HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Hostel

Hostel | 2-6 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3HU

59.2% Overall Rating

612 out of 1305 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

James O'Driscoll thinks…

"You get what you pay for - did the trick for 2 nights, didn't spend much time there."

Read all Hyde Park Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.39
  • Towel USD 8.46

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

"Hyde Park Hostel" only accepts 18-35 year old travelers and small student groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
52.48 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
35.55 USD

Hostel 82.9% 609 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
24.55 USD

Hostel 70.3% 1801 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
20.30 USD

Hostel 68.0% 1660 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
50.23 USD

Apartment 75.0% 8 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
33.86 USD

Hostel 69.6% 28 reviews
New dawn hotel
41.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 25 reviews
Whiteleaf Hotel
25.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.2% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.2%

Overall Rating

612 out of 1305 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Hostel'

Atmosphere
47.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
43.2%
Cleanliness
47.2%
Staff
60.0%
Value
68.8%
Safety
58.4%
Refine your results Showing 816 of 1208 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Hayley Newton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2010 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Good location by Hyde Park. Cheap, clean bedsheets.

Disliked: It is about what you expect for paying £7.50 a night, but could have done with a good clean and carpets on stairs but it was ok.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the people I met there, and, except for the very last night, the room was really calm and enjoyable. It was easy to sleep in there.

Disliked: Some of the toilets were really dirty and smelly, and twice the female showers were missing shower curtains.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanliness is the problem of the hostel, the toilet was smelly

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2010

Liked: Just the location.

Disliked: People would sneak in at night that didn't reserve the property and steal beds.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 July 2010

Liked: It was centrally located

Disliked: I found that the kitchens especially were dirty, I am almost positive that I picked up a stomach bug from leaving food in their fridge. A large proportion of the time no washing up liquid was provided, and although I witnessed cleaners working there, at no time did I see a more than cosmetic clean take place. The toilets had an overpowering smell of urine and all the time I was there no hand-washing soap was provided. The rooms did not provide secure lockers and I am aware of people having their property stolen. The internet was expensive and wifi only worked in the reception. On arrival I wasn't given a tour or offered maps or local information.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Venkata Yashwanth Kumar Penjuri

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2010

Liked: Nice beds, Closer to the tube station.

Disliked: Toilets and cleanliness.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Common room not really atmospheric

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2010

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The worst thing about Hyde Park Hostel, aside from the stained mattress, the single bed sheet I was given, poor service and disgustingly dirty rooms, is that I felt completely unsafe staying there. Security is the most important thing I look for in a place to stay, and this place didn't offer it. Lockers were £1.50 per bag per day, and I did not trust that my bags would be in a safe place. I had to sleep clinging to my belongings and couldn't get any rest. I honestly couldn't stand to stay there for the duration of my visit and ended up canceling my last two nights. Awful, awful, awful - I would never recommend that anyone stay there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Good place to meet people

Disliked: No wifi on third floor

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2010

Liked: r

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dinesh Kumar

With my spouse / partner

06 July 2010 Dinesh would recommend this property

Liked: Its a nice location and u meet so many different people over there.

Disliked: Our room wason 4th floor and there was no elevator in building.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Butcher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: great bulding, great location. simple good hostel with really good value.

Disliked: had a creaky door into our room was quite annoying. (loud)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was in a good location and the staff were helpful at putting me and my friend in the same room. the kitchen was large and people were friendly

Disliked: the rooms had no lockers and the building was quite damaged the room was also boiling hot

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, direct bus to victoria station when there were problems with tube service

Disliked: Facilities could have been better, but generally clean, ok

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 July 2010

Liked: It was very inexpensive and close to the tube station.

Disliked: It was extremely loud, unclean, and unsafe. People walked in and out all the time, and the staff dont check your ticket in the luggage storage room, so anyone could walk off with your bag. Its also so loud with such thin walls that its difficult to sleep. Half the power outlets in the room also didn't work.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2010

Liked: Good location next to Bayswater tube.

Disliked: Pretty much everything - it was rank, unfriendly, and hasn't been cleaned since roughly 1975.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 July 2010

Liked: n/a

Disliked: Filthy Toilets, broken windows

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Evgeni Mitsev

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 July 2010 Evgeni would recommend this property

Liked: no coments

Disliked: Evgeni left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the location was brilliant and easy to find.

Disliked: No towels were provided

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AKANDE OLUYINKA OLUGBENGA

Alone

Family Holiday

30 June 2010 AKANDE would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic

Disliked: neatness

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Ryan Vaughan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 June 2010

Liked: As I was going to the Hyde Park Hard Rock Calling, the location was superb, plus the price was reasonable

Disliked: Once entering the hostel we were not told who to go to for assistance for 15 minutes and the young woman who finally did was very rude and unhelpful when we asked for directions and information about the hostel. when myself and my two friends arrived back at the hostel, there were two people staying in our room who were fighting and moving the beds around, we tried to complain at the main desk but nothing was done, knowing that the two men were in our room made us feel very unsafe and the fact that nothing was done was terrible. There were also problems with the washing facilities, they were very poorly signed and very unhygienic, there seemed to be old/used underwear on the floor inside the only working shower I could find. The price of the towels (£4.99) was also very bad, considering the towel was small and had an old stain on it, the price seemed ridiculous. To top it off, when I tried to complain at the end of my stay, I was kept waiting for so long, it did not seem worth it.....

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2010

Liked: only good thing was the location.. thats it

Disliked: the dorms only had 1 window, no air con.. no free internet or free wifi there weren't many toilets so you had to get up very early..

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Syed Zahid Syed Zakaria

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2010 Syed Zahid would recommend this property

Liked: strategic

Disliked: ugly and looked old like a prison

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 June 2010

Liked: It was conveniently located for Hyde Park where we were attending the Hard Rock Calling festival. The staff were helpful when called upon.

Disliked: We were asked to pay a keycard deposit, which wasn't unreasonable and was returned at the end of the stay, but no mention was made of this during the booking process. The card amchine was broken so we were forced to spend all our cash upon check in. The toilets and shower were far from clean to the point where we didn't bother using the showers and used toilets at the festival, and festival toilets are hardly idyllic.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Las personas son muy amables.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels