HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Hostel

Hostel | 2-6 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3HU

52.7% Overall Rating

621 out of 1332 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/10/2014)

David Evans thinks…

"We made it out alive with no visible symptoms of any diseases so far and miraculously didn't have anything stolen from us."

Read all Hyde Park Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

"Hyde Park Hostel" only accepts 18-35 year old travelers and small student groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
64.10 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
32.46 USD

Hostel 83.3% 611 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
14.59 USD

Hostel 74.1% 1810 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
16.21 USD

Hostel 70.1% 1671 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
60.86 USD

Apartment 70.2% 9 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
32.46 USD

Hostel 69.7% 33 reviews
New dawn hotel
28.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.6% 26 reviews
Whiteleaf Hotel
25.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.8% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
52.7%

Overall Rating

621 out of 1332 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Hostel'

Atmosphere
46.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
40.8%
Staff
52.8%
Value
58.4%
Safety
45.6%
Refine your results Showing 832 of 1231 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

David Evans

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

11 October 2014

Liked: We made it out alive with no visible symptoms of any diseases so far and miraculously didn't have anything stolen from us.

Disliked: The building itself comes off as some kind of an abandoned Victorian mental asylum. Everything is filthy and just seems to be rotting away. The toilets are mostly clogged, even though they have about a hundred of them, the showers are equally filthy and separated only by nearly see through curtains. I felt violated. The staff is extremely rude and will basically try and charge you extra for every breath you take. They treat you like a naughty child who should be grateful for them letting you stay at their fantastic hostel. The rooms themselves resemble prison cells, there's hardly any power points to charge your phone, the mattresses are hard and uncomfortable and the bedding is filthy. The street itself seems quite posh but at nighttime it turns really loud and quite scary, loads of weird stuff going on there. In general my stay at this hostel was frankly quite terrifying, the hallways stink of weed in the mornings and there's always dodgy people loitering around drinking and giving you bad looks. Trust me, you can actually find some nice places in London for the same price, even cheaper. For the love of god avoid this place. AVOID AVOID AVOID!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location,near the hyde park,very clean,no maximum stay period,very confortable.

Disliked: nocomments

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

03 October 2014

Liked: it is near to both queenways and bayswater underground station. if you are a solo traveller or a person who need a quick place to stay, you will find it alright but only if you go for 8-beds room or less..

Disliked: the 21-beds room is quite stuffy and smells due to the poor ventilation. the place is lack of charging point. some showers have no hot water service

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

15 September 2014

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Noise, sympathy of the staff, breakfast.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 September 2014

Liked: well, I'm still alive ...

Disliked: deteriorate structure, it's hard not to get lost: it's a labyrinth dirty showers smelly walls, courtains, blankets- everything stinks like the boots of a peasant questionable customers rude receptionists no tables or chairs in the rooms no lockers you have to pay for things other hostels would give absolutely for free

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

cesar Hernández

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 September 2014

Liked: The location, close to the underground

Disliked: The state of the whole building.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Noisy idiots

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

James Bristow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014

Liked: Not much

Disliked: The staff/hostel trying to rip you off.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 August 2014

Liked: Location is excellent. There is a 24hour reception and I was able to check in at 2 in the morning. Checkout was quick and easy and I received my deposit back, no problem.

Disliked: I am not picky about accommodation and have happily stayed in many hostels of varying quality all over Europe but this was my worst experience of a hostel to date. I arrived in the middle of the night and was able to check in fine but was then given my bedding to put on the bed myself. I received a pillowcase but no pillow and slept without one. It would have been easier to dress the bed myself if it wasn't the top bed of a 3 bed bunk (didn't realise these existed). Precariously climbing to the top of this very, very tall bunk, carrying all of my stuff without falling off or dropping anything on the heads of people below was difficult enough without having to dress the bed while I sat on it with my luggage. The building itself was in disrepair and didn't seem safe or clean. There are also not enough toilets (1 toilet and shower to a 24 bed room) I knew when booking that the room was a 24 bed mixed dorm so I can only blame myself for this but I did not feel very safe in this room. I also felt unsafe in the bed as the safety bar on the side of the bed was very low and there was literally a 10 foot drop to the floor from the top bunk. I move around a lot in my sleep and have been known, on occasion, to sleep walk so I was a little scared I might roll over the edge of the bed. I cannot comment on the breakfast as I didn't sample it. If you're desperate and just need a bed for the night, it's ok but I wouldn't stay here for any extended period.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Roxanne Lewis

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 August 2014 Roxanne would recommend this property

Liked: Location is the best!

Disliked: In the room I was in the ceiling leaked when it rained

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rohi Peer

Alone

City break

17 August 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Every thing Especially the dirty showers , toilets and the very smelly stairs . Dogey

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Morgan Peele

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014

Liked: The location would be the only beneficial factor of this property. It's right across the street from Hyde park. Note: it is on the less desirable side of the park however.

Disliked: The property was filthy especially the bathrooms. It was rundown, including the bedding. The property was not safe for younger travelers, single travelers, or females. The common room consisted of 40+ year old men that clearly lived at the property as full time residents. Also, there is absolutely no secure place for your luggage or belongings. We were forced to store our luggage in a closet in the basement with all the other residents luggage. If we needed anything out of our bags we would have to request a saff member to unlock the luggage closet for is. VERY insecure and inconvenient. We stayed ONE hour before booking another hostel for the night. TERRIBLE. DO NOT STAY HERE unless you are looking for an unsafe, dirty and rundown room and a property crawling with a SCARY crowd. Not worth any price.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Daniel Jekkel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the price and the location.

Disliked: The door of our dorm was terribly loud when somebody came in everybody woke up everytime, even into the next dorm because that door was also the same

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanliness ....oh..god..

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Kenneth Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 August 2014

Liked: Location. That's about the only good thing I am able say about this place.

Disliked: It was unsanitary, overcrowded and noisy... But the worst thing undoubtedly was the extreme misogyny of a certain staff member who first implied that female guests should wash his dishes and then suggested that my friend and I (both male) could have our way with any women sleeping in our dorm during the night. If it was not for it being late and having nowhere else to go we would have left right there and then.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap price for staying centre of london,good famous spot save place for using key card very good location near nice park and transporation

Disliked: no free wifi provied, building too high ,will have big trouble when someone doesn't have strong body, store room locate in basement also hard to move in and take out!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: The hostel doesn't take card on arrival and their cash machine only allows withdrawals in £20's Have to put your own bedsheets on the bed, difficult on a bunk bed Shower looked like it had never been cleaned Place was in general disrepair Bath towels were and extra £5 to rent but were very small

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

James O'Driscoll

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014

Liked: You get what you pay for - did the trick for 2 nights, didn't spend much time there.

Disliked: Paying for wifi, awful showers - most broken on the top level + water pressure was abysmal and cold. Too hot in the rooms, needs better ventilation.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Security each room has an electronic key and you need the key to aldo enter meaning that something like a coded door can't be passed on yo others easily.

Disliked: Prices of extras. For the location the hostel is good value however the wi-fi seemed expensive. I didn't like the atmosphere the hostel Describes the computer facilities as a tv living area however it looks like an internet cafe with a vending machine. I tried to charge my phone which took 25mins to charge 15%. Lack of living area means it's ideal for lone or already formed group of travellers as there's no way of chatting or relaxing. Definitely worth going if you need somewhere to stay for just one night.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 July 2014

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, not from the staff, but dorm mates. Easy to find, super location

Disliked: Showers was disgusting and unclean! People shouting, windows very very dirty! Pigeons outside the windows keeping you awake. Noisy, skweeky doors, you should put oil in the doors!!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

ELENA kOCHKINA

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 ELENA would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: state of building ,cleanliness, the interior leaves much to be desired,no mirrors,bedside table

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Almost everithing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms and the building are not so bad

Disliked: the staff are not friendly and the place is not safe

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

jessica baker

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 July 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Good normal hostel. Nothing fancy very practical

Disliked: No common room

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2014

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Clean and odor


See all London hostels
See all London hotels