HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Hostel

Hostel | 2-6 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3HU

52.5% Overall Rating

588 out of 1238 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

"Big airy Bedrooms Kitchen and Dining/tv area and lots of showers and toilets facilities. Breakfast plentiful."

Read all Hyde Park Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.35
  • Towel USD 8.38

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

"Hyde Park Hostel" only accepts 18-35 year old travelers and small student groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
41.49 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
35.21 USD

Hostel 81.3% 596 reviews
The 23 Hostel
25.15 USD

Hostel 63.9% 14 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
15.07 USD

Hostel 62.3% 1782 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
16.75 USD

Hostel 66.1% 1638 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
50.29 USD

Apartment 75.0% 8 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
33.53 USD

Hostel 75.9% 14 reviews
New dawn hotel
35.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
52.5%

Overall Rating

588 out of 1238 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Hostel'

Atmosphere
43.2%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
41.6%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
43.2%
Value
62.4%
Safety
51.2%
Refine your results Showing 774 of 1145 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Leif Cid Guim

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 September 2013 Leif would recommend this property

Liked: The Price £10 a night !!

Disliked: The showers did not work, hlaf of the doors were missing from the showers. The white bread at breakfast was 1c for a bag of 2000 slices. Its the cheapest most offal thing ever....

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Brendon Ballantyne

Alone

Business / conference

17 September 2013 Brendon would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Price.

Disliked: General Maintance - There was a door into the corridor on my floor hthat made a horrible squeking noise when used, that could be herd from inside the room interupting my sleep. as they say its the small things.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013

Liked: It's well-situated: close from underground station and bus stop

Disliked: I don't know if it's about the hostel tradition or just one employee. They asked for the deposit £20 and just refund £10! BE AWARE GUYS because in the check-in sheet the lady write down £10 and we gave £20 and we didn't check it so we gave 20, on the paper just 10 so we just got 10 pound as deposit. BE CAREFUL

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathrooms and toilets were so gross! Smelled so terrible.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best location, friendly staff, kitchen with fridge, supermarkets in the area, close to two UG Stations

Disliked: you have to pay to use wifi and computers

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Elia Aldana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2013 Elia would recommend this property

Liked: it's very well located, near 2 subway station also several bus routes, easy to get there easy to get away

Disliked: the mattress was uncomfortable, the sheets and pillow were not clean at all, they all had weird stains. It has no lift and no one offer to help carry my suitcase 3 floors up! the breakfast was very poor but what can you expect at that price.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

25 August 2013

Liked: inexpensiveness

Disliked: numbers of people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: every thing , value for money, location,free breakfast,

Disliked: nothing,good for 20 pounds

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was not as bad as I had imagined having read over reviews. It was a place to sleep, not really a place to meet people and hang out in the evening. It is old, but I didn't ever have to wait for the shower (touch wood) and had a tepid shower the first day and a rather warm one the second. The staff (JR in particular) was helpful and friendly, I had no run ins with them as other people have mentioned. JR happily gave me information about buses and checked in with me later in the evening to make sure that I'd found the bus all right. It wasn't spic and span but wasn't FILTHY either, and clean linen was provided.

Disliked: While it appeared as if the toilets were cleaned daily, they were dirty at times which I'd attribute more to guests who disrespected them than to lack of workers. The one toilet was out of order one morning but was fixed by that afternoon. There was a terrible smell from the toilets which seemed to be more of a old pipe and drainage problem. They should try to get that seen to. It is an old building, so someone expecting a snazzy hostel should probably go elsewhere. I managed to get a bed beside the window so didn't have stuffiness problems, but could hear some traffic in the evening. The hostel is much easier and faster to get to from Queensway Station on the Central Line line than the directions cited.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Warren Macdonald

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

30 July 2013 Warren would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap and in a very convenient location. WYSIWYG - it's basic shared dormitory accommodation amongst a moving/tourist population, so you expect some odd hours coming and going.

Disliked: Warren left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013

Liked: Location is good!

Disliked: Its the worst hostel in London. The staff are rude The place is filthy and a camp for the homeless. Thus the attitude of the staff is outrageous even to normal people. Even for a normal plate you might have to queue for 15 minutes if they are short staffed and people are checking in. They will keep on changing the internet tariff every day to larger amounts! The toilets smell and the men's showers stink!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

tom fellows

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2013

Liked: Leaving this terrible hostel

Disliked: Staff were rude and unhelpful even losing our 10 pound deposit and not apologising or refunding, kitchen was dirty and terribly equipped, had hot water 1 day out of 5

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013

Liked: I liked that the 24 beds all had curtains. They were like 'do not disturb' signs. I liked that we all in my room were ok leaving our luggage in the room. Given how unavailable bathrooms were I was glad there was a sink to brush teeth in the bedroom. I am glad it was still available when I had not booked earlier due to changing plans. They raise the price for people trying to book last minute. It is possible that some in prior reviews who have said 'you get what you pay for' have paid a whole lot lot less than I did or then the woman who paid 15 pounds and could not get any but a cold shower for 2 days. Flop house pricing would be appropriate.

Disliked: The kitchen was so filthy when I first saw it that even I who am not big on clean would not have wanted to cook or eat from it. The rats in some visible area when windows had to be open due to heat were a bit concerning as to whether they were in our rooms, too. Don't get used to using an outlet or watching TV as the long term people will change channels on you and demand the use of the outlet. don't plan on eating at 7am. That is when they setup ... stuff is out to eat at 7:15. Do be done by 9am because by 9:01 it is all put away. Do not try to talk to the desk people. They are surly, not English, and a bad experience over all.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Auberge très bien placée ! Rapport qualité-prix correct !

Disliked: Pas très propre, et besoin de prévoir cadenas pour la valise. Personnel peu aimable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the area is safe. I was in the 10 bed female dorm, room 45, with big window so the air is clean. Fully equipped kitchen and laundry. The staff was nice and helpful.It is worth your payment.

Disliked: no free Wifi. Not enough clean in the room and shower. no free luggage room and no locker.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Emma Gainsford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 July 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Very dirty, squashed room, no space to out bags or to lock them away. Don't feel safe. Bad showers. broken windows that have just been taped back together.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not very clean, rooms are a bit too small i think, didn't find the staff very friendly

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 July 2013

Liked: Location is great and staff are helpful, they helped me find another hostel (with female dorms) because they were full and I couldn't extend my stay with them for one extra night.

Disliked: The toilets are old, smelly and dirty. It wasn't cheap but it was the only available option at the time of booking, I will definitely avoid booking here next time. The whole building is old and smelly, the beds are not so bad (they provide a disposable pillow case which is really good) but the toilets are absolutely disgusting.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Angela Barnes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Cheap, and the bed was there at least.

Disliked: IF YOU STAY HERE, YOU WILL DIE(!) Well, maybe not quite, but the showers and toilets were disgusting. Poop around the toilet seat etc. I have no idea if floors are ever cleaned, or for that matter if toilets and showers are. The room led out onto a high balcony where brickwork had fallen away and scaffolding surrounded... Seemed very dangerous to me. People seemed to pick up pieces of toast then replace them ugh... And staff then urged me to take that food myself!? Had to ask for clean cutlery. Bed linen had holes in, and mine had someone else's hair. Eeew! Not very pleasant - but what can you expect for the price? Okay if hygiene isn't your thing I suppose.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

30 June 2013

Liked: It's in a great location near cheap food and groceries; Hyde park is a half block from the place. One of the cheapest places for its location. I found the beds to be comfortable and other female dorm guests to be wrote nice. Generally clean if a bit worn. Showers were a bit small and little privacy from others, but water was hot.

Disliked: Most everything else. There weren't enough outlets in the rooms, floors and doors were creaky or loud slamming even when you try to shut them quietly, and the staff at night (mostly male) were rude and harassed us. If we left a message at the front desk virtually guaranteed to not get passed along if anyone inquired. No place to easily hang out as a group in the evenings that would not disturb others. When we tried to do so we were told "tough" if we bother the other person in our room and were escorted to our room by the guard anyway. One woman meeting us at the hostel (from abroad; did not have a phone) was not given our meeting message and when we returned we were told we had just missed her and a "colleague" was helping her find a bus back as she gave up -and he did not have a phone so we couldn't contact her. Turns out that she was walked around by this colleague (male), advances made on her, asking about having dinner, massage, etc. and eventually brought back to the hostel as all 8 of us waited outside. Very sketch. I would say as long as you use this place as just a place to sleep and don't expect any assistance whatsoever it's fine.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

29 June 2013

Liked: Nothing!!! Just piece of shit!!!!

Disliked: Everything

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2013

Liked: People at reception were correct.

Disliked: Everything. This place is meant for a homeless shelter. There are no showers working, the beds are tiny, pervasive dirtyness, used condoms and tampons all over the place. Don't dare to stay in here.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 June 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very poor qulitity for central London, comparing with other hostels in the area

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 June 2013

Liked: Nothing because someone has stolen my key with 10 pounds deposit and a mobile phone. Nobody respects your belongings and take your bed if you leave it one minute

Disliked: Cf supra

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Look, I read loads of bad reviews. There was 8 of us in a private 8 bed dorm, it was very basic but clean. No curtains which was a bit of a shame when the sun was beaming in at 8am! But on a whole, you get what you pay for, it was ok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels