HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Walrus Hostel London Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 75%

Location 90%

Safety 85%

Staff 95%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am

If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance.

Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 75%

Location 90%

Safety 85%

Staff 95%

Value 84%

Showing 481-139 of 139 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: one of the guys that worked there, Alex, was extremely helpful and always in a great mood (considering it seemed like he never slept!) He had useful travel advice and even let me buy and print tickets to Stonehenge on his computer.

Disliked: it's not a perfect location but it's not bad either. it'll take you about 10 minutes to walk to the nearest subway station but that's typical of london. the hostel is situated near a train station and lots of screeching rail noise comes in the window, but bring some earplugs and you'll sleep like a baby.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff are some of the most helpful staff I have encountered in a hostel. We came in at 6:30 in the morning and there was somebody there to let us in, and they even served us breakfast. On my last night I went to a play and they let me store my bags their until after they play. These are just a few examples. The hostel was also clean and the breakfast was decent.

Disliked: We were under a railway so it could get a bit noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: From the moment I walked in I was greeted with a smile and all the information I needed which made me feel welcome and comfortable. Good location, nice bar and beer garden. Above all, every member of staff seemed more than happy to assist with any queries which was a comfort for the weary traveller. My stay was enjoyable and would highly recommend the Walrus to everyone.

Disliked: Wifi rarely worked.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great staff, great location

Disliked: It was loud b/c of the train. Didn't bother me but just something to note if you're a really light sleeper

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Exceptionally helpful staff, excellent bar downstairs.

Disliked: The staircases could be a problem for some, not terrible but might be a problem if you travel heavy

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I stayed in a room for 16 people .. much respect and silence rather could sleep .. the staff is the best ever .. very kind and friendly and spoke all languages. I loved the Warlus

Disliked: I stayed in a room for 16 people .. much respect and silence rather could sleep .. the staff is the best ever .. very kind and friendly and spoke all languages. I loved the Warlus

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is super friendly and helpful! Definitely the nicest I've met in hostels throughout Europe. The location is awesome because it's so close to Westminster and therefore all the major attractions such as Big Ben, Parliament, Westminster Abbey, and Buckingham Palace are 10-15 min walking distance. The tube underground station is also a less than 5 min walk, making it easy to get around anywhere. The breakfast is free and it's great with cereal, biscuits, toast, jam, milk, tea, etc.

Disliked: There's no air conditioning so it gets super hot in the summer. We couldn't open the windows because it's right next to a train station and it would get really loud, and even when we did, it didn't make much of a difference because the room felt so stuffy. It's not the cleanest place in the world and some of the showers were pretty dirty.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping

Liked: Central location, clean kitchen with all the appropriate utensils and the dorm room was nice and clean.

Disliked: The noise from the traffic was quite loud at night but you get used to it. If you can put up with a bit of noise on a night then you'll be fine, otherwise if your a light sleeper then maybe you should reconsider.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and friendly staff.

Disliked: It is in horrible condition. The rooms/ beds are small and cramped. The condition of the hostel is poor. It's more like a bar with some rooms upstairs. Not what I would consider a great hostel, particularly considering how expensive it is. The only thing that made it ok was the very friendly staff.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The walrus has such a homely atmosphere, it definately NOT one of those hostels that you could mistake for a hospital. It has a relaxing, chilled bar downstairs and the staff could not be any more helpful.

Disliked: The showers could be a little warmer, but hey it's summer so no big problem.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability