We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

86.3% Overall Rating

1656 out of 1802 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/11/2014)

Sydney Poulos thinks…

"My boyfriend and I stayed in the 6 person dorm with ensuite. The staff were absolutely outstanding, the location was very close to the London Eye and underground, and the beds were very comfortable.…"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.62
  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 87.5% 47 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
21.08 USD

Hostel 78.9% 373 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
64.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
London Eye Hostel
22.64 USD

Hostel 65.9% 515 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
63.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
40.57 USD

Hostel 75.2% 299 reviews
Safestay
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.9% 224 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
81.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

1656 out of 1802 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 1404 of 1739 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Travis Wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and located very near many sights. The place has a lot of character also.

Disliked: Travis left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Property should consider investing in new sheet and pillows

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were exceptionally nice and helpful. The rooms stayed warm when I came during the winter time, and I slept well every night. The location is in central london (zone 1) and is less than 5 min walk from the nearest station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elaine Lu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 March 2012 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely GREAT location!! With two tube stations (Waterloo and Lambeth North) it's just easy to travel around the city!

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarasa Tsunekawa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012

Liked: friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: I don't know why this hostel was rated so high. The staffs were very nice, but facilities were poor. the plug was broken, hot water was not coming, toilet door couldn't be locked. location was perfect though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff, the way they tried to be helpful whatever our requests were and the central position.

Disliked: Nothing in particular

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Friendliness of the staff, the way they tried to be helpful whatever our requests were and the very central position.

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, short walk to Imperial War Museum and Parliament...

Disliked: Pretty Noisy! Right next to a train track which made it hard to sleep. Also more groups than solo travelers, so it made it hard to socialize. No common area, just a bar.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good atmosphere,nice room,great host and a really good breakfast for a hostel!

Disliked: showers were cold but we didnt mind,cause the rest was really cool!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Slightly more expensive than some of the other hostels I was looking at, but the primary benefit of staying here was the location. I walked to every major tourist attraction that I wanted to see, and the proximity to Waterloo station, as advertised, makes returning home from traveling easy. The downstairs bar adds a different, but enjoyable, atmosphere to the hostel. You can mingle with some random Londoners without leaving the property, and the tables outside are comfortable. I stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm and thought it was acceptable for the price. There are individual bathrooms which could get overloaded if the hostel was full, but it wasn't an issue for me. There are also tons of books and games that you can borrow, which are enjoyable with friends.

Disliked: Several areas seemed slightly dirty, but I would attribute this more to the age of the building opposed to anything else. My only complaint with the 4 bed mixed room was that one of the bunkbeds squeaked a bed when the person on top moved, which, if I was not a deep sleeper, could wake me.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Too old... The building ( had to carry my bag up 4 floors ), the room, the shower... The "locker" inside the room under the bad wouldn't feet a school size backpack

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in this hostel mid-week. As a result, it wasn't very busy and there were only 3 staying in the 10 bed room. It was a nice place to stay, great location just south of the river, so easy walking distance to everything on the South Bank and many of the main attractions like Westminster Abbey and Buckingham Palace. Pub was pretty good too.

Disliked: The only warning to give about the property is that the building is almost right beside the train tracks and so you can hear it into the evening. I believe it stops at some point overnight, but not sure when. Anyway, not a problem for me personally, but light sleepers would probably appreciate ear plugs to keep from being disturbed by the train.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and very friendly staff! Just a few minutes walk from Lambeth North - so convenient. Couldn't believe how close I was to many sights in London. Beds were comfy, free wi-fi down in the bar was great.

Disliked: Only one bathroom per floor, so sometimes you had to wait, but that's the way it is sometimes in hostels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Candice Lin

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Candice would recommend this property

Liked: Greeted with very friendly staff! Love the convenient location, it’s only a few minutes walk to Lambeth North. I stayed in the 16-bed room and it wasn’t at all. The showers and sinks in the room were clean and so were the ladies toilets outside in the hall.

Disliked: Candice left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Balzerová

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, great location, great bar and very friendly staff. Simply the best.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012

Liked: I liked how helpful the staff were

Disliked: The room was way too hot and we couldn't open a window so it was stifling

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dario Arturo Mejia Cortez

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 Dario Arturo would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the bar downstair are the best

Disliked: The bathroom and shower are not really clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and a very friendly atmosphere. The cool bar downstairs.

Disliked: A bit noisy due to the proximity of a busy railway - not too bad though

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tony Elze

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2012 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really friendly and the hostel was very close to the city centre. It was a nice atmosphere in the hostel and the pub was fantastic to drink some beers with other backpackers! Perfect for staying a few days in London!

Disliked: The matrasse was not the best and could be a little bit more tidy and clean. Especially the kitchen. But the stay was good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chun sun lai

Alone

Shopping

18 February 2012 chun sun would recommend this property

Liked: everything great!! staff is very nice

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to everything, the building itself was nice and had a good atmosphere

Disliked: Right next to the train which was kind of noisy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kimberly Goliss

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good location, less than a five minute walk to an underground station and less than a ten minute walk to the London Eye! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Good and safe location.

Disliked: The only thing I would recommend is to bring ear plugs because there is a train track right beside the hostel. I could feel the springs on my bed, so that was a little uncomfortable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great and the staff are very welling to help

Disliked: the pillows are huge and hard

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff and location, great pub downstairs, free breakfast, nice atmosphere

Disliked: No heating in the corridors - really cold when you leave dorm to go to the toilet/shower, poor lighting in the dorm room on first floor


See all London hostels
See all London hotels