We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

86.9% Overall Rating

1652 out of 1798 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Great and helpful staff, very nice breakfast. Nice bar downstairs. A 5 minute walk from the London eye and Big Ben. They provide towels, locks and adapters for no extra fee."

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.63
  • Towel USD 1.63

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.14 USD

Hostel 89.9% 42 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
22.79 USD

Hostel 80.6% 370 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
64.35 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.8% 51 reviews
London Eye Hostel
22.73 USD

Hostel 65.4% 514 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
64.35 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
40.73 USD

Hostel 72.6% 297 reviews
Safestay
24.44 USD

Hostel 88.1% 222 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
81.46 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

1652 out of 1798 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 1402 of 1735 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 | 52 | 53 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only a few minutes walk to Covent Gardens. Solid floors so no noise from the down stairs bar, worth a visit.Staff are also very helpful and work there full time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proprietors were extremely friendly and helpful on all fronts. The only complaint was that the showers were tempermental, but more than usable! The location is ideal for seeing the big sights of London--they're within walking distance, or metro if you prefer it. For its location and the high quality of amenities provided I was exceedingly impressed by the price. I plan to stay here when I visit London again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere. Owner was very friendly!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.Walk everywhere to sights. Staff great. Needs makeover .Remember your ear plugs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

18 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was helpful and the hostel is fairly clean, except for the lower bed sheet, that one was used. Other than that, it was ok. It surprised me that the bar was closed on Saturday night, they only open Mon thru Fri. Pretty strange for a city like London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jody Smith

18 October 2009 Jody would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely great staff, nice and friendly, clean and good showers and beds and a cool bar

Disliked: Jody left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ying Ying Chng

17 October 2009 Ying Ying would recommend this property

Liked: David is a jolly good man who made our stay in London so close to perfection. Although some commented that the nearby train station was the killer of the enjoyment of this hostel, we still recommended it to those who wish to have a roof over their heads in London. We were so tired after all our London adventures that we couldnt hear any train passing by (moreover it was that loud afterall) Alternatively, just pop a few drinks at the bar and you will have a good night rest till next morning~

Disliked: Ying Ying left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was convenient for a location, and it was nice that breakfast was free and included.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

16 October 2009

Liked: the owner was nice and the pub downstairs is OK

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff members are really nice and helpful and you start a day with watching nice cartoons while eating breakfast. All thumbs up!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomer Varon

15 October 2009 Tomer would recommend this property

Liked: david is a great man! very kind and help us alot while we've been there! the hostel has a good location and offers a good rooms.i felt that im getting full value for my money!tnx david and walrus staff - we had a great timeTomer & yoaz - Israel

Disliked: Tomer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

13 October 2009

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

10 October 2009

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location, works very well with a zone 1/2 travel card. The place isn't much, and hasn't seen too much effort, but it works. The breakfast is a bit sad, but they do have a kitchen available to guests. The staff is very nice, but they can be difficult to find.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Andrew Arndt

09 October 2009

Liked: Free Wifi and bar good, close to everything, did not like fact that was right next to train tracking into waterloo, was loud.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cheryl King Koi

08 October 2009 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: The location was so close to so many sights of London. It's within an easy walk to the tube station and the staff couldn't be any more helpful. The 6 bed bedroom were quite roomy with lockers and the beds were comfy. Having powerpoints near the mirror is a definite plus for us girls that need to do our hair. Yes, the trains are noisy but after a while I didn't seem to hear them. I give this hostel a big thumbs up for fun and location.

Disliked: Cheryl left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good tmosphere and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's fairly clean for a hostel, staff really friendly and helpful, really very close to all the main attractions, the only downside is the noise of the trains from the Waterloo station but it's not to bad either. Definitely would stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff! Even when I arrived in the middle of the night way after the official check-in time, they let me in and showed the places. Very central location, truly British looking premises and brilliant atmosphere! I visited some other top rated hostels as well, but they really couldn't beat Walrus.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ana lugarov

06 October 2009 ana would recommend this property

Liked: ... I really had so great time there!!!!!! the stuff are 5+ really!!! I hope I get there one more time!!! ... big kiss from croatian girls!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Disliked: ana left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that it was so close to London Eye and the Big Ben! And I also think the staff was really nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sanju Narayan

04 October 2009 Sanju would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place to stay. Great location and has hot showers which is so important. The staff are really nice and helpful. Dave there is great with loads of info. and useful suggestions.

Disliked: Sanju left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Stock

04 October 2009 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpfull and its a easy place to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Edward left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

tania herrera

03 October 2009 tania would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: tania left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels