We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Hostel

Hostel | 2-6 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3HU

53.4% Overall Rating

628 out of 1347 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/01/2015)

Vår Ane Pettersen thinks…

"It's close to everything and really easy to travel from the hostel to places around London. There were warm water and you could lock the door to the showers."

Read all Hyde Park Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

"Hyde Park Hostel" only accepts 18-35 year old travelers and small student groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
36.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
35.70 USD

Hostel 83.3% 611 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
12.97 USD

Hostel 71.9% 1822 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
16.21 USD

Hostel 74.5% 1678 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
44.63 USD

Apartment 70.2% 9 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
32.46 USD

Hostel 68.6% 35 reviews
New dawn hotel
28.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.6% 26 reviews
Duke Of Leinster Hotel
43.82 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
53.4%

Overall Rating

628 out of 1347 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Hostel'

Atmosphere
44.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
44.8%
Cleanliness
44.0%
Staff
45.6%
Value
60.8%
Safety
46.4%
Refine your results Showing 845 of 1247 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Vår Ane Pettersen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2015

Liked: It's close to everything and really easy to travel from the hostel to places around London. There were warm water and you could lock the door to the showers.

Disliked: Online they are very specific about this being a place for people between the age of 18-35. I'm pretty sure more than half the people I met in the hostel was older than 35. It constantly smelled like someone was smoking in there, and not all the bathrooms were clean or useable.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

benjamin scott

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

11 January 2015 benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: bit of a dump

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: x

Disliked: x

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Andres Galeana

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2015

Liked: Nothing. It sucks in every single aspect.

Disliked: Everything. The smell is completely disgusting, really dirty a lot of old creepy guys, not helpful staff.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had plenty of showers and toilets and there was a sink in our four bed dorm. Kitchen was clean and people seemed to be friendly. Read a few of the reviews and wandering if these people are backpackers or people expecting B&B's it's a hostel!!

Disliked: Stairs ha was on top floor.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jeniffer Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2015

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: AVOID THIS HOSTEL Filthy, gross, dirty, messy bathrooms and bedrooms. No ventilation. No hot showers. Just for plugs for 20 people. Really RUDE, unfriendly and UNHELPFUL staff. The linens and duvets stink, really stink. Bathrooms and showers rooms were GROSS. They try to rip you off all the moment, luggage room is paid, lockers as well, and the most unacceptable: THEY CHARGE FOR WIFI CONNECTION. DON't BOOK THIS HOSTEL, EVEN IF IT IS YOUR LAST OPTION!!!!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Javiera Gutierrez Parra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: A guy has gotten into the shower ladies and I proposed something indecent, with more violence could have been a sexual violation. It is not safe

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Adilah Zulkifli

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2014

Liked: Near to shops

Disliked: Towel,wifi arent provided

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its really near to underground station Bayswater and Queensway. The room are spacious and there are alot of restaurants nearby.

Disliked: The kitchen lacks kitchen utensils

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

25 November 2014

Liked: The location.

Disliked: They dont exept credit cards. In front of the reception is a cash mashine which is giving such a bad exchange course. They ask you to take the money for paying just there. We did arrive late and didnt have the energy to go to a bank cashmashine. Now I see we have payed the dobble price.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2014

Liked: The position

Disliked: Old bad beds

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Darcie Boatswain

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2014

Liked: It's in a really unbelievably good location and for an early flight at Heathrow it's perfect for a one night stay.

Disliked: Well I mean you get what you pay for: the 24 bed form has 3 bed bunk beds that are quite loud and it's dingy, the bathrooms are also pretty gross.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Vlad-Emanuel-Alexandru Dicianu

Alone

City break

24 October 2014

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Stuff is rude and unfrendly....showers are dirty...kitchen is dirty. They say that they don t accept older people....but i stayed in the room with 2 guys....50 +...they lied

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

David Evans

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

11 October 2014

Liked: We made it out alive with no visible symptoms of any diseases so far and miraculously didn't have anything stolen from us.

Disliked: The building itself comes off as some kind of an abandoned Victorian mental asylum. Everything is filthy and just seems to be rotting away. The toilets are mostly clogged, even though they have about a hundred of them, the showers are equally filthy and separated only by nearly see through curtains. I felt violated. The staff is extremely rude and will basically try and charge you extra for every breath you take. They treat you like a naughty child who should be grateful for them letting you stay at their fantastic hostel. The rooms themselves resemble prison cells, there's hardly any power points to charge your phone, the mattresses are hard and uncomfortable and the bedding is filthy. The street itself seems quite posh but at nighttime it turns really loud and quite scary, loads of weird stuff going on there. In general my stay at this hostel was frankly quite terrifying, the hallways stink of weed in the mornings and there's always dodgy people loitering around drinking and giving you bad looks. Trust me, you can actually find some nice places in London for the same price, even cheaper. For the love of god avoid this place. AVOID AVOID AVOID!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location,near the hyde park,very clean,no maximum stay period,very confortable.

Disliked: nocomments

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

03 October 2014

Liked: it is near to both queenways and bayswater underground station. if you are a solo traveller or a person who need a quick place to stay, you will find it alright but only if you go for 8-beds room or less..

Disliked: the 21-beds room is quite stuffy and smells due to the poor ventilation. the place is lack of charging point. some showers have no hot water service

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

15 September 2014

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Noise, sympathy of the staff, breakfast.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 September 2014

Liked: well, I'm still alive ...

Disliked: deteriorate structure, it's hard not to get lost: it's a labyrinth dirty showers smelly walls, courtains, blankets- everything stinks like the boots of a peasant questionable customers rude receptionists no tables or chairs in the rooms no lockers you have to pay for things other hostels would give absolutely for free

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

cesar Hernández

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 September 2014

Liked: The location, close to the underground

Disliked: The state of the whole building.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Noisy idiots

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

James Bristow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014

Liked: Not much

Disliked: The staff/hostel trying to rip you off.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 August 2014

Liked: Location is excellent. There is a 24hour reception and I was able to check in at 2 in the morning. Checkout was quick and easy and I received my deposit back, no problem.

Disliked: I am not picky about accommodation and have happily stayed in many hostels of varying quality all over Europe but this was my worst experience of a hostel to date. I arrived in the middle of the night and was able to check in fine but was then given my bedding to put on the bed myself. I received a pillowcase but no pillow and slept without one. It would have been easier to dress the bed myself if it wasn't the top bed of a 3 bed bunk (didn't realise these existed). Precariously climbing to the top of this very, very tall bunk, carrying all of my stuff without falling off or dropping anything on the heads of people below was difficult enough without having to dress the bed while I sat on it with my luggage. The building itself was in disrepair and didn't seem safe or clean. There are also not enough toilets (1 toilet and shower to a 24 bed room) I knew when booking that the room was a 24 bed mixed dorm so I can only blame myself for this but I did not feel very safe in this room. I also felt unsafe in the bed as the safety bar on the side of the bed was very low and there was literally a 10 foot drop to the floor from the top bunk. I move around a lot in my sleep and have been known, on occasion, to sleep walk so I was a little scared I might roll over the edge of the bed. I cannot comment on the breakfast as I didn't sample it. If you're desperate and just need a bed for the night, it's ok but I wouldn't stay here for any extended period.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Roxanne Lewis

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 August 2014 Roxanne would recommend this property

Liked: Location is the best!

Disliked: In the room I was in the ceiling leaked when it rained

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rohi Peer

Alone

City break

17 August 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Every thing Especially the dirty showers , toilets and the very smelly stairs . Dogey

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Morgan Peele

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014

Liked: The location would be the only beneficial factor of this property. It's right across the street from Hyde park. Note: it is on the less desirable side of the park however.

Disliked: The property was filthy especially the bathrooms. It was rundown, including the bedding. The property was not safe for younger travelers, single travelers, or females. The common room consisted of 40+ year old men that clearly lived at the property as full time residents. Also, there is absolutely no secure place for your luggage or belongings. We were forced to store our luggage in a closet in the basement with all the other residents luggage. If we needed anything out of our bags we would have to request a saff member to unlock the luggage closet for is. VERY insecure and inconvenient. We stayed ONE hour before booking another hostel for the night. TERRIBLE. DO NOT STAY HERE unless you are looking for an unsafe, dirty and rundown room and a property crawling with a SCARY crowd. Not worth any price.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels