HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Hostel

Hostel | 2-6 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3HU

59.1% Overall Rating

611 out of 1303 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

"Security each room has an electronic key and you need the key to aldo enter meaning that something like a coded door can't be passed on yo others easily."

Read all Hyde Park Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.40
  • Towel USD 8.49

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

"Hyde Park Hostel" only accepts 18-35 year old travelers and small student groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
48.40 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
35.66 USD

Hostel 82.9% 609 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
24.62 USD

Hostel 70.3% 1801 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
20.36 USD

Hostel 68.0% 1660 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
50.38 USD

Apartment 75.0% 8 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
33.96 USD

Hostel 69.6% 28 reviews
New dawn hotel
41.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 25 reviews
Whiteleaf Hotel
35.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.2% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.1%

Overall Rating

611 out of 1303 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Hostel'

Atmosphere
47.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
43.2%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
63.2%
Value
68.0%
Safety
56.0%
Refine your results Showing 814 of 1206 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Henrique Oliveira dos Santos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014

Liked: The triple bedding is quite funny

Disliked: Everything is paid! wifi, towels, LUGGAGE ROOM, lockers, adaptors, etc...

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Luke Fardy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 May 2014

Liked: Absolutely nothing.

Disliked: The staff were incompetent and un helpful, the rooms were filthy and the facilities were the worst I've seen in the entire time I backpacked across Europe. Defanatly not somewhere to even rest your head, disgraceful!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: You need to pay for everything (lockers, cabel to reach the electricity... everything) + one key for 3 people

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014

Liked: Nil

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms, bad kitchen

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Freddie jade Parker Marlow

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 May 2014

Liked: The staff

Disliked: The rest of the clients lol

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Lauren McLoughlin

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014

Liked: The dorms were clean, but I can't say anything else nice about it.

Disliked: The toilet and showers were horribly dirty and the toilet rarely had toilet paper.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

16 May 2014

Liked: It is in a resonable location, still an hours walk from the city but cheap enough to that pretty impressive. Also the fact that it offers free breakfast; don't believe what says up the top though it's only cornflakes, white bread for toast and margarine and really cheap jam with no fruit in it. For drinks in the morning there is cordial or squash whatever you call it and tea and coffee... apparently the coffee tastes really bad but I don't drink coffee so I don't know.

Disliked: The staff at reception really didn't seem to care and I almost felt like when I spoke to them that it was an intrusion. Also not all of the staff speak English so that can be a bit tricky. Also they only take cash payments which is ridiculous in the 21st century- not a problem for me as I have a UK card but if you only have a foreign card you may have to pay a cash withdrawal fee. The hostel was very unclean... no bed bugs in the bed but they don't change the duvet (or doona or quilt whatever you call it) cover between guests; who knows how long the same cover has been on there, and the toilets were disgusting. Also when I checked out I left one of my bags in the room for my friend who was staying longer than me to collect when he left. However, he called me to say he had to work late and couldn't collect it and so I said 'no problem, I'll just go back and tell them I left a bag in the room'. When I went back, however, the guy at reception tried to demand that I pay £2 for locker and saying I have 'done this before'. Now, I have stayed at this hostel before but I have never left a bag in my room after check out before. Obviously I refused to pay the locker fee and thankfully after extreme rudeness on his part I was allowed into the room to get my bag back although he banned my name so that I can't stay here again! Not that I would want to after that but I still don't like being treated like a criminal and being lied about in front of my face.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 May 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Francis Miltiadou

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

08 May 2014 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location next to Hyde Park. Good helpful service. Clean rooms.

Disliked: Shower room smelled bad. No ventilation. Shower head hangers broken.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very very good standard of living

Disliked: i did not disliked anything . the hostel is very very very very very very very very very good . everybody both the staffs , managers , travellers are all very very very very nice to me

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 April 2014

Liked: cheap and all we needed for our stay . a bed and somewhere to get clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

richard goddard

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 April 2014 richard would recommend this property

Liked: location, cost

Disliked: richard left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014

Liked: Close to the tube station.

Disliked: Horrible dirty showers. Smoke detectors broken in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mehdi Bourakkadi

Alone

Partying / nightlife

20 April 2014 Mehdi would recommend this property

Liked: It's just next to Hyde park in centre

Disliked: Mehdi left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014

Liked: Very close to buses

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big airy Bedrooms Kitchen and Dining/tv area and lots of showers and toilets facilities. Breakfast plentiful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap

Disliked: Too dirty you feel a bit insecure there

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I often stay here. It is very central, cheap, has reasonable cooking facilities and on this occasion my room mates were quiet although I understand there was a punch-up in another room, It is generally a friendly place although there are one or two characters knocking about.

Disliked: Could be more storage space.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nadine McAndrew

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

01 April 2014 Nadine would recommend this property

Liked: Location Simple accomodation - good for when you just need a bed

Disliked: No common area, No wifi, Weird Layout, easy to get lost in coridoors, staff not very friendly - appears if they do not like their job

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The name is impressive and its central location in London.

Disliked: Although I can handle it there are many nut jobs meandering around the place. The presence of a group smokers at the front door is never a pleasant site. Paying extra for wifi and internet is ridiculous. But could have been worse. Never saw weird animals running around at least.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was right beside Hyde Park.

Disliked: Too many people in one room. It became unclean and I worried about my belongings.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its not very clean and because there are so many people you might not have a great nights sleep, but its on a great location and its really cheap, so for me it was really ok.

Disliked: I read loads of comments that a lot of stuff gets stolen, but if you just lock your suitcase everything will be fine

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Madeline Witek

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013

Liked: The location is impeccable. A minute walk to the Queensway Underground and 3 minutes to the Bayswater Stop. It was wonderful at the end of a long night to only have a short walk back to the hostel.

Disliked: The staff was incredibly rude when we checked in: the gentleman behind the desk was chatting in another language to someone else behind the desk the whole time and made us feel very unwelcome. The whole decor looks dirty and dingy. Our room had one bare lightbulb, which was too harsh to have on once others were in bed, an impractical thing for a room with 8 beds. There were also only 3 power outlets in the room, which was appalling. There were no sinks or mirrors by the ladies rooms and no soap at the sink in the room. There was no free wifi and the price of using the internet in the lobby was astronomical. Our biggest complaint was the lack of common areas. We got back about 11:30pm and wanted to have a snack before bed. We went down to the kitchen around 11:50 and were kicked out 10 minutes later. When we asked where we could go, we were told "outside" or "in our rooms" where people were obviously asleep. I can't even argue that the price excuses it because I have stayed in hostels costing less that were much more accommodating. I will not stay here again.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Maximiliano Mollica

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013

Liked: It was close to the train station and a great area.

Disliked: Rooms were dirty. Changed hostels after an hour of staying.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels