We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

88.6% Overall Rating

1665 out of 1813 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/02/2015)

"The main reason I chose this hostel was because of it's location; it is just a 5 minute walk away from the London Eye. But, as soon as I checked-in I realized that location was just one of it's many perks. The staff…"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.54
  • Towel USD 1.54

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
28.54 USD

Hostel 86.4% 50 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
21.58 USD

Hostel 76.0% 377 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
60.93 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
London Eye Hostel
18.43 USD

Hostel 65.8% 520 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
42.42 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
26.22 USD

Hostel 75.2% 305 reviews
Safestay
23.14 USD

Hostel 91.7% 238 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
77.12 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

1665 out of 1813 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
98.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 1410 of 1750 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 49 | 50 | 51 | 52 | 53 | 54 | 55 | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: q

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Melissa Van Kerckvoorde

24 August 2009 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: It was right in the middle of everything. A bit hard to find at first, but once you knew where it was, it was only a five minute walk from the waterloo station. At night, it was quite noisy because of the train, but with the windows closed and some good earplugs, it wasn't so bad.

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convinient location near Westminster.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kristine Thrift

22 August 2009 Kristine would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, even better staff. They could not have been more friendly or helpful. Underneath the hostel is a wonderful bar, so it's easy to grab a nightcap before you go to sleep at night. Big Ben is less than a five minute walk!

Disliked: Kristine left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bryce Braithwaite

21 August 2009 Bryce would recommend this property

Liked: I spent two and a half weeks there. The place is cool and staff friendly and good fun. Its only a fairly new though so for how long it's been open it's really gd value. Having the pub downstairs is great and I believe since I left a common room is now available, which will give it more of a hostel vibe. It is right next the train line but they r doing the right things to make it as comfortable as possible.

Disliked: Bryce left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, David, is really nice and helpfull. I think this place is okay if you don't saty too long or if you like the railway noise.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tomas Vila Amores

19 August 2009 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: good for students and young people :)

Disliked: Tomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

caroline ann

19 August 2009 caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The important thing about a stay for me is a comfy bed, the condition of the shower and also the toilets.I must say that they were all in an impression condition. The sheets were clean, and so was the air in the room, fresh. I was also impressed with the kitchen which was equipped with plates & cutleries, microwave, cooking oven, toaster and so on..Quite handy. This is also a great place to meet more people. Loved the people handling the hostel who are very friendly and helpful too. I also like the the distant of the hostel which is close to some of the main attractions in Central London. I certainly will recommend other friends to consider Walrus. Although, I must say that the exterior of the building doesn't complement the interior of the hostel. Therefore, do not judge the book by it's cover ; )

Disliked: caroline left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Frederika Verheij

19 August 2009 Frederika would recommend this property

Liked: De staff was very helpful and friendly. The Hostel is just a few minutes from the Waterloo station.

Disliked: Frederika left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marie Bernier

18 August 2009 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The Walrus is a small Hostel very well located. There is a nightbus that stops a few minutes of walk from the place. There are also two subway stations close...and it is at five minutes of walk from the BigBen.But what made our journey so much pleasant was David, who works at the hotel. He was really friendly and helpful and he gave us some tips about the city. Since it's a small Hostel, you get to know the other people wich is good thing. When we were there, they were working to add some rooms and bathrooms, so we know it will improve. But with our experience, we do not have anything negative to say. THANK YOU DAVID.The 3 quebecers

Disliked: Marie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Keng Teoh

17 August 2009 Paul Keng would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location to explore London. Minutes away from the river bank, London Eye. A nice stroll to the Tate Modern and Globe Theatre. A 15-20 minutes walk to Westminster, Big Ben, Trafalgar Sq. You've got two tube stations within 2 minutes walk (Waterloo and Lamberth North) (Northern , Bakerloo, Jubilee underground lines). You couldn't be any closer to a London pub with just less than 50 steps from your bedroom door. Fabulous staff who are really helpful.

Disliked: Paul Keng left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good, relaxed atmospere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 August 2009

Liked: not much!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Luis Farina

14 August 2009 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: They will be even better and they´ve just opened, critics maybe should care when they offer everything they want to. Since then... Go to the Walrus.

Disliked: Luis left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Billam

11 August 2009 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable beds. in centre of London so not spending hours/money travelling

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Matthias Kschammer

10 August 2009 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: Place to rock with very cool and helpful staff! But loud and a little dirty, so nothing for little princesses. The rooms are on top of a cool pub and while I was staying they had a small concert in the garden with the singer of the band "the feeling" and you could also meet Sophie Ellis Bextor sitting in the garden. The showers are under construction and not very clean. The dorms are clean but you hear a lot of street noise. I would recomment this place if you are in London to party and are not gonna sleep a lot anyway since the location is perfect. If you mind getting a good sleep and having a nice bathroom, then better stay somewhere else.

Disliked: Matthias left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Gillett

09 August 2009 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful staff and yes you too harrietbest location only afew minutse from london eye and the tuberight next too cheap supermarket, post office and internet cafe

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Premysl Jelinek

09 August 2009 Premysl would recommend this property

Liked: Well, I finished there my UK trip 2009. It was good hostel, pretty clean, wifi. The furniture wasn't old, but still there were big problems. There's no dining room, so everything you cook you also have to eat in the kitchen or room. And the other problem, ot's really near a railwaybridge, so it's not so easy to sleep there... But you'll get used to it.

Disliked: Premysl left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 August 2009

Liked: You could walk to all the sights of Central London no bother.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alissa Leeds

07 August 2009 Alissa would recommend this property

Liked: The Walrus is an amazing time; whether you are there for the night or for the month, whether you are traveling alone or with loads of friends. Between the location, staff, and building itself it is impossible to not enojoy London. If you don't have a good stay here then there is something wrong with YOU.

Disliked: Alissa left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although there was a lot of noice because of the trains from Waterloo Station, I slept very wel! (maybe it is a good idea to wear earplugs? I didn't use theme, but some other people did)It is a good hostel with a great location! You can walk to the centre of london. The owner of the hostel was very friendly, as were the rest of the people we met there.Although the hostel is almost on the trainnetwork of Waterloo Station which makes it very noisy,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Andrea Horn

05 August 2009 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The location of The Walrus is excellent! It's in a lively neighboughood and it's close to everything literally. At the end of the road there are the theaters Old and Young Vic, and the buses stop right in front of the door. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room (6-bed dorm ensuite) was cosy and the shower was clean. Yes, it's a bit noisy, but it didn't bothered us that much. I'd recommend it to everyone who looks for an accommodation for good price in the heart of good old London.

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 August 2009

Liked: The staffs are very nice. But the hostel is not very clean. It is noisy because close to the train station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to meet people,friendly staff, but the room is too small

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 August 2009

Liked: I really liked the friendly staff, they were very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels