HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Walrus Hostel London Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 75%

Location 90%

Safety 85%

Staff 95%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am

If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance.

Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 75%

Location 90%

Safety 85%

Staff 95%

Value 84%

Showing 111-120 of 139 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendliest staff ever, will offer help & advice without even asking. Make you feel like you're in a friend's house, not in some hostel.We came early in the morning (obviously too early for check in), we were immediately offered breakfast, toilets & a place to keep our luggage until check in time. Then after verifying that we know how to travel inside the city we were sent to explore it with a 'have a good day!'It was fun waking up every morning & going down for breakfast since the atmosphere was so friendly & fun.The place also operates as a bar so you can sit there for a beer.there was a luggage scale which proved to be very useful. shower room in 2nd floor very spacious so you have plenty of space to get dry & put on clothes. Location was great, 2 minutes walk from the Lambeth north tube station (bakerloo line) & 5 minutes from the waterloo tube & train station.

Disliked: common area closes at 23:00.rooms a little small.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and atmosphere, free wi-fi, staff were very friendly and helpful. Alex the manager is a legend, he upgraded my room when I arrived and let me check in straight away as it had already been cleaned. This was great as I had come off a 12 hour flight with no sleep so to be able to check in and get a few hours sleep before getting up and seeing the sights and adjusting to London time was just great. He was also very helpful with information and helping in any way he could.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: excellent position , friendly staff , nice pub downstair , it's all right!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's just PERFECT!!! I really like, I felt like home, good bar, shared kitchen, 6 beds rooms are amazing, extremely friendly staff, good breakfast, close to the Big Ben and the London Eye, and Waterloo station as well.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Love the Walrus!!! Love that the showers and toilets are ALWAYS clean, unlike other hostels. Its close to all tourist attractions, centre of London, amazing staff, clean facilities, clean rooms, relaxed atmosphere, will most certainly be back again. All you could want in a hostel.

Disliked: Can't say anything bad about the Walrus

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff are nice and helpful.Perfect location.

Disliked: The room is quite small.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Shower room

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was amazing and so close to everything you want to see. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when you're nervous to be in the big city on your own! I would go back again when I go back to London.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Absoluut een goed hostel om te slapen. Het ligt wel eens waar naast het station wat lawaai geeft, maar persoonlijk heb ik daar geen last van gehad.Ik voelde er mij veilig, ook in de buurt er om heen, vriendelijke mensen, veel dingen die je (gratis) kan krijgen. Zoals handdoeken, ontbijt, wifi. Dit is zeker niet het geval in alle hostels. Prima locatie, dicht bij de tube en de london eye! Top hostel

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is pretty cool. The location is incredible. The city centre is less than 5 minutes away walking. You can leave your stuff at the hostel before your check in time, which is prettty cool. All things considered I would defintely come here again, and reccommend it to all.

Disliked: The noise level at night may be an issue for you. The hostel is located right next to the tube, so the noise may get to you. You get used to it, but some light sleeper may have more difficulty than others. There wasn't any air conditioning in the room, but it was a lovely night.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability