HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Walrus Hostel London Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 72%

Location 87%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am

This property has a 2 day cancellation policy.
Please note, if cancelled, modified or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. The total price of the reservation may be charged anytime after booking.

If your booking is over GBP 50 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance.
Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled.

NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 72%

Location 87%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 82%

Showing 61-70 of 105 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved the atmosphere and spent a fun evening at the bar watching the World Cup with a bunch of both locals and travellers! Also had a 15% discount at their bar and 10% discount at the reataurant up the street

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location for the price, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We stayed in a 20 person room and it was not bad at all! Halfway through our stay, the rest of our friends joined us, so we changed rooms and they were very accommodating with our luggage and everything this switch entailed.

Disliked: The plumbing was a little questionable, and there were almost no outlets in that twenty person room. Also, for the first two nights, we were in a room on one of the higher floors that was on the side of the building next to Waterloo, so it was quite loud because we could hear the trains going by all night. But really, the good outweighed the bad, and this was not a problem in the 20 person room!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Extremely friendly and relaxed. Made to feel welcome immediately and given information covering all questions asked

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendly and welcoming. Showers are great.

Disliked: The only thing that may be an issue if you can't sleep through a lot of noise is the train and the traffic, but this did not bother me.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is perfect, close to the tube station and major London's attractions.

Disliked: the noise from the railway.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff at the Walrus is incredible! They are welcoming and always up for a chat or to give you some tips on where to go or what to see. It is very close to tourist attractions. The rooms are kept quite clean and I can't stress enough how accommodating the staff were.

Disliked: As it is close to Waterloo train station, the trains are pretty loud at night, but they offer earplugs if you find it necessary. The beds are somewhat worn down and apart from the bar (which is excellent), there isn't really a common room if that is of interest. However, I found my complaints to be quite minor considering the welcoming atmosphere. I would definitely stay again.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They helped us figure out our way around also. The rooms are quant, and the lockers are handy. Bathrooms on every floor to use and easy to access. Loved this hostel! Wished we stayed longer.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, reasonably choices for breakfast. Bar prices and discount for hostellers made the cost of drinks reasonable.

Disliked: Couldn't ever get the combination lock to work on the door to my dorm, though pretty sure I was putting in the right code. Fortunately a room mate let me in after several unsuccessful attempts! Not all the lockers in the dorm were usable. The one spare one by my bed could not be secured with a padlock as the closure device was broken. As I was only staying for one night, with small amount of luggage, this didn't matter too much.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff are really good & helpful. Great location, cool bar that's always got a good vibe to it. Close to tube & train systems

Disliked: It's a little noisey with the trains going past.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location

Disliked: Being located next to the train station was not that good.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability