HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Walrus Hostel London Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 75%

Location 89%

Safety 83%

Staff 95%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am

If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance.

Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 75%

Location 89%

Safety 83%

Staff 95%

Value 82%

Showing 71-80 of 149 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Brilliant atmosphere! Close walk to everything with an amazing group of staff! The free breakfast in the mornings is perfect and you meet amazing people!

Disliked: Nothing it was perfect in my opinion!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Very satisfied with my experience on The Walrus Waterloo Hostel. The staff was very friendly, accommodations clean and comfortable. Everything expected from a good hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Everything was good. The location was good, the staff was very friendly and cozy atmosphere.

Disliked: Everything was good but maybe water pressure of some showers ???

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: It's so easy to get to the hostel from Waterloo.The staff are friendly and helpful. There are plenty of showers and toilets (in comparison to other hostels I've stayed in).The bar area is nice and breakfast is really relaxed. They also give you a flyer to get discounted drinks there plus discounted food at a pub just down the road.They're happy for you to use the facilities (shower, kitchen, bar area) after the time you have to leave your room.

Disliked: The bunk beds are so squeaky which makes for quite a noisy night!The hot water in the showers can be quite temperamental.Could only see 2 plug sockets in our room for 6 people. Would be good if they could provide an adapter with more.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Friendly Staff always with smile in their faces

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful, Alex would actually be mad if you didn't let him help you. Location was good and the facilities were regular hostel situations. Little kitchen was nice and everyone hung out in there.

Disliked: It's nothing too fancy, it's a hostel. It more than met my expectations.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff was amazing. It is not expansive for the place it is located.

Disliked: Nearly nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - Free, reliable wifi in all areas, including my room- Free breakfast- Free linen and towels- Great location within walking distance of the two tube stations, the London Eye, Parliament/Big Ben, Westminster Abbey. I even walked to Buckingham Palace.- Free printing for tickets- Locker in the room but the staff will store your real valuables in their office- Quiet at night- Staff was GREAT! Very helpful and friendly- I checked in after midnight, no problem- No curfew or lockout

Disliked: - My room got very cold but they gave me extra blankets- Squeaky bed- Shower in my shared room was small and not working but there was no problem using the one upstairs.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: IT has a great location, and beds are confortable. Showers are just ok.

Disliked: As it has a bar, it doesnt have a propper common area for people staying at the hostel, to be chill. I've missed that.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: stayed in the 16 bed dorm which was very pleasant and quiet (also because the bar downstairs was closed). facilities are simple and clean. beds are ok for short stay. lockers in the room. mostly i was impressed by the cleanliness of the place and friendliness of the staff.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability