HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

86.9% Overall Rating

1652 out of 1798 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Great and helpful staff, very nice breakfast. Nice bar downstairs. A 5 minute walk from the London eye and Big Ben. They provide towels, locks and adapters for no extra fee."

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.62
  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 88.0% 45 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
24.33 USD

Hostel 79.7% 371 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
80.33 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.8% 51 reviews
London Eye Hostel
27.51 USD

Hostel 65.9% 515 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
68.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
40.57 USD

Hostel 74.1% 298 reviews
Safestay
38.95 USD

Hostel 88.0% 223 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
81.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

1652 out of 1798 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 1402 of 1735 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, close to the tube station and major London's attractions.

Disliked: the noise from the railway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Macgregor

Alone

Shopping
Work / volunteering

15 May 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and welcoming. Showers are great.

Disliked: The only thing that may be an issue if you can't sleep through a lot of noise is the train and the traffic, but this did not bother me.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the Walrus is incredible! They are welcoming and always up for a chat or to give you some tips on where to go or what to see. It is very close to tourist attractions. The rooms are kept quite clean and I can't stress enough how accommodating the staff were.

Disliked: As it is close to Waterloo train station, the trains are pretty loud at night, but they offer earplugs if you find it necessary. The beds are somewhat worn down and apart from the bar (which is excellent), there isn't really a common room if that is of interest. However, I found my complaints to be quite minor considering the welcoming atmosphere. I would definitely stay again.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They helped us figure out our way around also. The rooms are quant, and the lockers are handy. Bathrooms on every floor to use and easy to access. Loved this hostel! Wished we stayed longer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, reasonably choices for breakfast. Bar prices and discount for hostellers made the cost of drinks reasonable.

Disliked: Couldn't ever get the combination lock to work on the door to my dorm, though pretty sure I was putting in the right code. Fortunately a room mate let me in after several unsuccessful attempts! Not all the lockers in the dorm were usable. The one spare one by my bed could not be secured with a padlock as the closure device was broken. As I was only staying for one night, with small amount of luggage, this didn't matter too much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricky Voss

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2014 Ricky would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really good & helpful. Great location, cool bar that's always got a good vibe to it. Close to tube & train systems

Disliked: It's a little noisey with the trains going past.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, character, historic London building, clean, functional, quiet inside.

Disliked: Check-in manager was somewhat overbearing with his helpfulness and social engagement. I said I was tired and stressed, and he sort of half understood that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolás Polenta

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014 Nicolás would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionists are great, most of them speak many lenguages, always very helpfull, they have the best tips for going around the city. The hostel is really great, clean toilets and showers, great atmosphere! the place to meet new people and locals, it has a cool bar on it's groundfloor, good breakfast, central location, near to the big ben, and the london eye, 100m to the subway, 100m to waterloo station really great place to stay!!! certainly recommend!!!

Disliked: bedrooms are a bit small and it's difficult to store the luggage in, the lack of a lift may annoy someone. besides that, everything else was great!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ann Carlin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Ann would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really in easy walking distance to attractions like Big Ben, Westminster Abby, and The Eye. It's also very close to two undergrounds so getting around is easy. The down stairs of the hostel has an awesome pub with a really great atmosphere. If you're staying you even get a discount which is great. The breakfast served in the morning isn't extensive, but its much better than most places. The room was great. It was small but had everything I needed.

Disliked: Ann left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Seth Ervin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014 Seth would recommend this property

Liked: Its within walking distance to many of London's top sites to see, Staff was awesome, friendly and very informative. always there to help when you needed it. The bar was fun with nice staff and cheap drinks if you're staying at the hostel.

Disliked: The location was right next to train tracks so you could hear that from time to time but not often. First bed i slept on wasn't very comfortable but they gladly let me switch to another. The bar downstairs was a lot of fun to hang out in but if you go to bed early, you can hear the fun happening downstairs while you're in the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pedro Ferreira

Alone

Business / conference

28 February 2014 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff always with smile in their faces

Disliked: Pedro left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgia Simmonds

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2014 Georgia would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant atmosphere! Close walk to everything with an amazing group of staff! The free breakfast in the mornings is perfect and you meet amazing people!

Disliked: Nothing it was perfect in my opinion!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frederico Faro

Alone

Business / conference

24 February 2014 Frederico would recommend this property

Liked: Very satisfied with my experience on The Walrus Waterloo Hostel. The staff was very friendly, accommodations clean and comfortable. Everything expected from a good hostel.

Disliked: Frederico left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Moonhee Han

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

17 February 2014 Moonhee would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good. The location was good, the staff was very friendly and cozy atmosphere.

Disliked: Everything was good but maybe water pressure of some showers ???

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Danielle Rose

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 February 2014 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: It's so easy to get to the hostel from Waterloo. The staff are friendly and helpful. There are plenty of showers and toilets (in comparison to other hostels I've stayed in). The bar area is nice and breakfast is really relaxed. They also give you a flyer to get discounted drinks there plus discounted food at a pub just down the road. They're happy for you to use the facilities (shower, kitchen, bar area) after the time you have to leave your room.

Disliked: The bunk beds are so squeaky which makes for quite a noisy night! The hot water in the showers can be quite temperamental. Could only see 2 plug sockets in our room for 6 people. Would be good if they could provide an adapter with more.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful, Alex would actually be mad if you didn't let him help you. Location was good and the facilities were regular hostel situations. Little kitchen was nice and everyone hung out in there.

Disliked: It's nothing too fancy, it's a hostel. It more than met my expectations.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claudie Bouchard

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 February 2014 Claudie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was amazing. It is not expansive for the place it is located.

Disliked: Nearly nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marry verhagen

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 January 2014 marry would recommend this property

Liked: the place. the peopele. the breakfest en in de center off de city My grandzoon and I like dit place

Disliked: noting

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

marenda bullock

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2014 marenda would recommend this property

Liked: - Free, reliable wifi in all areas, including my room - Free breakfast - Free linen and towels - Great location within walking distance of the two tube stations, the London Eye, Parliament/Big Ben, Westminster Abbey. I even walked to Buckingham Palace. - Free printing for tickets - Locker in the room but the staff will store your real valuables in their office - Quiet at night - Staff was GREAT! Very helpful and friendly - I checked in after midnight, no problem - No curfew or lockout

Disliked: - My room got very cold but they gave me extra blankets - Squeaky bed - Shower in my shared room was small and not working but there was no problem using the one upstairs.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: IT has a great location, and beds are confortable. Showers are just ok.

Disliked: As it has a bar, it doesnt have a propper common area for people staying at the hostel, to be chill. I've missed that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Sherman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is connected to a bar, which is a GREAT way to meet other travelers, especially if you're backpacking alone. The bar is priced well, and discounted for people who stay at the hostel. The staff was really helpful, accomodating and friendly. I'd have stayed longer, but couldn't extend b/c they were all booked up

Disliked: If you enjoy your privacy, this place is not for you. the dorm is MASSIVE. Didn't bother me, but keep that in mind if you're the kind of person who this may bother.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Livia Mussato

Alone

City break

26 December 2013 Livia would recommend this property

Liked: stayed in the 16 bed dorm which was very pleasant and quiet (also because the bar downstairs was closed). facilities are simple and clean. beds are ok for short stay. lockers in the room. mostly i was impressed by the cleanliness of the place and friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: Livia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was superfriendly and very helpful with everything, rooms and showers/toilets were very clean, location is great (very close to underground station but also close to London Eye, Big Ben etc. by foot), there is a free luggage room, free wifi in all rooms and the continental breakfast was great as well.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No toilet in the private bathroom

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, safe, close to tube and walking distance to a lot of good spots. Alex was a trap legend and staff super helpful! Basic but good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels