HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Walrus Hostel London Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 74%

Location 88%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am

This property has a 2 day cancellation policy.
Please note, if cancelled, modified or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. The total price of the reservation may be charged anytime after booking.

If your booking is over GBP 50 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance.
Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled.

NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.
If your booking is over GBP 50.00, The Walrus Hostel may contact you via e-mail to request a payment for the first night of your reserved stay in advance, as a deposit. Failure to reply to this e-mail or complete the requested payment within time limit may result in the cancellation of your booking.

BOOKINGS OVER THE XMAS/NEW YEAR PERIOD >
• All bookings made for dates between 30th of December 2016 and 2nd of January 2017 require a NON REFUNDABLE 50% deposit. (Deducted from total due on arrival).
The Walrus Hostel will contact you to arrange this 50% in advance. Failure to reply to the Walrus Hostel's e-mails (3 attempts) or complete the 50% payment by deadline stated, your booking may be cancelled.
• Any payments, date changes or cancellations (full or partial) must be confirmed before the 20th of December 2016.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 74%

Location 88%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 84%

Showing 481-86 of 86 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really friendly staff, chilled atmosphere, enough toilets and showers on each floor, great kitchen facilities, funky bar downstairs, superb location, would definitely recommend this hostel!

Disliked: No lifts - you have to carry your luggage up to the floor you're staying on. No juice for breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: situated in central, good connection to busses, trains and underground :)amazing stuff !!! they try to make everything possible

Disliked: nothing.. it couldn´t be better

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location and the manager seem a responsible person.Breakfast is ok..

Disliked: The building is very old. I have a little bit of cleanliness issue especially on the 2nd floor toilet which is dirty and has a very bad weird smell. The management gotta do something, put a room fragrance or whatever, I was in the ensuite 6 bedded rooms and honestly I don't think the room value should be 25GBP. It suppose to be cheaper.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: one of the guys that worked there, Alex, was extremely helpful and always in a great mood (considering it seemed like he never slept!) He had useful travel advice and even let me buy and print tickets to Stonehenge on his computer.

Disliked: it's not a perfect location but it's not bad either. it'll take you about 10 minutes to walk to the nearest subway station but that's typical of london. the hostel is situated near a train station and lots of screeching rail noise comes in the window, but bring some earplugs and you'll sleep like a baby.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff are some of the most helpful staff I have encountered in a hostel. We came in at 6:30 in the morning and there was somebody there to let us in, and they even served us breakfast. On my last night I went to a play and they let me store my bags their until after they play. These are just a few examples. The hostel was also clean and the breakfast was decent.

Disliked: We were under a railway so it could get a bit noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: From the moment I walked in I was greeted with a smile and all the information I needed which made me feel welcome and comfortable. Good location, nice bar and beer garden. Above all, every member of staff seemed more than happy to assist with any queries which was a comfort for the weary traveller. My stay was enjoyable and would highly recommend the Walrus to everyone.

Disliked: Wifi rarely worked.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great staff, great location

Disliked: It was loud b/c of the train. Didn't bother me but just something to note if you're a really light sleeper

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Exceptionally helpful staff, excellent bar downstairs.

Disliked: The staircases could be a problem for some, not terrible but might be a problem if you travel heavy

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I stayed in a room for 16 people .. much respect and silence rather could sleep .. the staff is the best ever .. very kind and friendly and spoke all languages. I loved the Warlus

Disliked: I stayed in a room for 16 people .. much respect and silence rather could sleep .. the staff is the best ever .. very kind and friendly and spoke all languages. I loved the Warlus

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is super friendly and helpful! Definitely the nicest I've met in hostels throughout Europe. The location is awesome because it's so close to Westminster and therefore all the major attractions such as Big Ben, Parliament, Westminster Abbey, and Buckingham Palace are 10-15 min walking distance. The tube underground station is also a less than 5 min walk, making it easy to get around anywhere. The breakfast is free and it's great with cereal, biscuits, toast, jam, milk, tea, etc.

Disliked: There's no air conditioning so it gets super hot in the summer. We couldn't open the windows because it's right next to a train station and it would get really loud, and even when we did, it didn't make much of a difference because the room felt so stuffy. It's not the cleanest place in the world and some of the showers were pretty dirty.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability