We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

86.9% Overall Rating

1652 out of 1798 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Great and helpful staff, very nice breakfast. Nice bar downstairs. A 5 minute walk from the London eye and Big Ben. They provide towels, locks and adapters for no extra fee."

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.62
  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 88.0% 45 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
24.33 USD

Hostel 78.6% 372 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
72.22 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.8% 51 reviews
London Eye Hostel
24.26 USD

Hostel 65.9% 515 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
73.03 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
40.57 USD

Hostel 74.1% 298 reviews
Safestay
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.0% 223 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
81.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

1652 out of 1798 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 1402 of 1735 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

ADIB MODAK

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 ADIB would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very very good. I interacted with Rekkell most of the time and she was very helpful. She made me feel very comfortable and at home. Explained me everything very professionally and always went one step ahead to make the experience worth living. The location of the property is AAMMMMAAAZZIINGG... 150 metres from Lamberth North underground and close to Waterloo too. Very close to the attractions in and around Westminster.

Disliked: It is a very old property. Fans, furniture etc etc etc was too old style. A lil cramped and could be more cleaner.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012

Liked: ?

Disliked: A bit far out

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sedat Aslan

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Sedat would recommend this property

Liked: What a brillant stay it was. Quite simply the best hostel experience I had in a year spent abroad. The quite young staff is so friggin' friendly, helpful and polite, you'll almost feel unworthy, and there is enough of them to be on your service the whole day. Location is fantastic, Big Ben smilin at ya after a 1 min walk, 2 (!) subway stops nearby, a bus stop (serves even at night) literally in front of you, 24h-stores with all that you need. The place has a great pub at ground level which also is the "front desk" and serves as a public room where you can enjoy your no-limits continental breakfast (juice, coffee, tea, milk, toast, butter, honey, marmelade, nutella, lots of cereals). Fully equipped kitchen (always kept clean!) was at 2nd floor. Beds and showers (stayed in the 16-bed-dorm) more than ok and clean. Wasn't even half as noisy as I guessed, some trains, but that's honestly no big deal. Even my roommates (mostly students, no low-life scum as in some cheaper places) were very discipined. All in all a very recommendable hostel, and on top of that, a great bargain in one of the most expensive cities in Europe - you should definitely give it a serious consideration if you're travelling to London!

Disliked: Sedat left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Esperanza Herrero Alvarez

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Maria Esperanza would recommend this property

Liked: The environment was fantastic. The staff was nice. They helped us everything.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ana Gomes

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 September 2012 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: AWESOME hostel, unbelievably kind and nice staff, really cool atmosphere, great breakfast, good location, awesome in general!

Disliked: the 22 bed room is kind of caotic, but you get through it just fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Robertson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent, friendly staff, perfect location would stay again! thanks

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Piotr Gawron

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 September 2012 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: It was pretty close to the center

Disliked: Price, but London in general is expensive ;(

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emre Eyiol

Alone

Business / conference

03 September 2012 Emre would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Emre left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff working at the Walrus Social were just wonderful! I don't think there's any other hostel in London where you will enjoy such an excellent treatment. The location of the hostel is also an asset. It is the 15 min on foot to Trafalgar square and not even 5 min to the tube station. The service is also brilliant. They provide free internet, towels, earplugs and a really nice breakfast. So I definitely recommend The Walrus Waterloo to anyone going to or staying in London. - From a Belgian client -

Disliked: There was a little noise coming from the trains but you can get earplugs to avoid this problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly atmosphere with helpful staff and decent rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luka Lisica

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Luka would recommend this property

Liked: Great place run by great young staff. Breakfasts are good and rooms are clean and locked by keycode. Perfect location for day walks to all the best areas of london. We stayed in hostels in 7 countries on our last trip and this was the best one despite it being in a 10 bed room while the rest were in private suites.

Disliked: nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente ubicacion con excelentes personas, tanto los encargados del hostel como los que se hospedan. Mas que recomendable!

Disliked: Los baños son un poco incomodos. Hay uno solo por piso y para la cantidad de gente que hay es poco.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Michael Gladwell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2012

Liked: Good bar

Disliked: Showers beds

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wilson Wee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Wilson would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really really friendly always smiling and ready to help. For people who love pubs, you're gonna love this place because you can get a drink just downstairs at the bar! Also, the location was really awesome. There's great food along the street, really close to a metro station and Waterloo station for trains out of the city centre, and a supermarket where you can get really cheap stuff. Oh be sure to try the phad thai when the food street is open! Oh and there's free breakfast too (:

Disliked: None to dislike really.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was close to some really nice vintage shops and two tube stations. The staff were quite friendly as well. And the bathrooms were proper and decent sized.

Disliked: The beds were rather unconfortable, and alot of stairs to get to my room. The showers in one the bathrooms didn't work properly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing. They answered every question I had either about the hostel or the city and were just cool people. The common room is great. I met a lot of good people there.Breakfast is simple with just toast, jam and cereal but what more do you really need? Also the location is ideal, literally right around the corner from Big Ben, Parliment and Buckingham Palace. Well worth it to stay here.

Disliked: The mattress wasn't the most comfortable thing in the world and the trains right outside the room were a but loud at times but after walking around the city for a few days I was able to pass right out regardless.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building was very authentic, old fashioned and home like. I loved it, the atmosphere was great, as well as the staff; they were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The bathrooms were clean, showers worked well. Nothing bad to say about this place. Definitely I would recommend it to my friends.

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leandro Lopes da Costa

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 August 2012 Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: Funcionários atenciosos e localização maravilhosa. Recomendo !!!

Disliked: Leandro left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012

Liked: Excellent location and lovely staff.

Disliked: Broken taps, showers and toilets. No help carrying our heavy bags up to the top level. Smelt bad and generally dirty. Pretty average breakfast.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, extremely helpful and friendly staff, comfortable bed.

Disliked: Toilet door jammed.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, who helps with everything

Disliked: Old beds

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Electra Skaarup

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Electra would recommend this property

Liked: As a person traelling for the first time by myself, The Walrus provided an amazing experience for me. It was super close to all of the London sights, the staff were very friendly and went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable. I cannot recommend this property enough!

Disliked: Electra left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hui Yi Eng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Hui Yi would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very very friendly and helpful. They voluntarily helped us with the bags and luggage and told us places to visit and events that were held during our stay there. Every morning the bar is only opened to those who are staying in the hostel and the breakfast is prepared nicely before you get there. You can leave your baggage with them after you check out. The hostel is just a few minutes walk from the Lambeth North station. The overall cleanliness is very satisfactory.

Disliked: If you prefer privacy, then do not stay in the 6 beds dorm. You definitely won't get very much of your own space and freedom if other people are already sleeping by the time you got back. Don't bother to get a room with attached bathroom, the sharing bathrooms are just as clean as the one in the room. And if possible, avoid showering during the 'peak hours'. I'll have to wait for the other person in the other bathroom to close the tap before I can get some water to shower. And the attached bathroom doesn't have hot water in shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the metro (Waterloo). The staff is friendly.

Disliked: Shower was kind of broken.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was AMAZING.All of them were so helpful and so kind. Best staff I had on my entire Europe Backpacking trip.

Disliked: Right near London eye and the water, but also right next to the metro so it gets kind of loud at times.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels