HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Hyde Park View

Hostel | 11 Craven Hill Gardens, London, England W2 3EU

73.6% Overall Rating

1000 out of 1312 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/03/2014)

"The executive room for the staff was really good and clean, however the room was too hot as both radiators did not have adjustable thermostats on them and one of the windows did not open. Tried the fan but it was…"

Read all Smart Hyde Park View reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.36
  • Towel USD 8.39

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Bookings of 10 or more people are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with hostelbookers.com Group Bookings to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please, also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per hostelbookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Duke Of Leinster Hotel
117.45 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
London Guards Hotel
105.70 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
35.23 USD

Hostel 81.3% 596 reviews
Hyde Park Hostel
15.10 USD

Hostel 54.2% 1241 reviews
Hyde Park Apartments
38.59 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hyde Park Economy Apartments
46.14 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Smart Hyde Park Inn
16.76 USD

Hostel 66.1% 1638 reviews
The 23 Hostel
25.17 USD

Hostel 63.9% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.6%

Overall Rating

1000 out of 1312 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Hyde Park View'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
75.2%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 761 of 902 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ALVAREZ ARRIETA

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

23 July 2010 ALVAREZ would recommend this property

Liked: great location, the room is cleaned everyday and the stuff is really nice. I would strongly recommend it to every people.

Disliked: ALVAREZ left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

21 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ensuite bathrooms, clean rooms, curtains around each bed, nice location.

Disliked: Lack of quiet space with internet.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to hydepark and queensway station

Disliked: for tall people: the beds are very short

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mi HAN

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

20 July 2010 Mi would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really helpful and the location is great! the subway is only 5min walk from the hostel and you have a mall, lots of restaurants, bars etc... nearby.

Disliked: Mi left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar in the entrance was a nice open space for people to sit and enjoy a drink or convo though it wasnt at all busy when we were there.

Disliked: Wasnt that that clean, we were in a bunk bed right next to some really dirty curtains and because it was soo hot we had to have the window wide open all night which i didnt feel too safe with plus it went straight out into a small courtyard which had rubbish lying around.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Azmi Rizal Abdul Razak

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping

17 July 2010 Azmi Rizal would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel is close to the tube stations (Queensway and Bayswater), accessible within 10 minutes walk, and halal food is easily available (2 halal restaurants right in front of hotel). Room is clean, and despite the low price, wifi is available for free.

Disliked: Nothing much at the price, but the bed seriously needs replacement. Slightest movement woke up my wife as the springs are so noisy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendliness of the staff people

Disliked: the beds, are too small

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DI YANG

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 July 2010 DI would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and safety as I ever stayed hostal.

Disliked: a bit boring

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

14 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is nice and clean and very close to Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park. There are two grocery shops opposite the hostel and Gueensway with lots of shops and restaurants is a five-minute walk. There are three underground stations within walking distance.

Disliked: I did not dislike that but it is good to know that breakfast at this place is rather modest: toasts, butter, jam and cornflakes with milk every mornining. I was a bit confused about the price - on the online reservation form, it says that the balance payable upon your arrival is something, but we had to pay 50 pounds more. I guess this was the tax which was not included in the online balance, but I would appreciate to know that earlier. There are signs informing you that tere is a 10-pound refundable deposit, but we did not get any money back and we were told that we did not pay the deposit. The policy concerning prices could be clearer.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: our room had their own bathroom, and it was really clean!

Disliked: breakfast was a bit poor, room really hot at night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

07 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wi-fi

Disliked: The room are extremely hot and there is not vetilation what so ever, i would be surprize if it meets building regulations. Kitchen staff are very rude and agressive. No kitchen for use.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

04 July 2010

Liked: it's clean~~ staff are helpful and friendly~~

Disliked: a little too expensive, location is a bit far, shower's water flow was small...no fan provided during summer~~~~

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great at all times. The hostel was very clean and tidy.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Cohen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: London is an expensive city, so dorming it is the way to go here. This place is a no frills spot, but the bar is open late here and there are a variety of people staying at any given time. Close to the tube, Hyde Park, and lots of restaurants. My 2nd time here. All good!

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sinead Hodson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

29 June 2010 Sinead would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and bar, friendly staff, cheap and clean.

Disliked: Sinead left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rolando medellin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 June 2010 rolando would recommend this property

Liked: great place

Disliked: rolando left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 June 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The accommodation, the staff, the service, the prices charged on site for essentials such as toothpaste etc. higher than those in the shop across the road, the exchange rates.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bradley De Swardt

27 June 2010 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: It is hostel and having stayed at a fair few hostels in my life, it was one of the better hostels I have stayed at, definately not the worst. The rooms are small but they have the advantage of having onsuite. the breakfast is a bit strange, we sat down in the reception bar where breakfast was being served only to be told we were hostel guests and should use the other room, why I dont know after all it was coffee and toast, nothing fancy. I will most likely use this place again, as it is cheap, clean and location is not to bad, about £12 in a black cab from central london at 4 am

Disliked: Bradley left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jose Seara

23 June 2010 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, able to help your need at any time, safe area, overall great hostel...

Disliked: Jose left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We took a private room, so basically we ended up living in the hotel part of the building. For London, everything was great - yes, the room was small, but bearable (if you want bigger, you have got to pay some crazy money), it was very clean, towels and shampoos and everything else was there. We even had tea and tea cups. We had been looking forward to a really friendly staff, but they were actually really average. Nothing special in my opinion, but maybe it's just me. The greatest thing about the hotel was the location. You couldn't really ask for a better one - a minute away from everything, the tube, Hyde Park, bus stop. If you went one way, you'd end up on Oxford Street, and if you went the other way, you'd end up in Notting Hill.The continental breakfast was basic (too basic) - just tea and coffee, bread, jam and butter. Oh yeah, corn flakes and milk too. I mean, it was okay, but could have been better. Not above expectations, but on the other hand, not below either.So all in all, I'd recommend it (if you are planning on taking a private room, I mean, don't know about the hostel). I think I'd even go back there, as I said, the location was perfect.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 June 2010

Liked: Very well located.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super freundliches Personal. Immer hilfsbereit und gut für einen Tip.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Maria Driver

04 June 2010

Liked: The rooms have 8 bunks jammed into them and the beds are not the greatest. It was a good location and a decent place to stay but I think there are better options in a city so large. Not the best place to meet people. Also they advertise as environmentally friendly but the only use plastic cutlery at breakfast and they Have no recycling.

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, value for money and ease of stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

michael cochrane

31 May 2010 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, double room with ensuite was very clean and tidy. Would stay again!!

Disliked: michael left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels