We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Hostel

Hostel | 2-6 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3HU

53.4% Overall Rating

628 out of 1347 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/01/2015)

Vår Ane Pettersen thinks…

"It's close to everything and really easy to travel from the hostel to places around London. There were warm water and you could lock the door to the showers."

Read all Hyde Park Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

"Hyde Park Hostel" only accepts 18-35 year old travelers and small student groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
35.17 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
35.70 USD

Hostel 83.3% 611 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
12.97 USD

Hostel 71.9% 1822 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
16.21 USD

Hostel 74.5% 1678 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
40.17 USD

Apartment 70.2% 9 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
32.46 USD

Hostel 68.6% 35 reviews
New dawn hotel
34.08 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.6% 26 reviews
Duke Of Leinster Hotel
43.82 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
53.4%

Overall Rating

628 out of 1347 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Hostel'

Atmosphere
44.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
44.8%
Cleanliness
44.0%
Staff
45.6%
Value
60.8%
Safety
46.4%
Refine your results Showing 845 of 1247 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 October 2012

Liked: It does as a place to sleep cook and shower but that's it

Disliked: This place seems to be a halfway house for older weirdos. It was no atmosphere or secure places to lock your valuables up. Internees not cheap, I'm not fussy with hostels and don't even really care about meeting people at them but seriously the freaks and sleazes that seem to stay at this place are reason enough to pay the extra couple of pounds to stay somewhere else. I'm pretty sure I have bed bugs

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 October 2012

Liked: The staff was courteous.

Disliked: Rooms are not properly maintained and did not have curtains. There was only one toilet on my floor that too dirty, there was water all over the floor. Had to go to another floor to access female showers.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012

Liked: location is good

Disliked: the staff were not very helpful. the showers were a disgrace the linen and bedding seemed far from clean they chagre ridiculous prices to store things in a locker, and to use there wifi.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, 4bed bedroom location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JAMES-NICHOLAS LEE-ANGEL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 JAMES-NICHOLAS would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and professional. The resident in the room I stayed in were very friendly too!

Disliked: No free wifi kinda sucks o.O

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Eric Paterniani

Alone

City break

24 September 2012 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a good position, cheap, you haven't to expect the Grand Hotel

Disliked: there is no lift

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ashley McKechnie

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 September 2012

Liked: Location was great. That's all.

Disliked: Wasn't expecting luxury but some things are just basic human rights i.e. shower cubicles with curtains (not only were there no curtains but one of the men's shower rooms had a window that was nailed open so that all the neighbouring apartments could get a nice peep show- fine if you're an exhibitionist, but not for everyone!), clean pillows and bedding (i'm pretty sure it would have been more sanitary to sleep in a public toilet- plus pretty sure there were bed bugs on the loose!) and finally friendly staff (one particular staff member was clearly not thrilled with her job and had the service skills of brick i.e. on leaving my friend handed her key to the 'receptionist' and said ''i'd like to leave my card back that's us leaving'' to which the reply was ''why didn't you just say you wanted to check out?'' accompanied by a grimace). Good place for comedy stories of how horrendous it is but that's about it!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jemma Coates

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

09 September 2012

Liked: The location was excellent. That's pretty much all I can think of.

Disliked: I really did not enjoy staying here. The location was excellent, but that's all it had going for it. The staff were not particularly friendly or helpful, the building was run down and unwelcoming, the showers were freezing cold and dirty with ripped shower curtains and in some cases no curtain at all. I woke up this morning and am covered in bites from bed bugs which really makes me want to cry. Honestly, pay the extra money and book somewhere nicer - I really would not recommend this place - I will certainly not stay again!!!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

massimo Murgia

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 August 2012 massimo would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Kitchen close at 11

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 August 2012

Liked: Location was great- less than two blocks from two underground stations (3 lines)

Disliked: I've stayed in many hostels over the world, this was the least clean of any I've ever stayed in. I stayed in a dorm room thinking there would be 10-12 beds. It was 7 triple bunks... that's 21 beds! Way to crowded and noisey. Most staff seemed to have a chip on their shoulder... not that friendly or helpful.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stacey Everton

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2012 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were very large with beds spaced out! friendly atmosphere around the place

Disliked: The shower facilities were sparse

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Kit Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

21 August 2012

Liked: It was in a great location and was the cheapest hostel during the Olympics.

Disliked: It was dirty. Strange old men stay there (no age limit). Some of our stuff was stolen.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

nicola glover

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

14 August 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: as above

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Laura Martin Val

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012

Liked: The matresses were very comfortable

Disliked: The cleaness was horrible, there wasn't wc paper and the showers were very dirty.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 August 2012

Liked: This site was available last minute.

Disliked: Very much just a bed to sleep in that night.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Bad cleanleness, no sockets, no light in bathroom, cold shower

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

trevor tomlin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2012 trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms and location. Relaxed surroundings in which to chill out.

Disliked: trevor left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

07 August 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The reception, specially the blond girl, they do not give you any kinf of information, and if you ask something the answer is with a bad face, the bathrooms are dirty, the kitchen is dirty, the internet is expensive, no wi fi in the rooms,

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2012

Liked: I liked the moment when I checked out and crop-dusted the lobby...

Disliked: How much time do I have? For me to acurately list all of the dislikes that I have I would need much more space to write in. This hostel was stunningly awful. I would rather sleep inside of a dead animal carcass.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

06 August 2012

Liked: I liked the location for the price.

Disliked: The bathroom needed work. For example there was no working light in it at night and the toilet overflowed the second time I used it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christine Routledge

As a family with children

City break

03 August 2012 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: I had areally good nights sleep and was able to walk to the park, metro and shops without any effort

Disliked: There was nor washbasin in the shower/toilet areas

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

joseph soverino

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 joseph would recommend this property

Liked: location was perfect pretty much across the road to hyde park.

Disliked: showers and toilets were disgusting and the washing facilities were poor. also a few people i had spoken to had gotten bed bugs.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Marcin Chrenowski

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 July 2012

Liked: close to the centre

Disliked: sb stole my book. Showers and toilets disgusting, overcrowded, water cold quite often.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 July 2012

Liked: Unfriendly staff, Everything including internet is charged. Generally disgusted

Disliked: Every thing. 5 story high, steep step and njo lifts

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

28 July 2012

Liked: Location was conveneint

Disliked: Unclean, overcrowded and really bad bathroom facilities.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels