We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

86.3% Overall Rating

1656 out of 1802 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/11/2014)

Sydney Poulos thinks…

"My boyfriend and I stayed in the 6 person dorm with ensuite. The staff were absolutely outstanding, the location was very close to the London Eye and underground, and the beds were very comfortable.…"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.62
  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 86.5% 48 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
21.08 USD

Hostel 78.9% 373 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
64.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
London Eye Hostel
21.02 USD

Hostel 65.9% 515 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
55.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
35.70 USD

Hostel 75.2% 299 reviews
Safestay
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.9% 224 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
81.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

1656 out of 1802 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 1404 of 1739 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ravi Raina

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 February 2013 Ravi would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Round

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 February 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: less than 5m from waterloo station, lovely friendly staff, decent bar downstairs (and 15% discount on drinks for residents), free towels and linen, and free breakfast (cereal, toast, fruit, coffee, tea, juice etc) and free wifi! awesome on all counts.

Disliked: near waterloo means the trains are noisy - but i wanted to be near the station so am not complaining (and they will give you free earplugs!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The facilities are quite nice - a very pleasant stay in general.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Adorable staff, absolute cleanness

Disliked: noise at 3.00 AM by roommates!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its very close to lot of attraction.

Disliked: My room was on the 3rd floor. :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a highly convenient area and the old building has been well maintained. The price of the beds is competitive for the services rendered and the manager I encountered was extremely competent and helpful to the fullest of her abilities. It was also a taste of history from interesting days and well worth the visit.

Disliked: I had what I hope was an unusual stay as it wasn't satisfactory. The shared dorm included a group of rather young and undiscliplined kids. The person sleeping below me hadn't bathed in at least a year from the odor. Certainly, this wasn't the fault of the staff. However, retreating to a waiting area at the reception desk to wait out the long, sleepless night, the clerk failed to maintain a peaceful area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Severin Studer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Severin would recommend this property

Liked: The Location is absoultely perfect!! You can get to the Big Ben and the London Eye and a lot of other cool spots in some minutes walking. We were there for New Years to see the Fireworks and it was THE place to be then. Everyone tried to get into that Hostel since it's also a pub, so the party was amazing!

Disliked: For New Years it was a bit pricey

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linnéa Ahlberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Work / volunteering

22 December 2012 Linnéa would recommend this property

Liked: Very genuine, I love it!

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great- I had to make a couple treks out to Southwest London so being next to Waterloo was a MUST. Yes, there's train noise, but it's like white noise to me. Free breakfast in the AM, and a really nice shower. Hot water wasn't a problem for me- the building was quite cold outside the rooms however. The staff is super friendly.

Disliked: Some of the facilities are a bit run down, but for me, honestly all I need in a hostel is a bed and a bathroom. That's all you're getting here.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Charlotte Barker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

15 December 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed for one night as a stop over but the staff were extremely accommodating and helpful and I had a good nights sleep even with the little bit of noise from the trains and the bar downstairs.

Disliked: The hostel was quiet small and there was not a lot of room in the bedrooms and there was only one powerpoint for the four people in my room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and staff, nice interior, nice bar!

Disliked: Bad smell in front of men's toilets. Ladies toilets could be a bit warmer.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012

Liked: Nice staff, they locked up our stuff, we needed a code to get in at night and to get into our room which was cool, and there was a breakfast provided. They also provided towels.

Disliked: It's pretty dirty and the water pressure/hot water in the bathrooms is not good. The bathrooms were sort of gross in general. The breakfast doesn't include anything helathy, it's really just a bunch of sugary stuff.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

raymond ho

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 November 2012 raymond would recommend this property

Liked: I like the atmosphere that the main area gave out, it was comfortable and very friendly.

Disliked: I didn't like the stairs, too many stairs but that's a personal preference.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is awesome, location is great, there is a bar within the place !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Wayne Bebb

Alone

Events / festivals

30 October 2012 Wayne would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Lots of interesting people to meet !! And excellent prices. Plus a discount at the bar. Dorms were key coded and the hostel ran a policy downstairs where you could safely store laptops or other valuables with a ticket system if and when you were out and about town. Also seemed they may of held goods overnight in their lockup if required. Breakfast offered cereals, tea coffee and toast with jam etc good for when you need a quick bite and getting out in London quickly. Also their are other places to eat near by at reasonable prices.

Disliked: Right on the train line of waterloo, but not a major issue. Beds were a little squeaky and old. Basic accommodation but well worth the price.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common area is perfect: a great pub where you can drink a beer, join a conversation, read a book or listen to the music. The staff is very helpful for everything, and it's really great. The location is good: 2 minutes from Lamberth North, served by all the night lines that stop at Waterloo, which is just 10 minutes walking. There also 2 Barclays Dock Station for hiring a cheap and good bike: the best way for discovering London.

Disliked: Just a thing: there aren't, at least in the dormitory for 16 people, some lockers big enough for putting in average backpacks, even if they have a storage service for valuables really good. Maybe, if there were, two girls would not have been stolen a camera and a Kindle, that were in their bags, left there just for one hour, under the blankets. But this is the matter of every hostel: you don't know who is the person close to you, so it's better be really careful.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Diego Duarte

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very well located, 10min from Parliament,Big Ben...The staff was amazing, very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was very good, a lot of young and nice people staying there, we had a good time there.

Disliked: Even though it was well located, it's next to the train tracks which can be annoying sometimes with the noise of the trains. The bathrooms weren't good, most of the showers didn't work properly with very few water dropping and it was not very clean.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Olivia Huerva Sesé

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 October 2012 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: the situation is good and you can visited a lot of places without you walk a lot

Disliked: the breakfast had nothing salty only sweet!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Kelly

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Not a bad location, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the downstairs bar had a fun vibe.

Disliked: Beds weren't that comfortable and they could probably use a few more showers considering how many people are staying there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Jurcic

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: I fully enjoyed my stay at Walrus Waterloo, staff was really friendly and helpful. Great atmosphere and it felt like we were a big family there. I met many interesting people. Very clean regarding the fact there are dozens of people circulating on daily basis. Safe and secure - no one can enter without permission / password. Neat and cozy place, cool music and cheap prices in the pub. I'll probably stay there next time I visit London. And location is superb, just by the underground station, you can be in any part of London in minutes.

Disliked: -

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly backpackers stay here.

Disliked: Cramped and basic. Many more people to a room than at YHA.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is simply amazing (I got the impression the place is staff-owned). I've seen quite a few hostels around the globe but these fellows outdo every other place I've been to what comes to friendliness and helpfulness. They manage to create a homely feeling without being too obtrusive. Big up for the location, too - less than two minutes' walk from Lambeth North tube station and around five minutes from Waterloo. Fair-priced eateries and supermarkets in the neighbourhood and a 24-hour grocer on the way from the tube. Around 20 minutes by foot from Soho. Downstairs pub (which doubles as reception and breakfast room) is decently priced and some locals seem to frequent it, too - not your basic backpacker inferno. Kitchen facilities are good (a big stove, microwave, couple of fridges). Wi-fi is free, though in practice it really works on the first floor and in the pub, plus on the second floor on a good day.

Disliked: The biggest problem is simply that it's located in an old English building. You'll probably encounter a couple of cold showers and clogged toilets during your stay. They seemed to be making reparations all the time, though, so hopefully they'll get down to the plumbing at some point. Another big downside are the narrow and noisy metal lockers and squeaky old bunks. Turned out to be even bigger a problem than the railway next door. You can manage with earplugs (as in any hostel dorm), but I sure hope the lockers will be replaced sometime soon.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Rebecca Orr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: It was old and run down. The showers were terrible, beds old and falling to pieces. They were doing work on the place during our stay which was good to see as it needs it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people, cheap bar, good location, friendly staff.

Disliked: The tap was leaking and flooding the bathroom for 3 days despite us reporting it. There was not enough hot water and even worse not enough water pressure to get the soap off. It was dripping water from the 4th floor shower into the 3rd floor bathroom.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels