We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

88.9% Overall Rating

1676 out of 1824 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/03/2015)

Antonella Dolce Brazzuna thinks…

"Everything. Excellent attention from staff. very helpful and kind. Safe, well located, free breakfast. pub downstairs. lovely!"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.51
  • Towel USD 1.51

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
27.95 USD

Hostel 85.8% 53 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
28.69 USD

Hostel 77.0% 379 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
59.68 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
London Eye Hostel
21.08 USD

Hostel 69.9% 525 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
49.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
35.88 USD

Hostel 77.8% 309 reviews
Safestay
30.22 USD

Hostel 92.0% 241 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
75.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

1676 out of 1824 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
98.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 1416 of 1761 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahmed Hegazy

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Ahmed would recommend this property

Liked: The Location is Wow

Disliked: i think you should provide Breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amit Cohen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Amit would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: the mattress are bad and the beds squeak with every little move. But, for the money it's a reasonable compromise.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: + good breakfast + friendliness of stuff

Disliked: sometimes quite noisy at night (next to railway)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Farragher

Alone

Events / festivals

09 May 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were welcoming and helpful, good central location, easy to find, the pub downstairs is very homely and you get a discount on drinks if you are staying at the hostel. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. The breakfast included a choice of 4 cereals, brown and white toast, 2 types of fruit juice, tea and fresh coffee and fresh fruit.

Disliked: The mattress was well worn and very uncomfortable - I could feel the springs digging into me. You definitely need earplugs to sleep through the noise from the trains.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monaco Hector Dario

Alone

Business / conference

21 April 2013 Monaco would recommend this property

Liked: Es altamente comendable. A mis cincuenta años no es fácil de complacerme, sin embargo es un lugar donde quedaría tranquilo de que mis hijos se hospeden.

Disliked: No tuve inconveniente alguno.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: None

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luciano Leveroni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Luciano would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice and helpful!!

Disliked: No common area, it's a bar-hostel, but the bar closes at 11pm. It's quite expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and friendly. great atmosphere and great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ruth Alejo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Noise from train station.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHER SHAH

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2013 SHER would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location of this hostel. It is located very close to the popular visiting places of London like Westminster parliament buildings, Westminster Abbey, London bridge, London Eye, Tower Bridge and many more. Provision of free wifi, free breakfast and low fares are additional benefits .

Disliked: SHER left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and staff friendly

Disliked: It was pretty cold inside (though this might be a British thing for all I know).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Niels Koll

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2013 Niels would recommend this property

Liked: first of all the location is just perfect. the walrus is located in between the metro stations lambeth north and waterloo. There are several supermarkets (iceland, 24/7 food store, etc.) around the corner. An ATM across the street and the own walrus bar in the same building. the staff is very nice and always there to help you with directions, tips or just nice conversations. clean rooms and bathrooms/shower rooms on every floor. the kitchen has all supplies needed. definitely one of the best hostels i have ever been to.

Disliked: Niels left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ravi Raina

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 February 2013 Ravi would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Round

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 February 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: less than 5m from waterloo station, lovely friendly staff, decent bar downstairs (and 15% discount on drinks for residents), free towels and linen, and free breakfast (cereal, toast, fruit, coffee, tea, juice etc) and free wifi! awesome on all counts.

Disliked: near waterloo means the trains are noisy - but i wanted to be near the station so am not complaining (and they will give you free earplugs!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The facilities are quite nice - a very pleasant stay in general.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Adorable staff, absolute cleanness

Disliked: noise at 3.00 AM by roommates!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its very close to lot of attraction.

Disliked: My room was on the 3rd floor. :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a highly convenient area and the old building has been well maintained. The price of the beds is competitive for the services rendered and the manager I encountered was extremely competent and helpful to the fullest of her abilities. It was also a taste of history from interesting days and well worth the visit.

Disliked: I had what I hope was an unusual stay as it wasn't satisfactory. The shared dorm included a group of rather young and undiscliplined kids. The person sleeping below me hadn't bathed in at least a year from the odor. Certainly, this wasn't the fault of the staff. However, retreating to a waiting area at the reception desk to wait out the long, sleepless night, the clerk failed to maintain a peaceful area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Severin Studer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Severin would recommend this property

Liked: The Location is absoultely perfect!! You can get to the Big Ben and the London Eye and a lot of other cool spots in some minutes walking. We were there for New Years to see the Fireworks and it was THE place to be then. Everyone tried to get into that Hostel since it's also a pub, so the party was amazing!

Disliked: For New Years it was a bit pricey

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linnéa Ahlberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Work / volunteering

22 December 2012 Linnéa would recommend this property

Liked: Very genuine, I love it!

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great- I had to make a couple treks out to Southwest London so being next to Waterloo was a MUST. Yes, there's train noise, but it's like white noise to me. Free breakfast in the AM, and a really nice shower. Hot water wasn't a problem for me- the building was quite cold outside the rooms however. The staff is super friendly.

Disliked: Some of the facilities are a bit run down, but for me, honestly all I need in a hostel is a bed and a bathroom. That's all you're getting here.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Charlotte Barker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

15 December 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed for one night as a stop over but the staff were extremely accommodating and helpful and I had a good nights sleep even with the little bit of noise from the trains and the bar downstairs.

Disliked: The hostel was quiet small and there was not a lot of room in the bedrooms and there was only one powerpoint for the four people in my room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and staff, nice interior, nice bar!

Disliked: Bad smell in front of men's toilets. Ladies toilets could be a bit warmer.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012

Liked: Nice staff, they locked up our stuff, we needed a code to get in at night and to get into our room which was cool, and there was a breakfast provided. They also provided towels.

Disliked: It's pretty dirty and the water pressure/hot water in the bathrooms is not good. The bathrooms were sort of gross in general. The breakfast doesn't include anything helathy, it's really just a bunch of sugary stuff.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels