We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

86.3% Overall Rating

1656 out of 1802 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/11/2014)

Sydney Poulos thinks…

"My boyfriend and I stayed in the 6 person dorm with ensuite. The staff were absolutely outstanding, the location was very close to the London Eye and underground, and the beds were very comfortable.…"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.62
  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 87.5% 47 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
21.08 USD

Hostel 78.9% 373 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
64.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
London Eye Hostel
24.26 USD

Hostel 65.9% 515 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
47.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
40.57 USD

Hostel 75.2% 299 reviews
Safestay
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.9% 224 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
81.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

1656 out of 1802 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 1404 of 1739 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the metro (Waterloo). The staff is friendly.

Disliked: Shower was kind of broken.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was AMAZING.All of them were so helpful and so kind. Best staff I had on my entire Europe Backpacking trip.

Disliked: Right near London eye and the water, but also right next to the metro so it gets kind of loud at times.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Seng Lim

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Seng would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were among the friendliest I've ever encountered at any hostel I've stayed at. I arrived early (like 8am) and one staff offered to let me shower and store my luggage before checking in in the afternoon - which was amazing. Breakfast included - this is a big plus too!

Disliked: Problem is, I got a room on the third floor with a window that opens onto the train tracks. Not sure if noise is generally an issue in other rooms but this one was. Shower facilities could definitely be improved - very hit and miss depending on which shower room you get into. One had a broken handle, so water was seeping out of the cord instead of the shower head.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 July 2012

Liked: Nice staff and central location...

Disliked: Now safety at night, and you don't know if a stranger is walking in with you or a resident... Bad smell of body Order,, beds too close together,, and bed creaking at night was difficult to sleep with comfort..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jaroslav Petran

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Jaroslav would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff, very good location.

Disliked: Jaroslav left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CATHERINE BOYD-BELL

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 July 2012 CATHERINE would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff

Disliked: Very creaky beds

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daochen Wang

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 July 2012 Daochen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very nice. And the rooms were quite clean and the showers are nice. And it's really cheap!

Disliked: You can hear trains passing at night if you're a bit sensitive to sound (I personally didn't find it that bad) but they have free earplugs if you do need them.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

JoonHyung Kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 JoonHyung would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, Good staff.

Disliked: This place is so close to train rail. Especially , window of my room(3rd Floor Double RM.) was near at hand rails. So, it was too noise to sleep.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

elisa volpato maia

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 elisa would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location (we could see the london eye trought the window), nice pub downstairs, friendly staff. Breakfast included was ok.

Disliked: We booked a double room (double bed) but got a twin one (two small beds). The room as just next to the railway and the train passing by made a lot of noise. Also, the stairs where very noise and it was hard to sleep, sometimes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff he's are amazing and really take care of you. Free wi-fi is available in the bar but doesn't really reach most the rooms which I stayed in(supposedly should). Very close to the underground so very easy to get around

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margarita Sergeeva

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 July 2012 Margarita would recommend this property

Liked: The Walrus Waterloo is the best place ever! Great atmosphere, people always eager to help you anytime and anything you need. Hope to visit it next time!)

Disliked: Margarita left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, warm staff and the convenient location

Disliked: Too close to the railway and lack of bathrooms

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dianne Hainsworth

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

06 July 2012 Dianne would recommend this property

Liked: I think the best aspect of this hostel is not so much the property itself but the people who ran it has they where fantastic.

Disliked: The showers did'nt have any hot water and at times the bathrooms where dirty. The location could be better and they could invest in some new beds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location in London, extreme kindness of the staff, charming place, I've found my place-to-stay when i am in London.

Disliked: x

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Artemova

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

06 July 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: This is an amazing place, located at the very center close to the Big Ben and London Eye, the friendliness of stuff is beyond compare as well as the quality of accomodation. Alex and team are the best)

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

mark norris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012

Liked: Great location near the Waterloo station, the Thames River and attractions. I thought the staff was very friendly and helpful. I give them major props, they were great. The breakfast was decent and the pub downstairs was mainly for the hostel. There were plenty of showers and bathrooms. Good free wifi and free towels and free bag storage. I really appreciated the helpful staff.

Disliked: I'm not sure that I would go back to this hostel because it wasn't very clean and it was very dark. Half the lights didn't work and the ones that did were very dim. It made the place seem dingy. Also, the train station is within feet of the building and you hear loud trains all day and half the night. Finally, they pack too many people into a room. There must have been 20 people in bunks in the room where I stayed. Even with all this, it was an average hostel experience.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is so close to the center of London. The atmosphere is great!

Disliked: One of the shower heads was not working too properly. Other than that, everything was fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, printing tickets, and breakfast, great staff, great location.

Disliked: Beds were REALLY squeaky but they did give out earplugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BERNARDO MARTIN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 BERNARDO would recommend this property

Liked: It was really nice staying at the Walrus. The stuff were really helpful and kind. The hostel atmosphere was great, specially at the bar dowstair. The rooms were clean and had a great view of the London Eye and the London Tower (great location).

Disliked: I like it all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

taylor bowen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 taylor would recommend this property

Liked: a great location and the staff was excellent and very helpful

Disliked: taylor left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was nice and helpfull. You pay a low prize for such a good location. It is possible to get wherever you want, how you want and when you want! It is also very social, got to know new people there!

Disliked: Toilet on 2nd floor didn't work properly, flooded a few times. I also wanted mirror in the shower room and in the bedroom. Exept of that, LOVED it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Cheng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: The Walrus had extremely helpful and friendly staff. They also have an awesome free breakfast and a great location that is 5-10 minutes from all the major attractions in London. Beds were also pretty comfy and it is really clean :)

Disliked: It can be a little bit noisy at night since the hostel is right beside the tube, but we had no problems falling asleep. We did not get a private room, and in the middle of the night, one of the staff brought in a new person in to join us. It was very abrupt and it would have been nice to have a little warning of some kind.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maria Cecilia Arequipa

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Maria Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: muy buen hostel! super cerca del centro (caminando 5 minutos del Big Ben, London Eye). Desayuno completo, lockers, buen ambiente y limpio. RECOMIENDO :D

Disliked: Maria Cecilia left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Patricia Hellmann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Localizacao, O Pub anexo, os funcionários sao muito gente boa.

Disliked: Nosso quarto era pequeno, a limpeza nao estava muito boa e as camas faziam muito barulho

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Geneviève Charland-Arcand

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Geneviève would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel I've been to! Very well situated, easy to find, great staff, great atmosphere with the pub downstairs! I honestly LOVE that place and would happily come back anytime. Great experience :)

Disliked: The only possible thing I could think of is that the dorms where I stayed, the bed were really squeaky and noisy... but really that's it!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels