We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

87.2% Overall Rating

1696 out of 1845 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2015)

"I enjoyed the lobby and great continental breakfast in the morning. The bar/lobby has a great atmosphere!"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.52
  • Towel USD 1.52

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
28.16 USD

Hostel 86.7% 66 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
38.04 USD

Hostel 77.5% 384 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
60.13 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
London Eye Hostel
19.03 USD

Hostel 73.6% 537 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
52.52 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
33.49 USD

Hostel 80.6% 319 reviews
Safestay London Elephant & Castle
22.83 USD

Hostel 84.8% 258 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
76.12 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

1696 out of 1845 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 1428 of 1782 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | … | 57 | 58   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying at the Walrus. The staff was the best part. My travelmates and I had a great time hanging out in the bar with the staff, playing cards, drinking, and having a fun time. I would absolutely stay at the Walrus on my next visit to London and I would recommend it to everyone. The location was great, close to a lot of main tourist attractions and a short walk from 2 Tube stations (Lambeth North and Waterloo).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 March 2010

Liked: typical london hostel - on 30 m2 can sleep 16 people. On the basement is the bar - music was loud until 1 am.From 5 am you can hear trains - railway is only 5 meters from the window.Close to parlament and imax cinema

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aaron Saunders

28 February 2010 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Dave was so awesome! He always had some great advice no matter what we were doing that day. As well, it felt like a very safe environment and had many cleanly, warm showers.

Disliked: Aaron left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would definitely recommend this hostel. Dave was very helpful, breakfast was good, the rooms felt safe. Our room was right above the bar, though, so it was pretty noisy at night on the weekend. The railroad does run right next to the building, too, but the noise didn't bother me at all. Very good overall - thank you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good, secure budget home base in the heart of London. Cleanliness was much appreciated, and the breakfast was great. A big highlight was the linens - we've been backpacking for 5 months, and these were the warmest, softest beds we've slept in!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place! :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sara Oliveira

24 February 2010 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: I loved to stay in this hostel. The staff are very pleasant, the location is perfect! I will return to walrus waterloo, certainly!! :)

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Jones

19 February 2010 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Will return!

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maeva COUTANCEAU

18 February 2010 Maeva would recommend this property

Liked: i really enjoyed my stay there, The staff was incredibly nice and welcoming and i will definitely stay there again when i go back to london

Disliked: Maeva left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable and excellent location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Laura Nixon

15 February 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Although it was not the cleanest hostel we've stayed in, the manager was extremely nice and helpful and that really meant a lot to us in how much we liked this hostel. Also in a very good location - easy walk to central London.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Polly Berry

12 February 2010 Polly would recommend this property

Liked: Had a fantastic stay. Dave was really helpful and friendly and the hostel was kept clean and tidy. It was nice to have a hostel with a kitchen and cheap food shops a few doors down the road. The location is as discribed and you can hear the trains slightly (not enough to stop me sleeping!) The london Eye, Trafalgar Square and Big Ben are all in easy walking distance. I will use the Walrus again when in London.

Disliked: Polly left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Peter Harvey

10 February 2010 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The property was close to the Bakerloo tube line. The beds were really comfortable and the rooms were surprisingly quiet. The kitchen is fairly large but not particularly well stocked (re utensils etc) but good enough.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

09 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff went out there way to helps me with information about london, they may not have a pc for customers to use but i asked David if i could print my flight details and he was more than happy to let me use his printer in the office,very close to the main sites of london, Big ben London eye and the main center of london was only a 15 min walks

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Audrey Madsen

08 February 2010 Audrey would recommend this property

Liked: Dave was so helpful, always had tips for us about the city, what was going on, what to do, etc. Great atmosphere, so much fun, would definitely recommend it!!

Disliked: Audrey left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 February 2010

Liked: Nice location, unbeatable price (14£/night). But very ugly toilets, no elevator and ugly lights in the room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really close to the city centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, main attractions are in walking distance.The room interior is not good, old and unpleasant.Trains runs overnight and a bit noisy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ana Vergeer

22 January 2010 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked my stay, the staff is very helpful and the beds are very comfortable. The only thing that might be improved is the fact that there are no maps of London available at the hostel.

Disliked: Ana left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dahiana Erlich

21 January 2010 Dahiana would recommend this property

Liked: The ubication, the friendliness...

Disliked: Dahiana left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff, they let us have breakfast the first day we arrived. They helped us out alot with things to see in London. Would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is really good despite the fact that it is next to a railway, which might be a bit noisy for some people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Rye

10 January 2010 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place. I had an awful days traveling. Managed to get to London victoria, walked to the hostel easily, was met by friendly staff, warm bed, free Wifi, good breakfast, and everything else you'd expect. personly now my favourite hostel. Simple but excelent

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels