We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

87.2% Overall Rating

1695 out of 1844 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2015)

"I enjoyed the lobby and great continental breakfast in the morning. The bar/lobby has a great atmosphere!"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.53
  • Towel USD 1.53

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
28.30 USD

Hostel 86.7% 66 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
38.23 USD

Hostel 77.5% 384 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
60.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
London Eye Hostel
16.75 USD

Hostel 72.3% 536 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
52.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
33.66 USD

Hostel 80.1% 318 reviews
Safestay London Elephant & Castle
22.95 USD

Hostel 84.8% 258 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
76.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

1695 out of 1844 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 1428 of 1782 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 57 | 58   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

VICTORIA DEY

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 VICTORIA would recommend this property

Liked: In zone 1, good value, EXTREMELY accommodating staff, a nice pub downstairs and clean simple rooms.

Disliked: It's south of the Thames which suited our trip but I can't imagine it would suit everybody.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to metro station. nice and friendlt staff overthere. breakfast was alright.

Disliked: too close to train areas. quite noisy at night with the repeated train sound. room was abit cramp but overall experience was alright.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ramon de la Rosa

Alone

Business / conference

15 June 2013 Ramon would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the environment, having a beer at the pub downstairs in the end of the day. Warm atmosphere and a great meeting point to talk with travellers. The kitchen is quite handy in order to keep your budget. And location is awesome, next to the London Eye and near the Houses of the Parliament. It's passed some time since I was at Walrus and I feel a bit guilty because I didn't fill the review. But I would like to thank the staff for the assistance, the conversation and the fine details, specially to Monica and Alex.

Disliked: Well, just a minor point: the Waterloo train station is near, so great to have a main trainstation near, but in the other hand the noise of the trains can be heard. Not a trouble at all when the room windows are closed (isolation is excellent), but during warm time and windows opened, you notice the railway. Anyway, I feel it is a minor problem and definitely I would go back to Walrus for my next stage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricardo Augusto Freire Maia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Ricardo Augusto would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff and location. Alex, Ana, Dean and all others were very friendly! It´s a very good hostel!

Disliked: The breakfast begins only at 08:00 a.m., it´s too late! It would begin at 07:00 a.m. at maximum!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Thanh Hoa Pham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Thanh Hoa would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Free breakfast. Wifi. Friendly staff. Clean bathroom.

Disliked: A little bit crowded. Few sockets for chargers. The London Eye Hostel provides a reading lamp and 2 sockets for each bed, makes life much easier.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan Sng

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff. safe place to stay. clean!

Disliked: our locker spoilt. that's about it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gunnar Oldeide

Alone

City break

10 June 2013 Gunnar would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was excellent

Disliked: My bad wasn't very comfortable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location (near the London Eye and BigBen) and how helpful the staff was. The bar is really nice too!

Disliked: I would really recommend earplugs (they provide free ones at the reception) because it is really beside a train station and the bed are a bit noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicación es simplemente perfecta, fácil de moverse a pie a cualquier sitio de la ciudad.. Las habitaciones limpias y comodas, el bar tiene mucha onda..El staff es excelente, siempre de buen humor y súper dispuestos a ayudarte en lo que necesites. Definitivamente hicieron mi estadía en Londres inolvidable... Recomendaría el hostel sin dudarlo :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 May 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not enough showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian H. Morris

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

19 May 2013 Christian H. would recommend this property

Liked: Within walking distance of Westminster Abbey, and the area. Nice, fun pub on the ground level, boy wasn't too loud. The beds in the four person dorms were very comfy. Staff was very friendly and helpful. A bus stop directly out front, and close Waterloo and Lambeth North tube stations.

Disliked: Missed breakfast because we slept in, but it was free and from 8:00 to 10:00.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hok Him Chow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013 Hok Him would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: Hok Him left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahmed Hegazy

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Ahmed would recommend this property

Liked: The Location is Wow

Disliked: i think you should provide Breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amit Cohen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Amit would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: the mattress are bad and the beds squeak with every little move. But, for the money it's a reasonable compromise.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: + good breakfast + friendliness of stuff

Disliked: sometimes quite noisy at night (next to railway)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Farragher

Alone

Events / festivals

09 May 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were welcoming and helpful, good central location, easy to find, the pub downstairs is very homely and you get a discount on drinks if you are staying at the hostel. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. The breakfast included a choice of 4 cereals, brown and white toast, 2 types of fruit juice, tea and fresh coffee and fresh fruit.

Disliked: The mattress was well worn and very uncomfortable - I could feel the springs digging into me. You definitely need earplugs to sleep through the noise from the trains.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monaco Hector Dario

Alone

Business / conference

21 April 2013 Monaco would recommend this property

Liked: Es altamente comendable. A mis cincuenta años no es fácil de complacerme, sin embargo es un lugar donde quedaría tranquilo de que mis hijos se hospeden.

Disliked: No tuve inconveniente alguno.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: None

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luciano Leveroni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Luciano would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice and helpful!!

Disliked: No common area, it's a bar-hostel, but the bar closes at 11pm. It's quite expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and friendly. great atmosphere and great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ruth Alejo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Noise from train station.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHER SHAH

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2013 SHER would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location of this hostel. It is located very close to the popular visiting places of London like Westminster parliament buildings, Westminster Abbey, London bridge, London Eye, Tower Bridge and many more. Provision of free wifi, free breakfast and low fares are additional benefits .

Disliked: SHER left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and staff friendly

Disliked: It was pretty cold inside (though this might be a British thing for all I know).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Niels Koll

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2013 Niels would recommend this property

Liked: first of all the location is just perfect. the walrus is located in between the metro stations lambeth north and waterloo. There are several supermarkets (iceland, 24/7 food store, etc.) around the corner. An ATM across the street and the own walrus bar in the same building. the staff is very nice and always there to help you with directions, tips or just nice conversations. clean rooms and bathrooms/shower rooms on every floor. the kitchen has all supplies needed. definitely one of the best hostels i have ever been to.

Disliked: Niels left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ravi Raina

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 February 2013 Ravi would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing


See all London hostels
See all London hotels