We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Hostel

Hostel | 2-6 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3HU

59.4% Overall Rating

645 out of 1377 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2015)

"The location was great. Close to underground, Hyde Park and shops. Also it was cheap."

Read all Hyde Park Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.99
  • Towel USD 7.48

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

"Hyde Park Hostel" only accepts 18-35 year old travelers and small student groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
41.12 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
32.90 USD

Hostel 86.7% 613 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
13.46 USD

Hostel 65.4% 1841 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
13.44 USD

Hostel 72.7% 1680 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
32.41 USD

Apartment 70.2% 9 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
29.91 USD

Hostel 70.5% 41 reviews
New dawn hotel
31.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.6% 26 reviews
Duke Of Leinster Hotel
48.60 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.4%

Overall Rating

645 out of 1377 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Hostel'

Atmosphere
49.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
59.2%
Value
63.2%
Safety
53.6%
Refine your results Showing 864 of 1275 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013

Liked: 1) Breakfast - eat as much as you want (toasts, jam, butter, tea, juice)

Disliked: 1) one shower and toilet on the floor - impossible to get in. 2) up to 20 drunk idiots in your room. 3) be ready to pay 10 pound of deposit. 4) almost everything for additional money: luggage storage, internet, ... 5) sometimes people arrive and all places in their room are occupied. for stuff it's difficult to clean the room and distinguish beds, which became free. 6) as consequence from 5 - there is dirty 7) I didn't have a pillow

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Graham Tarrant

Alone

Business / conference

10 March 2013 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Efficient and relatively speaking, the facilities are spacious. Location is a huge advantage.

Disliked: Graham left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location for the price. If you're not planning to spend much time in the hostel, this place is perfect. Pretty basic free breakfast. Lots of bathrooms and showers. Hot water. Cheap.

Disliked: Pretty bad atmosphere. I stayed in the massive dorm room, and the light stayed on until past midnight. absolutely no frills. you have to be willing to rough it, but nothing was unbearable. I stayed there for a week, and would be happy to stay longer because the location was so good. i think dodgy hostels is part of the adventure of backpacking.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was not "smiling" people but they were quite helpful. The breakfast was fine. The hostel was close to tube station and you could fine a variety of restaurants and shops around

Disliked: The beds were small and the beddings, the sheets were extremely dirty! They even did not dare to remove the used sheets from my bed and the it was too dirty and disgusting!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 March 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Simple accommodations with no frills. No sense of atmosphere or community. The building and rooms are not particularly nice or well maintained. It is inexpensive, but you get what you pay for.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chloe Maya Arango Pion

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 March 2013 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: it's clean and in the Center of London

Disliked: The bathroom looked old and was very cold because of a window we couldn't close.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: bathrooms

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

daniel sweeting

Alone

Business / conference

25 February 2013

Liked: Well... for £10 it's good. the staff are not lazy, I went and said I didnt have a bed (as someone had decided to sleep in mine) and with in 5 mins, I had a bed, so they are quick, and very friendly, a lot of pleases and thank yous. also on finding someone who had snuck in, they quietly and discreetly asked him to leave, making sure not to wake other sleepers. They were the best side. A free breakfast was included, unfortunately i cant say if it was good or bad as I left very early morning (5:30am)

Disliked: It was...confined. the very worst part was the vicinity to other sleepers, they were the most annoying point, I was shook awake by someone demanding my bed for example. This seems to be a take it as it comes situation, when you stay it may have great people who just sleep. When I stayed I got to bed a 1am so even I was annoying to other travelers, admittedly. your possessions...they are not safe, the staff themselves warned me to hide my portfolio by my head as 'it doesnt matter what it is, it may not be there when you wake' and with no mention of lockers...yeah, keep your stuff on you, such as stuffing your phone down your pants, much like myself. (just remember you did that, my alarm went off and my balls started jingling and vibrating. never the less it was still there, so it's what i suggest.)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and friendly staff and I love the atmosphere will stay there again

Disliked: not thin

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place, price and breakfast.

Disliked: Noise at the evenings and showers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Zdzislaw Matyjasek

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 February 2013 Zdzislaw would recommend this property

Liked: I've enjoyed my stay . Friendly service , trying to keep up with cleaning the awful customer messy . Well , a total lack of edukation and of respect for the work of others . I feel sympathy for the staff . Jik from Poland

Disliked: Zdzislaw left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sharri Holroyd

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 February 2013 Sharri would recommend this property

Liked: The choice of dorm size and ability to change

Disliked: the lack of friendly atmosphere

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marek Vašícek

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 February 2013 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap hostel on perfect location

Disliked: Sometimes crazy guys was sleeping on 24bed dorm room, so it was little scary, but no more negative issues

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean, the bed is not bad, and the breakfast is not bad as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Gabriel Vieira

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013

Liked: Location (Near Bayswater and Queens Way underground stop) and near restaurants, markets, souvenier stores..

Disliked: Staff is really bad and unfriendly. It charges you for internet (unbelievable that nowadays some properties still charges its costumers for internet). Kitchen is really dirty (Worst hostel kitchen i've already seen). Old building with bad facilities.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Marcjanna Paszak

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

28 January 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Not very clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Zuzana Kotasová

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

22 January 2013 Zuzana would recommend this property

Liked: it was close to the centre and easy to travel to London the price was very good breakfast was included in the price

Disliked: The toilets and showers - need to be repaired

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Niara Blommestein

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

13 January 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: dirty, no soap in the toilets or anywhere so could not wash your hands. Staff are rude, beds are uncomfortable and the kitchen is gross. Shower did not work the week I was there. Worst hostel I have ever stayed in.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cheap, good toilets/shower facilities.

Disliked: Internet was too expensive, and a bit spotty.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2013

Liked: location and price are good.

Disliked: The building is bad. That is a very old building, the room painting is dropping. You need to share 3-4 toilets with the whole floor (more than 5 rooms). The room painting is dropping. The bed will shake bu every moving. No locker in room and the room is too small for those residents. No free wifi, 1 pound for each hour. The most important thing is there are no any lift in this hostel and i need to carry my heavy luggage to 3rd floor by stairs with the shaking handrail. It really make me feel dangerous. If give me another chance to choose, i will pay more for anothers.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

francesco gennaro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013

Liked: -

Disliked: staff who received us was very unfriendly and rude. after we had checked in the back at night we found our beds occupied by other people. I visited altrihostelli by hostelbookers and I was fine

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 January 2013

Liked: I like the location.

Disliked: The indoor of the building was the opposite of the nice and "posh" outdoor... The price to lend a towel was too expensive (5£). The walls were so thin that he first night there were people partying in a room and sleeping people cannot sleep. Bathrooms and toilets were not clean and half broken.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paula Higgins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: Was very pleased with our experience of the place. The room was clean although very basic. Cannot fault the location and coupled with the great price made it perfect for a quick stay in London.

Disliked: Paula left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013

Liked: The location was good

Disliked: It was really dirty

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Kate Barton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2012

Liked: Cheap Central location

Disliked: The security didn't exist at all. The rooms were crowded, cramped and small. The kitchen was dirty, filthy and poorly equipped. The staff were unfriendly and noisy. The bathrooms were small and filthy.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels