We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Hostel

Hostel | 2-6 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3HU

51.4% Overall Rating

620 out of 1328 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"Location is excellent. There is a 24hour reception and I was able to check in at 2 in the morning. Checkout was quick and easy and I received my deposit back, no problem."

Read all Hyde Park Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.26
  • Towel USD 8.14

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

"Hyde Park Hostel" only accepts 18-35 year old travelers and small student groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
55.04 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
34.20 USD

Hostel 83.3% 611 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
14.64 USD

Hostel 74.3% 1809 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
16.27 USD

Hostel 69.4% 1670 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
64.32 USD

Apartment 75.0% 8 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
32.57 USD

Hostel 71.7% 31 reviews
New dawn hotel
74.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 25 reviews
Whiteleaf Hotel
32.29 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.8% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
51.4%

Overall Rating

620 out of 1328 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Hostel'

Atmosphere
43.2%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
42.4%
Cleanliness
39.2%
Staff
52.0%
Value
56.0%
Safety
48.0%
Refine your results Showing 829 of 1228 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 April 2014

Liked: cheap and all we needed for our stay . a bed and somewhere to get clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

richard goddard

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 April 2014 richard would recommend this property

Liked: location, cost

Disliked: richard left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014

Liked: Close to the tube station.

Disliked: Horrible dirty showers. Smoke detectors broken in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mehdi Bourakkadi

Alone

Partying / nightlife

20 April 2014 Mehdi would recommend this property

Liked: It's just next to Hyde park in centre

Disliked: Mehdi left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014

Liked: Very close to buses

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big airy Bedrooms Kitchen and Dining/tv area and lots of showers and toilets facilities. Breakfast plentiful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap

Disliked: Too dirty you feel a bit insecure there

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I often stay here. It is very central, cheap, has reasonable cooking facilities and on this occasion my room mates were quiet although I understand there was a punch-up in another room, It is generally a friendly place although there are one or two characters knocking about.

Disliked: Could be more storage space.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nadine McAndrew

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

01 April 2014 Nadine would recommend this property

Liked: Location Simple accomodation - good for when you just need a bed

Disliked: No common area, No wifi, Weird Layout, easy to get lost in coridoors, staff not very friendly - appears if they do not like their job

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The name is impressive and its central location in London.

Disliked: Although I can handle it there are many nut jobs meandering around the place. The presence of a group smokers at the front door is never a pleasant site. Paying extra for wifi and internet is ridiculous. But could have been worse. Never saw weird animals running around at least.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was right beside Hyde Park.

Disliked: Too many people in one room. It became unclean and I worried about my belongings.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its not very clean and because there are so many people you might not have a great nights sleep, but its on a great location and its really cheap, so for me it was really ok.

Disliked: I read loads of comments that a lot of stuff gets stolen, but if you just lock your suitcase everything will be fine

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Madeline Witek

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013

Liked: The location is impeccable. A minute walk to the Queensway Underground and 3 minutes to the Bayswater Stop. It was wonderful at the end of a long night to only have a short walk back to the hostel.

Disliked: The staff was incredibly rude when we checked in: the gentleman behind the desk was chatting in another language to someone else behind the desk the whole time and made us feel very unwelcome. The whole decor looks dirty and dingy. Our room had one bare lightbulb, which was too harsh to have on once others were in bed, an impractical thing for a room with 8 beds. There were also only 3 power outlets in the room, which was appalling. There were no sinks or mirrors by the ladies rooms and no soap at the sink in the room. There was no free wifi and the price of using the internet in the lobby was astronomical. Our biggest complaint was the lack of common areas. We got back about 11:30pm and wanted to have a snack before bed. We went down to the kitchen around 11:50 and were kicked out 10 minutes later. When we asked where we could go, we were told "outside" or "in our rooms" where people were obviously asleep. I can't even argue that the price excuses it because I have stayed in hostels costing less that were much more accommodating. I will not stay here again.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Maximiliano Mollica

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013

Liked: It was close to the train station and a great area.

Disliked: Rooms were dirty. Changed hostels after an hour of staying.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Donato Nenna

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Donato would recommend this property

Liked: Il prezzo va bene.e la posizione anche facile da raggiungere e facilmente collegata al resto di Londra.

Disliked: Non cè il WiFi !!! e le docce si otturano!!!!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Chen Xie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2013

Liked: Ok price

Disliked: Very very dirty, and the room smelled really bad. The location to price ratio was ok. It's not that great for tourism like it advertises. There are definitely other hostels at a similar price that are closer to London activities.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 November 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: - the staff and their behivour - lack of hygene

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and price

Disliked: Pretty grimey but didn't expect anything else having read the reviews and considering how cheap it is. I have stayed other hostels in london at similar prices but this one was the first where I felt unsafe with the people I was sharing a room with; I felt some of the men acted in an inappropriate way towards me that made me feel incomfortable. However, this is not the fault of the hostel and there are female only dorms; I also heard of a incident from others in the hostel where a man was removed for urinating on a womans belongings, so obviously the hostel does deal with incidents like this when reported.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2013

Liked: It is near the tube station and it is really cheap.

Disliked: the environment is really dirty such as kitchen, bathroom and also the bedroom. The building is extremely old. there is no locker in the room. only two to four sockets for a 18 beds room and 24 beds room. It is not so safe to stay there, my friend just lost his mobile phone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Dykeman

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 October 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a great location and for that, the price can absolutely not be beat. The bed was comfortable and there was a window in our room that we could open and close for fresh air when needed. There was also a sink and mirror in the room and enough space for bags (we were in the 8 bed dorm). The building is a really cool old piece of London. Be gentle with the staff, they have a rough time of it.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Maria Pia Sanna

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 October 2013

Liked: Just the location. The rest was totally disappointing

Disliked: Almost everything. Rooms, cleaning, showers and toilet (actually disgusting) and stuff really cold and not helpful

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tomislav Zaja

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 October 2013 Tomislav would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price. Very procedural.

Disliked: The room at a bright green light that had people pressing on the accelerator during their sleep. Neither bathrooms nor toilets have mirrors. If on top floor you will have a lot of stairs to climb. They charge for wi-fi, which seems incredible that they could not offer it to the whole hostel for a fractional increase to the price per person.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 October 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sara Welch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013

Liked: The location wasn't bad and it was fairly cheap.

Disliked: No free wifi, you had to pay and couldn't get it in your room. The bathrooms were average and not enough for the amount of people staying there. Not all the showers had hot water.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels