HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Walrus Hostel London Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 73%

Location 87%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am

This property has a 2 day cancellation policy.
Please note, if cancelled, modified or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. The total price of the reservation may be charged anytime after booking.

If your booking is over GBP 50 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance.
Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled.

NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 73%

Location 87%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 82%

Showing 51-60 of 113 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hostel was close to Westminster Bridge, so very accessible to all the major sights.

Disliked: The room we were in (private double) was VERY noisy because the window opened up directly above the train station. The trains came screeching in at all hours of day or night, and even with earplugs it was very disruptive. Since it was hot in the room, the window needed to be open for fresh air, so there was nothing to do about the noise. In another room, the noise might not be so bad.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: VERY friendly and welcoming staff - made a huge difference. Good (free!) breakfast and great bar downstairs.

Disliked: The dorm was a bit too small for the number of beds and the bathroom facilities were very limited. It was very hard to find a powerpoint to charge my phone. The location near Waterloo station is very annoying at night. I had read reviews in advance that warned me about the noise at night so I brought earplugs but even these didn't shut out the sound of trains arriving and departing. If you want a good quiet night sleep I'd go somewhere else.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is very friendly and try to help you as much as possible. Everyone gets a fair treatment. No one is excluded. It's really good for a short stay!

Disliked: I was in room 32 and oh boy, the trains and buses... such a terrible noise. Haven't closed an eye. Please change something about that.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I really liked that they provided towels, locks, adapters and several other amenities for no extra fee

Disliked: It is hard to meet people if you are a solo traveller because of the layout but luckily I eventually got some great roommates. Also There are no laundry mats around but other wise nothing terrible.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff and the bar were great, and very friendly

Disliked: The TRAINS WERE SO LOUD AND THE ROOM WAS SO HOT AND CRAMPED AND THE TOILETS NEVER FLUSHED

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff are the most friendly of any hostel I have ever stayed in. The breakfast is nice and healthy. And the rooms are of adequate size and clean.I will be recommending this to all of my friends who travel to London and hope to be back oneday myself :)

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved my stay at the Walrus Waterloo! The staff were so helpful and friendly, they are what makes this place special. The rooms were nice, and plenty of bathrooms and showers. The wifi worker perfectly for the 4 days I was there. The location is amazing, it's so close to 2 stations and main sights are within walking distance. The bar is really cool, especially for the soccer. They have great drink specials and it'd really cheap. The breakfast was really good too and free!! I would definitely come back to the Walrus when I come back to London

Disliked: Not much to dislike my only negative is that there wasn't many lockers (that shut properly) in the rooms. In a 16 bed dorm there was 8 large lockers and 4 small (only 2 of those shut properly). I left my bag locked next to my bed though and had no problems, I felt that my luggage was safe. They also let you keep your valuable items in a locked room near the bar for free which was great. There is a luggage room too for bags but I go in and out of my bag so often I just kept it near me!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly , helpful staff. Location - walking distance or short bus/ tube to many attractions. Overall nice atmosphere.

Disliked: The noise from the trains can be an issue especially in early morning. Bring earplugs but the staff do offer them at the desk. Managed to get a good nights sleep though.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Had a great atmosphere and the most helpful staff I've encountered in London so far. Room was clean. Location was excellent. Breakfast was generous.

Disliked: The noise from the trains right outside the window! I don't remember any mention of bringing ear plugs along on the property ad but please DO NOT forget to bring your own or ask at reception if you want a decent night's sleep! I was exhausted after a long day but couldn't sleep a wink, thereafter woke up with a headache that affected everything I did the next day!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved the atmosphere and spent a fun evening at the bar watching the World Cup with a bunch of both locals and travellers! Also had a 15% discount at their bar and 10% discount at the reataurant up the street

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability