We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

90.3% Overall Rating

1690 out of 1838 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2015)

"This is my favourite place to stay in London. I've stayed here 3 or 4 times now. I love how welcoming the staff are - they always explain things thoroughly and joke around and are very friendly. I feel at home here,…"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.56
  • Towel USD 1.56

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
28.87 USD

Hostel 86.5% 63 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
20.27 USD

Hostel 77.8% 383 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
61.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
London Eye Hostel
23.33 USD

Hostel 73.1% 530 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
46.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
37.06 USD

Hostel 78.7% 314 reviews
Safestay
23.41 USD

Hostel 89.4% 251 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
78.03 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

1690 out of 1838 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
99.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 1425 of 1775 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 49 | 50 | 51 | 52 | 53 | 54 | 55 | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Peterson

02 September 2009 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing and friendly, and very helpful. The facilities were basic and owner spoke about improvements he was in the process of making. This hostel has only been open for a few months and the bugs are being worked out in a very speedy manner. Highly recommended for budget travelers for location and staff.

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Claudia Presa

01 September 2009 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: location and staff

Disliked: Claudia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and very helpfull. We had to walk 3 stairs with our heavy suitcases, but they helped us with that as much as they could. The were also very helpfull with giving directions and tips where to go to. When we booked the hostel we couldn't find on the site that breakfast and internet was included. But when we came there, there was a simple, but nice breakfast everyday and there was wireless internet for free. Also the hostel is really close to the London Eye

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

simon mullin

01 September 2009 simon would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: simon left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ian Delves

31 August 2009 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: good location, right by waterloo station and north lambeth terminal. friendly staff. the first floor is actually just a bar so from the exterior it doesn't look like a hostel. recommended

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's got breakfast by now...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small, great location, bar on site and friendly staff and people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 August 2009

Liked: horrible

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location AND friendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the Walrus is particularly fabulous: right on the Thames, with Westminster and Big Ben and the London Eye so incredibly close. It's a great place to start to find somewhere to eat too, since it's right at the end of Lower March and the Cut. Of course, the railtracks are even closer, but when you're really tired, you can't hear them.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, bedsheets and breakfast included, very good service

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: =) nice beds! bad lights well whatever we found the beds and it was light int he room all night ad off all day.;) ha ha. something went wrong but it was fun.:P this place was great and near city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: q

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Melissa Van Kerckvoorde

24 August 2009 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: It was right in the middle of everything. A bit hard to find at first, but once you knew where it was, it was only a five minute walk from the waterloo station. At night, it was quite noisy because of the train, but with the windows closed and some good earplugs, it wasn't so bad.

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convinient location near Westminster.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kristine Thrift

22 August 2009 Kristine would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, even better staff. They could not have been more friendly or helpful. Underneath the hostel is a wonderful bar, so it's easy to grab a nightcap before you go to sleep at night. Big Ben is less than a five minute walk!

Disliked: Kristine left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bryce Braithwaite

21 August 2009 Bryce would recommend this property

Liked: I spent two and a half weeks there. The place is cool and staff friendly and good fun. Its only a fairly new though so for how long it's been open it's really gd value. Having the pub downstairs is great and I believe since I left a common room is now available, which will give it more of a hostel vibe. It is right next the train line but they r doing the right things to make it as comfortable as possible.

Disliked: Bryce left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, David, is really nice and helpfull. I think this place is okay if you don't saty too long or if you like the railway noise.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tomas Vila Amores

19 August 2009 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: good for students and young people :)

Disliked: Tomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

caroline ann

19 August 2009 caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The important thing about a stay for me is a comfy bed, the condition of the shower and also the toilets.I must say that they were all in an impression condition. The sheets were clean, and so was the air in the room, fresh. I was also impressed with the kitchen which was equipped with plates & cutleries, microwave, cooking oven, toaster and so on..Quite handy. This is also a great place to meet more people. Loved the people handling the hostel who are very friendly and helpful too. I also like the the distant of the hostel which is close to some of the main attractions in Central London. I certainly will recommend other friends to consider Walrus. Although, I must say that the exterior of the building doesn't complement the interior of the hostel. Therefore, do not judge the book by it's cover ; )

Disliked: caroline left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Frederika Verheij

19 August 2009 Frederika would recommend this property

Liked: De staff was very helpful and friendly. The Hostel is just a few minutes from the Waterloo station.

Disliked: Frederika left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marie Bernier

18 August 2009 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The Walrus is a small Hostel very well located. There is a nightbus that stops a few minutes of walk from the place. There are also two subway stations close...and it is at five minutes of walk from the BigBen.But what made our journey so much pleasant was David, who works at the hotel. He was really friendly and helpful and he gave us some tips about the city. Since it's a small Hostel, you get to know the other people wich is good thing. When we were there, they were working to add some rooms and bathrooms, so we know it will improve. But with our experience, we do not have anything negative to say. THANK YOU DAVID.The 3 quebecers

Disliked: Marie left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels