HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

92.1% Overall Rating

1634 out of 1778 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2014)

Thomas Renwart thinks…

"The staff is very friendly and try to help you as much as possible. Everyone gets a fair treatment. No one is excluded. It's really good for a short stay!"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.70
  • Towel USD 1.70

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.40 USD

Hostel 94.7% 29 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
25.44 USD

Hostel 82.1% 366 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
84.01 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
London Eye Hostel
23.68 USD

Hostel 66.5% 512 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
66.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
42.43 USD

Hostel 70.9% 293 reviews
Safestay
37.34 USD

Hostel 87.0% 216 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
84.86 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

1634 out of 1778 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 1386 of 1714 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 55 | 56   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lauren Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hostel was close to Westminster Bridge, so very accessible to all the major sights.

Disliked: The room we were in (private double) was VERY noisy because the window opened up directly above the train station. The trains came screeching in at all hours of day or night, and even with earplugs it was very disruptive. Since it was hot in the room, the window needed to be open for fresh air, so there was nothing to do about the noise. In another room, the noise might not be so bad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Renwart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and try to help you as much as possible. Everyone gets a fair treatment. No one is excluded. It's really good for a short stay!

Disliked: I was in room 32 and oh boy, the trains and buses... such a terrible noise. Haven't closed an eye. Please change something about that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Garvey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are the most friendly of any hostel I have ever stayed in. The breakfast is nice and healthy. And the rooms are of adequate size and clean. I will be recommending this to all of my friends who travel to London and hope to be back oneday myself :)

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at the Walrus Waterloo! The staff were so helpful and friendly, they are what makes this place special. The rooms were nice, and plenty of bathrooms and showers. The wifi worker perfectly for the 4 days I was there. The location is amazing, it's so close to 2 stations and main sights are within walking distance. The bar is really cool, especially for the soccer. They have great drink specials and it'd really cheap. The breakfast was really good too and free!! I would definitely come back to the Walrus when I come back to London

Disliked: Not much to dislike my only negative is that there wasn't many lockers (that shut properly) in the rooms. In a 16 bed dorm there was 8 large lockers and 4 small (only 2 of those shut properly). I left my bag locked next to my bed though and had no problems, I felt that my luggage was safe. They also let you keep your valuable items in a locked room near the bar for free which was great. There is a luggage room too for bags but I go in and out of my bag so often I just kept it near me!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly , helpful staff. Location - walking distance or short bus/ tube to many attractions. Overall nice atmosphere.

Disliked: The noise from the trains can be an issue especially in early morning. Bring earplugs but the staff do offer them at the desk. Managed to get a good nights sleep though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great atmosphere and the most helpful staff I've encountered in London so far. Room was clean. Location was excellent. Breakfast was generous.

Disliked: The noise from the trains right outside the window! I don't remember any mention of bringing ear plugs along on the property ad but please DO NOT forget to bring your own or ask at reception if you want a decent night's sleep! I was exhausted after a long day but couldn't sleep a wink, thereafter woke up with a headache that affected everything I did the next day!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Morash

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the atmosphere and spent a fun evening at the bar watching the World Cup with a bunch of both locals and travellers! Also had a 15% discount at their bar and 10% discount at the reataurant up the street

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john evans

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 May 2014 john would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and relaxed. Made to feel welcome immediately and given information covering all questions asked

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Being located next to the train station was not that good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, close to the tube station and major London's attractions.

Disliked: the noise from the railway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Macgregor

Alone

Shopping
Work / volunteering

15 May 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and welcoming. Showers are great.

Disliked: The only thing that may be an issue if you can't sleep through a lot of noise is the train and the traffic, but this did not bother me.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the Walrus is incredible! They are welcoming and always up for a chat or to give you some tips on where to go or what to see. It is very close to tourist attractions. The rooms are kept quite clean and I can't stress enough how accommodating the staff were.

Disliked: As it is close to Waterloo train station, the trains are pretty loud at night, but they offer earplugs if you find it necessary. The beds are somewhat worn down and apart from the bar (which is excellent), there isn't really a common room if that is of interest. However, I found my complaints to be quite minor considering the welcoming atmosphere. I would definitely stay again.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They helped us figure out our way around also. The rooms are quant, and the lockers are handy. Bathrooms on every floor to use and easy to access. Loved this hostel! Wished we stayed longer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, reasonably choices for breakfast. Bar prices and discount for hostellers made the cost of drinks reasonable.

Disliked: Couldn't ever get the combination lock to work on the door to my dorm, though pretty sure I was putting in the right code. Fortunately a room mate let me in after several unsuccessful attempts! Not all the lockers in the dorm were usable. The one spare one by my bed could not be secured with a padlock as the closure device was broken. As I was only staying for one night, with small amount of luggage, this didn't matter too much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricky Voss

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2014 Ricky would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really good & helpful. Great location, cool bar that's always got a good vibe to it. Close to tube & train systems

Disliked: It's a little noisey with the trains going past.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, character, historic London building, clean, functional, quiet inside.

Disliked: Check-in manager was somewhat overbearing with his helpfulness and social engagement. I said I was tired and stressed, and he sort of half understood that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolás Polenta

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014 Nicolás would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionists are great, most of them speak many lenguages, always very helpfull, they have the best tips for going around the city. The hostel is really great, clean toilets and showers, great atmosphere! the place to meet new people and locals, it has a cool bar on it's groundfloor, good breakfast, central location, near to the big ben, and the london eye, 100m to the subway, 100m to waterloo station really great place to stay!!! certainly recommend!!!

Disliked: bedrooms are a bit small and it's difficult to store the luggage in, the lack of a lift may annoy someone. besides that, everything else was great!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ann Carlin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Ann would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really in easy walking distance to attractions like Big Ben, Westminster Abby, and The Eye. It's also very close to two undergrounds so getting around is easy. The down stairs of the hostel has an awesome pub with a really great atmosphere. If you're staying you even get a discount which is great. The breakfast served in the morning isn't extensive, but its much better than most places. The room was great. It was small but had everything I needed.

Disliked: Ann left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Seth Ervin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014 Seth would recommend this property

Liked: Its within walking distance to many of London's top sites to see, Staff was awesome, friendly and very informative. always there to help when you needed it. The bar was fun with nice staff and cheap drinks if you're staying at the hostel.

Disliked: The location was right next to train tracks so you could hear that from time to time but not often. First bed i slept on wasn't very comfortable but they gladly let me switch to another. The bar downstairs was a lot of fun to hang out in but if you go to bed early, you can hear the fun happening downstairs while you're in the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pedro Ferreira

Alone

Business / conference

28 February 2014 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff always with smile in their faces

Disliked: Pedro left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgia Simmonds

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2014 Georgia would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant atmosphere! Close walk to everything with an amazing group of staff! The free breakfast in the mornings is perfect and you meet amazing people!

Disliked: Nothing it was perfect in my opinion!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frederico Faro

Alone

Business / conference

24 February 2014 Frederico would recommend this property

Liked: Very satisfied with my experience on The Walrus Waterloo Hostel. The staff was very friendly, accommodations clean and comfortable. Everything expected from a good hostel.

Disliked: Frederico left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Moonhee Han

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

17 February 2014 Moonhee would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good. The location was good, the staff was very friendly and cozy atmosphere.

Disliked: Everything was good but maybe water pressure of some showers ???

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Danielle Rose

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 February 2014 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: It's so easy to get to the hostel from Waterloo. The staff are friendly and helpful. There are plenty of showers and toilets (in comparison to other hostels I've stayed in). The bar area is nice and breakfast is really relaxed. They also give you a flyer to get discounted drinks there plus discounted food at a pub just down the road. They're happy for you to use the facilities (shower, kitchen, bar area) after the time you have to leave your room.

Disliked: The bunk beds are so squeaky which makes for quite a noisy night! The hot water in the showers can be quite temperamental. Could only see 2 plug sockets in our room for 6 people. Would be good if they could provide an adapter with more.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful, Alex would actually be mad if you didn't let him help you. Location was good and the facilities were regular hostel situations. Little kitchen was nice and everyone hung out in there.

Disliked: It's nothing too fancy, it's a hostel. It more than met my expectations.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels