HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Hostel

Hostel | 2-6 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3HU

59.8% Overall Rating

610 out of 1301 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/06/2014)

"Only good thing is the location which is about a minutes walk to the nearest tube station."

Read all Hyde Park Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.41
  • Towel USD 8.53

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

"Hyde Park Hostel" only accepts 18-35 year old travelers and small student groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
55.47 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
35.84 USD

Hostel 83.2% 607 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
24.75 USD

Hostel 67.4% 1799 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
20.46 USD

Hostel 68.0% 1660 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
50.64 USD

Apartment 75.0% 8 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
34.14 USD

Hostel 69.7% 26 reviews
New dawn hotel
41.82 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 25 reviews
Whiteleaf Hotel
32.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.2% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.8%

Overall Rating

610 out of 1301 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Hostel'

Atmosphere
47.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
45.6%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
63.2%
Value
68.0%
Safety
56.8%
Refine your results Showing 811 of 1203 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013

Liked: The location was good that's it.

Disliked: It was dirty, there are no lifts the other occupants were obnoxious (not the hostel fault) the toilets were filthy and overflowing with poo, I had to go to McDonald's to use the toilet and I couldn't find the female showers and the showers leaked between floors so the stairwell was always wet. I feel sorry for the cleaners there. Also my sheets had stains on them...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ZHENG LI

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 April 2013

Liked: good location, cost-effective

Disliked: people are noisy, they even don't get to sleep at 2 AM but talked loudly in the aisle.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very dirty, bad staff, you have to pay for everything.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was cheap and had a great location next to the underground central line and Hyde park. There were many restaurants open late and little shops on the next street. The room I stayed in had 24 beds so it was good they had privacy curtains on the beds. Breakfast was not too bad but crowded. The receptionist helped with directions.

Disliked: The area itself is not that bad, but the hostel seemed sketchy. The cops were called to the hostel two nights in a row. A drunk man was arguing loudly in the lobby with the people at reception. No lockers are provided and belongings are not safe. My friend left just her phone charger out and it was gone after we left the room for only half an hour. The showers and toilets are gross and incovenient and there is not enough. Towels are overpriced and internet is not free.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013

Liked: Nothing, the price is the only redeeming factor.

Disliked: There were young children staying in our room as well as some much older people. There was one toilet and one shower for 100 people, an the toilet was broken and overflowing. The sheets seemed like they had never been washed. I slept with everything in my bed, and was nervous about leaving it there because it didnt feel safe. Our stay was so bad we switched to another hostel. DON'T STAY HERE.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Georgia Sermamoglou-Soulmaidi

Alone

City break

07 April 2013

Liked: Sorry, but I cannot think of anything.

Disliked: Everything looks like it's falling apart in there. I walked into a tiny room that looked more like a corridor in which they had filled as many bunkbeds as possible. It was claustrophobic and felt weird- and I have stayed at a LOT of hostels around the world, but nothing like this one. Everything looked creepy, like people sort of desperate, who were looking to stay somewhere cheap and long-term. Guys a step away from the entrance to the hostel smoking pot. As soon as I saw the room I went back down and asked to cancel but they wouldn't do it through HostelBookers- by charging me the first night through my debit card. They kept the money for two nights instead. The guy at the reception was clearly upset that I asked to talk to his supervisor, and of course he didn't contact him. He gave me a number to call the day after, if I wanted to waste another day dealing with this hostel. Well, this should be the LAST place to consider staying at in London. I've stayed in Marylebone at a hostel before and it was much, MUCH nicer and about the same price.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013

Liked: Provided linens and a blanket, breakfast

Disliked: Expensive towels, dirty bathrooms, sometimes drafty, can only pay with cash

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2013

Liked: There was a free breakfast.

Disliked: This hostel seems to be the meeting point of junkies all over London. I would never go back there again, it was dirty, it smelled very bad and there was fungus a bit everywhere on the walls

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: It's dirty and the bathrooms/showers are terrible.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large and roomy and nice old solid building, good location.

Disliked: Could be cleaner and need to improve showers and toilets I think. More access to free lockers too would be a bonus. More than one tv for hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emilia Naseva

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Emilia would recommend this property

Liked: I was really scared of the reviews i read here, especially the bed bugs. We had no other option because we had to book at the very last minute. Fortunately there was a 4-bed room for us. To be honest, we didn’t realise are there any bedbugs or not because we brought a spray with us and first sprayed all the room, the beds, the blankets and the pillows. Then went for a walk and after a couple of hours opened the window. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had problem with the window and they fixed it. The toilets and the bathrooms were few on our floor but we took a bath early in the mornings so it was ok. There was also enough toilet paper. The breakfast was nice, especially the milk. It was clean, not perfect but clean enough. It seems that the hostel has a new owner and they renovate everything.

Disliked: The only problem was the other clients of the hostel. It seems that on saturday night all the people were awoke, drunk and wanted to talk in a loud voice and make noice. The next night they were gone and we slept well. The third night another loud group came in the middle of the night and wanted to talk in a loud voice just in front of our room's door. But for a tired tourist as us the hostel is perfect.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Andreia Baptista

Alone

City break

26 March 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything... there were cockroaches on the communal area. the rooms smelled terribly. i couldn't use the toilet ever because it was always clogged with poo.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

marzia morandi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013

Liked: very good position, cheap

Disliked: very dirty, no hanger dress at all, no chair, no

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

HELGA CALAS

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

25 March 2013 HELGA would recommend this property

Liked: good situation!

Disliked: two toilets in each floor. it was old.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location; Sheets were perfectly clean;

Disliked: A bit overcrowded by not so decently behaving guests;

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013

Liked: How close it was to many tube stops

Disliked: Dirty, poor facilities, had to pay for everything like towels were five pounds,

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013

Liked: Nothing, really, had a terrible night.

Disliked: Bad smell in rooms, dirty toilets and showers, cold and nasty overall. Other guests talking loud and washing their underwear in dorms during night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was cheap

Disliked: the people

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARCELLO BOLJEVIC

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 March 2013 MARCELLO would recommend this property

Liked: that is close to transport

Disliked: to manny people in one room

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 March 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: most of the front desk there is people living there, like year round. THEY STEAL EVERYTHING YOU LEAVE IN THE FRIDGE

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 March 2013

Liked: The location is brilliant. A place for sleep it is. No more than that.

Disliked: I have been to many hostel with cheaper price but better service. Apart from the cleaning ladies, the hostel's staffs are the opposite of friendly, one of them even used a rude tones to my sister. They should consider another careers other than hospitality, because clearly they don't enjoy their current job. Or maybe all of them just having a bad day at the same time, who knows.. 2 pounds for locker 2 pounds per luggage for luggage room another 1.5 pounds for internet connection uh, and yeah, the neverending stairs...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Nicola Rogers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: Everything!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013

Liked: 1) Breakfast - eat as much as you want (toasts, jam, butter, tea, juice)

Disliked: 1) one shower and toilet on the floor - impossible to get in. 2) up to 20 drunk idiots in your room. 3) be ready to pay 10 pound of deposit. 4) almost everything for additional money: luggage storage, internet, ... 5) sometimes people arrive and all places in their room are occupied. for stuff it's difficult to clean the room and distinguish beds, which became free. 6) as consequence from 5 - there is dirty 7) I didn't have a pillow

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Graham Tarrant

Alone

Business / conference

10 March 2013 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Efficient and relatively speaking, the facilities are spacious. Location is a huge advantage.

Disliked: Graham left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location for the price. If you're not planning to spend much time in the hostel, this place is perfect. Pretty basic free breakfast. Lots of bathrooms and showers. Hot water. Cheap.

Disliked: Pretty bad atmosphere. I stayed in the massive dorm room, and the light stayed on until past midnight. absolutely no frills. you have to be willing to rough it, but nothing was unbearable. I stayed there for a week, and would be happy to stay longer because the location was so good. i think dodgy hostels is part of the adventure of backpacking.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels