HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

91.7% Overall Rating

1637 out of 1781 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

"VERY friendly and welcoming staff - made a huge difference. Good (free!) breakfast and great bar downstairs."

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.69
  • Towel USD 1.69

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.32 USD

Hostel 94.7% 29 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
25.38 USD

Hostel 82.1% 366 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
83.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
London Eye Hostel
23.62 USD

Hostel 66.5% 512 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
66.02 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
42.32 USD

Hostel 70.9% 293 reviews
Safestay
33.86 USD

Hostel 87.0% 216 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
84.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

1637 out of 1781 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
99.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 1389 of 1718 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 | 52 | 53 | 54 | 55 | 56   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location, works very well with a zone 1/2 travel card. The place isn't much, and hasn't seen too much effort, but it works. The breakfast is a bit sad, but they do have a kitchen available to guests. The staff is very nice, but they can be difficult to find.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Andrew Arndt

09 October 2009

Liked: Free Wifi and bar good, close to everything, did not like fact that was right next to train tracking into waterloo, was loud.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cheryl King Koi

08 October 2009 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: The location was so close to so many sights of London. It's within an easy walk to the tube station and the staff couldn't be any more helpful. The 6 bed bedroom were quite roomy with lockers and the beds were comfy. Having powerpoints near the mirror is a definite plus for us girls that need to do our hair. Yes, the trains are noisy but after a while I didn't seem to hear them. I give this hostel a big thumbs up for fun and location.

Disliked: Cheryl left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good tmosphere and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's fairly clean for a hostel, staff really friendly and helpful, really very close to all the main attractions, the only downside is the noise of the trains from the Waterloo station but it's not to bad either. Definitely would stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff! Even when I arrived in the middle of the night way after the official check-in time, they let me in and showed the places. Very central location, truly British looking premises and brilliant atmosphere! I visited some other top rated hostels as well, but they really couldn't beat Walrus.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ana lugarov

06 October 2009 ana would recommend this property

Liked: ... I really had so great time there!!!!!! the stuff are 5+ really!!! I hope I get there one more time!!! ... big kiss from croatian girls!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Disliked: ana left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that it was so close to London Eye and the Big Ben! And I also think the staff was really nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sanju Narayan

04 October 2009 Sanju would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place to stay. Great location and has hot showers which is so important. The staff are really nice and helpful. Dave there is great with loads of info. and useful suggestions.

Disliked: Sanju left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Stock

04 October 2009 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpfull and its a easy place to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Edward left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

tania herrera

03 October 2009 tania would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: tania left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is located 4 mins from the London eye so getting in to the center by walking is so easy, staff are really helpful, you get a simple breakfast, yes like most off the coments i have read on here the hostel is right next to the railway line but i can sleep throw anything, will be back again, but i will advise you to get to the hostel with less stress come to lambeth north tube it takes 3 mins to walk to the hostel,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Leonardo da silveira

28 September 2009 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, not a fun place to meet people and not so clean!!

Disliked: Leonardo left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

27 September 2009

Liked: It was near the Parlamient

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 September 2009

Liked: Friendly staff and a cosy bar downstairs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 September 2009

Liked: The staff was nice and the people staying there were also well mannered. The pub downstairs is quite nice and thelocation is good either. The dorms look like an attick and are not to clean, I havent witnessed any bugs though (thankfully). The major drawback of this place is that it is located right next to a train rail going in to the waterloo station. Trains are braking there every few minutes so its next to impossible to sleep there without the ear plugs (or an iPod if you like). Decent place to crush for few nights but wouldnt recomend it for a longer stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Trung Tran

24 September 2009 Trung would recommend this property

Liked: This should be a good place for travellers. Very clean and friendly staffs.I can see London Eye just few steps away from The Walrus. The negative side of this location is that the hostel is too close to the railway and it will be troublesome for people who cant get along with the noise comes from the railway even after midnight. However, there is no problem for me as i am so tired after trips and just easily sleep whenever i lay my back on the bed.

Disliked: Trung left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: While the noise level of the street and railway outside reminded me a bit of Elwood Blues' flat in The Blues Brothers, the location itself was great, with only a short walk to the next Tube station and the London's government district right across the Thames. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. Only the rooms could be a bit cleaner.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location (5 minutes from Big Ben on one side and the Imperial War Museum on the other) + Nicest staff I've ever met, incredibly helpful, they would all help me out with the buses I had to take and such stuff and suggest places to go to + Common room where I met a lot of people + Kitchen with everything you might need + Breakfast included + Nice pub downstairs. The only bad points I could find are the lack of elevator and the noise from the trains, neither of which bothered me, but I guess it's good to know before you go.If I ever go to London again, I'll definitely stay at The Walrus again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: David, the facility manager, is Da Man! Responsible, friendly, helpful, he makes that place. Oh, also it's probably one of the best located hostels in the city...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Michael was very friendly. Bathrooms and toilets were clean. Alth next to a railway, I didn't hear a thing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff, opportunity to meet people, great location for traeller

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ruth McCallum

17 September 2009 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Will be good once they get a common room. Friendly staff. Good mattresses. Free breakfast was a nice bonus.

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Carpenter

16 September 2009

Liked: I loved my stay here! the staff were incredibly nice and helpful. They gave me maps and advice and everything in between. The location was great as it is 30 seconds from Lambeth station and only 4 to 5 minutes from waterloo main station, but to be honest i walked the short 4 minutes to the london eye and westminster bridge instead. The rooms were clean and there are also big lockers in your room to which they give you a key, i could fit all my luggage in it. I had sinks and a shower in my room, also there are 3 other showers on this floor, there is always hot water too. The kitchen was awesome as they provide a stove and all the kitchen utensils you would need to cook a meal. There is also a breakfast provided that gives you more than enough to get to lunch; with cereal, tea, cookies, coffee, cocoa, and homemade bread for toast. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Disliked: Caitlin left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels