HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

92.1% Overall Rating

1634 out of 1778 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

"VERY friendly and welcoming staff - made a huge difference. Good (free!) breakfast and great bar downstairs."

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.70
  • Towel USD 1.70

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.38 USD

Hostel 94.7% 29 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
25.43 USD

Hostel 82.1% 366 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
83.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
London Eye Hostel
23.66 USD

Hostel 66.5% 512 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
66.16 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
42.41 USD

Hostel 70.9% 293 reviews
Safestay
33.93 USD

Hostel 87.0% 216 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
84.82 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

1634 out of 1778 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 1389 of 1718 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 | … | 55 | 56   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

24 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel its under the bridge, it is ok for no more than 2 nights , I would not use the kitchen, looks dirty but the staff it is really helpful and nice, for a short stay I recommend you

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best thing about the Walrus is its location and Carrie and Dave the Manager (a veritable fount of local and general knowledge and great humor). My daughters and I stayed in the 16 bed mixed dorm and it was very comfortable. We were fortunate to be located against the wall with the windows which kept us out of the walkway to the bathroom and made sleeping easier. Supermarket just around the corner and the hostel had good kitchen so we could save money and make/pack own food.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kyle Cameron

23 November 2009

Liked: Near War Museum

Disliked: Kyle left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Liubov Borisova

23 November 2009 Liubov would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is extremely nice, they were really caring! Breakfast basic, but present and mostly everything you need. Really nice bar just downstairs. Depending on the room though, you might have noise from the trains... which was a bit annoying. Besides, the 'un-suite' room has only shower, no toilett... Very strange. But overall, I had a very good experience!

Disliked: Liubov left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

glen dawson

22 November 2009 glen would recommend this property

Liked: nice, clean and safe hostel. the staff were very good, easy to chat to and get along with

Disliked: glen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Highly recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can recommend The Walrus Waterloo Hostel to everyone! Location is just perfect and helpfulness of the staff is wonderful. Everything (beds, breakfast, showers for example...) was okay. Well, this is not very new or luxury property but if you set great store by international and friendy atmosphere, easy living and delicious toasts - choose The Walrus!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EDUARDO ESPARZA PEREZ

17 November 2009 EDUARDO would recommend this property

Liked: THE STAFF IS VERY FRIENDLY A GOOD PEOPLE

Disliked: EDUARDO left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

15 November 2009

Liked: I didn't like it. sorry.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

14 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is near big ben and the central of the city

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Pieper

12 November 2009 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice, well-kept hostel run by a very nice, helpful staff. It does neighbor a well-used train line, but that didn't bother me too much.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tanja Froehlich

10 November 2009 Tanja would recommend this property

Liked: Freundliches Personal, kostenloses WLAN, kostenloses Frühstück.Negativ: keine Steckdosen in der Nähe eines Spiegels, man muss sich blind die Haare fönen

Disliked: Tanja left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

SHIH-HUNG YANG

09 November 2009 SHIH-HUNG would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really awesome, just nearby the London eye.

Disliked: SHIH-HUNG left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, noise from railway traffic didn't disturb my sleeping, breakfast was very simple, a big dorm (16 beds) was very quiet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only needed a place where to sleep, and I think Walrus was a good value for money for that. The location is great: the hostel is very close to Waterloo (and Southwark) station. The owner is very friendly and fun.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hilfsbereites Personal, ausgezeichnete Lage

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was cleaned before my very eyes every morning! great location with a bus stop right outside, lambeth north tube station 300m away and walking distance to the london eye. david and staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is super nice! and it felt authentically british

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Roll

03 November 2009 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: I had a very good experience staying at the Walrus. The staff (especially David) were really helpful and friendly. I loved the location, just down the street from Lambeth North tube station (Bakerloo line) and a 7 min walk to Waterloo. It was very easy to get to all the big sights in London (walk to Big Ben, London Eye), tube to Piccadilly Circus, bus to Hyde Park, etc. So the location couldn't have been better!! Bathrooms and kitchen are kept clean. Free WiFi is a big bonus when other hostels make you pay by the hour. FYI, there is a rail line that goes right past the hostel so you can hear the train frequently, but just bring a pair of eye plugs and you'll sleep soundly. Also, when finding the hostel at first, don't be confusied- it is a pub downstairs but that is where you go to check it. The pub is lively and good for a quick pint before heading out for the night! All in all, I liked this place and would stay there again!

Disliked: Katherine left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie MASSE

03 November 2009 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The location, just next to Waterloo station and near tourist attractions

Disliked: Marie left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 November 2009

Liked: Location, nothing more. And it still could be better since it's not placed in the best part of London. Just a place to sleep in case you can bear with the continuous noise from trains getting into Waterloo station. Clean and individual restrooms, so at least I could have a nice shower in the morning. I'm not an expert in hostels in London, but I've defitively stayed at better ones all over Europe. I guess there might be something better

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Marcela Muñoz V

01 November 2009

Liked: I have a problem, cause you have to give 10 pounds for the key (!!!) and they charge to my credit card, promise to refund me at my check out, I told him that I need the refund was actually in my credit card, never happened...The owner sendt me an email with apologies..but its done...I just loose my money...(cause the change...you known) I wont recommend this place...definitely

Disliked: Marcela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly staff, nice location, very clean, just perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really nice and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Maksymilian Mulawa

29 October 2009 Maksymilian would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, railway station is really close to the hostel windows, so it's not a quite place to stay :)

Disliked: Maksymilian left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels