We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Travel Joy Hostels

Hostel | The King William IV, 111 Grosvenor Road, London, England SW1V 3LG

88.6% Overall Rating

485 out of 520 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

"The staff is very nice and helpful, everything is well organized, the location is perfect, the rooms are clean, very nice bar downstairs"

Read all Travel Joy Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

FRESH @ The White Ferry, Victoria
19.56 USD

Hostel 81.5% 764 reviews
Caswell Hotel
40.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 8 reviews
Melita House Hotel
73.42 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
32.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Astor Victoria
34.26 USD

Hostel 81.0% 1572 reviews
Vegas Hotel
33.04 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.7% 29 reviews
Surtees Hotel
43.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.8% 3 reviews
Golden Star Hotel
39.94 USD

Hostel 49.8% 188 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

485 out of 520 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Joy Hostels'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 379 of 498 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price, possibility to stay 1 night only

Disliked: breakfast, 6 beds in 8 square meters;) everything is possible

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011

Liked: Nice location, good breakfast, some members of the staff were very helpful and friendly (e.g. Anik), good pub with a food for a decent price...

Disliked: Bathrooms are not very clean, 10 beds female dorm where we stayed was too small for that capacity...I had a bottom bed and it was blocked but two other bunk beds...I asked a member of staff to change it because I use the toilets during the night and it was impossible to get in or out of bed without disturbing a person from the bottom bed next to you...He was helpful so I spent first night in the top bed. The next day their manager called and rudely asked how I could have changed the bed without asking. After I had explained the situation, he apologized and offered a free meal, but I was obliged to go back to that blocked bed. I was really disturbed with this.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

damian mccallion

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 damian would recommend this property

Liked: the bar gives free non-alcholic drinks and the free internet is great

Disliked: internet reception in the bedrooms was very poor...best to use in the main bar area.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good prices in a easy to get to city location, staff were very helpful and where trying to help me with everything i asked,normal beer prices,free refreshment drinks unlimited. I will get back there for sure.greetings from Theo,Greece

Disliked: could be more fun,lack of socializing events,could have also happy hour some time during the day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: people who work there were very kind and helpful, and the atmosphere was very good!!!

Disliked: it wasn´t too close from the center

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2011

Liked: Nothing really although the staff were nice enough to check us in over the phone as we did not arrive until 1am

Disliked: The bathroom was quite dirty and at one stage there was no hot water. No apology or notice of this was given even when I asked about it at reception. The pub closed quite early and was mot very happening anyways.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap accomodation in a good spot , free soft-drinks and tea/coffee all day, good enough breakfast, friendly and welcoming staff, very comfortable beds, rent-a-bike-terminal and (night-)bus-stop (to all centrical destinations) within 100 metres and Victoria Station not far.

Disliked: There was no live music in the bar the weekend when I was there

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free beverages all day long, (well until the pub closes down in the evening). One friendly worker during check-in.

Disliked: One very unfriendly worker. No blinds/curtains on one large window in bedroom. Beds tightly fitted into small room. Very small room. Co-ed lavatories. 3 men came into my all female room within the first 3 hours saying they were "checking on things." I thought I paid for an only female room? Pub closes very early, (including computers/internet access).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff! very helpfull, extremely friendly, they all made me feel welcome, eager to assist me at any time of day.Well placed in a really nice area with a bus stop in front, with easy access to all major sites.

Disliked: That I couldnt stay longer!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tsuyoshi Kurokawa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Tsuyoshi would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good service.

Disliked: The beds are so small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amanda fahey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 amanda would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are extremely helpful, the location is great not to far but not to close to the city

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a couple of problems with our beds because the people were sleeping in the wrong ebds and the workers helped us a lot getting the right beds. They also helped us to get to all the events (concerts, etc.) we wanted to see

Disliked: asf

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011

Liked: The bar and restaurant were nice and the staff were really friendly.

Disliked: While the location was beautiful it took at least 30 minutes to get anywhere, even if you took the subway. It was at least a ten minute walk to the nearest station and to get to most places downtown/most of the main sites you needed to transfer. Also the bathrooms were not ideal. Not that they were unclean, but the water was so unbelievably hot that I actually burned myself and refused to shower again during my stay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really good for me, because I was pending only 1 night in London an needed to be close to victoria Station and it's a pleasant 15 minutes walk from the hostel. Free soft drinks in the bar downstairs!

Disliked: There was some mess with assigning beds to guests, but it was rather the guests' fault, not staff''s. The door in one shower didn't close and in the other shower the water was cold.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The interior and the free drink it provides! As well as the bus that goes all the main London attractions stops right in front of the hostel!

Disliked: The room switching was a bit inconvenient.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Justin Farrell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 April 2011 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: It was above a pub and a thai restaurant. The thai food was excellent. It was also directly opposite the Thames which made it easy to orient yourself at all times.

Disliked: Some of the apartments behind the hostel seemed a little sketchy, but nothing too bad at all. It could have been closer to the underground station, but then again it was only 10-15 mins away by foot.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Fabiano Yamamoto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Fabiano would recommend this property

Liked: friendly environment at the bar

Disliked: cleanliness

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clean toilet areas

Disliked: cramped dorm rooms, making own bed is a pain but ok if keeps cost down

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gyula Prader

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Gyula would recommend this property

Liked: Free drinks, friendly staff, flexibility, excellent location

Disliked: narrow basement, difficult to move your luggage

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elise cooke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 elise would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean and big with very comfortable beds

Disliked: the toilets where a little small in the area i was staying but hey you can deal with that

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything !!!!

Disliked: I liked everything !!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Eva Antal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: staff was really helpful and nice...

Disliked: was not really clean and bit bothering that u cannot close the door of showers...:S...tho fixing works were in progress...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

03 April 2011

Liked: Friendliness of staff

Disliked: Light bulb out, staff didn't fix it when requested. Television made a loud noise when turned on, staff didn't have a solution. Bathroom had bugs in it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

luke cunningham

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 March 2011 luke would recommend this property

Liked: Not really a Pub and not really a Hostel, somewhere in the middle. Fantastic location, 20-25 min peaceful walk to Buckingham palace i.e the centre of London. I found the price a bit too high on the weekends but that seems normal for london hostels. Staff were great and the hostel was well looked after compared to many others.

Disliked: I could probably list a few things here, but I wasnt staying in a Hotel, its is a hostel after all and you never expect them to be perfect. For the weekday price on Hostelbookers, this place was awesome

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 March 2011

Liked: Relatively easy to find. Breakfast okay. Some staff helpful concerning late arrival.

Disliked: Some staff extremely unfriendly and obviously unhappy about their job (...why do they then work there, I ask myself). Lavatories and showers dirty at all times. Locks are with codes, but many doors are left open... hence: not secure. Internet is not free (although advertised)! On check-in, the staff person was unfamiliar with internet print-out from hostelbookers.com. Rooms are just cramped full with as many beds in a room as possible. ... Overall a disappointing experience!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels