We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Hostel

Hostel | 2-6 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3HU

52.9% Overall Rating

621 out of 1335 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/10/2014)

Darcie Boatswain thinks…

"It's in a really unbelievably good location and for an early flight at Heathrow it's perfect for a one night stay."

Read all Hyde Park Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

"Hyde Park Hostel" only accepts 18-35 year old travelers and small student groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
46.66 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
35.70 USD

Hostel 83.3% 611 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
21.42 USD

Hostel 73.8% 1811 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
16.21 USD

Hostel 71.8% 1672 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
44.63 USD

Apartment 70.2% 9 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
32.46 USD

Hostel 69.7% 33 reviews
New dawn hotel
33.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.6% 26 reviews
Whiteleaf Hotel
22.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.8% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
52.9%

Overall Rating

621 out of 1335 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Hostel'

Atmosphere
47.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
42.4%
Staff
49.6%
Value
59.2%
Safety
47.2%
Refine your results Showing 836 of 1235 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: J'ai apprécié la gentillesse et la disponibilité du personnel, ainsi que l'emplacement de l'auberge qui est a proximité de tous les commerces et grandes avenues

Disliked: L'établissement était en rénovation pendant notre séjour

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and it's a great place to meet new people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ádám Harmat

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 August 2010 Ádám would recommend this property

Liked: It has a quite good location, and the stuff is very helpful.

Disliked: It was a little bit dirty

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2010

Liked: The showers were warm I suppose

Disliked: Where do I start? There was cockroaches running around. To get to the showers you had to walk through a swamp of everybody elses filth as all the water gushes into one large plughole in the middle of the room. The kitchen equipment didn't work very well. The lady behind the counter short changed us. The other people staying there weren't very enthusiastic or approachable. The mattresses were not at all comfortable. The bedroom was too hot during the night. The pillows were covered in stains. At least they didn't mind grapes getting thrown around though.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good to meet foreigners.

Disliked: In this hostel, you live with some others insects in your bed an in couchs.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers.

Disliked: Toilets.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient location

Disliked: the facility is old and not being cared enough

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No place for meeting people and relax. All floors filled up with rooms. Shower and toilets are the smallest I have ever seen in my life.. rooms are very basic. if you just need a bad in a central place it is advisable. thats it

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

08 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not that clean. But not filthy either.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We wanted a private twin room, which not all hostels are provided with and, apart from that, the most important things were price and location and this hostel was a good choice for both.

Disliked: It was July and we needed some fresh air in the room but the window could not stay open by itself and the staff didnt help us solve the problem so we had to use a suitcase to leave it open. Besides, the curtains were not long enough to keep our privacy.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

John Britton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2010

Liked: easy central location for London and very close to the tube line.

Disliked: Left room for about 5 minutes to go to bathroom and came back to my bag broken into and my laptop was stolen. CCTV was not working and could not tell me who was in the room with the electronic key cards. No-one was in the room prior to leaving the room nor when i got back. Staff and on duty manger not helpful. Hostel could of been cleaner however the location is good. Just never leave your bag even if its locked in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

04 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic youth hostel! really cheap and everything was ok, kind staff, clean room and bathrooms, nice dinning room; great localisationand the most important - (spanish) room-mates, the best i've ever had! despite 12 people inside there were opportunity to rest and have good sleeping;)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Adhelyn Rojas

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2010 Adhelyn would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: It is not very clean and smells. Also no wifi for freee

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2010

Liked: Location close to Hyde Park, Queenway and Notting Hill.

Disliked: This property should read 'renovators dream'. The pictures are misleading, it is decrepitated and unclean. While the rooms were cleaned daily, the toilets were filthy. The hostel is lacking in atmosphere and crawling with bed bugs.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

30 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has a great kitchen for cooking and is in a good area.

Disliked: Staff (the owners not the temp staff) seemed very put out about everything. Very unfriendly place.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: na

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 July 2010

Liked: The mattress was pretty good

Disliked: When we walked into the room, there were people smoking weed on the floor in the middle of the room - it was awful. Also the staff weren't very friendly, it doesn't cost much to smile

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

26 July 2010

Liked: It was close the the Tube station, and had many cheap places to eat near it that were open very late.

Disliked: The hostel was very unclean. I may have walked away from this hostel with a viral infection in my eye causing temporary blindness. The showers were unclean, the plumbing hardly worked, and some of the doors to the bathrooms did not even lock. I never walked by the entrance without seeing a lump of people (not all guests) loitering outside on the sidewalk and at least one or two people smoking on the steps.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

23 July 2010

Liked: The internet was cheap, just 1 pound for 75mins.

Disliked: The place is noisy. Our room stank of fresh paint. The kitchen was foul. Heaps of stairscases- no lifts, vomit in the bathrooms (which were closets off the stairwells) rare toiletpaper sightings, carpet filthy, staff uninterested in any problems.. you get the picture. Also should probably mention that the police were called twice during our 3- night stay, including once for a theft of a laptop from our room.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

22 July 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: All

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Hayley Newton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2010 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Good location by Hyde Park. Cheap, clean bedsheets.

Disliked: It is about what you expect for paying £7.50 a night, but could have done with a good clean and carpets on stairs but it was ok.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the people I met there, and, except for the very last night, the room was really calm and enjoyable. It was easy to sleep in there.

Disliked: Some of the toilets were really dirty and smelly, and twice the female showers were missing shower curtains.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanliness is the problem of the hostel, the toilet was smelly

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2010

Liked: Just the location.

Disliked: People would sneak in at night that didn't reserve the property and steal beds.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 July 2010

Liked: It was centrally located

Disliked: I found that the kitchens especially were dirty, I am almost positive that I picked up a stomach bug from leaving food in their fridge. A large proportion of the time no washing up liquid was provided, and although I witnessed cleaners working there, at no time did I see a more than cosmetic clean take place. The toilets had an overpowering smell of urine and all the time I was there no hand-washing soap was provided. The rooms did not provide secure lockers and I am aware of people having their property stolen. The internet was expensive and wifi only worked in the reception. On arrival I wasn't given a tour or offered maps or local information.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels