We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Hostel

Hostel | 2-6 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3HU

51.4% Overall Rating

620 out of 1328 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"Location is excellent. There is a 24hour reception and I was able to check in at 2 in the morning. Checkout was quick and easy and I received my deposit back, no problem."

Read all Hyde Park Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

"Hyde Park Hostel" only accepts 18-35 year old travelers and small student groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
56.39 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
32.46 USD

Hostel 83.3% 611 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
14.59 USD

Hostel 74.1% 1810 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
16.21 USD

Hostel 69.4% 1670 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
72.22 USD

Apartment 70.2% 9 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
32.46 USD

Hostel 71.7% 31 reviews
New dawn hotel
73.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 25 reviews
Whiteleaf Hotel
29.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.8% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
51.4%

Overall Rating

620 out of 1328 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Hostel'

Atmosphere
43.2%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
42.4%
Cleanliness
39.2%
Staff
52.0%
Value
56.0%
Safety
48.0%
Refine your results Showing 829 of 1228 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

29 June 2013

Liked: Nothing!!! Just piece of shit!!!!

Disliked: Everything

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2013

Liked: People at reception were correct.

Disliked: Everything. This place is meant for a homeless shelter. There are no showers working, the beds are tiny, pervasive dirtyness, used condoms and tampons all over the place. Don't dare to stay in here.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 June 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very poor qulitity for central London, comparing with other hostels in the area

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 June 2013

Liked: Nothing because someone has stolen my key with 10 pounds deposit and a mobile phone. Nobody respects your belongings and take your bed if you leave it one minute

Disliked: Cf supra

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Look, I read loads of bad reviews. There was 8 of us in a private 8 bed dorm, it was very basic but clean. No curtains which was a bit of a shame when the sun was beaming in at 8am! But on a whole, you get what you pay for, it was ok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Giulia Gigliobianco

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2013 Giulia would recommend this property

Liked: The decorations of the rooms, although they were covered by the bulk beds

Disliked: few showers, one plug per room and no privacy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: The bathroom was extremely messy. The students do a way too much noise which isn't controlled and, honestly, the hostel is full of weirdos

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013

Liked: There were a lot of souvenir shops near by but it didn't feel like London anymore. The stairs felt weak like they couldn't support much weight.

Disliked: My sheets (though they smelled like bleach) had a splatter stain on them. And the desk clerk didn't know how to get to the airports easily. I was shocked when he said it would be an hour taxi - when I had did some preliminary research that suggested I could use transit. It should be mandatory for hostel workers to know how to instruct guests to airports.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013

Liked: Honestly, I didn't like anything except for the location

Disliked: Everything, especially the staff, who wasn't helpful at all and, when asked nicely to help with bags, would answer 'help yourself'.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013

Liked: Solo la ubicacion que es medianamenre decente

Disliked: Muy poco recomendable, es sucio, el edificio es laberintico, las camas son duras, internet es de pago tanto pcs como el wifi, a duras penas pude dormir un par de horas en las 4 noches que me hospede. Evitenlo a toda costa.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Quinton Meijer

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 May 2013

Liked: They gave me my own room

Disliked: bedbugs

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location Good showers

Disliked: No free wifi Beds shoud be more confy Windows should have better insulation

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013

Liked: location, free breakfast

Disliked: there being no spare bed for me in my dorm. receptionist checks computer, says there should be a free bed, comes into room and clears sheets of a bed saying this one must be empty, even though there were some papers on it, i say you sure this bed is empty, told yeah, just send anyone who comes in to me at reception. sure enough 3.30am i get woken up by the poor guy who's bed i've stolen

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 May 2013

Liked: price

Disliked: No sockets to charge phone or laptop, no free wi-fi and Everything else

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dmitrijs Stanuks

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

05 May 2013 Dmitrijs would recommend this property

Liked: Location are great! Staff are very helpful and nice! Rooms are clean and comfortable!

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 May 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Dirty. Payed Wi-Fi. Probably the worst hostel ever.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

gustavo reis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

28 April 2013 gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: a melhor atmosfera de hostel que eu já participei

Disliked: gustavo left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013

Liked: Somehow I avoided getting hepatitis.

Disliked: It was the pit of despair.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013

Liked: The location was good that's it.

Disliked: It was dirty, there are no lifts the other occupants were obnoxious (not the hostel fault) the toilets were filthy and overflowing with poo, I had to go to McDonald's to use the toilet and I couldn't find the female showers and the showers leaked between floors so the stairwell was always wet. I feel sorry for the cleaners there. Also my sheets had stains on them...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ZHENG LI

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 April 2013

Liked: good location, cost-effective

Disliked: people are noisy, they even don't get to sleep at 2 AM but talked loudly in the aisle.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very dirty, bad staff, you have to pay for everything.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was cheap and had a great location next to the underground central line and Hyde park. There were many restaurants open late and little shops on the next street. The room I stayed in had 24 beds so it was good they had privacy curtains on the beds. Breakfast was not too bad but crowded. The receptionist helped with directions.

Disliked: The area itself is not that bad, but the hostel seemed sketchy. The cops were called to the hostel two nights in a row. A drunk man was arguing loudly in the lobby with the people at reception. No lockers are provided and belongings are not safe. My friend left just her phone charger out and it was gone after we left the room for only half an hour. The showers and toilets are gross and incovenient and there is not enough. Towels are overpriced and internet is not free.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013

Liked: Nothing, the price is the only redeeming factor.

Disliked: There were young children staying in our room as well as some much older people. There was one toilet and one shower for 100 people, an the toilet was broken and overflowing. The sheets seemed like they had never been washed. I slept with everything in my bed, and was nervous about leaving it there because it didnt feel safe. Our stay was so bad we switched to another hostel. DON'T STAY HERE.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Georgia Sermamoglou-Soulmaidi

Alone

City break

07 April 2013

Liked: Sorry, but I cannot think of anything.

Disliked: Everything looks like it's falling apart in there. I walked into a tiny room that looked more like a corridor in which they had filled as many bunkbeds as possible. It was claustrophobic and felt weird- and I have stayed at a LOT of hostels around the world, but nothing like this one. Everything looked creepy, like people sort of desperate, who were looking to stay somewhere cheap and long-term. Guys a step away from the entrance to the hostel smoking pot. As soon as I saw the room I went back down and asked to cancel but they wouldn't do it through HostelBookers- by charging me the first night through my debit card. They kept the money for two nights instead. The guy at the reception was clearly upset that I asked to talk to his supervisor, and of course he didn't contact him. He gave me a number to call the day after, if I wanted to waste another day dealing with this hostel. Well, this should be the LAST place to consider staying at in London. I've stayed in Marylebone at a hostel before and it was much, MUCH nicer and about the same price.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013

Liked: Provided linens and a blanket, breakfast

Disliked: Expensive towels, dirty bathrooms, sometimes drafty, can only pay with cash


See all London hostels
See all London hotels