We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Hostel

Hostel | 2-6 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3HU

52.9% Overall Rating

621 out of 1335 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/10/2014)

Darcie Boatswain thinks…

"It's in a really unbelievably good location and for an early flight at Heathrow it's perfect for a one night stay."

Read all Hyde Park Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

"Hyde Park Hostel" only accepts 18-35 year old travelers and small student groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
36.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
35.70 USD

Hostel 83.3% 611 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
21.42 USD

Hostel 73.8% 1811 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
16.21 USD

Hostel 74.5% 1673 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
44.63 USD

Apartment 70.2% 9 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
32.46 USD

Hostel 69.1% 34 reviews
New dawn hotel
28.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.6% 26 reviews
Whiteleaf Hotel
67.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.8% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
52.9%

Overall Rating

621 out of 1335 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Hostel'

Atmosphere
47.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
42.4%
Staff
49.6%
Value
59.2%
Safety
47.2%
Refine your results Showing 836 of 1235 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and price

Disliked: Pretty grimey but didn't expect anything else having read the reviews and considering how cheap it is. I have stayed other hostels in london at similar prices but this one was the first where I felt unsafe with the people I was sharing a room with; I felt some of the men acted in an inappropriate way towards me that made me feel incomfortable. However, this is not the fault of the hostel and there are female only dorms; I also heard of a incident from others in the hostel where a man was removed for urinating on a womans belongings, so obviously the hostel does deal with incidents like this when reported.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2013

Liked: It is near the tube station and it is really cheap.

Disliked: the environment is really dirty such as kitchen, bathroom and also the bedroom. The building is extremely old. there is no locker in the room. only two to four sockets for a 18 beds room and 24 beds room. It is not so safe to stay there, my friend just lost his mobile phone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Dykeman

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 October 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a great location and for that, the price can absolutely not be beat. The bed was comfortable and there was a window in our room that we could open and close for fresh air when needed. There was also a sink and mirror in the room and enough space for bags (we were in the 8 bed dorm). The building is a really cool old piece of London. Be gentle with the staff, they have a rough time of it.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Maria Pia Sanna

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 October 2013

Liked: Just the location. The rest was totally disappointing

Disliked: Almost everything. Rooms, cleaning, showers and toilet (actually disgusting) and stuff really cold and not helpful

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tomislav Zaja

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 October 2013 Tomislav would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price. Very procedural.

Disliked: The room at a bright green light that had people pressing on the accelerator during their sleep. Neither bathrooms nor toilets have mirrors. If on top floor you will have a lot of stairs to climb. They charge for wi-fi, which seems incredible that they could not offer it to the whole hostel for a fractional increase to the price per person.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 October 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sara Welch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013

Liked: The location wasn't bad and it was fairly cheap.

Disliked: No free wifi, you had to pay and couldn't get it in your room. The bathrooms were average and not enough for the amount of people staying there. Not all the showers had hot water.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 September 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything, but the price.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money. You get what you pay for. No frills accommodation. Would definitely go back.

Disliked: Needs more toilets

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely crisp white sheets were handed to me on arrival - they looked like new. The location was excellent and easy to find, being very near to the park., close to the end of the road. On the next street, there were lots of shops, including 2 supermarkets (Tesco local and Sainsburys local which were very convenient). The breakfast was basic which you expect toast/cereal. Large Tv in breakfast room. Spacious dormitory with 1 sink in corner. Good security - you have a card that you touch to your door to open it, security guard was in the lobby late at night. Was not a noisy place.

Disliked: There was a staff change over on reception desk at about 8am and was told to wait 5 or 10 minutes. This was not ideal if you were in a rush to check out or had something urgent to sort out. Breakfast orange juice was the weakest ever. Dorm had no furniture in it except for beds (no lockers in room.) Charge for towels (£5), luggage storage (£2).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sarah Robertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a great spot in central London, the best value I could find. Apart from having to pay for wifi, I think it's a pretty good deal, especially with the free breakfast.

Disliked: Having to pay for internet. Most places these days make it part of the stay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Julienne Hortle

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 September 2013 Julienne would recommend this property

Liked: The location and price are unbeatable.

Disliked: It cost 12 pounds to stay there and it was worth every pound, but not a pound more. I mean it wasn't the most luxurious hostel or the cleanest I have ever stayed in, but what do you expect when you're only paying 12 pounds for it?! So really I can't complain. In fact, the hostel exceeded my expectations - the people at the front counter were friendly, the sheets were clean, the rooms were large and airy, and the actual building was really beautiful.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Leif Cid Guim

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 September 2013 Leif would recommend this property

Liked: The Price £10 a night !!

Disliked: The showers did not work, hlaf of the doors were missing from the showers. The white bread at breakfast was 1c for a bag of 2000 slices. Its the cheapest most offal thing ever....

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Brendon Ballantyne

Alone

Business / conference

17 September 2013 Brendon would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Price.

Disliked: General Maintance - There was a door into the corridor on my floor hthat made a horrible squeking noise when used, that could be herd from inside the room interupting my sleep. as they say its the small things.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013

Liked: It's well-situated: close from underground station and bus stop

Disliked: I don't know if it's about the hostel tradition or just one employee. They asked for the deposit £20 and just refund £10! BE AWARE GUYS because in the check-in sheet the lady write down £10 and we gave £20 and we didn't check it so we gave 20, on the paper just 10 so we just got 10 pound as deposit. BE CAREFUL

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathrooms and toilets were so gross! Smelled so terrible.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best location, friendly staff, kitchen with fridge, supermarkets in the area, close to two UG Stations

Disliked: you have to pay to use wifi and computers

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Elia Aldana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2013 Elia would recommend this property

Liked: it's very well located, near 2 subway station also several bus routes, easy to get there easy to get away

Disliked: the mattress was uncomfortable, the sheets and pillow were not clean at all, they all had weird stains. It has no lift and no one offer to help carry my suitcase 3 floors up! the breakfast was very poor but what can you expect at that price.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

25 August 2013

Liked: inexpensiveness

Disliked: numbers of people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: every thing , value for money, location,free breakfast,

Disliked: nothing,good for 20 pounds

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was not as bad as I had imagined having read over reviews. It was a place to sleep, not really a place to meet people and hang out in the evening. It is old, but I didn't ever have to wait for the shower (touch wood) and had a tepid shower the first day and a rather warm one the second. The staff (JR in particular) was helpful and friendly, I had no run ins with them as other people have mentioned. JR happily gave me information about buses and checked in with me later in the evening to make sure that I'd found the bus all right. It wasn't spic and span but wasn't FILTHY either, and clean linen was provided.

Disliked: While it appeared as if the toilets were cleaned daily, they were dirty at times which I'd attribute more to guests who disrespected them than to lack of workers. The one toilet was out of order one morning but was fixed by that afternoon. There was a terrible smell from the toilets which seemed to be more of a old pipe and drainage problem. They should try to get that seen to. It is an old building, so someone expecting a snazzy hostel should probably go elsewhere. I managed to get a bed beside the window so didn't have stuffiness problems, but could hear some traffic in the evening. The hostel is much easier and faster to get to from Queensway Station on the Central Line line than the directions cited.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Warren Macdonald

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

30 July 2013 Warren would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap and in a very convenient location. WYSIWYG - it's basic shared dormitory accommodation amongst a moving/tourist population, so you expect some odd hours coming and going.

Disliked: Warren left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013

Liked: Location is good!

Disliked: Its the worst hostel in London. The staff are rude The place is filthy and a camp for the homeless. Thus the attitude of the staff is outrageous even to normal people. Even for a normal plate you might have to queue for 15 minutes if they are short staffed and people are checking in. They will keep on changing the internet tariff every day to larger amounts! The toilets smell and the men's showers stink!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

tom fellows

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2013

Liked: Leaving this terrible hostel

Disliked: Staff were rude and unhelpful even losing our 10 pound deposit and not apologising or refunding, kitchen was dirty and terribly equipped, had hot water 1 day out of 5

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013

Liked: I liked that the 24 beds all had curtains. They were like 'do not disturb' signs. I liked that we all in my room were ok leaving our luggage in the room. Given how unavailable bathrooms were I was glad there was a sink to brush teeth in the bedroom. I am glad it was still available when I had not booked earlier due to changing plans. They raise the price for people trying to book last minute. It is possible that some in prior reviews who have said 'you get what you pay for' have paid a whole lot lot less than I did or then the woman who paid 15 pounds and could not get any but a cold shower for 2 days. Flop house pricing would be appropriate.

Disliked: The kitchen was so filthy when I first saw it that even I who am not big on clean would not have wanted to cook or eat from it. The rats in some visible area when windows had to be open due to heat were a bit concerning as to whether they were in our rooms, too. Don't get used to using an outlet or watching TV as the long term people will change channels on you and demand the use of the outlet. don't plan on eating at 7am. That is when they setup ... stuff is out to eat at 7:15. Do be done by 9am because by 9:01 it is all put away. Do not try to talk to the desk people. They are surly, not English, and a bad experience over all.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels