HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

92.8% Overall Rating

1632 out of 1776 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2014)

Thomas Renwart thinks…

"The staff is very friendly and try to help you as much as possible. Everyone gets a fair treatment. No one is excluded. It's really good for a short stay!"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.70
  • Towel USD 1.70

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.41 USD

Hostel 95.3% 28 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
25.45 USD

Hostel 82.1% 366 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
67.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
London Eye Hostel
23.69 USD

Hostel 66.5% 512 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
50.09 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
42.45 USD

Hostel 70.9% 293 reviews
Safestay
33.96 USD

Hostel 86.2% 215 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
84.90 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

1633 out of 1777 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
98.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 1385 of 1713 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 55 | 56   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012

Liked: I think if you're in London specifically to go out clubbing and you just need a quick shower and a place to crash out for a few hours before you hit the clubs again then this might be fine.

Disliked: It's about 30 meters from some very busy train tracks. The screeching from the trains is constant until whenever they stop which is like 1:00 or something. If you're out late you may not even notice this. The place is generally pretty run-down and grungy, but then I've seen a lot worse. I'm not saying it's horrible. It's about medium. If being in a bright, clean, airy environment is important to you, then I would look elsewhere. If that isn't a big deal to you then you'll probably be fine here. The lockers are pretty minimal. I wouldn't leave anything major in them. They're basically just smallish steel boxes sitting loose on the floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

louse pennington

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 May 2012 louse would recommend this property

Liked: Really good value for money. Friendly staff and comfortable place to stay. felt totally safe.

Disliked: louse left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere, location, and character.

Disliked: I disliked the facilities.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff friendly and very usefull. Great atmosphere at the bar (even if you don't consume there)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was here for a week while trying to find a flat to live in and met some really really great people, both in my room, in the kitchen and downstairs at the bar. Had some fun times in the bar (where you get a discount on drinks) Alex was great and carried my heavy bags up all the stairs. The girls were also good with tips and directions. Steve was especially helpful, ordering taxis and also carrying my luggage. The bathrooms especially the ones on the 3rd and 4th floor were fantastic, clean and constant hot water. Free wifi was great downstairs however up in the rooms the connection would come and go. Locations is amazing, 10min walk to London Eye, Big Ben. 2min walk to Lambeth North tube. 5min walk to Sainsburys. Breakfast was decent. Biscuits! Free bath towels.

Disliked: The cleaner only came in to empty the bin in our room and never bothered to vaccuum. The kitchen is a bit small and can get crowded when there are heaps of people in there. People never seemed to clean up after themselves. There isn't much to dislike about the property. Ignore what everyone says about the trains.. I am a really light sleeper and was so tired most days that I didn't even hear them. Also you can get free earplugs if it does bother you.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Catherine Owen

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 May 2012

Liked: The staff are fabulous - so friendly and helpful. The bar is lovely too

Disliked: The hostel interior is very tired and needs more attention. Curtains hung the wrong way round. Duvet covers that are clean but look dirty. Shower rooms that look dirty and the shower heads don't work. For the money it is not value

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria hernandez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 maria would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really welcoming. They propose nice activities around like a cycling tour down town on a Sunday morning. (Tally Ho!) the location is definitively very handy to move around the main spots.

Disliked: i Liked everything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Pamela Raynor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location and that I had access 24 hours a day and that there was always helpful friendly staff.

Disliked: I did not like how there were key codes for the rooms instead of keys. Some girls changed rooms during my stay at the hostel and could easily get back into my room. We had one girl wander into our room right after we had gone to sleep who was not staying in our room that night. Just a bit disconcerning that people could always get in because the codes were never changed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. The bed linen was so clean, and the facilities available certainly make the Walrus value for money/

Disliked: The hostel is right next to the train line so it can be a little noisy, but if you are tired it isn't a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DONALD TIMSON HERRANZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

20 May 2012 DONALD would recommend this property

Liked: Great service. Very comfortable stay. Enjoyed every minute.

Disliked: DONALD left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2012

Liked: Location, location, location if you fall asleep after hard day and wake up early to proceed - definitely stay in this property, it's in the center of everywhere

Disliked: noise, noise, noise if you hate one of this: trains, railway stations, wheels sound of train horn, you should avoid this property

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joerg Niehoegen

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 May 2012 Joerg would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Good atmosphere in bar. Good security.

Disliked: Bathrooms a little grubby and dated. Rooms could do with a coat of paint.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff; Nice breakfast (with juice and cookies!)

Disliked: Kitchen closes too early; Kitchen is very small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and courteous. The whole of the hostel had a laid back and friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: The only thing that i did not like was the noise of the trains going to Waterloo Station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

owen evans

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 owen would recommend this property

Liked: just a cool place

Disliked: owen left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

catherine Daniels

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 May 2012 catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Ease of location, bar downstairs and relaxed atmosphere, and after reading bad reviews about the showers, pleased to say had a HOT shower!

Disliked: Beds very uncomfortable, felt like I was laying on springs and very lumpy pillows!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed here 8 times and every-time would come again!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was really central

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent. Only 5 mins walk to the London Eye and Big Ben. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sharri-Louise Holroyd

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 May 2012 Sharri-Louise would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fab. A short walk to Waterloo station and close to main attractions too. The staff are friendly and helpful. Great!

Disliked: The showers need replacing with electric showers so there's always hot water I've stayed here fo over a week and only anged to have one warm shower in that time

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast.

Disliked: Dorm a bit crowded, mattresses pretty uncomfortable, not the greatest shower (although no problem with hot water as in previous reviews).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominique Purtell

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 May 2012 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: The amazing friendly welcome by owners and workers Alex, Steve and Jack! Very helpful and polite in showing to rooms. Free things - lockers, towels, wifi (although in bar not that great), discounted drinks, delicious brekky Location so central.. very close to waterloo station, managed to do most things on foot.. so close to Thames river. Always awoke to someone friendly and helpful at the front desk. Loved the fact that the owners work hard to keep the hostel amazing. I like the fact that the hostel is not a chain and the owners have worked so hard to make sure you have a welcome and comfortable, secure and fun stay!

Disliked: Hot water not working in 16bed dorm showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juliana Kojima

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: O hostel possui excelente localização e o pessoal do staff são atenciosos e simpáticos. Recomendo para quem está pensando em viajar a Londres!

Disliked: Juliana left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gabriel Sturla

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the staff are both great.

Disliked: During my stay (4 nights), the water heater was broke so there was no hot water in the hostel. The manager fixed it the day we left. The rooms were cold, too. There's no place to hang out after the bar closes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lorena Martos Santamarta

Alone

Business / conference

01 May 2012 Lorena would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the helpfulness of the staff because they let me a hairdryer and their laptop to connect to the wifi. The rooms are ok and very silent (well, I was at the top floor in a room of 4 girls).

Disliked: Lorena left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels