HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

92.8% Overall Rating

1632 out of 1776 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2014)

Thomas Renwart thinks…

"The staff is very friendly and try to help you as much as possible. Everyone gets a fair treatment. No one is excluded. It's really good for a short stay!"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.70
  • Towel USD 1.70

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.41 USD

Hostel 95.3% 28 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
25.45 USD

Hostel 82.1% 366 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
67.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
London Eye Hostel
23.69 USD

Hostel 66.5% 512 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
50.09 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
42.45 USD

Hostel 70.9% 293 reviews
Safestay
33.96 USD

Hostel 86.2% 215 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
84.90 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

1632 out of 1776 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1385 of 1713 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 55 | 56   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marry verhagen

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 January 2014 marry would recommend this property

Liked: the place. the peopele. the breakfest en in de center off de city My grandzoon and I like dit place

Disliked: noting

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

marenda bullock

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2014 marenda would recommend this property

Liked: - Free, reliable wifi in all areas, including my room - Free breakfast - Free linen and towels - Great location within walking distance of the two tube stations, the London Eye, Parliament/Big Ben, Westminster Abbey. I even walked to Buckingham Palace. - Free printing for tickets - Locker in the room but the staff will store your real valuables in their office - Quiet at night - Staff was GREAT! Very helpful and friendly - I checked in after midnight, no problem - No curfew or lockout

Disliked: - My room got very cold but they gave me extra blankets - Squeaky bed - Shower in my shared room was small and not working but there was no problem using the one upstairs.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: IT has a great location, and beds are confortable. Showers are just ok.

Disliked: As it has a bar, it doesnt have a propper common area for people staying at the hostel, to be chill. I've missed that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Sherman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is connected to a bar, which is a GREAT way to meet other travelers, especially if you're backpacking alone. The bar is priced well, and discounted for people who stay at the hostel. The staff was really helpful, accomodating and friendly. I'd have stayed longer, but couldn't extend b/c they were all booked up

Disliked: If you enjoy your privacy, this place is not for you. the dorm is MASSIVE. Didn't bother me, but keep that in mind if you're the kind of person who this may bother.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Livia Mussato

Alone

City break

26 December 2013 Livia would recommend this property

Liked: stayed in the 16 bed dorm which was very pleasant and quiet (also because the bar downstairs was closed). facilities are simple and clean. beds are ok for short stay. lockers in the room. mostly i was impressed by the cleanliness of the place and friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: Livia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was superfriendly and very helpful with everything, rooms and showers/toilets were very clean, location is great (very close to underground station but also close to London Eye, Big Ben etc. by foot), there is a free luggage room, free wifi in all rooms and the continental breakfast was great as well.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No toilet in the private bathroom

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, safe, close to tube and walking distance to a lot of good spots. Alex was a trap legend and staff super helpful! Basic but good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noah Zernechel

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2013 Noah would recommend this property

Liked: A wonderful hostel in an awesome location. The staff are super helpful and friendly, the bar downstairs is a lot of fun, bed are comfy, rooms are clean and secure, and you get a 15% discount at the bar if you stay at the hostel. I highly recommend this hostel to anyone staying in London for either a short or long period.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in London, hands down! Clean, inviting, and attracts fun travellers without the weirdos.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Quayle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The reception / bar downstairs is a really inviting area and I loved sitting down there quite regularly while I was staying at the end of a busy day sightseeing. All the staff were helpful and very easy to talk with

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marco Nowak

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: contact with other travellers good breakfast

Disliked: Marco left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Pasquale Campitiello

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: Free and good breakfast.

Disliked: 1) bathrooms are very small and dirty, showers are dirty and some of them not working; 2) noisy, it is near the a train station bridge and shared rooms are too big, many people going around; 3) drunk people around because of the pub downstairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mette Eline B. Pedersen

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2013 Mette Eline B. would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is always there to help if there's anything you need help with and they're all so incredibly nice

Disliked: The matresses were a bit uncomfortable but nothing really bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joao Ribeiro

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2013 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice rooms, good overall experience.

Disliked: Nothing much.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Staff was very friendly, helpful and humorous!! - Free towels - Free breakfast - Central location - Free wifi

Disliked: - Toilets do not flush properly - The trains from the nearby Waterloo station were very noisy - sleeping with an open window is impossible. With 10 people in a room you must decide between sleep and "the great stink". - 1 mattress of 7 (people) was OK, you could feel every single spring of the other ones though

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aleksandar Stankov

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 October 2013 Aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: Waterlo is located near Big Ben, staff is realy frendly, and you get the best value for your money

Disliked: Aleksandar left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Wainwright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing and so close to everything you want to see. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when you're nervous to be in the big city on your own! I would go back again when I go back to London.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and accommodating staff

Disliked: Mixed room accommodation

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buen rollito...bien situado....una acogida muy familiar en Londres... la regla es q te cuidan...se cuida al huésped..y se le regalan detalles..q no se tendrían porqué hacer... un oasis cálido en una gran ciudad..q dentro de poco estará fría... Debe contagiarse a los huéspedes la calidez porque sólo me encontré con gente genial, de México, argentina, Venezuela, Hong Kong, Escocia, Londres, Moscú...cada uno de su padre y madre, multiedad, felices compartiendo conocimientos, historias, penas, sueños y planes.. Los dormitorios con literas mixtos, están limpios..sabanas limpias..y yo dormí genial las cuatro noches..super respetuoso todo el mundo..banhos suficientes, duchas cómodas..cocina para departir y compartir yo no me encontré tan en casa de viaje en Europa nunca Staff super profesional. un placer conoceros

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. The bar is a great place to chill!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Walrus is very close to Waterloo Station and the South Bank making it super convenient for lots of tourist-y activities and transport across and in/out of London. The staff were really friendly (and cute!). Everything was clean, you can be supplied with a towel, the breakfast was simple but filling and there's a bar downstairs for a last drink before bed. What's not to love?

Disliked: I had a great stay. If there was any downside, it was that (both times I stayed here) no padlocks were available to lock a safe in my room though the listing says they will be. Maybe they've been stolen etc. but it seems like there should be enough padlocks for everyone. None of my stuff was stolen but if I'd had something valuable like a laptop with me, I'd have been worried.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly staff; cosy bar downstairs; linnen and towels included; amazing location

Disliked: trains pass by all night but this didn't bother me as much as people coming in and going out of the room all the time (but this isn't the fault of the hostel obviously, depends on the people you share the dorm with and could be like this in any hostel)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Andreazzi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: People are very friendly and helpfull, the location is awesome, nearly of the most important tourism point of the world. Great experience.

Disliked: No comments


See all London hostels
See all London hotels