HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

90.5% Overall Rating

1614 out of 1757 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

Nicolás Polenta thinks…

"The receptionists are great, most of them speak many lenguages, always very helpfull, they have the best tips for going around the city. The hostel is really great, clean toilets and showers, great…"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.68
  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.06 USD

Hostel 97.6% 14 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
21.81 USD

Hostel 78.2% 352 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
66.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.9% 47 reviews
London Eye Hostel
20.15 USD

Hostel 65.4% 495 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
57.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
41.97 USD

Hostel 74.4% 286 reviews
Journeys London Bridge Hostel
28.53 USD

Hostel 64.8% 529 reviews
Safestay
31.90 USD

Hostel 87.3% 207 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

1614 out of 1757 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1371 of 1694 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 | 52 | 53 | 54 | 55   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ying Ying Chng

17 October 2009 Ying Ying would recommend this property

Liked: David is a jolly good man who made our stay in London so close to perfection. Although some commented that the nearby train station was the killer of the enjoyment of this hostel, we still recommended it to those who wish to have a roof over their heads in London. We were so tired after all our London adventures that we couldnt hear any train passing by (moreover it was that loud afterall) Alternatively, just pop a few drinks at the bar and you will have a good night rest till next morning~

Disliked: Ying Ying left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was convenient for a location, and it was nice that breakfast was free and included.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

16 October 2009

Liked: the owner was nice and the pub downstairs is OK

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff members are really nice and helpful and you start a day with watching nice cartoons while eating breakfast. All thumbs up!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomer Varon

15 October 2009 Tomer would recommend this property

Liked: david is a great man! very kind and help us alot while we've been there! the hostel has a good location and offers a good rooms.i felt that im getting full value for my money!tnx david and walrus staff - we had a great timeTomer & yoaz - Israel

Disliked: Tomer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

13 October 2009

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

10 October 2009

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location, works very well with a zone 1/2 travel card. The place isn't much, and hasn't seen too much effort, but it works. The breakfast is a bit sad, but they do have a kitchen available to guests. The staff is very nice, but they can be difficult to find.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Andrew Arndt

09 October 2009

Liked: Free Wifi and bar good, close to everything, did not like fact that was right next to train tracking into waterloo, was loud.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cheryl King Koi

08 October 2009 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: The location was so close to so many sights of London. It's within an easy walk to the tube station and the staff couldn't be any more helpful. The 6 bed bedroom were quite roomy with lockers and the beds were comfy. Having powerpoints near the mirror is a definite plus for us girls that need to do our hair. Yes, the trains are noisy but after a while I didn't seem to hear them. I give this hostel a big thumbs up for fun and location.

Disliked: Cheryl left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good tmosphere and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's fairly clean for a hostel, staff really friendly and helpful, really very close to all the main attractions, the only downside is the noise of the trains from the Waterloo station but it's not to bad either. Definitely would stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff! Even when I arrived in the middle of the night way after the official check-in time, they let me in and showed the places. Very central location, truly British looking premises and brilliant atmosphere! I visited some other top rated hostels as well, but they really couldn't beat Walrus.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ana lugarov

06 October 2009 ana would recommend this property

Liked: ... I really had so great time there!!!!!! the stuff are 5+ really!!! I hope I get there one more time!!! ... big kiss from croatian girls!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Disliked: ana left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that it was so close to London Eye and the Big Ben! And I also think the staff was really nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sanju Narayan

04 October 2009 Sanju would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place to stay. Great location and has hot showers which is so important. The staff are really nice and helpful. Dave there is great with loads of info. and useful suggestions.

Disliked: Sanju left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Stock

04 October 2009 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpfull and its a easy place to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Edward left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

tania herrera

03 October 2009 tania would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: tania left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is located 4 mins from the London eye so getting in to the center by walking is so easy, staff are really helpful, you get a simple breakfast, yes like most off the coments i have read on here the hostel is right next to the railway line but i can sleep throw anything, will be back again, but i will advise you to get to the hostel with less stress come to lambeth north tube it takes 3 mins to walk to the hostel,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Leonardo da silveira

28 September 2009 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, not a fun place to meet people and not so clean!!

Disliked: Leonardo left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

27 September 2009

Liked: It was near the Parlamient

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 September 2009

Liked: Friendly staff and a cosy bar downstairs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 September 2009

Liked: The staff was nice and the people staying there were also well mannered. The pub downstairs is quite nice and thelocation is good either. The dorms look like an attick and are not to clean, I havent witnessed any bugs though (thankfully). The major drawback of this place is that it is located right next to a train rail going in to the waterloo station. Trains are braking there every few minutes so its next to impossible to sleep there without the ear plugs (or an iPod if you like). Decent place to crush for few nights but wouldnt recomend it for a longer stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Trung Tran

24 September 2009 Trung would recommend this property

Liked: This should be a good place for travellers. Very clean and friendly staffs.I can see London Eye just few steps away from The Walrus. The negative side of this location is that the hostel is too close to the railway and it will be troublesome for people who cant get along with the noise comes from the railway even after midnight. However, there is no problem for me as i am so tired after trips and just easily sleep whenever i lay my back on the bed.

Disliked: Trung left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels