HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Walrus Hostel London Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 74%

Location 88%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am

This property has a 2 day cancellation policy.
Please note, if cancelled, modified or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. The total price of the reservation may be charged anytime after booking.

If your booking is over GBP 50 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance.
Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled.

NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.
If your booking is over GBP 50.00, The Walrus Hostel may contact you via e-mail to request a payment for the first night of your reserved stay in advance, as a deposit. Failure to reply to this e-mail or complete the requested payment within time limit may result in the cancellation of your booking.

BOOKINGS OVER THE XMAS/NEW YEAR PERIOD >
• All bookings made for dates between 30th of December 2016 and 2nd of January 2017 require a NON REFUNDABLE 50% deposit. (Deducted from total due on arrival).
The Walrus Hostel will contact you to arrange this 50% in advance. Failure to reply to the Walrus Hostel's e-mails (3 attempts) or complete the 50% payment by deadline stated, your booking may be cancelled.
• Any payments, date changes or cancellations (full or partial) must be confirmed before the 20th of December 2016.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 74%

Location 88%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 84%

Showing 11-20 of 85 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: loved the atmosphere and the staff was very helpful!

Disliked: needs more washrooms. bar closed early 11:00

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I enjoyed the lobby and great continental breakfast in the morning. The bar/lobby has a great atmosphere!

Disliked: The train was quite noisy, but that was to be expected due to its proximity to the railway.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff is premium class. They made my stay an absolute joy by being so responsive and always with a smile. I have a disability (visually impaired) and I've never had to feel bad when asking for any kind of help. The location is amazing, minutes from everything touristic by foot. The underground is at the corner of the street while the bus station is right at the door. I will always go back there for any of my future trips to London.Strangely enough, the 22 bed dorm room is beautiful, very big and comfortable!

Disliked: At first you think there's no hot water in the shower. You'll have to let it drop a little bit before the magic operates. For some, the exterior is very noisy. Personally these urban sounds never bothered me. But the main public area is a regular bar (very good ambiance) so there's no quiet place to use a laptop without loud music in the evening. The same area is very comfortable and always good music during the day.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The only good thing was the staff.

Disliked: First of all: the toilet on the 4th floor would flush, so it was completely dirty all day. Also, the railway line was literally 5 metters from the window in my bedroom. It was a reeeally busy railway, with trains every minute, till 1:00 a.m. Even with earplugs, it was unbearable. There was no proper shower on the 4th floor, just one you had to hold all the time and wasnt warm. The room was REALLY dark and there was no individual light. The ONLY commum area, besides the small kitchen, is a dark pub. The matress gave me backaches. The small lockers in the bedroom were all broken. The room was so small that people left their luggage ON the bed, and slept with their feet on it. After three terrible days, I decided to change hostel and it was the best decision ever. It`s impossible to understand how this hostels has good reviews. It was the worst hostel I have ever stayed in.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were absolutely amazing. I felt cared for, attended to, and safe. They were very helpful all the time, offering to provide directions and advice.

Disliked: The toilets don't flush properly.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: For sure the location! You can walk go by walking to London eye The staff is totally helpful and the place is always clean

Disliked: Well the train is passing really close so it's a bit loudly during nights

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good position (an easy walk to Westminster), clean room, nice pub

Disliked: A little too noisy, due to the near railway bridge

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly hostel, & its nice to have breakfast in the pub bar in the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: This is my favourite place to stay in London. I've stayed here 3 or 4 times now. I love how welcoming the staff are - they always explain things thoroughly and joke around and are very friendly. I feel at home here, like a proper old fashioned hostel where it was a community. Breakfast is simple but I've always left feeling full and ready for the day, and the staff at breakfast are always attentive and cheerful.

Disliked: Sometimes people leave water on the floor in the bathroom. That is honestly the only problem. It's an endemic hostel thing - it happens in most places.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The room and washroom are clean. Staff are very friendly. Location is really near to Big Ben and London eye. Worth for the money

Disliked: Hostel located next to Waterloo Train Station. Train noise get irritated at first but after sometimes you'll get use to it.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability