HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

90.5% Overall Rating

1614 out of 1757 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

Nicolás Polenta thinks…

"The receptionists are great, most of them speak many lenguages, always very helpfull, they have the best tips for going around the city. The hostel is really great, clean toilets and showers, great…"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.68
  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.10 USD

Hostel 97.6% 14 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
20.15 USD

Hostel 78.2% 352 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
66.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.9% 47 reviews
London Eye Hostel
20.17 USD

Hostel 65.4% 495 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
57.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
42.02 USD

Hostel 74.4% 286 reviews
Journeys London Bridge Hostel
28.56 USD

Hostel 64.8% 529 reviews
Safestay
31.94 USD

Hostel 87.3% 207 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

1614 out of 1757 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1371 of 1694 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 | … | 54 | 55   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Roll

03 November 2009 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: I had a very good experience staying at the Walrus. The staff (especially David) were really helpful and friendly. I loved the location, just down the street from Lambeth North tube station (Bakerloo line) and a 7 min walk to Waterloo. It was very easy to get to all the big sights in London (walk to Big Ben, London Eye), tube to Piccadilly Circus, bus to Hyde Park, etc. So the location couldn't have been better!! Bathrooms and kitchen are kept clean. Free WiFi is a big bonus when other hostels make you pay by the hour. FYI, there is a rail line that goes right past the hostel so you can hear the train frequently, but just bring a pair of eye plugs and you'll sleep soundly. Also, when finding the hostel at first, don't be confusied- it is a pub downstairs but that is where you go to check it. The pub is lively and good for a quick pint before heading out for the night! All in all, I liked this place and would stay there again!

Disliked: Katherine left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie MASSE

03 November 2009 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The location, just next to Waterloo station and near tourist attractions

Disliked: Marie left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 November 2009

Liked: Location, nothing more. And it still could be better since it's not placed in the best part of London. Just a place to sleep in case you can bear with the continuous noise from trains getting into Waterloo station. Clean and individual restrooms, so at least I could have a nice shower in the morning. I'm not an expert in hostels in London, but I've defitively stayed at better ones all over Europe. I guess there might be something better

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Marcela Muñoz V

01 November 2009

Liked: I have a problem, cause you have to give 10 pounds for the key (!!!) and they charge to my credit card, promise to refund me at my check out, I told him that I need the refund was actually in my credit card, never happened...The owner sendt me an email with apologies..but its done...I just loose my money...(cause the change...you known) I wont recommend this place...definitely

Disliked: Marcela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly staff, nice location, very clean, just perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really nice and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Maksymilian Mulawa

29 October 2009 Maksymilian would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, railway station is really close to the hostel windows, so it's not a quite place to stay :)

Disliked: Maksymilian left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Erin Fahsholtz

29 October 2009 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Only bad thing I found was poor circulation in the dorm room. When you wake up in the morning it is hot and muggy. Other than that, some might not like the sirens and train noise but I found it put me to sleep. What else can you expect from living in London? The staff were incredible and extremely helpful!

Disliked: Erin left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katrina Daymond

29 October 2009 Katrina would recommend this property

Liked: Very Basic hostel but awesome location and great helpful, fun, friendly staff!

Disliked: Katrina left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

28 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are a lot of noise. There is a metro wich is in front of the bedroom, so you will hear until 2am, and from 5am in the morning.There no double room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the cheapest hostels near central London. Not too fancy, but enough for one night stay. The door locks are terrible.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachel Wasser

27 October 2009 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was helpful, there were enough bathrooms/toilets and they were clean, rooms weren't too cramped...

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elaine Byrne

27 October 2009 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, within walking distance to the London Eye, Westminster, the tube. The 6 bed dorm was very spacious and was ensuite with a shower and two sinks (great for a bunch of girls) but no toilet which was a bit strange. Bring ear plugs though, the noise of trains going by is very regular and loud.

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

avril drake

26 October 2009 avril would recommend this property

Liked: dave the manager was very helpful with our bags and the care of them. very safe and secure and there was staff on call any time of night if needed. thanks

Disliked: avril left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really awesome, kind guys working there.Was really a pleasure to stay there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly hostel in excellent location. Train noise was not an issue for us. Good breakfast, staff were helpful and pub downstairs has Bundy Rum.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

26 October 2009

Liked: Nice area, building and staff, but the linens felt really dirty, and there was constant noise during the night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The toilets were very clean. The breakfast was good. But unfortunately the hostel is extremely close to the train tracks and therefore noisy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location. Staff were friendly and accomodating.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only a few minutes walk to Covent Gardens. Solid floors so no noise from the down stairs bar, worth a visit.Staff are also very helpful and work there full time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proprietors were extremely friendly and helpful on all fronts. The only complaint was that the showers were tempermental, but more than usable! The location is ideal for seeing the big sights of London--they're within walking distance, or metro if you prefer it. For its location and the high quality of amenities provided I was exceedingly impressed by the price. I plan to stay here when I visit London again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere. Owner was very friendly!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.Walk everywhere to sights. Staff great. Needs makeover .Remember your ear plugs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

18 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was helpful and the hostel is fairly clean, except for the lower bed sheet, that one was used. Other than that, it was ok. It surprised me that the bar was closed on Saturday night, they only open Mon thru Fri. Pretty strange for a city like London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jody Smith

18 October 2009 Jody would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely great staff, nice and friendly, clean and good showers and beds and a cool bar

Disliked: Jody left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels