We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels

Hostel | The King William IV, 111 Grosvenor Road, London, England SW1V 3LG

92.3% Overall Rating

503 out of 538 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

Pao Chan thinks…

"The breakfast is the best. Not sure any other hostel can match it now I've been here.. Custom omelettes, pancakes, smoothies plus the usual toast ,cereal, juices etc. Another plus was the bar kitchen…"

Read all Travel Joy Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

PubLove @ The White Ferry, Victoria
15.59 USD

Hostel 73.4% 792 reviews
Caswell Hotel
31.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.3% 10 reviews
Melita House Hotel
70.22 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
780.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Astor Victoria
28.09 USD

Hostel 89.6% 1591 reviews
Vegas Hotel
35.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.6% 32 reviews
Surtees Hotel
44.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.1% 6 reviews
Golden Star Hotel
27.28 USD

Hostel 45.3% 226 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

503 out of 538 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Joy Hostels'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 391 of 516 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great experience!

Disliked: everything is fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quality of Staff. Cleanliness. Price. location.

Disliked: It seems a bit isolated at dark, rainy nights.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kathrine Dela

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Kathrine would recommend this property

Liked: Love how friendly and helpful the staff is -especially John who is the Director. Also offers a decent breakfast and it's nice that they offer free (non-alcoholic) drinks. The 24 bus also stops right in front which is convenient.

Disliked: In a fairly quiet area, so not much happening in the neighborhood.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Md Redzuan Zoolfakar

Alone

City break

04 July 2011 Md Redzuan would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nil

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sonja Rehme

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very friendly. Each day you get a free drink

Disliked: Rooms far too small. Had problems getting in my bed, had to squeeze myself through the ladder and the bed post

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011

Liked: Free drink definitely is a good thing, but the bar closes too early (like 12AM/1AM) so you can't take too much advantage from it.

Disliked: The lower deck bed provides incredibly small space. You will be very likely to hurt your head when you get up (or head up). I can't see the reason why they set it so slow...maybe that prevents us from staying in the room too long, thus lowering housekeeping cost.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, they couldn't help enough. Good services too.

Disliked: Location.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Orsolya Szommer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Orsolya would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff providing map and direction to where we want to go. Close to any major attraction from the Northern part of Thames: Victoria station 15 mins, Trafalgar square 35-40 mins by foot. Food is great. There is a pool table and football table in the bar.

Disliked: Bar closes early: 11.00pm 12.00pm. Rooms are quite crowded.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

edward phipps

Alone

Events / festivals

25 June 2011 edward would recommend this property

Liked: location was excellent-right across from battersea power station-a good landmark if u get lost,staff were very friendly and helpful and a really nice vibe going on

Disliked: nothing whatsoever-it was 100 per cent awesome

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived after midnight at the hostel, the staff gave me the code through e-mail, so that I could enter the hostel safe and sound.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The service

Disliked: The location

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price, possibility to stay 1 night only

Disliked: breakfast, 6 beds in 8 square meters;) everything is possible

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011

Liked: Nice location, good breakfast, some members of the staff were very helpful and friendly (e.g. Anik), good pub with a food for a decent price...

Disliked: Bathrooms are not very clean, 10 beds female dorm where we stayed was too small for that capacity...I had a bottom bed and it was blocked but two other bunk beds...I asked a member of staff to change it because I use the toilets during the night and it was impossible to get in or out of bed without disturbing a person from the bottom bed next to you...He was helpful so I spent first night in the top bed. The next day their manager called and rudely asked how I could have changed the bed without asking. After I had explained the situation, he apologized and offered a free meal, but I was obliged to go back to that blocked bed. I was really disturbed with this.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

damian mccallion

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 damian would recommend this property

Liked: the bar gives free non-alcholic drinks and the free internet is great

Disliked: internet reception in the bedrooms was very poor...best to use in the main bar area.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good prices in a easy to get to city location, staff were very helpful and where trying to help me with everything i asked,normal beer prices,free refreshment drinks unlimited. I will get back there for sure.greetings from Theo,Greece

Disliked: could be more fun,lack of socializing events,could have also happy hour some time during the day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: people who work there were very kind and helpful, and the atmosphere was very good!!!

Disliked: it wasn´t too close from the center

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2011

Liked: Nothing really although the staff were nice enough to check us in over the phone as we did not arrive until 1am

Disliked: The bathroom was quite dirty and at one stage there was no hot water. No apology or notice of this was given even when I asked about it at reception. The pub closed quite early and was mot very happening anyways.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap accomodation in a good spot , free soft-drinks and tea/coffee all day, good enough breakfast, friendly and welcoming staff, very comfortable beds, rent-a-bike-terminal and (night-)bus-stop (to all centrical destinations) within 100 metres and Victoria Station not far.

Disliked: There was no live music in the bar the weekend when I was there

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free beverages all day long, (well until the pub closes down in the evening). One friendly worker during check-in.

Disliked: One very unfriendly worker. No blinds/curtains on one large window in bedroom. Beds tightly fitted into small room. Very small room. Co-ed lavatories. 3 men came into my all female room within the first 3 hours saying they were "checking on things." I thought I paid for an only female room? Pub closes very early, (including computers/internet access).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff! very helpfull, extremely friendly, they all made me feel welcome, eager to assist me at any time of day.Well placed in a really nice area with a bus stop in front, with easy access to all major sites.

Disliked: That I couldnt stay longer!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tsuyoshi Kurokawa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Tsuyoshi would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good service.

Disliked: The beds are so small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amanda fahey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 amanda would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are extremely helpful, the location is great not to far but not to close to the city

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a couple of problems with our beds because the people were sleeping in the wrong ebds and the workers helped us a lot getting the right beds. They also helped us to get to all the events (concerts, etc.) we wanted to see

Disliked: asf

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011

Liked: The bar and restaurant were nice and the staff were really friendly.

Disliked: While the location was beautiful it took at least 30 minutes to get anywhere, even if you took the subway. It was at least a ten minute walk to the nearest station and to get to most places downtown/most of the main sites you needed to transfer. Also the bathrooms were not ideal. Not that they were unclean, but the water was so unbelievably hot that I actually burned myself and refused to shower again during my stay.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels