HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Walrus Hostel London Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 75%

Location 89%

Safety 83%

Staff 95%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am

If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance.

Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 75%

Location 89%

Safety 83%

Staff 95%

Value 82%

Showing 491-148 of 148 reviews

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Its location is good.

Disliked: I didnt like room, bathroom, toilets..etc.In general it is not a good place to stay and so expensive in spite of the quality of the place.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Everything, excellent location, great staff, good prices.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Safe, close to popular attractions, staff was really friendly and willing to help with whatever you needed, very charming with loads of character

Disliked: The wifi wouldn't work on the 3rd floor even though they said it would

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location:Was located very close to many of the tourist attractions as well as the underground station.

Disliked: one of the showers was not working. Room itself didn't have many lights.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fantastic place! I've stayed a few times now and all the staff always go out of their way to help you and make you feel welcome. I once arrived at 7am in the morning and was able to store my luggage, provided with a towel for showering and offered breakfast. All my check in was done there and then and I was provided with a key so that I didn't have to come back and go through it all at 2pm when the room was ready. This was very much appreciated! The location is great - within walking distance of many attractions and of course, Waterloo station. Overall a great place to stay...I'm sure I'll be back at some stage!

Disliked: It wasn't a problem for me but the noise of the trains and traffic could be an issue if you're a light sleeper.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked how there was a bar right underneath. They were pretty strict about securing our belongings & locking the doors. I liked that.

Disliked: 20£ key deposit was not mentioned on the website. The beds were soooo uncomfortable, I could feel the springs in my back. No "lounge area" & they advertised a computer room that was a small hole in the wall with a bench.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff and breckfast

Disliked: Could put a bigger sign outside so it would be easyer to find

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved this hostel - very friendly staff and fantastic location (just 5-15 minutes walk from Parliament, Westminster Abbey, London Eye etc). For the price I really don't think you can do better in London!

Disliked: Free wireless internet didn't always work.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff.was amazing they genuinely try to help you

Disliked: No elevator

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I really liked the fact that the hostel had a bar downstairs, good place to hang out. When I arrived I had to wait a few moments, but they asked me very friendly to wait and gave me a glass of water. There seems to be enough showers and facilities in the building. The location is also very good if you want to have a night out at Ministry of sound, they even have a discount for people staying at the hostel.

Disliked: Its a good hostel and staying there is the hostel experience that you should have. Not much to say about what I disliked.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability