HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

92.1% Overall Rating

1634 out of 1778 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2014)

Thomas Renwart thinks…

"The staff is very friendly and try to help you as much as possible. Everyone gets a fair treatment. No one is excluded. It's really good for a short stay!"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.70
  • Towel USD 1.70

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.40 USD

Hostel 94.7% 29 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
25.44 USD

Hostel 82.1% 366 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
84.01 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
London Eye Hostel
23.68 USD

Hostel 66.5% 512 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
66.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
42.43 USD

Hostel 70.9% 293 reviews
Safestay
37.34 USD

Hostel 87.0% 216 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
84.86 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

1633 out of 1777 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
98.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 1386 of 1714 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | … | 55 | 56   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and a very friendly atmosphere. The cool bar downstairs.

Disliked: A bit noisy due to the proximity of a busy railway - not too bad though

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tony Elze

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2012 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really friendly and the hostel was very close to the city centre. It was a nice atmosphere in the hostel and the pub was fantastic to drink some beers with other backpackers! Perfect for staying a few days in London!

Disliked: The matrasse was not the best and could be a little bit more tidy and clean. Especially the kitchen. But the stay was good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chun sun lai

Alone

Shopping

18 February 2012 chun sun would recommend this property

Liked: everything great!! staff is very nice

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to everything, the building itself was nice and had a good atmosphere

Disliked: Right next to the train which was kind of noisy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kimberly Goliss

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good location, less than a five minute walk to an underground station and less than a ten minute walk to the London Eye! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Good and safe location.

Disliked: The only thing I would recommend is to bring ear plugs because there is a train track right beside the hostel. I could feel the springs on my bed, so that was a little uncomfortable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great and the staff are very welling to help

Disliked: the pillows are huge and hard

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff and location, great pub downstairs, free breakfast, nice atmosphere

Disliked: No heating in the corridors - really cold when you leave dorm to go to the toilet/shower, poor lighting in the dorm room on first floor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful. It was an okay stay.

Disliked: Maybe location since it's in the south part of London. Still close to the tube so no problems.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colin Nevin

Alone

Business / conference
City break

09 February 2012 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: The Walrus is located extremely close to the very centre of London - Big Ben, The Houses of Parliament, the London Eye etc., so was great value for being so central to such important tourist sites. It was very affordable, and the staff were friendly and welcoming the moment I arrived. It is situated over a pub which makes it interesting and many international guests. Great place!

Disliked: I was concerned in a 16 bed dorm that it might be too claustrophobic, but the rooms were large and not over-crowded. Just needed to wait a turn for the shower. Still, what you expect for such a great price! Everything else was superb including the free self serve breakfast in the bar!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Reid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 February 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: This place is fantastic, the atmosphere is exactly what you want as a traveller visiting london. The staff are super friendly and will do anything to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The bar downstairs is a great place to relax after a long day sightseeing, or as the start of your night-time explorations don't worry if all you want to do is sleep, the bar was never rowdy and the rooms are quiet. The hostel couldn't really be in a better location with all central london destinations within walking distance, and if you want to go further, there is a tube stop less than 2 minutes walk away. This place has character and that goes along way if like me you want to avoid travel-lodge clone type places like the plague. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hostel to anybody wanting the best base from which to experience london.

Disliked: The nights freddy is not in control of the music.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rachel Knight

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Staff were REALLY friendly and helpful.

Disliked: It might sound like a little thing but the bunks made loads of noise when you moved, so we woke up every time in the night one of us turned over. Also, I had to have a cold showers on one of the mornings because the hot water had run out!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elijah Nine

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 Elijah would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great! It's right by Waterloo and Lambeth North stations, making it perfect for getting around the city! The staff are super helpful and friendly. If you need any advice about London, just ask! They also allow you to use a towel, converter, and lock for a deposit which they return to you when you leave. The included breakfast is cereal and toast, but delicious! The bar downstairs has a great atmosphere.

Disliked: Parts of the upstairs seemed old, but they are slowly remodeling, so it's nothing to complain about!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: is a very simple but lovely place with a great location :)

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff, location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Victoria Johnston

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 February 2012 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location. Staff member was kind enough to help me with my bag. Oddly enough the proximity to the train wasn't that noticable. I wasn't there long enough to comment on much else. Near to several shops to grab quick, cheap food.

Disliked: The mattress was a bit uncomfortable and the pillow smelled musty. The kitchen was nice (microwaves, fridges, cupboards, etc) but small when others were also trying to cook and eat. And though it is a hassle, individual lights would have been nice at the bunks as I forgot to pack a flashlight and then had to turn on the main light so I could see to unlock my locker and pack on the morning I was leaving. Also, short of plugging it in right next to my bed and waking everyone in the room - I couldn't find anywhere to plug in a hair dryer. Normally I don't care - but I had an international flight that day.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and breakfast

Disliked: The shower's water didn't heat up when I tried to shower.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great!

Disliked: NEarest tube stations close earlier than midnight.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

30 January 2012

Liked: good location and brilliant breakfast

Disliked: showers - no pressure and not nice to wake up to a cold shower!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Curry

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: the staff here was awesome, the location was perfect. i would recommend this place to everyone!

Disliked: Jordan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aubree Peckham

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Aubree would recommend this property

Liked: WOW! Location Location Location!! This place is a hop skip and a jump from Lambeth North Underground, a short walk to the London Eye, and a skip across Westminster Bridge to Parliament & Big Ben! You can't beat it's friendly and helpful staff.. EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE! Thank you so much!

Disliked: Aubree left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Walrus is amazing. Free breakfast in the morning is super awesome. THE HOSTEL IS ALSO A PUB!!!! Very secure, the door codes on the front and room doors changes frequently.

Disliked: Rooms could seem a bit crowded if full.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly and very helpful. (Plug) converters and towels are available free of charge.

Disliked: The beds are very uncomfortable. If you have a bad back do not stay here- you will regret it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KA CHUN CHOW

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 KA CHUN would recommend this property

Liked: The manager is extremely helpful. I cannot find another manager like him in other hostels. The location is good, not just close to underground station also close to some tourist spots too. It is very easy to get food as the street is full of restaurant and there are supermarket and small food store at daytime.

Disliked: The premise is a bit old. But I would like to say this is a kind of British experience.(At least to a foreign tourist) WIFI can be better. Noise is not a big problem I think as long as you close the windows properly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Wallace

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Alex and his sister are incredibly friendly and helpful. The hostel is located a short 5-minute walk from the Waterloo station and is very convenient to many London sights.

Disliked: The bathrooms need some work. If you want a hot shower, you must use the one on the 4th floor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. For example, the first two nights of my stay, the room was a bit cold, but when I mentioned it to the staff, it was fixed right away.

Disliked: I found the beds a bit hard for my taste, but it's no uncommon in the UK and certainly not a dealbreaker. Some of the rooms have been refurbished and have new mattresses, so it's possible that is has been resolved.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels