HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Walrus Hostel London Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 73%

Location 87%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am

This property has a 2 day cancellation policy.
Please note, if cancelled, modified or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. The total price of the reservation may be charged anytime after booking.

If your booking is over GBP 50 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance.
Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled.

NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 73%

Location 87%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 82%

Showing 491-113 of 113 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and friendly staff.

Disliked: It is in horrible condition. The rooms/ beds are small and cramped. The condition of the hostel is poor. It's more like a bar with some rooms upstairs. Not what I would consider a great hostel, particularly considering how expensive it is. The only thing that made it ok was the very friendly staff.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The walrus has such a homely atmosphere, it definately NOT one of those hostels that you could mistake for a hospital. It has a relaxing, chilled bar downstairs and the staff could not be any more helpful.

Disliked: The showers could be a little warmer, but hey it's summer so no big problem.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place can be a little confusing to find as it is above a bar but once you get there the staff is very helpful and it is a pretty nice hostel. Breakfast is decent toast cereal and coffee. The location is alright it is pretty close to Riverside but you have to take the underground to get anywhere else.

Disliked: Noise could be a problem for some there were trains going by late into the night but I sleep with ear plugs so it didn't bother me at all. The lockers are kind of small but you can get anything valuable in them.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Its location is good.

Disliked: I didnt like room, bathroom, toilets..etc.In general it is not a good place to stay and so expensive in spite of the quality of the place.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Everything, excellent location, great staff, good prices.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Safe, close to popular attractions, staff was really friendly and willing to help with whatever you needed, very charming with loads of character

Disliked: The wifi wouldn't work on the 3rd floor even though they said it would

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location:Was located very close to many of the tourist attractions as well as the underground station.

Disliked: one of the showers was not working. Room itself didn't have many lights.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fantastic place! I've stayed a few times now and all the staff always go out of their way to help you and make you feel welcome. I once arrived at 7am in the morning and was able to store my luggage, provided with a towel for showering and offered breakfast. All my check in was done there and then and I was provided with a key so that I didn't have to come back and go through it all at 2pm when the room was ready. This was very much appreciated! The location is great - within walking distance of many attractions and of course, Waterloo station. Overall a great place to stay...I'm sure I'll be back at some stage!

Disliked: It wasn't a problem for me but the noise of the trains and traffic could be an issue if you're a light sleeper.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked how there was a bar right underneath. They were pretty strict about securing our belongings & locking the doors. I liked that.

Disliked: 20£ key deposit was not mentioned on the website. The beds were soooo uncomfortable, I could feel the springs in my back. No "lounge area" & they advertised a computer room that was a small hole in the wall with a bench.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff and breckfast

Disliked: Could put a bigger sign outside so it would be easyer to find

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability