HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

92.8% Overall Rating

1632 out of 1776 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2014)

Thomas Renwart thinks…

"The staff is very friendly and try to help you as much as possible. Everyone gets a fair treatment. No one is excluded. It's really good for a short stay!"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.71
  • Towel USD 1.71

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.60 USD

Hostel 95.7% 26 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
32.43 USD

Hostel 81.8% 365 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
67.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
London Eye Hostel
27.24 USD

Hostel 68.5% 510 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
67.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
42.70 USD

Hostel 70.9% 293 reviews
Safestay
34.16 USD

Hostel 86.2% 215 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
85.40 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

1632 out of 1776 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1385 of 1713 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 55 | 56   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Kelly

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Not a bad location, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the downstairs bar had a fun vibe.

Disliked: Beds weren't that comfortable and they could probably use a few more showers considering how many people are staying there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Jurcic

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: I fully enjoyed my stay at Walrus Waterloo, staff was really friendly and helpful. Great atmosphere and it felt like we were a big family there. I met many interesting people. Very clean regarding the fact there are dozens of people circulating on daily basis. Safe and secure - no one can enter without permission / password. Neat and cozy place, cool music and cheap prices in the pub. I'll probably stay there next time I visit London. And location is superb, just by the underground station, you can be in any part of London in minutes.

Disliked: -

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly backpackers stay here.

Disliked: Cramped and basic. Many more people to a room than at YHA.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is simply amazing (I got the impression the place is staff-owned). I've seen quite a few hostels around the globe but these fellows outdo every other place I've been to what comes to friendliness and helpfulness. They manage to create a homely feeling without being too obtrusive. Big up for the location, too - less than two minutes' walk from Lambeth North tube station and around five minutes from Waterloo. Fair-priced eateries and supermarkets in the neighbourhood and a 24-hour grocer on the way from the tube. Around 20 minutes by foot from Soho. Downstairs pub (which doubles as reception and breakfast room) is decently priced and some locals seem to frequent it, too - not your basic backpacker inferno. Kitchen facilities are good (a big stove, microwave, couple of fridges). Wi-fi is free, though in practice it really works on the first floor and in the pub, plus on the second floor on a good day.

Disliked: The biggest problem is simply that it's located in an old English building. You'll probably encounter a couple of cold showers and clogged toilets during your stay. They seemed to be making reparations all the time, though, so hopefully they'll get down to the plumbing at some point. Another big downside are the narrow and noisy metal lockers and squeaky old bunks. Turned out to be even bigger a problem than the railway next door. You can manage with earplugs (as in any hostel dorm), but I sure hope the lockers will be replaced sometime soon.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Rebecca Orr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: It was old and run down. The showers were terrible, beds old and falling to pieces. They were doing work on the place during our stay which was good to see as it needs it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people, cheap bar, good location, friendly staff.

Disliked: The tap was leaking and flooding the bathroom for 3 days despite us reporting it. There was not enough hot water and even worse not enough water pressure to get the soap off. It was dripping water from the 4th floor shower into the 3rd floor bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Weber

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I just loved staying there, i booked 5 nights at a 18 bed room and even with many people in this room I never got stressed out. The staff is amazing, they're so friendly & caring, rhich creates a nice and familiar atmosphere. The free breakfast is good for the price staying there, they have toast and heaps of diffderent spreads as well as cereals, orange & apple juice, milk, tea, coffee. The location is amazing it's just a 5 min walk to the London eye & 10 min to go to westminster with all it's sightseeing stuff on the northern side of the bridge.

Disliked: I can't think of anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mojca Uršic

Alone

Business / conference
City break

29 September 2012 Mojca would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything. The hostel is being renovated and once everything is done, the hostel will be fantastic! I was very quiet during my stay. The staff is very flexible and takes very good care of their guests!

Disliked: Nothing to comment

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

ADIB MODAK

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 ADIB would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very very good. I interacted with Rekkell most of the time and she was very helpful. She made me feel very comfortable and at home. Explained me everything very professionally and always went one step ahead to make the experience worth living. The location of the property is AAMMMMAAAZZIINGG... 150 metres from Lamberth North underground and close to Waterloo too. Very close to the attractions in and around Westminster.

Disliked: It is a very old property. Fans, furniture etc etc etc was too old style. A lil cramped and could be more cleaner.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012

Liked: ?

Disliked: A bit far out

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sedat Aslan

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Sedat would recommend this property

Liked: What a brillant stay it was. Quite simply the best hostel experience I had in a year spent abroad. The quite young staff is so friggin' friendly, helpful and polite, you'll almost feel unworthy, and there is enough of them to be on your service the whole day. Location is fantastic, Big Ben smilin at ya after a 1 min walk, 2 (!) subway stops nearby, a bus stop (serves even at night) literally in front of you, 24h-stores with all that you need. The place has a great pub at ground level which also is the "front desk" and serves as a public room where you can enjoy your no-limits continental breakfast (juice, coffee, tea, milk, toast, butter, honey, marmelade, nutella, lots of cereals). Fully equipped kitchen (always kept clean!) was at 2nd floor. Beds and showers (stayed in the 16-bed-dorm) more than ok and clean. Wasn't even half as noisy as I guessed, some trains, but that's honestly no big deal. Even my roommates (mostly students, no low-life scum as in some cheaper places) were very discipined. All in all a very recommendable hostel, and on top of that, a great bargain in one of the most expensive cities in Europe - you should definitely give it a serious consideration if you're travelling to London!

Disliked: Sedat left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Esperanza Herrero Alvarez

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Maria Esperanza would recommend this property

Liked: The environment was fantastic. The staff was nice. They helped us everything.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ana Gomes

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 September 2012 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: AWESOME hostel, unbelievably kind and nice staff, really cool atmosphere, great breakfast, good location, awesome in general!

Disliked: the 22 bed room is kind of caotic, but you get through it just fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Robertson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent, friendly staff, perfect location would stay again! thanks

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Piotr Gawron

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 September 2012 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: It was pretty close to the center

Disliked: Price, but London in general is expensive ;(

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emre Eyiol

Alone

Business / conference

03 September 2012 Emre would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Emre left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff working at the Walrus Social were just wonderful! I don't think there's any other hostel in London where you will enjoy such an excellent treatment. The location of the hostel is also an asset. It is the 15 min on foot to Trafalgar square and not even 5 min to the tube station. The service is also brilliant. They provide free internet, towels, earplugs and a really nice breakfast. So I definitely recommend The Walrus Waterloo to anyone going to or staying in London. - From a Belgian client -

Disliked: There was a little noise coming from the trains but you can get earplugs to avoid this problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly atmosphere with helpful staff and decent rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luka Lisica

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Luka would recommend this property

Liked: Great place run by great young staff. Breakfasts are good and rooms are clean and locked by keycode. Perfect location for day walks to all the best areas of london. We stayed in hostels in 7 countries on our last trip and this was the best one despite it being in a 10 bed room while the rest were in private suites.

Disliked: nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente ubicacion con excelentes personas, tanto los encargados del hostel como los que se hospedan. Mas que recomendable!

Disliked: Los baños son un poco incomodos. Hay uno solo por piso y para la cantidad de gente que hay es poco.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Michael Gladwell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2012

Liked: Good bar

Disliked: Showers beds

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wilson Wee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Wilson would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really really friendly always smiling and ready to help. For people who love pubs, you're gonna love this place because you can get a drink just downstairs at the bar! Also, the location was really awesome. There's great food along the street, really close to a metro station and Waterloo station for trains out of the city centre, and a supermarket where you can get really cheap stuff. Oh be sure to try the phad thai when the food street is open! Oh and there's free breakfast too (:

Disliked: None to dislike really.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was close to some really nice vintage shops and two tube stations. The staff were quite friendly as well. And the bathrooms were proper and decent sized.

Disliked: The beds were rather unconfortable, and alot of stairs to get to my room. The showers in one the bathrooms didn't work properly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing. They answered every question I had either about the hostel or the city and were just cool people. The common room is great. I met a lot of good people there.Breakfast is simple with just toast, jam and cereal but what more do you really need? Also the location is ideal, literally right around the corner from Big Ben, Parliment and Buckingham Palace. Well worth it to stay here.

Disliked: The mattress wasn't the most comfortable thing in the world and the trains right outside the room were a but loud at times but after walking around the city for a few days I was able to pass right out regardless.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building was very authentic, old fashioned and home like. I loved it, the atmosphere was great, as well as the staff; they were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The bathrooms were clean, showers worked well. Nothing bad to say about this place. Definitely I would recommend it to my friends.

Disliked: nothing.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels