We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

87.9% Overall Rating

1670 out of 1818 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/03/2015)

Antonella Dolce Brazzuna thinks…

"Everything. Excellent attention from staff. very helpful and kind. Safe, well located, free breakfast. pub downstairs. lovely!"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.49
  • Towel USD 1.49

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
27.54 USD

Hostel 87.1% 51 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
22.31 USD

Hostel 76.0% 377 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
58.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
London Eye Hostel
20.77 USD

Hostel 65.8% 520 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
43.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
25.31 USD

Hostel 77.0% 308 reviews
Safestay
22.33 USD

Hostel 91.7% 238 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
74.43 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

1670 out of 1818 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 1413 of 1755 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonella Dolce Brazzuna

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2015 Antonella would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Excellent attention from staff. very helpful and kind. Safe, well located, free breakfast. pub downstairs. lovely!

Disliked: Antonella left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Imogen Ni Ealaí

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2015 Imogen would recommend this property

Liked: Ridiculously comfy beds with crisp white sheets, incredibly friendly staff, free wifi, free storage and free breakfast (and a big breakfast at that) great location fantastic price. I would recommend this to anyone!

Disliked: Nothing at all

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Bettina Preuss

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2015 Bettina would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, the pub downstairs is really cosy and the security for the rooms and personal belongings is good.

Disliked: The bathrooms are rather a challenge but no worse than in many other hostels in the London area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The main reason I chose this hostel was because of it's location; it is just a 5 minute walk away from the London Eye. But, as soon as I checked-in I realized that location was just one of it's many perks. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The atmosphere and character of the bar on the first floor was very inviting.

Disliked: Nothing. Would stay again and recommend to all my friends visiting London.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for the price, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We stayed in a 20 person room and it was not bad at all! Halfway through our stay, the rest of our friends joined us, so we changed rooms and they were very accommodating with our luggage and everything this switch entailed.

Disliked: The plumbing was a little questionable, and there were almost no outlets in that twenty person room. Also, for the first two nights, we were in a room on one of the higher floors that was on the side of the building next to Waterloo, so it was quite loud because we could hear the trains going by all night. But really, the good outweighed the bad, and this was not a problem in the 20 person room!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martyna Zem?a

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2015 Martyna would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Martyna left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Hilary Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2015

Liked: The staff and the bar were great, and very friendly

Disliked: The TRAINS WERE SO LOUD AND THE ROOM WAS SO HOT AND CRAMPED AND THE TOILETS NEVER FLUSHED

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alasdair Forrest

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2014 Alasdair would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, great atmosphere/ location.

Disliked: Alasdair left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Antonia Glover

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2014 Antonia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing and friendly, you felt at home right away. Warm atmosphere, discounts on the bar and the pub at the Horse & Stables was very welcome too.

Disliked: Showers were not great, low water pressure and hard to get hot. Lacklustre bedding.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sydney Poulos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2014 Sydney would recommend this property

Liked: My boyfriend and I stayed in the 6 person dorm with ensuite. The staff were absolutely outstanding, the location was very close to the London Eye and underground, and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was also good if you arrived early enough. And the staff kindly do your dishes for you!

Disliked: The building was very old, so there were a lot of little things that came with that. The shower leaked in our ensuite, the showers in the halls were either piping hot or freezing spewing water and the lockers didn't close without a bit of a fight. Also as other reviewers have said, it's very noisy. I had earplugs though and couldn't hear a thing when they were in! Despite these little things, we had a great stay and would return!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Mehreen Khan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2014 Mehreen would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing, and very convenient for first time travellers.

Disliked: The building has major plumbing issues, with hot water in very short supply. They definitely need to fix that immediately. Also, they could really do with better cleaning since the toilets and showers were not very clean. There was mildew and mold in the bathrooms and bedrooms. Lastly, the solitary bulb in the bedroom was very dim and we struggled to see things at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great and helpful staff, very nice breakfast. Nice bar downstairs. A 5 minute walk from the London eye and Big Ben. They provide towels, locks and adapters for no extra fee.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N/A

Disliked: N/A

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aidan Wood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 September 2014 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, great atmosphere, and a pretty solid location.

Disliked: Right beside a train and wonky shower/toilets.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place, near the London eye (5minute walking) the staff is Really friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked my stay at this hostel. Staff is the best ever, location is really convenient, breakfast is very nice and free and price is quite fair. Wish all hostels were like this!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elly Leavold-Haase

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2014 Elly would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Had such a good time here. The staff were friendly and the location is awesome! A 5 minute walk from the London eye and Big Ben. The free breakfast is also good when on a tight budget.

Disliked: Being located next to the train station makes it noisy. But after the first night it was fine and I slept through it :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, courteous and very helpful staff.

Disliked: A bit noisy outside. You could hear bus/trains noise outside. But other than that, everything was perfect. Just bring ear plugs!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wifi, Near to SouthBank and to the Underground, security code and nice staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Brendon Vertefeuille

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014

Liked: Traveled for 3 weeks last night we had before flying home worste sleep of my life. Great service from the staff can't complain there but between the trains running every 5 min and sounding like someone is running there finger names on a Cawk board or people snoring like crazy it was bad. Maybe have ear plug stations in each room or a van to vent some of the smell is swet when you entered the room.

Disliked: Train right beside the room, the steep top floor, small, everyone is crammed together and stinks like b.o just an all around awful stay I haven't been more exicted to sleep on a plane for 10 hours. Great staff friendly and nice keep that up bit awful location. Costs to much

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location and location. The staff is extremely helpful and frindly

Disliked: The hostel is not very clean and it is besides the tube station. However, I got used tot he sound. They have no ventilation so during the summer it could be kind of hot at nights.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked that they provided towels, locks, adapters and several other amenities for no extra fee

Disliked: It is hard to meet people if you are a solo traveller because of the layout but luckily I eventually got some great roommates. Also There are no laundry mats around but other wise nothing terrible.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Shannon Boehm

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014

Liked: Really nice location and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Also the breakfast is really good.

Disliked: Toilets are almost always clogged and there's only two...The rooms are very crammed so some people have to sleep with all their stuff on the bed which is sometimes annoying.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY friendly and welcoming staff - made a huge difference. Good (free!) breakfast and great bar downstairs.

Disliked: The dorm was a bit too small for the number of beds and the bathroom facilities were very limited. It was very hard to find a powerpoint to charge my phone. The location near Waterloo station is very annoying at night. I had read reviews in advance that warned me about the noise at night so I brought earplugs but even these didn't shut out the sound of trains arriving and departing. If you want a good quiet night sleep I'd go somewhere else.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels