We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Hostel

Hostel | 2-6 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3HU

52.9% Overall Rating

621 out of 1335 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/10/2014)

Darcie Boatswain thinks…

"It's in a really unbelievably good location and for an early flight at Heathrow it's perfect for a one night stay."

Read all Hyde Park Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

"Hyde Park Hostel" only accepts 18-35 year old travelers and small student groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
48.36 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
35.70 USD

Hostel 83.3% 611 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
21.42 USD

Hostel 73.8% 1811 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
16.21 USD

Hostel 71.8% 1672 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
42.73 USD

Apartment 70.2% 9 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
32.46 USD

Hostel 69.7% 33 reviews
New dawn hotel
33.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.6% 26 reviews
Whiteleaf Hotel
22.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.8% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
52.9%

Overall Rating

621 out of 1335 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Hostel'

Atmosphere
47.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
42.4%
Staff
49.6%
Value
59.2%
Safety
47.2%
Refine your results Showing 836 of 1235 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in lovely Bayswater, lots of tourists, hostel is good and comfortable, cutlery Missing at kitchen, Too many people staying for parties at late night(young spanish,italian,french timewasters!)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nik Mohd Azhar Nik Abdul Aziz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: other than location, everythg's bad

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2012

Liked: We left 4 nights early and went to a place round the corner.

Disliked: the 3 bunk dorms make you feel like you are sleeping in shipping containers, 3 toilets for a floor of 50+ and thats if you include the one covered in vomit that was not cleaned the 3 nights we were there. the leaking roof - they put a sheet on the ground to soak it up. very dirty, got about 2 pan and 1 bowl in the kitchen. very unfriendly staff. you feel cleaner before a shower rather than after- no shower curtin, clogged drains, flooding floors. not a pleasant stay. pay more and go somewhere else

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Luciene Santos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 November 2012

Liked: I liked the location

Disliked: There is not enough shower, if compared the quantity of beds it has. They charge 1 Pound for hour for wifi, it is ridiculous as most of the hostels it is for free

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything else

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Valeria Negritto

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012

Liked: location is ok...only ok though...not worth staying here for the location unless you're desperate!!

Disliked: everything!!! Toilets and showers were disgusting!!! all 5 toilets were clogged and when we asked when they'd get fixed, we were told soon...no were to go to the bathroom for 2 days!!! horrid!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Keith Murray

Alone

City break

25 October 2012 Keith would recommend this property

Liked: 25/10/12 This hostel gets cleaner, quieter and more relaxed here with every visit.

Disliked: 25/10/12 A few trivial favours.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Alexander Rodriguez

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 October 2012

Liked: Situation

Disliked: Everything

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

charles arnold

Alone

City break

20 October 2012 charles would recommend this property

Liked: Found hotel to be good for value, did feel could do with more mirrors in toilets maybe hand basins in toilets also some were closed. Felt in morning having to look every where for toilet and all full. I recommend you put a notice in rooms that lights must be out by 12pm or at least 1am at the very latest. There were people that came in and just kept putting them on and off all night no care for others be good if could as go into room put notice to say that lights must be out by then.

Disliked: One toilet was full of ........ and toilet papper and blocked and as closest to room when got up to go to toilet at night had to look for another in my pygarmers. Also at night alot of food left in kitchen big mess dont know if someone could keep eye on that after midnight maybe even clean a bit as saw this at 12.30am with plates of uneaten food left around could cause health and safety problems.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Somwang Sornkhachornchit

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

18 October 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: So much more reason and I can not write it on this. bad experience after I have been in over around the world in Hostel more than 15 years.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 October 2012

Liked: - internet access - card keys - it looks nice from the outside and it's close to the park

Disliked: - crazy way of numbering the rooms. Totally chaotic. At the ground floor first number you see is '49', in my case i had to climb four floors to reach number 19. it totally y doesn't make any sense and is absolutely frustrating. Corridors are small and claustrophobic with new compartment after each 3 doors with random numbers. I wouldn't go there again. - I've tried 10 female room and it was mental as well. The room is too small for such amount of people and other tenants didn't respect each other, some men were trying to sleep there with their girlfriends and women had to kick them out itself - because before somebody would run down 4 floors and come back with the stuff that men would unpack themselves and make cosy... so it's not very safe after all. - bathrooms and toilets are in a very poor state. - half of the staff were nice, the other half seems to not care at all or be irritated all the time with customers. - once you pay for luggage deposit you cannot get it back, the problem is when i tried to get my luggage for a minute, the guy didn't even checked if it's my luggage, or i have a proof that i paid any deposit - he just openned me the doors and walk away uninterested whoose luggage i take. Anybody could take random luggage and walk away confidently, so for the rest of my stay i kept my luggage under my bed.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012

Liked: The staff is OK, the location is good.

Disliked: The bathrooms are pretty bad, does not have space to put your clothes while bathing toba, has no lockers in the rooms, rooms very small.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Gilberto Rocha

Alone

City break

15 October 2012

Liked: I was able to amend my booking just after I've booked my place there.

Disliked: Two of the staff came to wake me up at 5am to ask for my name and ID, I think they also done to others. Showers were degraded, the beds were bulky, no free wifi, toilets were often blocked...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012

Liked: The neighbourhood

Disliked: The rooms are too small, the bathrooms dirty, there is just one plug in the room. You have to put the sheets on by yourself, the upper bed on the bunk beds is too low so you can not sit on the lower bed. There is no room to put your suitcases on the floor and no chairs on anything in the hostel where you can hang out, our make yourself breakfast.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Pablo Massih

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: The area

Disliked: Too many people.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 October 2012

Liked: It does as a place to sleep cook and shower but that's it

Disliked: This place seems to be a halfway house for older weirdos. It was no atmosphere or secure places to lock your valuables up. Internees not cheap, I'm not fussy with hostels and don't even really care about meeting people at them but seriously the freaks and sleazes that seem to stay at this place are reason enough to pay the extra couple of pounds to stay somewhere else. I'm pretty sure I have bed bugs

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 October 2012

Liked: The staff was courteous.

Disliked: Rooms are not properly maintained and did not have curtains. There was only one toilet on my floor that too dirty, there was water all over the floor. Had to go to another floor to access female showers.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012

Liked: location is good

Disliked: the staff were not very helpful. the showers were a disgrace the linen and bedding seemed far from clean they chagre ridiculous prices to store things in a locker, and to use there wifi.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, 4bed bedroom location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JAMES-NICHOLAS LEE-ANGEL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 JAMES-NICHOLAS would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and professional. The resident in the room I stayed in were very friendly too!

Disliked: No free wifi kinda sucks o.O

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Eric Paterniani

Alone

City break

24 September 2012 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a good position, cheap, you haven't to expect the Grand Hotel

Disliked: there is no lift

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ashley McKechnie

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 September 2012

Liked: Location was great. That's all.

Disliked: Wasn't expecting luxury but some things are just basic human rights i.e. shower cubicles with curtains (not only were there no curtains but one of the men's shower rooms had a window that was nailed open so that all the neighbouring apartments could get a nice peep show- fine if you're an exhibitionist, but not for everyone!), clean pillows and bedding (i'm pretty sure it would have been more sanitary to sleep in a public toilet- plus pretty sure there were bed bugs on the loose!) and finally friendly staff (one particular staff member was clearly not thrilled with her job and had the service skills of brick i.e. on leaving my friend handed her key to the 'receptionist' and said ''i'd like to leave my card back that's us leaving'' to which the reply was ''why didn't you just say you wanted to check out?'' accompanied by a grimace). Good place for comedy stories of how horrendous it is but that's about it!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jemma Coates

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

09 September 2012

Liked: The location was excellent. That's pretty much all I can think of.

Disliked: I really did not enjoy staying here. The location was excellent, but that's all it had going for it. The staff were not particularly friendly or helpful, the building was run down and unwelcoming, the showers were freezing cold and dirty with ripped shower curtains and in some cases no curtain at all. I woke up this morning and am covered in bites from bed bugs which really makes me want to cry. Honestly, pay the extra money and book somewhere nicer - I really would not recommend this place - I will certainly not stay again!!!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

massimo Murgia

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 August 2012 massimo would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Kitchen close at 11


See all London hostels
See all London hotels