HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

88.8% Overall Rating

1640 out of 1786 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2014)

Brendon Vertefeuille thinks…

"Traveled for 3 weeks last night we had before flying home worste sleep of my life. Great service from the staff can't complain there but between the trains running every 5 min and sounding like…"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.67
  • Towel USD 1.67

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.84 USD

Hostel 92.0% 34 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
19.99 USD

Hostel 81.8% 368 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
65.84 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
London Eye Hostel
23.25 USD

Hostel 65.4% 514 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
65.84 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
41.67 USD

Hostel 71.0% 296 reviews
Safestay
33.34 USD

Hostel 86.9% 217 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
83.35 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

1640 out of 1786 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1394 of 1723 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 55 | 56   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Staff was very friendly, helpful and humorous!! - Free towels - Free breakfast - Central location - Free wifi

Disliked: - Toilets do not flush properly - The trains from the nearby Waterloo station were very noisy - sleeping with an open window is impossible. With 10 people in a room you must decide between sleep and "the great stink". - 1 mattress of 7 (people) was OK, you could feel every single spring of the other ones though

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aleksandar Stankov

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 October 2013 Aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: Waterlo is located near Big Ben, staff is realy frendly, and you get the best value for your money

Disliked: Aleksandar left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Wainwright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing and so close to everything you want to see. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when you're nervous to be in the big city on your own! I would go back again when I go back to London.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and accommodating staff

Disliked: Mixed room accommodation

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buen rollito...bien situado....una acogida muy familiar en Londres... la regla es q te cuidan...se cuida al huésped..y se le regalan detalles..q no se tendrían porqué hacer... un oasis cálido en una gran ciudad..q dentro de poco estará fría... Debe contagiarse a los huéspedes la calidez porque sólo me encontré con gente genial, de México, argentina, Venezuela, Hong Kong, Escocia, Londres, Moscú...cada uno de su padre y madre, multiedad, felices compartiendo conocimientos, historias, penas, sueños y planes.. Los dormitorios con literas mixtos, están limpios..sabanas limpias..y yo dormí genial las cuatro noches..super respetuoso todo el mundo..banhos suficientes, duchas cómodas..cocina para departir y compartir yo no me encontré tan en casa de viaje en Europa nunca Staff super profesional. un placer conoceros

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. The bar is a great place to chill!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Walrus is very close to Waterloo Station and the South Bank making it super convenient for lots of tourist-y activities and transport across and in/out of London. The staff were really friendly (and cute!). Everything was clean, you can be supplied with a towel, the breakfast was simple but filling and there's a bar downstairs for a last drink before bed. What's not to love?

Disliked: I had a great stay. If there was any downside, it was that (both times I stayed here) no padlocks were available to lock a safe in my room though the listing says they will be. Maybe they've been stolen etc. but it seems like there should be enough padlocks for everyone. None of my stuff was stolen but if I'd had something valuable like a laptop with me, I'd have been worried.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly staff; cosy bar downstairs; linnen and towels included; amazing location

Disliked: trains pass by all night but this didn't bother me as much as people coming in and going out of the room all the time (but this isn't the fault of the hostel obviously, depends on the people you share the dorm with and could be like this in any hostel)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Andreazzi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: People are very friendly and helpfull, the location is awesome, nearly of the most important tourism point of the world. Great experience.

Disliked: No comments

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colin Kane

Alone

City break

14 October 2013 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing. So friendly and helpful. People who arrive early are even offered breakfast as they can't check in until two. The location is also great. You can walk into Picadilly area in about 15-20 minutes and there are buses outside the door if you need to get to Victoria etc. The breakfast was also very good, including fruit and biscuits. Would definitely recommend and stay there again.

Disliked: Didn't have any complaints.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and atmosphere, free wi-fi, staff were very friendly and helpful. Alex the manager is a legend, he upgraded my room when I arrived and let me check in straight away as it had already been cleaned. This was great as I had come off a 12 hour flight with no sleep so to be able to check in and get a few hours sleep before getting up and seeing the sights and adjusting to London time was just great. He was also very helpful with information and helping in any way he could.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allison Rego

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2013 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable! Welcoming, friendly staff.

Disliked: Allison left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luan Santos Souza

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Luan would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great! 5 minutes walking to the London Eye and to the Westminster Bridge. The Staff is absolutely great and helpfull! And the most important: The bar has great music on! haha

Disliked: The toilets are not very good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location without the extreme prices you usually get in london and other big cities. Staff were extremely nice and helpful. No curfew and bar downstairs. One of the best hostels I've stayed in anywhere and definitely the best in london. Proper doonas and pillow and don't have to make the bed yourself. Normal bunk beds not the 3 tiered ones you usually find in london. Few luggage storage. Small bathrooms but expected in a hostel and very clean. Overall excellent would return and recommend

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 September 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: The mattress smelled and room are over crowded

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Surprisingly clean, bar noise didn't really affect (though the traffic noise did)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alison Subiantoro

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

18 September 2013 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: It is located right above a bar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, helpful and approachable. They are so kind and they give useful advice for planning your trip. The breakfast is nice. The hostel is safe secure.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliest staff ever, will offer help & advice without even asking. Make you feel like you're in a friend's house, not in some hostel. We came early in the morning (obviously too early for check in), we were immediately offered breakfast, toilets & a place to keep our luggage until check in time. Then after verifying that we know how to travel inside the city we were sent to explore it with a 'have a good day!' It was fun waking up every morning & going down for breakfast since the atmosphere was so friendly & fun. The place also operates as a bar so you can sit there for a beer. there was a luggage scale which proved to be very useful. shower room in 2nd floor very spacious so you have plenty of space to get dry & put on clothes. Location was great, 2 minutes walk from the Lambeth north tube station (bakerloo line) & 5 minutes from the waterloo tube & train station.

Disliked: common area closes at 23:00. rooms a little small.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Victoria Rodgers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: A decent location...a ten minute walk to the London Eye, Big Ben, and Houses of Parliament. About a half hour to Buckingham Palace and the London Bridge. It's a bar on the ground floor and is rather cozy. They have special events on some nights and it's pretty easy to meet and socialize with other travellers, which is always fun. Breakfast is included. The food choices are rather small, but it's all you can eat.

Disliked: The lockers in the dorm were pretty shabby and they were using a mattress as a door for the restroom in the dorm, which I found hilarious and slightly nervous at the same time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Ricardo Gallardo Quesada

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2013 Luis Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: It's just PERFECT!!! I really like, I felt like home, good bar, shared kitchen, 6 beds rooms are amazing, extremely friendly staff, good breakfast, close to the Big Ben and the London Eye, and Waterloo station as well.

Disliked: Luis Ricardo left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to major sights and transport. Staff are really helpful - told us where supermarkets were close by, kitchen small but functional. Overall a good stay in this hostel.

Disliked: Pretty noisy next to Waterloo station but we were aware of this so it was a minor inconvenience. I'd imagine it would get pretty hot in summer, no aircon or fans. No common area with tv etc but the bar downstairs is good and it's easy to meet other travelers and locals.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

giuseppe lorusso

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2013 giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: excellent position , friendly staff , nice pub downstair , it's all right!!

Disliked: giuseppe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cushlia Young

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

03 August 2013 Cushlia would recommend this property

Liked: Love the Walrus!!! Love that the showers and toilets are ALWAYS clean, unlike other hostels. Its close to all tourist attractions, centre of London, amazing staff, clean facilities, clean rooms, relaxed atmosphere, will most certainly be back again. All you could want in a hostel.

Disliked: Can't say anything bad about the Walrus

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veerle van der Woning

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Veerle would recommend this property

Liked: Absoluut een goed hostel om te slapen. Het ligt wel eens waar naast het station wat lawaai geeft, maar persoonlijk heb ik daar geen last van gehad. Ik voelde er mij veilig, ook in de buurt er om heen, vriendelijke mensen, veel dingen die je (gratis) kan krijgen. Zoals handdoeken, ontbijt, wifi. Dit is zeker niet het geval in alle hostels. Prima locatie, dicht bij de tube en de london eye! Top hostel

Disliked: -


See all London hostels
See all London hotels