HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

91.7% Overall Rating

1637 out of 1781 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

"VERY friendly and welcoming staff - made a huge difference. Good (free!) breakfast and great bar downstairs."

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.69
  • Towel USD 1.69

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.32 USD

Hostel 94.7% 29 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
25.38 USD

Hostel 82.1% 366 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
83.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
London Eye Hostel
23.62 USD

Hostel 66.5% 512 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
66.02 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
42.32 USD

Hostel 70.9% 293 reviews
Safestay
33.86 USD

Hostel 87.0% 216 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
84.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

1637 out of 1781 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
99.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 1389 of 1718 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 55 | 56   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominique Purtell

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 May 2012 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: The amazing friendly welcome by owners and workers Alex, Steve and Jack! Very helpful and polite in showing to rooms. Free things - lockers, towels, wifi (although in bar not that great), discounted drinks, delicious brekky Location so central.. very close to waterloo station, managed to do most things on foot.. so close to Thames river. Always awoke to someone friendly and helpful at the front desk. Loved the fact that the owners work hard to keep the hostel amazing. I like the fact that the hostel is not a chain and the owners have worked so hard to make sure you have a welcome and comfortable, secure and fun stay!

Disliked: Hot water not working in 16bed dorm showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juliana Kojima

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: O hostel possui excelente localização e o pessoal do staff são atenciosos e simpáticos. Recomendo para quem está pensando em viajar a Londres!

Disliked: Juliana left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gabriel Sturla

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the staff are both great.

Disliked: During my stay (4 nights), the water heater was broke so there was no hot water in the hostel. The manager fixed it the day we left. The rooms were cold, too. There's no place to hang out after the bar closes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lorena Martos Santamarta

Alone

Business / conference

01 May 2012 Lorena would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the helpfulness of the staff because they let me a hairdryer and their laptop to connect to the wifi. The rooms are ok and very silent (well, I was at the top floor in a room of 4 girls).

Disliked: Lorena left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay in London, the Walrus Hostel was really great! We liked the kitchen because cooking ourselves saved a lot of money. The location is very central, only a few minutes to walk to Westminster and London Eye or Tate Modern or Trafalgar Square. There are also many pubs close to the hostel where you can go for a meal. The staff was very very nice and friendly!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Each floor had a shower(s) & separate toilet so never had to wait. Never had a problem w/ getting hot water either...you just have to turn the knob quite a bit which I found to be true while staying w/ friends as well. Plumbing is not the greatest in London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great...easy walk to Bakerloo and Waterloo stations. The Walrus Bar is frequented by locals who work nearby.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the staff were always really helpful. Also although my room was right over the train line the last train left at 1.05am and then it was really quiet for the rest of the night. (surprisingly so for its location)

Disliked: There is only two mirrors in the whole building so people would often be waiting to use them. Also they need need to invest in some new beds as I could really feel the springs on mine.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2012

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: Really cold water.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robert Russell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 April 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly atmosphere and quirky attitude was unparralled. Really was a fun and welcoming place to be. The staff were relaxed and friendly, but were also professional and efficient at the same time.

Disliked: I genuinely haven't got a bad word to say about the Walrus.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location. Could easily walk to several major attractions (Tate Modern, London Eye, Westminster...) or hop on the tube. Staff were extremely helpful and they don't treat you as just a number like so many other hostels. Great atmosphere in the bar in the evening. Also, it had plenty of bathrooms and showers which is always a bonus!

Disliked: Bathrooms weren't terribly clean but okay.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012

Liked: -The location is super good. We can simply walk to several famous sightseeing spots within 10 mins: Big Ben, London Eye, Parliament etc. Also it is near two underground stations. -The breakfast they provide is quite good, various choices.

Disliked: -Noise: the hostel locates right next to the tunnel, and there's a hospital nearby, and the soundproof effect of the wall is not good, so it is quite noisy all day. -NO 24-hr hot shower: if we want hot water, we need to stay up late like 2 or 3 am or get up early in dawn. I tried, but there were ONLY a bit warm water (which is still cold, but not too cold to take shower)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Humberto Hernandez

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Humberto would recommend this property

Liked: Simply the best staff I´ve known. Alex and Co. are great, i had a delay on my flight so I could not get into the hostel on time, they reacted just in a perfect way. The location is simply the best in London, near from Big Ben and Westminster Abbey, there´s also a market around the corner. The hostel is very clean and the breackfast is one of the best. They have also a very usefull kitchen.

Disliked: Humberto left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dean Salmon

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 April 2012 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: -Very good location, just around the corner from Waterloo station -Hostel attached directly to a bar -Number pad entry on main doors and dorm room, so very secure

Disliked: -DId not use them myself but hear qualms from another group that showers weren't very good. I can't think of any problems I experienced myself though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pieterjan Tas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Pieterjan would recommend this property

Liked: What I especially liked was the fact that it is located right nearby Westminster. All you have to do is cross Westminster Bridge, and you'll be next to the Big Ben. Apart from that, there was this bicycle tour by "Tally-Ho" around London. The bikes were amazing and so was the guide. I learned a lot. Speaking of bikes, there is a cycle hire station right next to the hostel where you can rent bikes for one pound a day. You can leave the bike at any other "cycle hire" dock station in the city and take another one. I think it is a very fast and cheap way to see the whole city.

Disliked: I can not think of anything.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Renan Oliveira

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Renan would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, 5 min from london eye, big bang...

Disliked: No hot water for showers and bad heating in the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great location was great having the bar on the first floor let me get to know alot of the other guests

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, ready to help staff, and beautiful decor in the pub. All this and we could see the Big Ben whilst brushing our teeth !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 April 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: the showers were awful

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very friendly staff. I had a very warm welcome and everything was explained upon arrival. The staff is very helpful and answered all of my questions. The hostel is currently being refurbished so in a near future it will be nice than it is already. it is very close to main tourist attractions- London eye and Bug ben- Shame i dodn;t have time to see more of it and stay longer.Very friendly atmosphere and nice hostelers. I would highly recommend this hostel.Thank you very much.

Disliked: nothing :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location (walking distance of london eye), very friendly staff, nice atmosphere

Disliked: not too clean (bathrooms, dishes at breakfast), staff accidentially left our room open after cleaning

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JORDI ROMERO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2012 JORDI would recommend this property

Liked: They are a very great team; the both of them are very helpful... I really liked the helpful staff, they opened London doors to tourists very well and diminish the difficulties you can find ijn this big city.....10 points for the Chilean boy and Dutch girl!!!!

Disliked: Just a robbery inside my room made me felt a little uncomfortable the third night of my staying but always the efficient staff showed his "Scotland´s Yard cards" and the problem was solved in two nights...another 10 points for the staff.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Pawel Zlotkowski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 April 2012

Liked: Friendly staff, location

Disliked: No hot water in the evening, very basic standard for a hostel, vicinity of hospital and railway causing noise (ambulances, trains).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice atmosphere and great staff

Disliked: Showers were bit weak


See all London hostels
See all London hotels