HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Walrus Hostel London Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 75%

Location 90%

Safety 85%

Staff 95%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am

If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance.

Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 75%

Location 90%

Safety 85%

Staff 95%

Value 84%

Showing 471-140 of 140 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the staff definetly was very welcoming and would help us with whatever we needed. it is near the tube, so you can go everywhere from there. it was very clean, never had to wait for a shower, and the breakfast was delicious!! :D

Disliked: nothing to say

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, friendly, great location

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staffs were nice to give explanation on check-in in plain English. They accept key deposit charge by credit card. Breakfast is simple but good, and you can watch TV news during eating. Wifi in the room was nice. It was convenient that female washrooms were close to the room in which I stayed.

Disliked: The bar Walrus was easy to find, but some of people working at the bar seemed not knowing about the hostel very much. I stayed in a dorm for 16 people and couldn't open curtains or turn on lights (I'm not sure where there were) because some customers were sleeping. I managed with light from my laptop screen.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The ambiance, the staff and the location are very nice. One of the best hostels I've seen!

Disliked: There isn't a room where you can chill during the day. but that's a small. minor and definetly not a reason to avoid this hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great vibe and staff - everyone was super helpful and always willing to help, even though we arrived at 630am. Well located to access most of the sites to see by foot, and a great place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: My mattress had a broken spring in it so it was a tad bit uncomfortable, but still doable (and I passed out since I was so tired from travelling and visiting around). Other than that, a great experience!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff! It really makes the difference, great place!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: beyond excellent staff - Julia, James, & Harriet were just a few of the many friendly staff members who went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and at ease with our stay at the Walrus. location is really nice, on the south bank 5 mins from Westminister Bridge, London Eye, and Waterloo station. nice kitchen, personal showers, and comfy beds

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really friendly staff, chilled atmosphere, enough toilets and showers on each floor, great kitchen facilities, funky bar downstairs, superb location, would definitely recommend this hostel!

Disliked: No lifts - you have to carry your luggage up to the floor you're staying on. No juice for breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: situated in central, good connection to busses, trains and underground :)amazing stuff !!! they try to make everything possible

Disliked: nothing.. it couldn´t be better

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location and the manager seem a responsible person.Breakfast is ok..

Disliked: The building is very old. I have a little bit of cleanliness issue especially on the 2nd floor toilet which is dirty and has a very bad weird smell. The management gotta do something, put a room fragrance or whatever, I was in the ensuite 6 bedded rooms and honestly I don't think the room value should be 25GBP. It suppose to be cheaper.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability