HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

90.5% Overall Rating

1614 out of 1757 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

Nicolás Polenta thinks…

"The receptionists are great, most of them speak many lenguages, always very helpfull, they have the best tips for going around the city. The hostel is really great, clean toilets and showers, great…"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.68
  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.04 USD

Hostel 98.0% 13 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
20.12 USD

Hostel 78.2% 352 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
66.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.9% 47 reviews
London Eye Hostel
25.17 USD

Hostel 65.4% 495 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
54.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
41.95 USD

Hostel 74.4% 286 reviews
Journeys London Bridge Hostel
28.51 USD

Hostel 64.1% 528 reviews
Safestay
31.88 USD

Hostel 87.3% 205 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

1614 out of 1757 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1371 of 1694 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | … | 54 | 55   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and breakfast

Disliked: The shower's water didn't heat up when I tried to shower.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great!

Disliked: NEarest tube stations close earlier than midnight.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

30 January 2012

Liked: good location and brilliant breakfast

Disliked: showers - no pressure and not nice to wake up to a cold shower!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Curry

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: the staff here was awesome, the location was perfect. i would recommend this place to everyone!

Disliked: Jordan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aubree Peckham

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Aubree would recommend this property

Liked: WOW! Location Location Location!! This place is a hop skip and a jump from Lambeth North Underground, a short walk to the London Eye, and a skip across Westminster Bridge to Parliament & Big Ben! You can't beat it's friendly and helpful staff.. EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE! Thank you so much!

Disliked: Aubree left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Walrus is amazing. Free breakfast in the morning is super awesome. THE HOSTEL IS ALSO A PUB!!!! Very secure, the door codes on the front and room doors changes frequently.

Disliked: Rooms could seem a bit crowded if full.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly and very helpful. (Plug) converters and towels are available free of charge.

Disliked: The beds are very uncomfortable. If you have a bad back do not stay here- you will regret it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KA CHUN CHOW

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 KA CHUN would recommend this property

Liked: The manager is extremely helpful. I cannot find another manager like him in other hostels. The location is good, not just close to underground station also close to some tourist spots too. It is very easy to get food as the street is full of restaurant and there are supermarket and small food store at daytime.

Disliked: The premise is a bit old. But I would like to say this is a kind of British experience.(At least to a foreign tourist) WIFI can be better. Noise is not a big problem I think as long as you close the windows properly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Wallace

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Alex and his sister are incredibly friendly and helpful. The hostel is located a short 5-minute walk from the Waterloo station and is very convenient to many London sights.

Disliked: The bathrooms need some work. If you want a hot shower, you must use the one on the 4th floor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. For example, the first two nights of my stay, the room was a bit cold, but when I mentioned it to the staff, it was fixed right away.

Disliked: I found the beds a bit hard for my taste, but it's no uncommon in the UK and certainly not a dealbreaker. Some of the rooms have been refurbished and have new mattresses, so it's possible that is has been resolved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, great staff making it a very friendly atmosphere

Disliked: n/a

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super friendly, accommodating and helpful. I felt welcome and enjoyed my stay. Nice breakfast in the morning. The bar is under construction, but they opened up a room as common space which was great. I liked that it was close to the waterloo and lambeth north tube stations. Made getting around London a breeze.

Disliked: A little chilly at night, and very squeaky bunks, but otherwise mostly comfortable. Also, its super noisy because its close to the trains, but I slept right through it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome, chilled staff. It was clean and good showers and beds in an awesome location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aoife Duffy

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 January 2012 Aoife would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the bohemian edginess of the bar, replete with numerous paintings, photos and prints of Walruses! The staff were extremely welcoming - they couldn't do enough for you. For example, on my last evening, Alex, a member of staff made me a camomile tea to help me sleep. It was a very convenient location for me, a ten minute walk from the Embankment and Westminster underground stations.

Disliked: When I booked a six bed dorm with en suite I thought that this meant a bathroom or bathroom & shower, however it was just a shower room and an area which had two sinks. There was no door between the dorm and the sink area, so it was a little lacking in privacy in what was a mixed dorm.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are really kind and helpful

Disliked: que for toilets

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andre Colond

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and provide a warm feeling at the hostel. They made the trip a lot more fun and memorable.

Disliked: The toilets are not mopped on a daily basis, the floor was rather sticky.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hannah Scriver

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed over the New Year, had an amazing time! Great staff and super clean accomodations!

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its locations is great ! staff is so helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alvin Toh

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 January 2012 Alvin would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, friendly staff. Good service!

Disliked: Location next to main train station might result in hostel being noisy for some people but it was just a minor annoyance for me.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lucas Caetano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, amazing staff and clients. The shower isn't that good, but at least is clean. I recommend the hostel for backpackers and people who just need a place to sleep and shower during the visit.

Disliked: Not very clean or comfortable, and people were robbed during the night. I strongly recommend the use of the lockers all the time. The shower isn't that good either, but at least is clean. I recommend the hostel for backpackers and people who just need a place to sleep and shower during the visit.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MaryRose Moran

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2011 MaryRose would recommend this property

Liked: For the price, location, and friendly staff it can't be beat. The kitchen and free wifi were a great plus.

Disliked: There were times the showers were unavailable and a little drafty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I extremely like the friendly staff at Walrus Waterloo! And the location is excellent!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place! The bar downstairs is comfortable. The rooms as clean. Lots of bathroom/shower space. The staff were super helpful and friendly. Breakfast was simple but good. Underground stops nice and close. The walk from the hostel over the Westminster Bridge is amazing!

Disliked: The wifi didn't work for part of our stay, although they had fixed the issue by the time we left.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jing Ren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 December 2011 Jing would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and tidy, friendly people

Disliked: a bit noisy close to a train route

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities are good, the kitchen is small but has everything you might need during a stay. Shops are just around the corner for supplies. Cheap to leave bags, free (but small) lockers in the rooms. Double beds in the dorms I saw (not triple). The staff where friendly and approachable, Alex did some cooking one night in the kitchen for guests. I didn't use the bar, but it looked like a popular place for locals as well. Using codes on the rooms suited me, no faffing with cards or keys. Wi-fi was ok in the bar area and first floor. I didn't try the computers. Breakfast was ok.

Disliked: If you're a light sleeper this is not the place for you without earpulgs :P It's next to a train station, and a railway bridge so expect noises from this and road traffic from early until late. The beds are noisy to. Being above a bar has pros and cons. Things where quiet by 2330 but if you're not part of the fun it can be a little loud on the first floor. There's no common room, and the kitchen is quiet so it's difficult so socialise, granted I was not staying for long. It's grubby round the edges, day to day things are clean but the mouse catcher under the bed wasn't reassuring and the dust got on my belongings. Be careful in the showers, some of the doors don't lock well, and some cubicles are small so you have to leave your towel outside or it gets wet. No place for the night owls to go other than the dorm room.s


See all London hostels
See all London hotels