HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

90.5% Overall Rating

1614 out of 1757 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

Nicolás Polenta thinks…

"The receptionists are great, most of them speak many lenguages, always very helpfull, they have the best tips for going around the city. The hostel is really great, clean toilets and showers, great…"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.68
  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.09 USD

Hostel 97.6% 14 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
21.83 USD

Hostel 78.2% 352 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
66.38 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.9% 47 reviews
London Eye Hostel
20.16 USD

Hostel 65.4% 495 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
57.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
42.01 USD

Hostel 74.4% 286 reviews
Journeys London Bridge Hostel
28.55 USD

Hostel 64.8% 529 reviews
Safestay
31.93 USD

Hostel 87.3% 207 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

1614 out of 1757 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1371 of 1694 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 | 52 | 53 | 54 | 55   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: While the noise level of the street and railway outside reminded me a bit of Elwood Blues' flat in The Blues Brothers, the location itself was great, with only a short walk to the next Tube station and the London's government district right across the Thames. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. Only the rooms could be a bit cleaner.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location (5 minutes from Big Ben on one side and the Imperial War Museum on the other) + Nicest staff I've ever met, incredibly helpful, they would all help me out with the buses I had to take and such stuff and suggest places to go to + Common room where I met a lot of people + Kitchen with everything you might need + Breakfast included + Nice pub downstairs. The only bad points I could find are the lack of elevator and the noise from the trains, neither of which bothered me, but I guess it's good to know before you go.If I ever go to London again, I'll definitely stay at The Walrus again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: David, the facility manager, is Da Man! Responsible, friendly, helpful, he makes that place. Oh, also it's probably one of the best located hostels in the city...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Michael was very friendly. Bathrooms and toilets were clean. Alth next to a railway, I didn't hear a thing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff, opportunity to meet people, great location for traeller

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ruth McCallum

17 September 2009 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Will be good once they get a common room. Friendly staff. Good mattresses. Free breakfast was a nice bonus.

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Carpenter

16 September 2009

Liked: I loved my stay here! the staff were incredibly nice and helpful. They gave me maps and advice and everything in between. The location was great as it is 30 seconds from Lambeth station and only 4 to 5 minutes from waterloo main station, but to be honest i walked the short 4 minutes to the london eye and westminster bridge instead. The rooms were clean and there are also big lockers in your room to which they give you a key, i could fit all my luggage in it. I had sinks and a shower in my room, also there are 3 other showers on this floor, there is always hot water too. The kitchen was awesome as they provide a stove and all the kitchen utensils you would need to cook a meal. There is also a breakfast provided that gives you more than enough to get to lunch; with cereal, tea, cookies, coffee, cocoa, and homemade bread for toast. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Disliked: Caitlin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stefanie Scharf

15 September 2009 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: It was awesome to have Free Breakfast and Free Internet at the Hostel. We didn`t expect that. The Hostel was clean, only a little bit old fashioned. We didn`t regret our decision to stay at the Walrus and would like to come back. Especially the Staff was very friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: Stefanie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The showers in the large dorm are great and the beds extremely comfortable. Best thing about the hostel is the manager, Dave. He's a wealth of information, super warm, friendly and will make you feel at home. I enjoyed my stay there - great value for the money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Qiang Xu

12 September 2009 Qiang would recommend this property

Liked: very wery good place

Disliked: Qiang left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ante Zuani?

11 September 2009 Ante would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff. Other average.

Disliked: Ante left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arpad Horvath

11 September 2009 Arpad would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the 2 days spent at The Walrus. I'll stay there next time I visit London

Disliked: Arpad left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had such an amazing stay here. The staff are really friendly, and really helped me out, with what to do and where to go. Thanks Dave and Harriett! I had a great time in the bar attached, its a lively bar with a nice atmosphere. They also had breakfast included, which was an added bonus for me, as well as its own kitchen facilities. And they're just adding finishing touches on their common room - a great way to meet people. As a single girl traveling on my own, i found this place really safe and secure and comfortable - i will definitely be returning soon! looking forward to it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, great people. Really helpful staff. I would be staying there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Read

08 September 2009 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: excellent place to stay for location to waterloo station and really friendly enthusiastic staff :)

Disliked: Dan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michael Trip

06 September 2009 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpfull and the pub is a great location to drink a pint.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bimal Theophilus

05 September 2009 Bimal would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Toilets and bathroms in good condition. Breakfast included.

Disliked: Bimal left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: back again, great place great staff, just sooo easy to get to all the main sites of londonthanks for the great night in the bar guys

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

05 September 2009

Liked: Hostel owner was incredibly helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is in a great location and is very good for getting to all the main sites, great little bar down stairs, staff really helpful in planing your time in london, they are still doing things with the hostel to in prove it, great free lockers, towls and wifi should be a great place once they have all there plans put in to place, big big kitchen for the number of customers they have, news showers,i have stayed in some bad places in europe and i have to say this is in the top five for me for being worth the cash.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ryan Seaver

02 September 2009 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Location is key for value.

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Peterson

02 September 2009 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing and friendly, and very helpful. The facilities were basic and owner spoke about improvements he was in the process of making. This hostel has only been open for a few months and the bugs are being worked out in a very speedy manner. Highly recommended for budget travelers for location and staff.

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Claudia Presa

01 September 2009 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: location and staff

Disliked: Claudia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and very helpfull. We had to walk 3 stairs with our heavy suitcases, but they helped us with that as much as they could. The were also very helpfull with giving directions and tips where to go to. When we booked the hostel we couldn't find on the site that breakfast and internet was included. But when we came there, there was a simple, but nice breakfast everyday and there was wireless internet for free. Also the hostel is really close to the London Eye

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

simon mullin

01 September 2009 simon would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: simon left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels