HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

86.9% Overall Rating

1652 out of 1798 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Great and helpful staff, very nice breakfast. Nice bar downstairs. A 5 minute walk from the London eye and Big Ben. They provide towels, locks and adapters for no extra fee."

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.62
  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 88.0% 45 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
30.82 USD

Hostel 80.6% 370 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
80.33 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.8% 51 reviews
London Eye Hostel
24.26 USD

Hostel 65.9% 515 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
68.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
40.57 USD

Hostel 74.1% 298 reviews
Safestay
38.95 USD

Hostel 88.0% 223 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
81.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

1652 out of 1798 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 1402 of 1735 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, helpful and approachable. They are so kind and they give useful advice for planning your trip. The breakfast is nice. The hostel is safe secure.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliest staff ever, will offer help & advice without even asking. Make you feel like you're in a friend's house, not in some hostel. We came early in the morning (obviously too early for check in), we were immediately offered breakfast, toilets & a place to keep our luggage until check in time. Then after verifying that we know how to travel inside the city we were sent to explore it with a 'have a good day!' It was fun waking up every morning & going down for breakfast since the atmosphere was so friendly & fun. The place also operates as a bar so you can sit there for a beer. there was a luggage scale which proved to be very useful. shower room in 2nd floor very spacious so you have plenty of space to get dry & put on clothes. Location was great, 2 minutes walk from the Lambeth north tube station (bakerloo line) & 5 minutes from the waterloo tube & train station.

Disliked: common area closes at 23:00. rooms a little small.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Victoria Rodgers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: A decent location...a ten minute walk to the London Eye, Big Ben, and Houses of Parliament. About a half hour to Buckingham Palace and the London Bridge. It's a bar on the ground floor and is rather cozy. They have special events on some nights and it's pretty easy to meet and socialize with other travellers, which is always fun. Breakfast is included. The food choices are rather small, but it's all you can eat.

Disliked: The lockers in the dorm were pretty shabby and they were using a mattress as a door for the restroom in the dorm, which I found hilarious and slightly nervous at the same time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Ricardo Gallardo Quesada

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2013 Luis Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: It's just PERFECT!!! I really like, I felt like home, good bar, shared kitchen, 6 beds rooms are amazing, extremely friendly staff, good breakfast, close to the Big Ben and the London Eye, and Waterloo station as well.

Disliked: Luis Ricardo left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to major sights and transport. Staff are really helpful - told us where supermarkets were close by, kitchen small but functional. Overall a good stay in this hostel.

Disliked: Pretty noisy next to Waterloo station but we were aware of this so it was a minor inconvenience. I'd imagine it would get pretty hot in summer, no aircon or fans. No common area with tv etc but the bar downstairs is good and it's easy to meet other travelers and locals.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

giuseppe lorusso

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2013 giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: excellent position , friendly staff , nice pub downstair , it's all right!!

Disliked: giuseppe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cushlia Young

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

03 August 2013 Cushlia would recommend this property

Liked: Love the Walrus!!! Love that the showers and toilets are ALWAYS clean, unlike other hostels. Its close to all tourist attractions, centre of London, amazing staff, clean facilities, clean rooms, relaxed atmosphere, will most certainly be back again. All you could want in a hostel.

Disliked: Can't say anything bad about the Walrus

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veerle van der Woning

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Veerle would recommend this property

Liked: Absoluut een goed hostel om te slapen. Het ligt wel eens waar naast het station wat lawaai geeft, maar persoonlijk heb ik daar geen last van gehad. Ik voelde er mij veilig, ook in de buurt er om heen, vriendelijke mensen, veel dingen die je (gratis) kan krijgen. Zoals handdoeken, ontbijt, wifi. Dit is zeker niet het geval in alle hostels. Prima locatie, dicht bij de tube en de london eye! Top hostel

Disliked: -

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Shower room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are nice and helpful. Perfect location.

Disliked: The room is quite small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Location was unbelievable, and was very cheap for the area.

Disliked: Can't sleep there at all, trains run until 12.30am and start again at 4:30am, constant noise from the street no aircon so you have to open the windows. So hot in the rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great locations. Cute little bar

Disliked: Not much. Only the lack of dining room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is pretty cool. The location is incredible. The city centre is less than 5 minutes away walking. You can leave your stuff at the hostel before your check in time, which is prettty cool. All things considered I would defintely come here again, and reccommend it to all.

Disliked: The noise level at night may be an issue for you. The hostel is located right next to the tube, so the noise may get to you. You get used to it, but some light sleeper may have more difficulty than others. There wasn't any air conditioning in the room, but it was a lovely night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I frequently stay in hostels and this was one of the nicest. Although the rooms were on the small side, everything was clean and the staff were absolutely fantastic ( especially Alex ). I loved the cozy feel of this place and the attention to detail. The breakfast ( cereal, toast, jam, chocolate spread, honey, juice, coffee, milk) was great and no matter what you needed, the staff was always eager to help. They also offered secure storage and free wifi. The hostel was within walking distance of the major attractions and a very short walk away from the tube.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katrina Woodbridge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Katrina would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located near the London eye, only about a 5 minute walk and close to Waterloo which is on many train lines so is easy to get around. The staff here are really friendly and are willing to help you with any information you need.

Disliked: Just some minor dislikes about the hostel... The hostel is located right next to waterloo station, which makes it very noisy. A train goes past almost every minute as there are many platforms. Being on the 4th floor and on the station side of the building didn't help but ear plugs did a little. There are only small lockers in the room to fit laptop and small items, no luggage lockers. There is only 1 toilet and 1 shower on the 4th floor, which is shared between 18 beds on this floor, there is more located on lower floors, but is a hassle sometimes. The 10 bed dorm is ok size until everyone has their luggage on the floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Shevchenko

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff. Great location. All was good.

Disliked: I think it may be noisy from the street but I was not be annoyed by it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Heel vriendelijk en behulpzaam

Disliked: Beperkt ontbijt, matras van povere kwaliteit

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013

Liked: I loved this hostel. The staff were lovely - so friendly and warm, they would help you with any questions you had. The breakfast in the morning was great. It was clean. The location was excellent for getting to all the main touristy bits in london. Also I would highly recommend the free walking tour advertised on the maps found in the hostel

Disliked: Stayed in the 18 bed dorm. Bit noisy, especially as it was right next to the train tracks. Also only one of the showers in our adjoining bathroom worked

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael boroniec

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 michael would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing! They encouraged all the travellers to mingle and socialize... The pub was great you could cook or bring your own food! This hostel just made my stay in London one of the most memorable I have had!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very helpful and friendly staff, great location, free breakfast, wifi in the rooms, good environment

Disliked: The beds were a bit uncomfortable and creaky and you could hear the trains going by right outside the window but noise isn't a real problem for me.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013

Liked: Good location and close to public transport.Very pleasant staff.

Disliked: Bed very uncomfortable as springs coming through mattress. Poorly maintained-Lockers broken in room,showers on my floor out of order, broken latches on some Windows so can't open. Carpet in room very dirty.Very crowded dorm room. Lots of stairs. This hostel is a public bar with dorm beds to rent. Common area is the bar. Was in a 16 bed mixed dorm room and was charged a 6 bed female dorm rate.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best location (5 minute walk to Westminster), really enthusiastic and helpful staff, lively vibe, free wifi, free breakfast

Disliked: had problems with showers' hot water and steady water pressure

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and very clean location!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super nice people and great atmosphere, the breakfast was very nice.

Disliked: Trains nearby are a bit noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

VICTORIA DEY

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 VICTORIA would recommend this property

Liked: In zone 1, good value, EXTREMELY accommodating staff, a nice pub downstairs and clean simple rooms.

Disliked: It's south of the Thames which suited our trip but I can't imagine it would suit everybody.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels