HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Walrus Hostel London Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 75%

Location 90%

Safety 85%

Staff 95%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am

If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance.

Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 75%

Location 90%

Safety 85%

Staff 95%

Value 84%

Showing 61-70 of 139 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendly and welcoming. Showers are great.

Disliked: The only thing that may be an issue if you can't sleep through a lot of noise is the train and the traffic, but this did not bother me.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is perfect, close to the tube station and major London's attractions.

Disliked: the noise from the railway.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff at the Walrus is incredible! They are welcoming and always up for a chat or to give you some tips on where to go or what to see. It is very close to tourist attractions. The rooms are kept quite clean and I can't stress enough how accommodating the staff were.

Disliked: As it is close to Waterloo train station, the trains are pretty loud at night, but they offer earplugs if you find it necessary. The beds are somewhat worn down and apart from the bar (which is excellent), there isn't really a common room if that is of interest. However, I found my complaints to be quite minor considering the welcoming atmosphere. I would definitely stay again.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They helped us figure out our way around also. The rooms are quant, and the lockers are handy. Bathrooms on every floor to use and easy to access. Loved this hostel! Wished we stayed longer.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, reasonably choices for breakfast. Bar prices and discount for hostellers made the cost of drinks reasonable.

Disliked: Couldn't ever get the combination lock to work on the door to my dorm, though pretty sure I was putting in the right code. Fortunately a room mate let me in after several unsuccessful attempts! Not all the lockers in the dorm were usable. The one spare one by my bed could not be secured with a padlock as the closure device was broken. As I was only staying for one night, with small amount of luggage, this didn't matter too much.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff are really good & helpful. Great location, cool bar that's always got a good vibe to it. Close to tube & train systems

Disliked: It's a little noisey with the trains going past.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location

Disliked: Being located next to the train station was not that good.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, character, historic London building, clean, functional, quiet inside.

Disliked: Check-in manager was somewhat overbearing with his helpfulness and social engagement. I said I was tired and stressed, and he sort of half understood that.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is really in easy walking distance to attractions like Big Ben, Westminster Abby, and The Eye. It's also very close to two undergrounds so getting around is easy. The down stairs of the hostel has an awesome pub with a really great atmosphere. If you're staying you even get a discount which is great. The breakfast served in the morning isn't extensive, but its much better than most places. The room was great. It was small but had everything I needed.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The receptionists are great, most of them speak many lenguages, always very helpfull, they have the best tips for going around the city. The hostel is really great, clean toilets and showers, great atmosphere! the place to meet new people and locals, it has a cool bar on it's groundfloor, good breakfast, central location, near to the big ben, and the london eye, 100m to the subway, 100m to waterloo station really great place to stay!!! certainly recommend!!!

Disliked: bedrooms are a bit small and it's difficult to store the luggage in, the lack of a lift may annoy someone. besides that, everything else was great!!!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability