HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Hostel

Hostel | 2-6 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3HU

54.3% Overall Rating

615 out of 1315 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

Morgan Peele thinks…

"The location would be the only beneficial factor of this property. It's right across the street from Hyde park. Note: it is on the less desirable side of the park however."

Read all Hyde Park Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.32
  • Towel USD 8.29

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

"Hyde Park Hostel" only accepts 18-35 year old travelers and small student groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
62.17 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
34.81 USD

Hostel 83.3% 610 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
24.04 USD

Hostel 72.2% 1804 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
16.56 USD

Hostel 69.9% 1664 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
65.48 USD

Apartment 75.0% 8 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
33.16 USD

Hostel 70.1% 30 reviews
New dawn hotel
58.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 25 reviews
Whiteleaf Hotel
34.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.2% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
54.3%

Overall Rating

615 out of 1315 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Hostel'

Atmosphere
44.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
40.8%
Cleanliness
42.4%
Staff
56.8%
Value
61.6%
Safety
51.2%
Refine your results Showing 822 of 1215 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

30 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has a great kitchen for cooking and is in a good area.

Disliked: Staff (the owners not the temp staff) seemed very put out about everything. Very unfriendly place.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: na

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 July 2010

Liked: The mattress was pretty good

Disliked: When we walked into the room, there were people smoking weed on the floor in the middle of the room - it was awful. Also the staff weren't very friendly, it doesn't cost much to smile

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

26 July 2010

Liked: It was close the the Tube station, and had many cheap places to eat near it that were open very late.

Disliked: The hostel was very unclean. I may have walked away from this hostel with a viral infection in my eye causing temporary blindness. The showers were unclean, the plumbing hardly worked, and some of the doors to the bathrooms did not even lock. I never walked by the entrance without seeing a lump of people (not all guests) loitering outside on the sidewalk and at least one or two people smoking on the steps.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

23 July 2010

Liked: The internet was cheap, just 1 pound for 75mins.

Disliked: The place is noisy. Our room stank of fresh paint. The kitchen was foul. Heaps of stairscases- no lifts, vomit in the bathrooms (which were closets off the stairwells) rare toiletpaper sightings, carpet filthy, staff uninterested in any problems.. you get the picture. Also should probably mention that the police were called twice during our 3- night stay, including once for a theft of a laptop from our room.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

22 July 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: All

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Hayley Newton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2010 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Good location by Hyde Park. Cheap, clean bedsheets.

Disliked: It is about what you expect for paying £7.50 a night, but could have done with a good clean and carpets on stairs but it was ok.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the people I met there, and, except for the very last night, the room was really calm and enjoyable. It was easy to sleep in there.

Disliked: Some of the toilets were really dirty and smelly, and twice the female showers were missing shower curtains.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanliness is the problem of the hostel, the toilet was smelly

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2010

Liked: Just the location.

Disliked: People would sneak in at night that didn't reserve the property and steal beds.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 July 2010

Liked: It was centrally located

Disliked: I found that the kitchens especially were dirty, I am almost positive that I picked up a stomach bug from leaving food in their fridge. A large proportion of the time no washing up liquid was provided, and although I witnessed cleaners working there, at no time did I see a more than cosmetic clean take place. The toilets had an overpowering smell of urine and all the time I was there no hand-washing soap was provided. The rooms did not provide secure lockers and I am aware of people having their property stolen. The internet was expensive and wifi only worked in the reception. On arrival I wasn't given a tour or offered maps or local information.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Venkata Yashwanth Kumar Penjuri

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2010

Liked: Nice beds, Closer to the tube station.

Disliked: Toilets and cleanliness.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Common room not really atmospheric

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2010

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The worst thing about Hyde Park Hostel, aside from the stained mattress, the single bed sheet I was given, poor service and disgustingly dirty rooms, is that I felt completely unsafe staying there. Security is the most important thing I look for in a place to stay, and this place didn't offer it. Lockers were £1.50 per bag per day, and I did not trust that my bags would be in a safe place. I had to sleep clinging to my belongings and couldn't get any rest. I honestly couldn't stand to stay there for the duration of my visit and ended up canceling my last two nights. Awful, awful, awful - I would never recommend that anyone stay there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Good place to meet people

Disliked: No wifi on third floor

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2010

Liked: r

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dinesh Kumar

With my spouse / partner

06 July 2010 Dinesh would recommend this property

Liked: Its a nice location and u meet so many different people over there.

Disliked: Our room wason 4th floor and there was no elevator in building.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Butcher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: great bulding, great location. simple good hostel with really good value.

Disliked: had a creaky door into our room was quite annoying. (loud)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was in a good location and the staff were helpful at putting me and my friend in the same room. the kitchen was large and people were friendly

Disliked: the rooms had no lockers and the building was quite damaged the room was also boiling hot

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, direct bus to victoria station when there were problems with tube service

Disliked: Facilities could have been better, but generally clean, ok

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 July 2010

Liked: It was very inexpensive and close to the tube station.

Disliked: It was extremely loud, unclean, and unsafe. People walked in and out all the time, and the staff dont check your ticket in the luggage storage room, so anyone could walk off with your bag. Its also so loud with such thin walls that its difficult to sleep. Half the power outlets in the room also didn't work.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2010

Liked: Good location next to Bayswater tube.

Disliked: Pretty much everything - it was rank, unfriendly, and hasn't been cleaned since roughly 1975.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 July 2010

Liked: n/a

Disliked: Filthy Toilets, broken windows

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Evgeni Mitsev

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 July 2010 Evgeni would recommend this property

Liked: no coments

Disliked: Evgeni left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the location was brilliant and easy to find.

Disliked: No towels were provided


See all London hostels
See all London hotels