We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hyde Park Hostel

Hostel | 2-6 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3HU

53.4% Overall Rating

621 out of 1334 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/10/2014)

Darcie Boatswain thinks…

"It's in a really unbelievably good location and for an early flight at Heathrow it's perfect for a one night stay."

Read all Hyde Park Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

"Hyde Park Hostel" only accepts 18-35 year old travelers and small student groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
38.95 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
35.70 USD

Hostel 83.3% 611 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
21.42 USD

Hostel 74.1% 1810 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
14.59 USD

Hostel 71.8% 1672 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
48.15 USD

Apartment 70.2% 9 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
32.46 USD

Hostel 69.7% 33 reviews
New dawn hotel
36.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.6% 26 reviews
Whiteleaf Hotel
20.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.8% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
53.4%

Overall Rating

621 out of 1334 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hyde Park Hostel'

Atmosphere
47.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
44.8%
Cleanliness
42.4%
Staff
50.4%
Value
59.2%
Safety
48.8%
Refine your results Showing 835 of 1234 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms and the building are not so bad

Disliked: the staff are not friendly and the place is not safe

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

jessica baker

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 July 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Good normal hostel. Nothing fancy very practical

Disliked: No common room

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2014

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Clean and odor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Clapp

Alone

Events / festivals

13 July 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Was clean and the staff were very curteous an helpful

Disliked: Nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rebecca Davis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014

Liked: Breakfast is free but very very basic.

Disliked: The staff were rude and unhelpful, they looked at me when I arrived to check in but didn't speak andtthen looked back down again. It wasn't until I said that I wanted to check in that he did it but without speaking to me. He then typed into a calculator how much I owed and when I questioned it he said £10 key deposit. He didn't explain any of the facilities to me such as where I would find the bathrooms, kitchen, etc. Bathrooms are horrible with only a shower curtain, nowhere to put your stuff and no privacy to get dried and dressed. There are no lockers, etc in rooms and you have to pay to use the ones behind reception per day. The kitchen has no utensils or plates or anything in there, you have to get stuff from reception and leave a deposit for the use of them. Also be prepared to walk up a lot of stairs! Worst hostel I've ever stayed in.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 July 2014

Liked: The beds at least had curtains on them in the large dorms for privacy

Disliked: Bathrooms and toilets were really awful, even for cheap hostel standards. Also, the breakfast was really gross to, I didn't even eat there because of how badly it was done.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

gerard flannagan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 July 2014 gerard would recommend this property

Liked: proximity to hyde park

Disliked: bed was dirty

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 July 2014

Liked: It's location to Hyde Park

Disliked: The room wasn't very clean, the showers were rusty and not great, the whole place was very delapidated. Was woken up at 4am by a member of staff to collect a key for a security check. Was right next to a door which kept slamming throughout the night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: stairs, leaks

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Megan Nolan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014

Liked: Relatively cheap and good location.

Disliked: Very unclean - single toilet and shower for an entire floor of dorms with 18 people per dorm. Toilet had no cover over the flushing mechanism which made it loud and very unclean (wouldn't dare going in there without shoes!). Shower smelt like urine and was only cold water/spraying all over the ground with nowhere to hang clothes etc. Towel hire was 5 pound per towel (ridiculous!) and internet was 1 pound per minute - luckily there are plenty of coffee shops/pubs offering free wifi. A sign on the wall said they had printing services but turns out they have no printer connected to the computers. Dorms were squishy and had no security - lockers could be rented for 2 pound per night and were located in the reception (a fair way from your dorms). Only 2 power points for 18 people dorm - absolutely impossible when everyone needs to charge things.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014

Liked: n/a

Disliked: No wifi or free access to the computers + towels and lockers cost money + felt unsafe + not clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpful staff, excellent location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Very very very dirty

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

HELMUTH BEDOYA MEJIA

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 June 2014 HELMUTH would recommend this property

Liked: All in general

Disliked: HELMUTH left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Xavier George

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: Lovation

Disliked: Xavier left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael joseph agboye

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

20 June 2014 michael joseph would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: very good

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city centre Helpful staff Nice, safe atmosphere

Disliked: Could have been cleaner Breakfast You have to pay extra for services usually included in the price of accommodation (lockers, wi-fi, plug adaptors)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Alexander todd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014

Liked: Free breakfast was cheap, but free is free, pay for what you get

Disliked: No wifi

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014

Liked: close to tube

Disliked: almost everything. The cleaning ladies were nice though... but seriously... whoever thought you stacking people 3 high in a room with 20 other people in a room with no room for your stuff.... needs a bat to the face

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014

Liked: Only good thing is the location which is about a minutes walk to the nearest tube station.

Disliked: This hostel is a mess. The washrooms are gross and faulty. I can't imagine they have been refurbished since the 1970's judging by one of the broken sinks. Also, the shower stalls exhumed a very strange and unpleasant smell. As well, the dormitory I stayed in was overly stuffy and the mattresses and sheets didn't appear to be very clean.To make matters worse, the staff there is woeful and doesn't know how to work their own computer system or have much clue as to how to deal with customers. I thought it was really bad when I saw one of the receptionist reply to a woman's concerns about her safety with some rather inane remarks until the next night when I returned and police were sorting out a verbal altercation between another patron and one of the receptionists. It really didn't matter to me who was to blame. This place attracts riff-raff and there's a good reason why; terrible facilities and rude staff (they were never pleasant to anyone for the most part there). The only thing I can't understand is why people come here as the place is terribly expensive beyond the nightly fee. A pound for 15 minutes on a computer/wi-fi usage? Extra fees for locker privileges (no, you can't even bring your own lock here like I did)? I was almost surprised when I didn't have to pay 30p for the toilets. Yes you get free breakfast, but its just corn-flakes, watered down orange juice, and the cheapest toast you can buy in the city. My last hostel in London was not only cheaper than this on a busier weekend (free lockers and wi-fi), but also far cleaner and with a far, far better staff.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything - the showers and bathrooms were disgusting and inadequate..might as well camp out I'm Hyde park!!!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Henrique Oliveira dos Santos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014

Liked: The triple bedding is quite funny

Disliked: Everything is paid! wifi, towels, LUGGAGE ROOM, lockers, adaptors, etc...

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Luke Fardy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 May 2014

Liked: Absolutely nothing.

Disliked: The staff were incompetent and un helpful, the rooms were filthy and the facilities were the worst I've seen in the entire time I backpacked across Europe. Defanatly not somewhere to even rest your head, disgraceful!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: You need to pay for everything (lockers, cabel to reach the electricity... everything) + one key for 3 people

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014

Liked: Nil

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms, bad kitchen


See all London hostels
See all London hotels