HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

88.2% Overall Rating

1642 out of 1788 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2014)

"Free Wifi, Near to SouthBank and to the Underground, security code and nice staff."

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.66
  • Towel USD 1.66

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.68 USD

Hostel 91.5% 38 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
19.88 USD

Hostel 81.1% 369 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
65.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
London Eye Hostel
19.07 USD

Hostel 65.4% 514 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
48.09 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
41.46 USD

Hostel 71.0% 296 reviews
Safestay
33.17 USD

Hostel 87.3% 218 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
82.92 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

1642 out of 1788 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 1395 of 1725 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 55 | 56   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emre Eyiol

Alone

Business / conference

03 September 2012 Emre would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Emre left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff working at the Walrus Social were just wonderful! I don't think there's any other hostel in London where you will enjoy such an excellent treatment. The location of the hostel is also an asset. It is the 15 min on foot to Trafalgar square and not even 5 min to the tube station. The service is also brilliant. They provide free internet, towels, earplugs and a really nice breakfast. So I definitely recommend The Walrus Waterloo to anyone going to or staying in London. - From a Belgian client -

Disliked: There was a little noise coming from the trains but you can get earplugs to avoid this problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly atmosphere with helpful staff and decent rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luka Lisica

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Luka would recommend this property

Liked: Great place run by great young staff. Breakfasts are good and rooms are clean and locked by keycode. Perfect location for day walks to all the best areas of london. We stayed in hostels in 7 countries on our last trip and this was the best one despite it being in a 10 bed room while the rest were in private suites.

Disliked: nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente ubicacion con excelentes personas, tanto los encargados del hostel como los que se hospedan. Mas que recomendable!

Disliked: Los baños son un poco incomodos. Hay uno solo por piso y para la cantidad de gente que hay es poco.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Michael Gladwell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2012

Liked: Good bar

Disliked: Showers beds

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wilson Wee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Wilson would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really really friendly always smiling and ready to help. For people who love pubs, you're gonna love this place because you can get a drink just downstairs at the bar! Also, the location was really awesome. There's great food along the street, really close to a metro station and Waterloo station for trains out of the city centre, and a supermarket where you can get really cheap stuff. Oh be sure to try the phad thai when the food street is open! Oh and there's free breakfast too (:

Disliked: None to dislike really.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was close to some really nice vintage shops and two tube stations. The staff were quite friendly as well. And the bathrooms were proper and decent sized.

Disliked: The beds were rather unconfortable, and alot of stairs to get to my room. The showers in one the bathrooms didn't work properly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing. They answered every question I had either about the hostel or the city and were just cool people. The common room is great. I met a lot of good people there.Breakfast is simple with just toast, jam and cereal but what more do you really need? Also the location is ideal, literally right around the corner from Big Ben, Parliment and Buckingham Palace. Well worth it to stay here.

Disliked: The mattress wasn't the most comfortable thing in the world and the trains right outside the room were a but loud at times but after walking around the city for a few days I was able to pass right out regardless.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building was very authentic, old fashioned and home like. I loved it, the atmosphere was great, as well as the staff; they were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The bathrooms were clean, showers worked well. Nothing bad to say about this place. Definitely I would recommend it to my friends.

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leandro Lopes da Costa

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 August 2012 Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: Funcionários atenciosos e localização maravilhosa. Recomendo !!!

Disliked: Leandro left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012

Liked: Excellent location and lovely staff.

Disliked: Broken taps, showers and toilets. No help carrying our heavy bags up to the top level. Smelt bad and generally dirty. Pretty average breakfast.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, extremely helpful and friendly staff, comfortable bed.

Disliked: Toilet door jammed.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, who helps with everything

Disliked: Old beds

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Electra Skaarup

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Electra would recommend this property

Liked: As a person traelling for the first time by myself, The Walrus provided an amazing experience for me. It was super close to all of the London sights, the staff were very friendly and went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable. I cannot recommend this property enough!

Disliked: Electra left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hui Yi Eng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Hui Yi would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very very friendly and helpful. They voluntarily helped us with the bags and luggage and told us places to visit and events that were held during our stay there. Every morning the bar is only opened to those who are staying in the hostel and the breakfast is prepared nicely before you get there. You can leave your baggage with them after you check out. The hostel is just a few minutes walk from the Lambeth North station. The overall cleanliness is very satisfactory.

Disliked: If you prefer privacy, then do not stay in the 6 beds dorm. You definitely won't get very much of your own space and freedom if other people are already sleeping by the time you got back. Don't bother to get a room with attached bathroom, the sharing bathrooms are just as clean as the one in the room. And if possible, avoid showering during the 'peak hours'. I'll have to wait for the other person in the other bathroom to close the tap before I can get some water to shower. And the attached bathroom doesn't have hot water in shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the metro (Waterloo). The staff is friendly.

Disliked: Shower was kind of broken.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was AMAZING.All of them were so helpful and so kind. Best staff I had on my entire Europe Backpacking trip.

Disliked: Right near London eye and the water, but also right next to the metro so it gets kind of loud at times.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Seng Lim

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Seng would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were among the friendliest I've ever encountered at any hostel I've stayed at. I arrived early (like 8am) and one staff offered to let me shower and store my luggage before checking in in the afternoon - which was amazing. Breakfast included - this is a big plus too!

Disliked: Problem is, I got a room on the third floor with a window that opens onto the train tracks. Not sure if noise is generally an issue in other rooms but this one was. Shower facilities could definitely be improved - very hit and miss depending on which shower room you get into. One had a broken handle, so water was seeping out of the cord instead of the shower head.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 July 2012

Liked: Nice staff and central location...

Disliked: Now safety at night, and you don't know if a stranger is walking in with you or a resident... Bad smell of body Order,, beds too close together,, and bed creaking at night was difficult to sleep with comfort..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jaroslav Petran

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Jaroslav would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff, very good location.

Disliked: Jaroslav left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CATHERINE BOYD-BELL

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 July 2012 CATHERINE would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff

Disliked: Very creaky beds

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daochen Wang

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 July 2012 Daochen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very nice. And the rooms were quite clean and the showers are nice. And it's really cheap!

Disliked: You can hear trains passing at night if you're a bit sensitive to sound (I personally didn't find it that bad) but they have free earplugs if you do need them.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

JoonHyung Kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 JoonHyung would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, Good staff.

Disliked: This place is so close to train rail. Especially , window of my room(3rd Floor Double RM.) was near at hand rails. So, it was too noise to sleep.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

elisa volpato maia

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 elisa would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location (we could see the london eye trought the window), nice pub downstairs, friendly staff. Breakfast included was ok.

Disliked: We booked a double room (double bed) but got a twin one (two small beds). The room as just next to the railway and the train passing by made a lot of noise. Also, the stairs where very noise and it was hard to sleep, sometimes.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels