HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

88.2% Overall Rating

1642 out of 1788 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2014)

"Free Wifi, Near to SouthBank and to the Underground, security code and nice staff."

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.66
  • Towel USD 1.66

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.69 USD

Hostel 91.5% 38 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
19.89 USD

Hostel 81.1% 369 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
82.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
London Eye Hostel
19.07 USD

Hostel 65.4% 514 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
48.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
41.47 USD

Hostel 71.0% 296 reviews
Safestay
33.17 USD

Hostel 87.3% 218 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
82.93 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

1642 out of 1788 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 1395 of 1725 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | … | 55 | 56   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alejandro Lavelli

17 March 2010 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: You have a comfy bed, a bar downstairs, a really cool guy managing the hostel(dave)....what more can you ask for?

Disliked: Alejandro left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magda Strnadlova

16 March 2010 Magda would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clear rules

Disliked: Magda left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lara Cenini

16 March 2010 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: ostello molto carino sia per le camerate che per il pub, pulito e accogliente.. i letti sono comodi, e le camere ben insonorizzate (non si sentono rumori ne dal pub al piano terra ne dalla ferrovia che passa vicino).. i proprietari sono molto disponibili e cordiali..molto consigliato anche per la posizione, in meno di 5 minuti a piedi raggiungi il Big Ben! se torno a Londra ci faccio ancora un pensierino!

Disliked: Lara left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joan Barcelo Perello

15 March 2010 Joan would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the place. I recomend it to everyone who travels alone.

Disliked: Joan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michal Lukaszewski

15 March 2010 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: value for money

Disliked: Michal left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good value, easy transport links, area as some great shops bars and food places

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

15 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cansu Ocal

13 March 2010 Cansu would recommend this property

Liked: i like the fact that you can go anywhere from here! it's easy, and the fact that the staff helps, it's even easier. Next time we are in London, we know where we're staying ;) staying here for 19 days made me feel like home already and i really dont wanna leave yet :(

Disliked: Cansu left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Walrus Waterloo is in a killer location - a block from the London Eye and Big Ben. It is right next to Waterloo Station and a Tube stop. The staff was super helpful and friendly and provided check in and out whenever needed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

12 March 2010

Liked: Helpful staff, but very noisy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, and the staff is nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Greg Myer

08 March 2010 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, location was good except close to the train station. Overall a really good, friendly place.

Disliked: Greg left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Justin Costello

07 March 2010 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: great location, very friendly staff and good value for money and a nice bar downstairs

Disliked: Justin left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Molly Bruce

07 March 2010 Molly would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT location, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Biggest complaint is odd layout of bathrooms and lack of communal computer and phone.

Disliked: Molly left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was in a great location and the owners are so, so friendly. They were incredibly helpful and delightful to talk with. the hostel itself isn't very aesthetically pleasing but everything is cleaned daily and the bedding, though worn, was very clean. If you don't mind staying in a place that's not too pretty, the location is awesome. I would say it's a great price for the location and staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tamieka de Jong

06 March 2010 Tamieka would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and provided us with lots of information on the area and where to get cheap food. The location was great, close to a subway station but also within walking distance to most attractions. The building was old but still in excellent condition.

Disliked: Tamieka left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Omer Qadir

02 March 2010 Omer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff. my train got delayed and I ended up arriving at 2am. proprietor was not grumpy at all ... let me in and moved me to a different quiet empty dormitory so that I could get a few hours of uninterrupted sleep after my disastrous journey ! very nice gesture ... highly appreciated! Plus... there was no pressure to leave the room before 11 (since I'd arrived so late)

Disliked: Omer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying at the Walrus. The staff was the best part. My travelmates and I had a great time hanging out in the bar with the staff, playing cards, drinking, and having a fun time. I would absolutely stay at the Walrus on my next visit to London and I would recommend it to everyone. The location was great, close to a lot of main tourist attractions and a short walk from 2 Tube stations (Lambeth North and Waterloo).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 March 2010

Liked: typical london hostel - on 30 m2 can sleep 16 people. On the basement is the bar - music was loud until 1 am.From 5 am you can hear trains - railway is only 5 meters from the window.Close to parlament and imax cinema

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aaron Saunders

28 February 2010 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Dave was so awesome! He always had some great advice no matter what we were doing that day. As well, it felt like a very safe environment and had many cleanly, warm showers.

Disliked: Aaron left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would definitely recommend this hostel. Dave was very helpful, breakfast was good, the rooms felt safe. Our room was right above the bar, though, so it was pretty noisy at night on the weekend. The railroad does run right next to the building, too, but the noise didn't bother me at all. Very good overall - thank you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good, secure budget home base in the heart of London. Cleanliness was much appreciated, and the breakfast was great. A big highlight was the linens - we've been backpacking for 5 months, and these were the warmest, softest beds we've slept in!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place! :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sara Oliveira

24 February 2010 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: I loved to stay in this hostel. The staff are very pleasant, the location is perfect! I will return to walrus waterloo, certainly!! :)

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Jones

19 February 2010 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Will return!

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels