We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Hyde Park View

Hostel | 11 Craven Hill Gardens, London, England W2 3EU

71.4% Overall Rating

1009 out of 1324 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/09/2014)

"Brilliant hotel/hostel. Far better than we had been led to believe from some of the other reviews. The place was spotless, the staff helpful and the rooms great. There were very comfortable beds in the hotel rooms and…"

Read all Smart Hyde Park View reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Bookings of 10 or more people are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with hostelbookers.com Group Bookings to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please, also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per hostelbookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Duke Of Leinster Hotel
39.76 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
35.70 USD

Hostel 83.3% 611 reviews
Hyde Park Hostel
16.21 USD

Hostel 53.4% 1334 reviews
Hyde Park Apartments
67.84 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hyde Park Economy Apartments
60.05 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Smart Hyde Park Inn
16.21 USD

Hostel 71.8% 1672 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
21.42 USD

Hostel 74.1% 1810 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
32.46 USD

Hostel 69.7% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.4%

Overall Rating

1009 out of 1324 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Hyde Park View'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
77.6%
Value
69.6%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 769 of 914 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hotel/hostel. Far better than we had been led to believe from some of the other reviews. The place was spotless, the staff helpful and the rooms great. There were very comfortable beds in the hotel rooms and tea brewing facilities. As expected there were lots of students and teachers staying there and the camaraderie was as good as I've ever known. The position is as safe and convenient for the sights as anywhere affordable in London and there are plenty of half reasonable eating places nearby.

Disliked: It was a little noisy at times. The dormitory beds are not full size, which was a problem for some of the older students. My shower ceased to function after the first day (so I just had to have baths) and operating the room safe was completely beyond me. Breakfasts were very basic, and even more so for the students.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2014

Liked: .

Disliked: The site says "free wifi" but actually you have to pay for wifi in the room, says that this towel included but costs 8 euros to rent a towel, you arrive at the hotel and still have to pack your bed, they are very rude on reception, to leave your bags you have to pay, are not flexible with you and you can not eat anywhere, the local outlets do not work right. small rooms and you need to pay to use the lockers rooms, the elevator does not work. A bad place, I do not recommend.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Søren Skaarup

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 August 2014 Søren would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, friendly staff

Disliked: British Plumbing!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is well located and easy to be reached by public transport. Clean rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: The room wasn't really nice, not the kind of room you would want to spend time in and relax, was ok for sleeping though. The beds were extremely small. I'm not particularly tall, any person taller than 1,80m won't fit. Also the beds were extremely narrow. I slept in a six bed dorm, the bunks slept three people. in a fully booked room there is not nealy enough room for storing luggage if you decide not to pay for the safe box. There was a fee for using the lockers, a fee for using the luggage storage, for using the internet...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

rich goddard

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 July 2014 rich would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable

Disliked: Ended up having a bath rather than shower as unable to change between the 2

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 June 2014

Liked: honestly it was the worst hostel i ever been...

Disliked: everything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amanda Rios Ferreira

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: amazing place

Disliked: There's no free internet in the rooms

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ladislava Vybiralova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2014

Liked: I liked only the location of the hostel.

Disliked: The room was not large enough for 6 people, was not clean, bathroom size ok but smelt bad, no lift to get on the upper floors with heavy luggages.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Work / volunteering

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The executive room for the staff was really good and clean, however the room was too hot as both radiators did not have adjustable thermostats on them and one of the windows did not open. Tried the fan but it was circulating hot air, this resulted in a sleepless night for all. All it needs is to have the thermostats installed to make it a 4* room

Disliked: The doorms with private bathroom that were used by the students. Water was leaking in one bathrooms and there was chewing gum stuck on the bunkbeds that was visible. Also the triple bunks made it feel claustrophobic. Could only find one plug socket in the room, not good when everyone needs their phone charging!!!!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: localización y trabajadores muy cordiales, si mantienen los precios así seguro que vuelvo staff and location very nice, if they continue with this price, i will come back 4 sure

Disliked: agua frian en la ducha muchas veces

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All in all, the atmosphere was good and the staff was helpful. I liked how the hostel is situated so close to the park.

Disliked: I have nothing really negative to say about this hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

marnie brown

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014 marnie would recommend this property

Liked: easy to reach. good location for central London. Is Ideal for overnight stays.

Disliked: coffee was very poor and breakfast not up to much. toilet seat broken and lift very slow.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good price, location, good bathroom

Disliked: unfriendly staff

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: my expectations were low and they were exceeded by the smart hyde park view

Disliked: all thinks considered for what i paid i wish not to grumble.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 December 2013

Liked: the staff members were ok. when i locked myself out the staff member asked me to knock on the door so that somebody could open or she could come to open it for me. I guess a more professional attitude would be to go and open it for me in the first place, which she did after telling her that i would like to wake up anybody. the location was the best advantage of this hostel.

Disliked: the small and smelly rooms. the inability to open a window to refresh the room. the absence of a place where we could place our luggage. the lack of internet access in the rooms. the absence of duvet covers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff was very friendly and the location was ideal. The room was good and clean.

Disliked: The elevator was very slow. One staff member seemed to be drunk while working at the desk.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kalinda Solomon

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013 Kalinda would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the price. London is an expensive city and this did the trick for a few nights.

Disliked: It is winter so the building was warm but it was quite stuffy in the room. Probably unavoidable in a teeny tiny old building I would imagine. Not a massive problem though, it is clean and tidy and that's what counts.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELIZAVETA SAMTONOVA

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2013 ELIZAVETA would recommend this property

Liked: 1

Disliked: ELIZAVETA left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Visiting friends or family

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great

Disliked: Scruffy bathrooms with mold

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Pawandip Marwaha

Alone

Business / conference

24 September 2013 Pawandip would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to Hyde Park and other areas of central London

Disliked: I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and it was very small, with not enough room for all 6 people to stand, infact there wasn't enough room for 2 people to stand and get changed. There were only 2 powerpoints in the whole dorm room to charge phones etc. Breakfast was just average, with just tea/coffee, toast and cornflakes.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Danil Dzhalchinov

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Danil would recommend this property

Liked: close to Hyde Park

Disliked: A lot of concealed payments: towel, locker, currency exchange commissions, commissions for using credit cards

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Erik Sartison

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Bar downstairs

Disliked: Erik left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 September 2013

Liked: The location was great and the staff was very helpful.

Disliked: There was no way to get decent sleep here really - staying on a 3rd layer of a bunk bed you first had to climb up a lot, then you couldn't move because the bed would be shaking terribly, the matresses weren't comfortable at all and you couldn't properly lie in bed if you're over 1.70m tall.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, easy to go. Near of the underground.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels