HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Walrus Hostel London Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 75%

Location 90%

Safety 85%

Staff 95%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am

If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance.

Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 75%

Location 90%

Safety 85%

Staff 95%

Value 84%

Showing 31-40 of 139 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Was very close to two tube and had a bus stop right upfront. At night there were food stands down the street. Had Lockers in room and shared a bathroom outside the room. Staff was real helpful and there was a bar down stairs. Will stay again!

Disliked: There is a train track nearby, so if your a light sleeper beware, otherwise you should be fine as I was.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is amazing, and very convenient for first time travellers.

Disliked: The building has major plumbing issues, with hot water in very short supply. They definitely need to fix that immediately. Also, they could really do with better cleaning since the toilets and showers were not very clean. There was mildew and mold in the bathrooms and bedrooms. Lastly, the solitary bulb in the bedroom was very dim and we struggled to see things at night.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Perfectly located, affordable rates, very helpful and friendly staffs

Disliked: So noisy, as located next to the Waterloo Train Station. The mixed dorm rooms is NOT clean. The Female dorm is clean though.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: N/A

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: My boyfriend and I stayed in the 6 person dorm with ensuite. The staff were absolutely outstanding, the location was very close to the London Eye and underground, and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was also good if you arrived early enough. And the staff kindly do your dishes for you!

Disliked: The building was very old, so there were a lot of little things that came with that. The shower leaked in our ensuite, the showers in the halls were either piping hot or freezing spewing water and the lockers didn't close without a bit of a fight. Also as other reviewers have said, it's very noisy. I had earplugs though and couldn't hear a thing when they were in! Despite these little things, we had a great stay and would return!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great and helpful staff, very nice breakfast. Nice bar downstairs. A 5 minute walk from the London eye and Big Ben. They provide towels, locks and adapters for no extra fee.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Amazing staff, great atmosphere, and a pretty solid location.

Disliked: Right beside a train and wonky shower/toilets.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really nice place, near the London eye (5minute walking) the staff is Really friendly.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really liked my stay at this hostel. Staff is the best ever, location is really convenient, breakfast is very nice and free and price is quite fair. Wish all hostels were like this!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everything. Had such a good time here. The staff were friendly and the location is awesome! A 5 minute walk from the London eye and Big Ben. The free breakfast is also good when on a tight budget.

Disliked: Being located next to the train station makes it noisy. But after the first night it was fine and I slept through it :)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability