HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

92.1% Overall Rating

1634 out of 1778 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

Lauren Smith thinks…

"The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hostel was close to Westminster Bridge, so very accessible to all the major sights."

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.70
  • Towel USD 1.70

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.41 USD

Hostel 94.7% 29 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
25.45 USD

Hostel 82.1% 366 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
84.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
London Eye Hostel
23.69 USD

Hostel 66.5% 512 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
66.23 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
42.45 USD

Hostel 70.9% 293 reviews
Safestay
33.96 USD

Hostel 87.0% 216 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
84.90 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

1634 out of 1778 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 1389 of 1717 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 55 | 56   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This has just been the best experience. The staff are the highlight of this property. Very helpful and the service was just perfect. Also, great location and a fantastic atmosphere!!!!! Can't wait to stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff (Alex is awesome :) and very good location! Value for money!

Disliked: A bit noisy because of the train station and quite small room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and location was great as well as the security and pub downstairs.

Disliked: Expensive for how small. Unpainted walls poor plumbing, no hot water majority of the time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Thomson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff: From the moment I walked in the door at the Walrus, the staff were friendly, welcoming and went above and beyond to help with directions and questions about London. It was the most sincerely hostel staff I have ever encountered. In fact, I knew all of their names by the time I left because they introduced themselves and shook my hand. Cleanliness: I could tell that the bathrooms and rooms were cleaned and cared for everyday. Downstairs pub: I really enjoyed that local people (in addion to people staying at the hostel) spent time in the downstairs pub. It made for a very welcoming environment. Breakfast: It is exactly as promised on the website, cereal, juice, toast and coffee.

Disliked: The only challenge I had was that the shower head was too low for me, but the water was hot and the bathroom very clean and tidy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and stressless staff. They help and give you suggestions to every kind of issue. I have had to do a paperwork for uni, but hadn´t have got a notebook there. They were so kind to lend me their one. Every morning/ midday the whole hostel, bar, dorms and bathrooms (showers, toilettes etc.) are is cleaned by the staff. And I really mean ´clean´. The access to the hostel and rooms is easy. You don´t need an annoying card which you have to take care for. You just have two codes, one for the hostel (night access) and one for your dorm. You get a discount of 15% for drinks at the Walrus Bar. The internet access is free, breakfast included (Cornflakes, Toast and spread, tea and coffee (plus awesome biscuits!), orange juice and milk. You need like three minutes to an Iceland supermarket whick closes at 8 p.m. and around five minutes to the Waterloo Station, which has good transport connections.

Disliked: unfortunaltely showers sometimes have cold water need earplugs, because it´s sometimes noisy (trains of waterloo station) kitchen is not that big and has not that much space that two groups can cook simultaneously, but all in all you have everything you need to make a great meal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Rubin

As a family with children

City break

19 March 2012 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: We just spent one night at The Walrus Hostel, but we were outright captivated by the kindness of the people working it. They treated us like personal guests in their house, and we had a surprisingly good time. As for the house itself it was a positive shock that the room was quiet despite the building being situated just by the elevated railroad, on a big road with rather heavy traffic! And what a lovely bathroom! (There being also many shower rooms, but this one was just like home again.) And the bar downstairs (where you have to check in) also has a very inviting atmosphere, locals also enjoying themselves there - and what a lovely breakfast in the peace of the next morning in that same bar! An island of warmth in this bustling big city.

Disliked: Marta left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jennifer Stead

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had an amazing location right in central London. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the place had a really homey feel to it although it would be nice if there was a common room other than the bar downstairs.

Disliked: The showers were terrible. No pressure and no hot water. The kitchen was nice but not well stocked with cutlery, etc. The lockers weren't big enough for a backpack and could easily be broken into if someone wanted to. This was all worth it for the location and price though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The quirkiness of it and the wonderful hospitality and the bar.

Disliked: The shower wasn't hot, but when is the shower ever hot in hostels?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff! Comfortable accomodations.

Disliked: Shelf for shower would be much better, since the door didn't close and the floor gets quite wet. Also, something in the walls (I suspect shaking from the passing trains) made a TAC-A-TAC-A-TAC or just TAC-TAC-TAC noise which CAN be annoying after a while...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this place is literally 5 minutes walking from Big Ben and London Eye

Disliked: :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Travis Wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and located very near many sights. The place has a lot of character also.

Disliked: Travis left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Property should consider investing in new sheet and pillows

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were exceptionally nice and helpful. The rooms stayed warm when I came during the winter time, and I slept well every night. The location is in central london (zone 1) and is less than 5 min walk from the nearest station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elaine Lu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 March 2012 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely GREAT location!! With two tube stations (Waterloo and Lambeth North) it's just easy to travel around the city!

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarasa Tsunekawa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012

Liked: friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: I don't know why this hostel was rated so high. The staffs were very nice, but facilities were poor. the plug was broken, hot water was not coming, toilet door couldn't be locked. location was perfect though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff, the way they tried to be helpful whatever our requests were and the central position.

Disliked: Nothing in particular

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Friendliness of the staff, the way they tried to be helpful whatever our requests were and the very central position.

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, short walk to Imperial War Museum and Parliament...

Disliked: Pretty Noisy! Right next to a train track which made it hard to sleep. Also more groups than solo travelers, so it made it hard to socialize. No common area, just a bar.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good atmosphere,nice room,great host and a really good breakfast for a hostel!

Disliked: showers were cold but we didnt mind,cause the rest was really cool!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Slightly more expensive than some of the other hostels I was looking at, but the primary benefit of staying here was the location. I walked to every major tourist attraction that I wanted to see, and the proximity to Waterloo station, as advertised, makes returning home from traveling easy. The downstairs bar adds a different, but enjoyable, atmosphere to the hostel. You can mingle with some random Londoners without leaving the property, and the tables outside are comfortable. I stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm and thought it was acceptable for the price. There are individual bathrooms which could get overloaded if the hostel was full, but it wasn't an issue for me. There are also tons of books and games that you can borrow, which are enjoyable with friends.

Disliked: Several areas seemed slightly dirty, but I would attribute this more to the age of the building opposed to anything else. My only complaint with the 4 bed mixed room was that one of the bunkbeds squeaked a bed when the person on top moved, which, if I was not a deep sleeper, could wake me.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Too old... The building ( had to carry my bag up 4 floors ), the room, the shower... The "locker" inside the room under the bad wouldn't feet a school size backpack

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in this hostel mid-week. As a result, it wasn't very busy and there were only 3 staying in the 10 bed room. It was a nice place to stay, great location just south of the river, so easy walking distance to everything on the South Bank and many of the main attractions like Westminster Abbey and Buckingham Palace. Pub was pretty good too.

Disliked: The only warning to give about the property is that the building is almost right beside the train tracks and so you can hear it into the evening. I believe it stops at some point overnight, but not sure when. Anyway, not a problem for me personally, but light sleepers would probably appreciate ear plugs to keep from being disturbed by the train.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and very friendly staff! Just a few minutes walk from Lambeth North - so convenient. Couldn't believe how close I was to many sights in London. Beds were comfy, free wi-fi down in the bar was great.

Disliked: Only one bathroom per floor, so sometimes you had to wait, but that's the way it is sometimes in hostels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Candice Lin

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Candice would recommend this property

Liked: Greeted with very friendly staff! Love the convenient location, it’s only a few minutes walk to Lambeth North. I stayed in the 16-bed room and it wasn’t at all. The showers and sinks in the room were clean and so were the ladies toilets outside in the hall.

Disliked: Candice left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Balzerová

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, great location, great bar and very friendly staff. Simply the best.

Disliked: nothing


See all London hostels
See all London hotels