HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Walrus Hostel London Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 73%

Location 87%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am

This property has a 2 day cancellation policy.
Please note, if cancelled, modified or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. The total price of the reservation may be charged anytime after booking.

If your booking is over GBP 50 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance.
Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled.

NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 73%

Location 87%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 82%

Showing 461-113 of 113 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the staff, the most friendly I´ve ever met.

Disliked: Trains few meters from my head during sleep :-)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The friendliness!

Disliked: Nothing really.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location and the very helpful staff

Disliked: bathrooms were very small, mildew in corners of dormitory

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The staff is so nice and helpful. Toilets, baths and dorms are clean.

Disliked: the ony thing bad about this place, is the trains that are coming all the time right outside the windows.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free towel and earplugs (which I needed), nice staff who were helpful, free breakfast, close to two tubes (both on Bakerloo line), buses and within walking distance of South Bank. Little shops nearby were good, a post office, laundromat, etc. Good showers

Disliked: I ended up in a 16 bed dorm which I didn't think I booked, it wasn't very clean, pretty loud outside, not the nicest area down around Waterloo. Hard to find staff when the bar wasn't open (after midnight and weekends), tricky to check in on the weekend when my phone died, had to find a payphone to phone someone to get let into the hostel.


The property's response is

it is harder to find staff after midnight, as we do not have a 24 hour reception. this is clearly stated
on Hostelbookers. we do however have the manager living on site who is always on call at night either by phone or the doorbell which rings in his bed room.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The manager, Alex, was very welcoming and helpful.

Disliked: Broken lock on locker. Worst pillow I've ever had (I had to use a towel as a pillow instead). The hostel is right beside a rail bridge.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location to travel London saving time for people having limited time on vacation and kind guys.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: In terms of the location to train station, it is the best place to live. The bar beneath is nice as well.

Disliked: not too nice to live in the room with 16 people. no fresh air at night...

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful, the dorms was clean and quiet, and the common room / bar downstairs was very welcoming.

Disliked: I disliked nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the location

Disliked: smelly in the room, tho the bar is good. The rooms in the hostel upstairs are not decent or clean at all.

Check Availability