HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

90.5% Overall Rating

1614 out of 1757 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

Nicolás Polenta thinks…

"The receptionists are great, most of them speak many lenguages, always very helpfull, they have the best tips for going around the city. The hostel is really great, clean toilets and showers, great…"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.68
  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.06 USD

Hostel 98.0% 13 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
20.13 USD

Hostel 78.2% 352 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
66.31 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.9% 47 reviews
London Eye Hostel
25.18 USD

Hostel 63.4% 494 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
54.56 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
41.97 USD

Hostel 74.4% 286 reviews
Journeys London Bridge Hostel
28.52 USD

Hostel 64.3% 527 reviews
Safestay
31.90 USD

Hostel 87.3% 205 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

1614 out of 1757 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1371 of 1694 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 54 | 55   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good atmosphere,nice room,great host and a really good breakfast for a hostel!

Disliked: showers were cold but we didnt mind,cause the rest was really cool!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Slightly more expensive than some of the other hostels I was looking at, but the primary benefit of staying here was the location. I walked to every major tourist attraction that I wanted to see, and the proximity to Waterloo station, as advertised, makes returning home from traveling easy. The downstairs bar adds a different, but enjoyable, atmosphere to the hostel. You can mingle with some random Londoners without leaving the property, and the tables outside are comfortable. I stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm and thought it was acceptable for the price. There are individual bathrooms which could get overloaded if the hostel was full, but it wasn't an issue for me. There are also tons of books and games that you can borrow, which are enjoyable with friends.

Disliked: Several areas seemed slightly dirty, but I would attribute this more to the age of the building opposed to anything else. My only complaint with the 4 bed mixed room was that one of the bunkbeds squeaked a bed when the person on top moved, which, if I was not a deep sleeper, could wake me.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Too old... The building ( had to carry my bag up 4 floors ), the room, the shower... The "locker" inside the room under the bad wouldn't feet a school size backpack

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in this hostel mid-week. As a result, it wasn't very busy and there were only 3 staying in the 10 bed room. It was a nice place to stay, great location just south of the river, so easy walking distance to everything on the South Bank and many of the main attractions like Westminster Abbey and Buckingham Palace. Pub was pretty good too.

Disliked: The only warning to give about the property is that the building is almost right beside the train tracks and so you can hear it into the evening. I believe it stops at some point overnight, but not sure when. Anyway, not a problem for me personally, but light sleepers would probably appreciate ear plugs to keep from being disturbed by the train.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and very friendly staff! Just a few minutes walk from Lambeth North - so convenient. Couldn't believe how close I was to many sights in London. Beds were comfy, free wi-fi down in the bar was great.

Disliked: Only one bathroom per floor, so sometimes you had to wait, but that's the way it is sometimes in hostels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Candice Lin

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Candice would recommend this property

Liked: Greeted with very friendly staff! Love the convenient location, it’s only a few minutes walk to Lambeth North. I stayed in the 16-bed room and it wasn’t at all. The showers and sinks in the room were clean and so were the ladies toilets outside in the hall.

Disliked: Candice left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Balzerová

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, great location, great bar and very friendly staff. Simply the best.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012

Liked: I liked how helpful the staff were

Disliked: The room was way too hot and we couldn't open a window so it was stifling

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dario Arturo Mejia Cortez

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 Dario Arturo would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the bar downstair are the best

Disliked: The bathroom and shower are not really clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and a very friendly atmosphere. The cool bar downstairs.

Disliked: A bit noisy due to the proximity of a busy railway - not too bad though

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tony Elze

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2012 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really friendly and the hostel was very close to the city centre. It was a nice atmosphere in the hostel and the pub was fantastic to drink some beers with other backpackers! Perfect for staying a few days in London!

Disliked: The matrasse was not the best and could be a little bit more tidy and clean. Especially the kitchen. But the stay was good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chun sun lai

Alone

Shopping

18 February 2012 chun sun would recommend this property

Liked: everything great!! staff is very nice

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to everything, the building itself was nice and had a good atmosphere

Disliked: Right next to the train which was kind of noisy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kimberly Goliss

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good location, less than a five minute walk to an underground station and less than a ten minute walk to the London Eye! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Good and safe location.

Disliked: The only thing I would recommend is to bring ear plugs because there is a train track right beside the hostel. I could feel the springs on my bed, so that was a little uncomfortable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great and the staff are very welling to help

Disliked: the pillows are huge and hard

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff and location, great pub downstairs, free breakfast, nice atmosphere

Disliked: No heating in the corridors - really cold when you leave dorm to go to the toilet/shower, poor lighting in the dorm room on first floor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful. It was an okay stay.

Disliked: Maybe location since it's in the south part of London. Still close to the tube so no problems.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colin Nevin

Alone

Business / conference
City break

09 February 2012 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: The Walrus is located extremely close to the very centre of London - Big Ben, The Houses of Parliament, the London Eye etc., so was great value for being so central to such important tourist sites. It was very affordable, and the staff were friendly and welcoming the moment I arrived. It is situated over a pub which makes it interesting and many international guests. Great place!

Disliked: I was concerned in a 16 bed dorm that it might be too claustrophobic, but the rooms were large and not over-crowded. Just needed to wait a turn for the shower. Still, what you expect for such a great price! Everything else was superb including the free self serve breakfast in the bar!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Reid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 February 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: This place is fantastic, the atmosphere is exactly what you want as a traveller visiting london. The staff are super friendly and will do anything to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The bar downstairs is a great place to relax after a long day sightseeing, or as the start of your night-time explorations don't worry if all you want to do is sleep, the bar was never rowdy and the rooms are quiet. The hostel couldn't really be in a better location with all central london destinations within walking distance, and if you want to go further, there is a tube stop less than 2 minutes walk away. This place has character and that goes along way if like me you want to avoid travel-lodge clone type places like the plague. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hostel to anybody wanting the best base from which to experience london.

Disliked: The nights freddy is not in control of the music.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rachel Knight

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Staff were REALLY friendly and helpful.

Disliked: It might sound like a little thing but the bunks made loads of noise when you moved, so we woke up every time in the night one of us turned over. Also, I had to have a cold showers on one of the mornings because the hot water had run out!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elijah Nine

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 Elijah would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great! It's right by Waterloo and Lambeth North stations, making it perfect for getting around the city! The staff are super helpful and friendly. If you need any advice about London, just ask! They also allow you to use a towel, converter, and lock for a deposit which they return to you when you leave. The included breakfast is cereal and toast, but delicious! The bar downstairs has a great atmosphere.

Disliked: Parts of the upstairs seemed old, but they are slowly remodeling, so it's nothing to complain about!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: is a very simple but lovely place with a great location :)

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff, location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Victoria Johnston

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 February 2012 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location. Staff member was kind enough to help me with my bag. Oddly enough the proximity to the train wasn't that noticable. I wasn't there long enough to comment on much else. Near to several shops to grab quick, cheap food.

Disliked: The mattress was a bit uncomfortable and the pillow smelled musty. The kitchen was nice (microwaves, fridges, cupboards, etc) but small when others were also trying to cook and eat. And though it is a hassle, individual lights would have been nice at the bunks as I forgot to pack a flashlight and then had to turn on the main light so I could see to unlock my locker and pack on the morning I was leaving. Also, short of plugging it in right next to my bed and waking everyone in the room - I couldn't find anywhere to plug in a hair dryer. Normally I don't care - but I had an international flight that day.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels