We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

86.9% Overall Rating

1652 out of 1798 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Great and helpful staff, very nice breakfast. Nice bar downstairs. A 5 minute walk from the London eye and Big Ben. They provide towels, locks and adapters for no extra fee."

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.63
  • Towel USD 1.63

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.14 USD

Hostel 89.9% 42 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
22.79 USD

Hostel 80.6% 370 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
64.35 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.8% 51 reviews
London Eye Hostel
22.73 USD

Hostel 65.4% 514 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
64.35 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
40.73 USD

Hostel 72.6% 297 reviews
Safestay
24.44 USD

Hostel 88.1% 222 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
81.46 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

1652 out of 1798 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 1402 of 1735 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great and helpful staff, very nice breakfast. Nice bar downstairs. A 5 minute walk from the London eye and Big Ben. They provide towels, locks and adapters for no extra fee.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N/A

Disliked: N/A

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aidan Wood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 September 2014 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, great atmosphere, and a pretty solid location.

Disliked: Right beside a train and wonky shower/toilets.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place, near the London eye (5minute walking) the staff is Really friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked my stay at this hostel. Staff is the best ever, location is really convenient, breakfast is very nice and free and price is quite fair. Wish all hostels were like this!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elly Leavold-Haase

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2014 Elly would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Had such a good time here. The staff were friendly and the location is awesome! A 5 minute walk from the London eye and Big Ben. The free breakfast is also good when on a tight budget.

Disliked: Being located next to the train station makes it noisy. But after the first night it was fine and I slept through it :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, courteous and very helpful staff.

Disliked: A bit noisy outside. You could hear bus/trains noise outside. But other than that, everything was perfect. Just bring ear plugs!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wifi, Near to SouthBank and to the Underground, security code and nice staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Brendon Vertefeuille

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014

Liked: Traveled for 3 weeks last night we had before flying home worste sleep of my life. Great service from the staff can't complain there but between the trains running every 5 min and sounding like someone is running there finger names on a Cawk board or people snoring like crazy it was bad. Maybe have ear plug stations in each room or a van to vent some of the smell is swet when you entered the room.

Disliked: Train right beside the room, the steep top floor, small, everyone is crammed together and stinks like b.o just an all around awful stay I haven't been more exicted to sleep on a plane for 10 hours. Great staff friendly and nice keep that up bit awful location. Costs to much

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location and location. The staff is extremely helpful and frindly

Disliked: The hostel is not very clean and it is besides the tube station. However, I got used tot he sound. They have no ventilation so during the summer it could be kind of hot at nights.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked that they provided towels, locks, adapters and several other amenities for no extra fee

Disliked: It is hard to meet people if you are a solo traveller because of the layout but luckily I eventually got some great roommates. Also There are no laundry mats around but other wise nothing terrible.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Shannon Boehm

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014

Liked: Really nice location and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Also the breakfast is really good.

Disliked: Toilets are almost always clogged and there's only two...The rooms are very crammed so some people have to sleep with all their stuff on the bed which is sometimes annoying.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY friendly and welcoming staff - made a huge difference. Good (free!) breakfast and great bar downstairs.

Disliked: The dorm was a bit too small for the number of beds and the bathroom facilities were very limited. It was very hard to find a powerpoint to charge my phone. The location near Waterloo station is very annoying at night. I had read reviews in advance that warned me about the noise at night so I brought earplugs but even these didn't shut out the sound of trains arriving and departing. If you want a good quiet night sleep I'd go somewhere else.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was awesome! Good deals at the bar

Disliked: Spotty hot water for showering and definitely need earplugs!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lauren Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hostel was close to Westminster Bridge, so very accessible to all the major sights.

Disliked: The room we were in (private double) was VERY noisy because the window opened up directly above the train station. The trains came screeching in at all hours of day or night, and even with earplugs it was very disruptive. Since it was hot in the room, the window needed to be open for fresh air, so there was nothing to do about the noise. In another room, the noise might not be so bad.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

brendan murphy

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 July 2014 brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Location and helpfulness of staff

Disliked: Showers could be a bit better

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Renwart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and try to help you as much as possible. Everyone gets a fair treatment. No one is excluded. It's really good for a short stay!

Disliked: I was in room 32 and oh boy, the trains and buses... such a terrible noise. Haven't closed an eye. Please change something about that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Garvey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are the most friendly of any hostel I have ever stayed in. The breakfast is nice and healthy. And the rooms are of adequate size and clean. I will be recommending this to all of my friends who travel to London and hope to be back oneday myself :)

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at the Walrus Waterloo! The staff were so helpful and friendly, they are what makes this place special. The rooms were nice, and plenty of bathrooms and showers. The wifi worker perfectly for the 4 days I was there. The location is amazing, it's so close to 2 stations and main sights are within walking distance. The bar is really cool, especially for the soccer. They have great drink specials and it'd really cheap. The breakfast was really good too and free!! I would definitely come back to the Walrus when I come back to London

Disliked: Not much to dislike my only negative is that there wasn't many lockers (that shut properly) in the rooms. In a 16 bed dorm there was 8 large lockers and 4 small (only 2 of those shut properly). I left my bag locked next to my bed though and had no problems, I felt that my luggage was safe. They also let you keep your valuable items in a locked room near the bar for free which was great. There is a luggage room too for bags but I go in and out of my bag so often I just kept it near me!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly , helpful staff. Location - walking distance or short bus/ tube to many attractions. Overall nice atmosphere.

Disliked: The noise from the trains can be an issue especially in early morning. Bring earplugs but the staff do offer them at the desk. Managed to get a good nights sleep though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great atmosphere and the most helpful staff I've encountered in London so far. Room was clean. Location was excellent. Breakfast was generous.

Disliked: The noise from the trains right outside the window! I don't remember any mention of bringing ear plugs along on the property ad but please DO NOT forget to bring your own or ask at reception if you want a decent night's sleep! I was exhausted after a long day but couldn't sleep a wink, thereafter woke up with a headache that affected everything I did the next day!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Morash

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the atmosphere and spent a fun evening at the bar watching the World Cup with a bunch of both locals and travellers! Also had a 15% discount at their bar and 10% discount at the reataurant up the street

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john evans

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 May 2014 john would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and relaxed. Made to feel welcome immediately and given information covering all questions asked

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Being located next to the train station was not that good.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels