We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

86.6% Overall Rating

1657 out of 1803 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/12/2014)

Antonia Glover thinks…

"The staff were amazing and friendly, you felt at home right away. Warm atmosphere, discounts on the bar and the pub at the Horse & Stables was very welcome too."

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.62
  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 86.5% 48 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
14.44 USD

Hostel 78.9% 373 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
64.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
London Eye Hostel
17.04 USD

Hostel 65.9% 515 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
64.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
35.70 USD

Hostel 75.2% 299 reviews
Safestay
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.9% 224 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
81.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

1657 out of 1803 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 1405 of 1740 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robert Russell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 April 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly atmosphere and quirky attitude was unparralled. Really was a fun and welcoming place to be. The staff were relaxed and friendly, but were also professional and efficient at the same time.

Disliked: I genuinely haven't got a bad word to say about the Walrus.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location. Could easily walk to several major attractions (Tate Modern, London Eye, Westminster...) or hop on the tube. Staff were extremely helpful and they don't treat you as just a number like so many other hostels. Great atmosphere in the bar in the evening. Also, it had plenty of bathrooms and showers which is always a bonus!

Disliked: Bathrooms weren't terribly clean but okay.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012

Liked: -The location is super good. We can simply walk to several famous sightseeing spots within 10 mins: Big Ben, London Eye, Parliament etc. Also it is near two underground stations. -The breakfast they provide is quite good, various choices.

Disliked: -Noise: the hostel locates right next to the tunnel, and there's a hospital nearby, and the soundproof effect of the wall is not good, so it is quite noisy all day. -NO 24-hr hot shower: if we want hot water, we need to stay up late like 2 or 3 am or get up early in dawn. I tried, but there were ONLY a bit warm water (which is still cold, but not too cold to take shower)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Humberto Hernandez

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Humberto would recommend this property

Liked: Simply the best staff I´ve known. Alex and Co. are great, i had a delay on my flight so I could not get into the hostel on time, they reacted just in a perfect way. The location is simply the best in London, near from Big Ben and Westminster Abbey, there´s also a market around the corner. The hostel is very clean and the breackfast is one of the best. They have also a very usefull kitchen.

Disliked: Humberto left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dean Salmon

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 April 2012 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: -Very good location, just around the corner from Waterloo station -Hostel attached directly to a bar -Number pad entry on main doors and dorm room, so very secure

Disliked: -DId not use them myself but hear qualms from another group that showers weren't very good. I can't think of any problems I experienced myself though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pieterjan Tas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Pieterjan would recommend this property

Liked: What I especially liked was the fact that it is located right nearby Westminster. All you have to do is cross Westminster Bridge, and you'll be next to the Big Ben. Apart from that, there was this bicycle tour by "Tally-Ho" around London. The bikes were amazing and so was the guide. I learned a lot. Speaking of bikes, there is a cycle hire station right next to the hostel where you can rent bikes for one pound a day. You can leave the bike at any other "cycle hire" dock station in the city and take another one. I think it is a very fast and cheap way to see the whole city.

Disliked: I can not think of anything.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Renan Oliveira

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Renan would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, 5 min from london eye, big bang...

Disliked: No hot water for showers and bad heating in the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great location was great having the bar on the first floor let me get to know alot of the other guests

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, ready to help staff, and beautiful decor in the pub. All this and we could see the Big Ben whilst brushing our teeth !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 April 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: the showers were awful

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very friendly staff. I had a very warm welcome and everything was explained upon arrival. The staff is very helpful and answered all of my questions. The hostel is currently being refurbished so in a near future it will be nice than it is already. it is very close to main tourist attractions- London eye and Bug ben- Shame i dodn;t have time to see more of it and stay longer.Very friendly atmosphere and nice hostelers. I would highly recommend this hostel.Thank you very much.

Disliked: nothing :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location (walking distance of london eye), very friendly staff, nice atmosphere

Disliked: not too clean (bathrooms, dishes at breakfast), staff accidentially left our room open after cleaning

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JORDI ROMERO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2012 JORDI would recommend this property

Liked: They are a very great team; the both of them are very helpful... I really liked the helpful staff, they opened London doors to tourists very well and diminish the difficulties you can find ijn this big city.....10 points for the Chilean boy and Dutch girl!!!!

Disliked: Just a robbery inside my room made me felt a little uncomfortable the third night of my staying but always the efficient staff showed his "Scotland´s Yard cards" and the problem was solved in two nights...another 10 points for the staff.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Pawel Zlotkowski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 April 2012

Liked: Friendly staff, location

Disliked: No hot water in the evening, very basic standard for a hostel, vicinity of hospital and railway causing noise (ambulances, trains).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice atmosphere and great staff

Disliked: Showers were bit weak

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This has just been the best experience. The staff are the highlight of this property. Very helpful and the service was just perfect. Also, great location and a fantastic atmosphere!!!!! Can't wait to stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff (Alex is awesome :) and very good location! Value for money!

Disliked: A bit noisy because of the train station and quite small room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and location was great as well as the security and pub downstairs.

Disliked: Expensive for how small. Unpainted walls poor plumbing, no hot water majority of the time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Thomson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff: From the moment I walked in the door at the Walrus, the staff were friendly, welcoming and went above and beyond to help with directions and questions about London. It was the most sincerely hostel staff I have ever encountered. In fact, I knew all of their names by the time I left because they introduced themselves and shook my hand. Cleanliness: I could tell that the bathrooms and rooms were cleaned and cared for everyday. Downstairs pub: I really enjoyed that local people (in addion to people staying at the hostel) spent time in the downstairs pub. It made for a very welcoming environment. Breakfast: It is exactly as promised on the website, cereal, juice, toast and coffee.

Disliked: The only challenge I had was that the shower head was too low for me, but the water was hot and the bathroom very clean and tidy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and stressless staff. They help and give you suggestions to every kind of issue. I have had to do a paperwork for uni, but hadn´t have got a notebook there. They were so kind to lend me their one. Every morning/ midday the whole hostel, bar, dorms and bathrooms (showers, toilettes etc.) are is cleaned by the staff. And I really mean ´clean´. The access to the hostel and rooms is easy. You don´t need an annoying card which you have to take care for. You just have two codes, one for the hostel (night access) and one for your dorm. You get a discount of 15% for drinks at the Walrus Bar. The internet access is free, breakfast included (Cornflakes, Toast and spread, tea and coffee (plus awesome biscuits!), orange juice and milk. You need like three minutes to an Iceland supermarket whick closes at 8 p.m. and around five minutes to the Waterloo Station, which has good transport connections.

Disliked: unfortunaltely showers sometimes have cold water need earplugs, because it´s sometimes noisy (trains of waterloo station) kitchen is not that big and has not that much space that two groups can cook simultaneously, but all in all you have everything you need to make a great meal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Rubin

As a family with children

City break

19 March 2012 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: We just spent one night at The Walrus Hostel, but we were outright captivated by the kindness of the people working it. They treated us like personal guests in their house, and we had a surprisingly good time. As for the house itself it was a positive shock that the room was quiet despite the building being situated just by the elevated railroad, on a big road with rather heavy traffic! And what a lovely bathroom! (There being also many shower rooms, but this one was just like home again.) And the bar downstairs (where you have to check in) also has a very inviting atmosphere, locals also enjoying themselves there - and what a lovely breakfast in the peace of the next morning in that same bar! An island of warmth in this bustling big city.

Disliked: Marta left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jennifer Stead

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had an amazing location right in central London. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the place had a really homey feel to it although it would be nice if there was a common room other than the bar downstairs.

Disliked: The showers were terrible. No pressure and no hot water. The kitchen was nice but not well stocked with cutlery, etc. The lockers weren't big enough for a backpack and could easily be broken into if someone wanted to. This was all worth it for the location and price though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The quirkiness of it and the wonderful hospitality and the bar.

Disliked: The shower wasn't hot, but when is the shower ever hot in hostels?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff! Comfortable accomodations.

Disliked: Shelf for shower would be much better, since the door didn't close and the floor gets quite wet. Also, something in the walls (I suspect shaking from the passing trains) made a TAC-A-TAC-A-TAC or just TAC-TAC-TAC noise which CAN be annoying after a while...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels