HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

86.9% Overall Rating

1652 out of 1798 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Great and helpful staff, very nice breakfast. Nice bar downstairs. A 5 minute walk from the London eye and Big Ben. They provide towels, locks and adapters for no extra fee."

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.62
  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 88.0% 45 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
24.33 USD

Hostel 78.6% 372 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
80.33 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.8% 51 reviews
London Eye Hostel
27.51 USD

Hostel 65.9% 515 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
68.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
40.57 USD

Hostel 74.1% 298 reviews
Safestay
38.95 USD

Hostel 88.0% 223 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
81.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

1652 out of 1798 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 1402 of 1735 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliest staff in London, help you anytime. Great location, just a 5-minute walk to main attractions. Excellent value for money, not cheap but come on... It´s London (Breakfast is great and included in the price)

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was over a pub

Disliked: Itwas difficulat to get to.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing and friendly staff, option to put backpacks with valuables into a special room only staff has access to. Nice bar downstairs, decent selection of beers on tap. Additionally, you are encouradged to bring things you cook/have from take-away and eat them downstairs.

Disliked: Nothing much I have to say.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katja Merke

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 June 2012 Katja would recommend this property

Liked: Super freundliches Personal! Und auch saubere Duschen etc.

Disliked: ziehmlich laut neben dem Zug.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Dylan Harrison

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

19 June 2012 Paul Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: There are ALOT of toilets and bathroom!!! only two person bunks so its alot better to sleep and they are made from wood,so no noise when u move.Staff is very nice and helpful,i arrive at 2am and they still showed me around the whole place and to my bed.Very clean too,i would come here again..

Disliked: Paul Dylan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Henrique Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Henrique would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is exactly as described on the site. It isn't very luxurious, but this is not what you should look for in a hostel. It offers a cheap accomodation for a fair price, this means: a great place to crash after walking all day long. The staff is extremely friendly and always ready to help. Definitely, I'd reccomend for any backpacker.

Disliked: Nothing that is worth commenting.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

HECTOR MARTINDELCAMPO VILLEGAS

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 HECTOR would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicación, la amabilidad del staff, la oportunidad de convivir con la gente del hostal

Disliked: Instalaciones descuidadas, camas poco confortables, pocos baños y regaderas para la capacidad del hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: One girl can get stuck with 5 guys. And one guy can get stuck w four girls. A little uncomfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and amazing staff :)

Disliked: is near to the railroad tracks BUT at the same time is only 5 minutes walk from Big Ben and London Eye is great location anyway :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were by far the nicest and most helpful of any hostel I have stayed at. They did whatever they could to make my stay more comfortable and truly seemed to love what they did. Location is wonderful- I could walk to many tourist sites.

Disliked: Though staff were super nice and helpful, they weren't the most knowledgeable about tourism info or what was going on in the city. Whatever they didn't know they would look up for you, however. I stayed on the fourth floor, and there was one toilet and one shower for the floor- sometimes had to trek back to floor 1/2 to shower or brush teeth.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fran Chalfant

Alone

Events / festivals

08 June 2012 Fran would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly admosphere, cleanliness, very convenient location, good security are all good features for this hostel.

Disliked: Probably the greatest disadvantage is that thge building is four stiries high and has only stair (no elevator) to the living quarters. also, the stairs have no railing, thus making the climb rather imposing to people with disabilities and potentially a serious problem in case of emergency.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

LING-JIN YAO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 LING-JIN would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is excellent, very closed to lambeth metro station and the staff is very willing to help you :D There is also a supermarket near only about 250m

Disliked: The kitchen is dirty......always pills a lot of unwashed plates and glasses which people left last night. The beds are not good 'cause you will hear everything whenever you or your roommates turn bodies; People at night are not always respect others 'cause you will hear some guys slapping the door very loudly; and you will hear the train ALWAYS loudly even at nights

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

thomas nicholls

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 June 2012 thomas would recommend this property

Liked: close to central london

Disliked: i didnt have any problems with the hostel

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lindsay Koruna

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, walking distance to everything. and free breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful with all inquiries

Disliked: It was noisy due to train, under construction therefore no bathroom on 3rd floor and sink and toilet were located in separate rooms on separate floors

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr nettes Personal, auch sehr hilfreich; super Lage, um die Stadt zu erkunden ohne ständig mit den Öffentlichen fahren zu müssen.

Disliked: sEhr laut, da genau neben dem Bahnhof gelegen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

gaston acosta avila

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 gaston would recommend this property

Liked: Es una excelente opcion para viajeros que buscan comodidad buen precio buena onda de parte del personal y conocer gente con buena onda.

Disliked: si bien la ubicacion es buena los trenes hacen mucho ruido

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, friendliness and helpfullness of staff. friendly atmosphere, having lockers in rooms so can put some things securely away. everything was fine.

Disliked: lack of communual area just for hostelers, couldn't find the computer room!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012

Liked: I think if you're in London specifically to go out clubbing and you just need a quick shower and a place to crash out for a few hours before you hit the clubs again then this might be fine.

Disliked: It's about 30 meters from some very busy train tracks. The screeching from the trains is constant until whenever they stop which is like 1:00 or something. If you're out late you may not even notice this. The place is generally pretty run-down and grungy, but then I've seen a lot worse. I'm not saying it's horrible. It's about medium. If being in a bright, clean, airy environment is important to you, then I would look elsewhere. If that isn't a big deal to you then you'll probably be fine here. The lockers are pretty minimal. I wouldn't leave anything major in them. They're basically just smallish steel boxes sitting loose on the floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

louse pennington

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 May 2012 louse would recommend this property

Liked: Really good value for money. Friendly staff and comfortable place to stay. felt totally safe.

Disliked: louse left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere, location, and character.

Disliked: I disliked the facilities.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff friendly and very usefull. Great atmosphere at the bar (even if you don't consume there)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was here for a week while trying to find a flat to live in and met some really really great people, both in my room, in the kitchen and downstairs at the bar. Had some fun times in the bar (where you get a discount on drinks) Alex was great and carried my heavy bags up all the stairs. The girls were also good with tips and directions. Steve was especially helpful, ordering taxis and also carrying my luggage. The bathrooms especially the ones on the 3rd and 4th floor were fantastic, clean and constant hot water. Free wifi was great downstairs however up in the rooms the connection would come and go. Locations is amazing, 10min walk to London Eye, Big Ben. 2min walk to Lambeth North tube. 5min walk to Sainsburys. Breakfast was decent. Biscuits! Free bath towels.

Disliked: The cleaner only came in to empty the bin in our room and never bothered to vaccuum. The kitchen is a bit small and can get crowded when there are heaps of people in there. People never seemed to clean up after themselves. There isn't much to dislike about the property. Ignore what everyone says about the trains.. I am a really light sleeper and was so tired most days that I didn't even hear them. Also you can get free earplugs if it does bother you.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Catherine Owen

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 May 2012

Liked: The staff are fabulous - so friendly and helpful. The bar is lovely too

Disliked: The hostel interior is very tired and needs more attention. Curtains hung the wrong way round. Duvet covers that are clean but look dirty. Shower rooms that look dirty and the shower heads don't work. For the money it is not value

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria hernandez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 maria would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really welcoming. They propose nice activities around like a cycling tour down town on a Sunday morning. (Tally Ho!) the location is definitively very handy to move around the main spots.

Disliked: i Liked everything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Pamela Raynor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location and that I had access 24 hours a day and that there was always helpful friendly staff.

Disliked: I did not like how there were key codes for the rooms instead of keys. Some girls changed rooms during my stay at the hostel and could easily get back into my room. We had one girl wander into our room right after we had gone to sleep who was not staying in our room that night. Just a bit disconcerning that people could always get in because the codes were never changed.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels