We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

90.3% Overall Rating

1690 out of 1838 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2015)

"This is my favourite place to stay in London. I've stayed here 3 or 4 times now. I love how welcoming the staff are - they always explain things thoroughly and joke around and are very friendly. I feel at home here,…"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.56
  • Towel USD 1.56

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
28.89 USD

Hostel 86.5% 63 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
20.28 USD

Hostel 77.8% 383 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
61.68 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
London Eye Hostel
23.34 USD

Hostel 73.1% 530 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
46.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
37.09 USD

Hostel 78.7% 314 reviews
Safestay
23.42 USD

Hostel 89.4% 251 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
78.08 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

1690 out of 1838 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
99.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 1425 of 1775 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good position (an easy walk to Westminster), clean room, nice pub

Disliked: A little too noisy, due to the near railway bridge

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

03 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is my favourite place to stay in London. I've stayed here 3 or 4 times now. I love how welcoming the staff are - they always explain things thoroughly and joke around and are very friendly. I feel at home here, like a proper old fashioned hostel where it was a community. Breakfast is simple but I've always left feeling full and ready for the day, and the staff at breakfast are always attentive and cheerful.

Disliked: Sometimes people leave water on the floor in the bathroom. That is honestly the only problem. It's an endemic hostel thing - it happens in most places.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly hostel, & its nice to have breakfast in the pub bar in the morning.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and washroom are clean. Staff are very friendly. Location is really near to Big Ben and London eye. Worth for the money

Disliked: Hostel located next to Waterloo Train Station. Train noise get irritated at first but after sometimes you'll get use to it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

benjamin scott

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 June 2015 benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: close to the centre

Disliked: bit pricey

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jose Martinez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2015 jose would recommend this property

Liked: Was very close to two tube and had a bus stop right upfront. At night there were food stands down the street. Had Lockers in room and shared a bathroom outside the room. Staff was real helpful and there was a bar down stairs. Will stay again!

Disliked: There is a train track nearby, so if your a light sleeper beware, otherwise you should be fine as I was.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, friendly environment, and great location.

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in the bar is fantastic

Disliked: The water flows only verý slow out of the bathroom material things. Not every bed was perfect to sleep in. Some had valleys.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location on Lower Marsh is good; I have always liked that area. The staff was very friendly.

Disliked: 11 double bunk beds squeezed in that (huge) room is too much! This creates an anonymus atmosphere. You don't really get to know your roommates. There are not many toilets and showers. The kitchen is closed from 11 p.m., and so is the pub downstairs. That means there are no common areas open at night. In my opinion this hostel is overrated. (I have tried so far five different hostels in Central London).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nicely decorated bar, location is great

Disliked: lound waterloo station, but at night we were so tired, we did not even really notice

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Pieton

Alone

Visiting friends or family

12 April 2015 David would recommend this property

Liked: great friendly staff nice charming place

Disliked: the bathroom could have been nicer ;)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mauro Bruzzone

Alone

Business / conference
City break

06 April 2015 Mauro would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent attention.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonella Dolce Brazzuna

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2015 Antonella would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Excellent attention from staff. very helpful and kind. Safe, well located, free breakfast. pub downstairs. lovely!

Disliked: Antonella left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Imogen Ni Ealaí

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2015 Imogen would recommend this property

Liked: Ridiculously comfy beds with crisp white sheets, incredibly friendly staff, free wifi, free storage and free breakfast (and a big breakfast at that) great location fantastic price. I would recommend this to anyone!

Disliked: Nothing at all

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Bettina Preuss

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2015 Bettina would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, the pub downstairs is really cosy and the security for the rooms and personal belongings is good.

Disliked: The bathrooms are rather a challenge but no worse than in many other hostels in the London area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The main reason I chose this hostel was because of it's location; it is just a 5 minute walk away from the London Eye. But, as soon as I checked-in I realized that location was just one of it's many perks. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The atmosphere and character of the bar on the first floor was very inviting.

Disliked: Nothing. Would stay again and recommend to all my friends visiting London.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for the price, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We stayed in a 20 person room and it was not bad at all! Halfway through our stay, the rest of our friends joined us, so we changed rooms and they were very accommodating with our luggage and everything this switch entailed.

Disliked: The plumbing was a little questionable, and there were almost no outlets in that twenty person room. Also, for the first two nights, we were in a room on one of the higher floors that was on the side of the building next to Waterloo, so it was quite loud because we could hear the trains going by all night. But really, the good outweighed the bad, and this was not a problem in the 20 person room!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martyna Zem?a

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2015 Martyna would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Martyna left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Hilary Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2015

Liked: The staff and the bar were great, and very friendly

Disliked: The TRAINS WERE SO LOUD AND THE ROOM WAS SO HOT AND CRAMPED AND THE TOILETS NEVER FLUSHED

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alasdair Forrest

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2014 Alasdair would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, great atmosphere/ location.

Disliked: Alasdair left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Antonia Glover

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2014 Antonia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing and friendly, you felt at home right away. Warm atmosphere, discounts on the bar and the pub at the Horse & Stables was very welcome too.

Disliked: Showers were not great, low water pressure and hard to get hot. Lacklustre bedding.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sydney Poulos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2014 Sydney would recommend this property

Liked: My boyfriend and I stayed in the 6 person dorm with ensuite. The staff were absolutely outstanding, the location was very close to the London Eye and underground, and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was also good if you arrived early enough. And the staff kindly do your dishes for you!

Disliked: The building was very old, so there were a lot of little things that came with that. The shower leaked in our ensuite, the showers in the halls were either piping hot or freezing spewing water and the lockers didn't close without a bit of a fight. Also as other reviewers have said, it's very noisy. I had earplugs though and couldn't hear a thing when they were in! Despite these little things, we had a great stay and would return!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Mehreen Khan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2014 Mehreen would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing, and very convenient for first time travellers.

Disliked: The building has major plumbing issues, with hot water in very short supply. They definitely need to fix that immediately. Also, they could really do with better cleaning since the toilets and showers were not very clean. There was mildew and mold in the bathrooms and bedrooms. Lastly, the solitary bulb in the bedroom was very dim and we struggled to see things at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great and helpful staff, very nice breakfast. Nice bar downstairs. A 5 minute walk from the London eye and Big Ben. They provide towels, locks and adapters for no extra fee.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N/A

Disliked: N/A


See all London hostels
See all London hotels