We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Hostel

Hostel | 2-6 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3HU

53.4% Overall Rating

621 out of 1334 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/10/2014)

Darcie Boatswain thinks…

"It's in a really unbelievably good location and for an early flight at Heathrow it's perfect for a one night stay."

Read all Hyde Park Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

"Hyde Park Hostel" only accepts 18-35 year old travelers and small student groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
47.06 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
35.70 USD

Hostel 83.3% 611 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
21.42 USD

Hostel 73.8% 1811 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
16.21 USD

Hostel 71.8% 1672 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
48.15 USD

Apartment 70.2% 9 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
32.46 USD

Hostel 69.7% 33 reviews
New dawn hotel
33.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.6% 26 reviews
Whiteleaf Hotel
21.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.8% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
53.4%

Overall Rating

621 out of 1334 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Hostel'

Atmosphere
47.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
44.8%
Cleanliness
42.4%
Staff
50.4%
Value
59.2%
Safety
48.8%
Refine your results Showing 835 of 1234 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the area is safe. I was in the 10 bed female dorm, room 45, with big window so the air is clean. Fully equipped kitchen and laundry. The staff was nice and helpful.It is worth your payment.

Disliked: no free Wifi. Not enough clean in the room and shower. no free luggage room and no locker.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Emma Gainsford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 July 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Very dirty, squashed room, no space to out bags or to lock them away. Don't feel safe. Bad showers. broken windows that have just been taped back together.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not very clean, rooms are a bit too small i think, didn't find the staff very friendly

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 July 2013

Liked: Location is great and staff are helpful, they helped me find another hostel (with female dorms) because they were full and I couldn't extend my stay with them for one extra night.

Disliked: The toilets are old, smelly and dirty. It wasn't cheap but it was the only available option at the time of booking, I will definitely avoid booking here next time. The whole building is old and smelly, the beds are not so bad (they provide a disposable pillow case which is really good) but the toilets are absolutely disgusting.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Angela Barnes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Cheap, and the bed was there at least.

Disliked: IF YOU STAY HERE, YOU WILL DIE(!) Well, maybe not quite, but the showers and toilets were disgusting. Poop around the toilet seat etc. I have no idea if floors are ever cleaned, or for that matter if toilets and showers are. The room led out onto a high balcony where brickwork had fallen away and scaffolding surrounded... Seemed very dangerous to me. People seemed to pick up pieces of toast then replace them ugh... And staff then urged me to take that food myself!? Had to ask for clean cutlery. Bed linen had holes in, and mine had someone else's hair. Eeew! Not very pleasant - but what can you expect for the price? Okay if hygiene isn't your thing I suppose.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

30 June 2013

Liked: It's in a great location near cheap food and groceries; Hyde park is a half block from the place. One of the cheapest places for its location. I found the beds to be comfortable and other female dorm guests to be wrote nice. Generally clean if a bit worn. Showers were a bit small and little privacy from others, but water was hot.

Disliked: Most everything else. There weren't enough outlets in the rooms, floors and doors were creaky or loud slamming even when you try to shut them quietly, and the staff at night (mostly male) were rude and harassed us. If we left a message at the front desk virtually guaranteed to not get passed along if anyone inquired. No place to easily hang out as a group in the evenings that would not disturb others. When we tried to do so we were told "tough" if we bother the other person in our room and were escorted to our room by the guard anyway. One woman meeting us at the hostel (from abroad; did not have a phone) was not given our meeting message and when we returned we were told we had just missed her and a "colleague" was helping her find a bus back as she gave up -and he did not have a phone so we couldn't contact her. Turns out that she was walked around by this colleague (male), advances made on her, asking about having dinner, massage, etc. and eventually brought back to the hostel as all 8 of us waited outside. Very sketch. I would say as long as you use this place as just a place to sleep and don't expect any assistance whatsoever it's fine.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

29 June 2013

Liked: Nothing!!! Just piece of shit!!!!

Disliked: Everything

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2013

Liked: People at reception were correct.

Disliked: Everything. This place is meant for a homeless shelter. There are no showers working, the beds are tiny, pervasive dirtyness, used condoms and tampons all over the place. Don't dare to stay in here.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 June 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very poor qulitity for central London, comparing with other hostels in the area

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 June 2013

Liked: Nothing because someone has stolen my key with 10 pounds deposit and a mobile phone. Nobody respects your belongings and take your bed if you leave it one minute

Disliked: Cf supra

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Look, I read loads of bad reviews. There was 8 of us in a private 8 bed dorm, it was very basic but clean. No curtains which was a bit of a shame when the sun was beaming in at 8am! But on a whole, you get what you pay for, it was ok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Giulia Gigliobianco

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2013 Giulia would recommend this property

Liked: The decorations of the rooms, although they were covered by the bulk beds

Disliked: few showers, one plug per room and no privacy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: The bathroom was extremely messy. The students do a way too much noise which isn't controlled and, honestly, the hostel is full of weirdos

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013

Liked: There were a lot of souvenir shops near by but it didn't feel like London anymore. The stairs felt weak like they couldn't support much weight.

Disliked: My sheets (though they smelled like bleach) had a splatter stain on them. And the desk clerk didn't know how to get to the airports easily. I was shocked when he said it would be an hour taxi - when I had did some preliminary research that suggested I could use transit. It should be mandatory for hostel workers to know how to instruct guests to airports.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013

Liked: Honestly, I didn't like anything except for the location

Disliked: Everything, especially the staff, who wasn't helpful at all and, when asked nicely to help with bags, would answer 'help yourself'.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013

Liked: Solo la ubicacion que es medianamenre decente

Disliked: Muy poco recomendable, es sucio, el edificio es laberintico, las camas son duras, internet es de pago tanto pcs como el wifi, a duras penas pude dormir un par de horas en las 4 noches que me hospede. Evitenlo a toda costa.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Quinton Meijer

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 May 2013

Liked: They gave me my own room

Disliked: bedbugs

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location Good showers

Disliked: No free wifi Beds shoud be more confy Windows should have better insulation

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013

Liked: location, free breakfast

Disliked: there being no spare bed for me in my dorm. receptionist checks computer, says there should be a free bed, comes into room and clears sheets of a bed saying this one must be empty, even though there were some papers on it, i say you sure this bed is empty, told yeah, just send anyone who comes in to me at reception. sure enough 3.30am i get woken up by the poor guy who's bed i've stolen

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 May 2013

Liked: price

Disliked: No sockets to charge phone or laptop, no free wi-fi and Everything else

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dmitrijs Stanuks

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

05 May 2013 Dmitrijs would recommend this property

Liked: Location are great! Staff are very helpful and nice! Rooms are clean and comfortable!

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 May 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Dirty. Payed Wi-Fi. Probably the worst hostel ever.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

gustavo reis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

28 April 2013 gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: a melhor atmosfera de hostel que eu já participei

Disliked: gustavo left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013

Liked: Somehow I avoided getting hepatitis.

Disliked: It was the pit of despair.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013

Liked: The location was good that's it.

Disliked: It was dirty, there are no lifts the other occupants were obnoxious (not the hostel fault) the toilets were filthy and overflowing with poo, I had to go to McDonald's to use the toilet and I couldn't find the female showers and the showers leaked between floors so the stairwell was always wet. I feel sorry for the cleaners there. Also my sheets had stains on them...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels