HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Walrus Hostel London

Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 75%

Location 90%

Safety 83%

Staff 95%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am

If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance.

Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 75%

Location 90%

Safety 83%

Staff 95%

Value 82%

Showing 521-157 of 157 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great faculty. The best hostel I have ever stayed in (atmosphere especially), and I have stayed in 20+ hostels.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great staff!

Disliked: The location wasn't quite in the heart of the city but we just took the metro which was close by so it wasn't a real factor!

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: Transportation at night

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Everything. Brilliant, friendly service and a relatively relaxing stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Friendly staff, pretty well situated near to Waterloo Station. Nice friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Well it wasn't The Ritz but I guess that's to be expected for the price. Can't say I was too impressed by the proximity of the trains wizzing by the kitchen window & therefore the noise. Also quite noisy with traffic & sirens during the night.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noise from pub and railway tracks at night

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is awesome to see the sights of London. The staff go out of their way to help you out with whatever you need! The trains were not a problem at all for us!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, nice bar, good location

Disliked: It was clean enough but I like to see updated more spacious bathrooms to get a cleaner feel.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location! It was easy to get to from Heathrow, easy to find, and easy to see all the major sights in a short time! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Beds were a little uncomfortable. Also, it got really hot a stuffy in the room, so I opened the window more, which let more noise in from the street and trains. So make sure you have good earplugs!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The people at this place are amazing, be it the owners, the staff or the customers. I missed my flight and had to cancel the room reservation for that night, Alex and Erin waived all the penalty charges for the reservation and even booked me into another larger room for the same price the next day when I arrived at Walrus. I'm really thankful for their understanding and flexibility.Apart from awesome people, the location of the hostel is unbeatable, with its nearness to the tube and various attractions. It's really near the train station and you can hear the trains all day and night but Walrus provides earplugs and remember to wear them to get a good night rest! Breakfast was a big plus too, there were cereal, milk, bread, drinks and various spreads to fill your stomach in the morning. Rooms are clean and comfortable with free towels. The hostel is also safe, there are lockers in the room for you to store your valuables. Keep up the good work Walrus! Cheers :)

Disliked: None.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability