HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

88.8% Overall Rating

1640 out of 1786 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2014)

Brendon Vertefeuille thinks…

"Traveled for 3 weeks last night we had before flying home worste sleep of my life. Great service from the staff can't complain there but between the trains running every 5 min and sounding like…"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.66
  • Towel USD 1.66

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.67 USD

Hostel 91.8% 36 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
19.88 USD

Hostel 81.1% 369 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
65.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
London Eye Hostel
19.81 USD

Hostel 65.4% 514 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
65.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
41.45 USD

Hostel 71.0% 296 reviews
Safestay
33.16 USD

Hostel 86.9% 217 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
82.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

1640 out of 1786 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1394 of 1723 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 | 52 | … | 55 | 56   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 November 2009

Liked: Location, nothing more. And it still could be better since it's not placed in the best part of London. Just a place to sleep in case you can bear with the continuous noise from trains getting into Waterloo station. Clean and individual restrooms, so at least I could have a nice shower in the morning. I'm not an expert in hostels in London, but I've defitively stayed at better ones all over Europe. I guess there might be something better

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Marcela Muñoz V

01 November 2009

Liked: I have a problem, cause you have to give 10 pounds for the key (!!!) and they charge to my credit card, promise to refund me at my check out, I told him that I need the refund was actually in my credit card, never happened...The owner sendt me an email with apologies..but its done...I just loose my money...(cause the change...you known) I wont recommend this place...definitely

Disliked: Marcela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly staff, nice location, very clean, just perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really nice and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Maksymilian Mulawa

29 October 2009 Maksymilian would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, railway station is really close to the hostel windows, so it's not a quite place to stay :)

Disliked: Maksymilian left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Erin Fahsholtz

29 October 2009 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Only bad thing I found was poor circulation in the dorm room. When you wake up in the morning it is hot and muggy. Other than that, some might not like the sirens and train noise but I found it put me to sleep. What else can you expect from living in London? The staff were incredible and extremely helpful!

Disliked: Erin left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katrina Daymond

29 October 2009 Katrina would recommend this property

Liked: Very Basic hostel but awesome location and great helpful, fun, friendly staff!

Disliked: Katrina left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

28 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are a lot of noise. There is a metro wich is in front of the bedroom, so you will hear until 2am, and from 5am in the morning.There no double room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the cheapest hostels near central London. Not too fancy, but enough for one night stay. The door locks are terrible.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachel Wasser

27 October 2009 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was helpful, there were enough bathrooms/toilets and they were clean, rooms weren't too cramped...

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elaine Byrne

27 October 2009 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, within walking distance to the London Eye, Westminster, the tube. The 6 bed dorm was very spacious and was ensuite with a shower and two sinks (great for a bunch of girls) but no toilet which was a bit strange. Bring ear plugs though, the noise of trains going by is very regular and loud.

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

avril drake

26 October 2009 avril would recommend this property

Liked: dave the manager was very helpful with our bags and the care of them. very safe and secure and there was staff on call any time of night if needed. thanks

Disliked: avril left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really awesome, kind guys working there.Was really a pleasure to stay there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly hostel in excellent location. Train noise was not an issue for us. Good breakfast, staff were helpful and pub downstairs has Bundy Rum.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

26 October 2009

Liked: Nice area, building and staff, but the linens felt really dirty, and there was constant noise during the night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The toilets were very clean. The breakfast was good. But unfortunately the hostel is extremely close to the train tracks and therefore noisy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location. Staff were friendly and accomodating.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only a few minutes walk to Covent Gardens. Solid floors so no noise from the down stairs bar, worth a visit.Staff are also very helpful and work there full time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proprietors were extremely friendly and helpful on all fronts. The only complaint was that the showers were tempermental, but more than usable! The location is ideal for seeing the big sights of London--they're within walking distance, or metro if you prefer it. For its location and the high quality of amenities provided I was exceedingly impressed by the price. I plan to stay here when I visit London again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere. Owner was very friendly!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.Walk everywhere to sights. Staff great. Needs makeover .Remember your ear plugs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

18 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was helpful and the hostel is fairly clean, except for the lower bed sheet, that one was used. Other than that, it was ok. It surprised me that the bar was closed on Saturday night, they only open Mon thru Fri. Pretty strange for a city like London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jody Smith

18 October 2009 Jody would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely great staff, nice and friendly, clean and good showers and beds and a cool bar

Disliked: Jody left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ying Ying Chng

17 October 2009 Ying Ying would recommend this property

Liked: David is a jolly good man who made our stay in London so close to perfection. Although some commented that the nearby train station was the killer of the enjoyment of this hostel, we still recommended it to those who wish to have a roof over their heads in London. We were so tired after all our London adventures that we couldnt hear any train passing by (moreover it was that loud afterall) Alternatively, just pop a few drinks at the bar and you will have a good night rest till next morning~

Disliked: Ying Ying left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was convenient for a location, and it was nice that breakfast was free and included.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels