free drink it provides! As well as the bus that goes all the main London attractions stops right in front of the hostel!

Disliked: The room switching was a bit inconvenient.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Justin Farrell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 April 2011 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: It was above a pub and a thai restaurant. The thai food was excellent. It was also directly opposite the Thames which made it easy to orient yourself at all times.

Disliked: Some of the apartments behind the hostel seemed a little sketchy, but nothing too bad at all. It could have been closer to the underground station, but then again it was only 10-15 mins away by foot.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Fabiano Yamamoto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Fabiano would recommend this property

Liked: friendly environment at the bar

Disliked: cleanliness

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clean toilet areas

Disliked: cramped dorm rooms, making own bed is a pain but ok if keeps cost down

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gyula Prader

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Gyula would recommend this property

Liked: Free drinks, friendly staff, flexibility, excellent location

Disliked: narrow basement, difficult to move your luggage

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elise cooke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 elise would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean and big with very comfortable beds

Disliked: the toilets where a little small in the area i was staying but hey you can deal with that

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything !!!!

Disliked: I liked everything !!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Eva Antal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: staff was really helpful and nice...

Disliked: was not really clean and bit bothering that u cannot close the door of showers...:S...tho fixing works were in progress...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

03 April 2011

Liked: Friendliness of staff

Disliked: Light bulb out, staff didn't fix it when requested. Television made a loud noise when turned on, staff didn't have a solution. Bathroom had bugs in it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

luke cunningham

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 March 2011 luke would recommend this property

Liked: Not really a Pub and not really a Hostel, somewhere in the middle. Fantastic location, 20-25 min peaceful walk to Buckingham palace i.e the centre of London. I found the price a bit too high on the weekends but that seems normal for london hostels. Staff were great and the hostel was well looked after compared to many others.

Disliked: I could probably list a few things here, but I wasnt staying in a Hotel, its is a hostel after all and you never expect them to be perfect. For the weekday price on Hostelbookers, this place was awesome

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 March 2011

Liked: Relatively easy to find. Breakfast okay. Some staff helpful concerning late arrival.

Disliked: Some staff extremely unfriendly and obviously unhappy about their job (...why do they then work there, I ask myself). Lavatories and showers dirty at all times. Locks are with codes, but many doors are left open... hence: not secure. Internet is not free (although advertised)! On check-in, the staff person was unfamiliar with internet print-out from hostelbookers.com. Rooms are just cramped full with as many beds in a room as possible. ... Overall a disappointing experience!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Location. Nice price. Nice Balcony.

Disliked: Very noisy both nights.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The thai menu on offer is excellent. the chef was more than happy to cater for my needs (the food was just spot on). the free drinks is also a bonus and helped to save money.

Disliked: There is VERY limited space in the shower cubicles to shower and then be able to get dressed afterwards with getting everything you have wet. As I was in am mixed room I did not feel comfortable getting fully changed and would have liked just a few more inches without having to stand back in the shower. Also the shower pressure went on and off so at one point I wasn't sure if I was going to get water to fully wash the soap suds away... Also not the fault of the hostel but between a large group of 16+ spanish kids and a very old bloke who snored louder than I have ever heard throughout the entire night on the bunk below me I only managed about an hours sleep in total... But I'm afraid this did not help my experience of the hostel (sorry)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lots of room downstairs to relax & use internet, free soft drinks, able to buy meals on-site

Disliked: two different type-in codes to access building and room was annoying - key or keycard system would have been better, needed to buy padlock for lockers (did not understand why not take a deposit and give refund on return of padlock), staircase access to rooms awkward, serviced by 24hr bus but a location close to tube instead may have offered quicker time to get to centre of town

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You get free soft drinks and coffee throughout your whole stay and the location is great because there's a bus going down town 24/7.

Disliked: Unfortunately, the bathroom wasn't very clean. I don't know if it's always like that, though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, but be aware it's a few minutes from the tube. Also, you might have your beds switched with another's.

Disliked: The bed system is dysfunctional. My bed was double booked. But on the bright side, there was another free bed. This happens often, but they do have a bed for everyone regardless.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BOGDAN VOICU

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 March 2011 BOGDAN would recommend this property

Liked: free wi fi,coffee and sky sport....

Disliked: nothing ,all ok


See all London hostels
See all London hotels