We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Walrus Waterloo

Hostel | 172 Westminster Bridge Road, London, England SE1 7RW

86.3% Overall Rating

1656 out of 1802 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/11/2014)

Sydney Poulos thinks…

"My boyfriend and I stayed in the 6 person dorm with ensuite. The staff were absolutely outstanding, the location was very close to the London Eye and underground, and the beds were very comfortable.…"

Read all The Walrus Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.62
  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am If your booking is over GBP 175.00 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance. Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 87.5% 47 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
21.08 USD

Hostel 78.9% 373 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
64.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
London Eye Hostel
24.26 USD

Hostel 65.9% 515 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
47.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
40.57 USD

Hostel 75.2% 299 reviews
Safestay
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.9% 224 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
81.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

1656 out of 1802 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Walrus Waterloo'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 1404 of 1739 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria hernandez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 maria would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really welcoming. They propose nice activities around like a cycling tour down town on a Sunday morning. (Tally Ho!) the location is definitively very handy to move around the main spots.

Disliked: i Liked everything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Pamela Raynor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location and that I had access 24 hours a day and that there was always helpful friendly staff.

Disliked: I did not like how there were key codes for the rooms instead of keys. Some girls changed rooms during my stay at the hostel and could easily get back into my room. We had one girl wander into our room right after we had gone to sleep who was not staying in our room that night. Just a bit disconcerning that people could always get in because the codes were never changed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. The bed linen was so clean, and the facilities available certainly make the Walrus value for money/

Disliked: The hostel is right next to the train line so it can be a little noisy, but if you are tired it isn't a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DONALD TIMSON HERRANZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

20 May 2012 DONALD would recommend this property

Liked: Great service. Very comfortable stay. Enjoyed every minute.

Disliked: DONALD left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2012

Liked: Location, location, location if you fall asleep after hard day and wake up early to proceed - definitely stay in this property, it's in the center of everywhere

Disliked: noise, noise, noise if you hate one of this: trains, railway stations, wheels sound of train horn, you should avoid this property

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joerg Niehoegen

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 May 2012 Joerg would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Good atmosphere in bar. Good security.

Disliked: Bathrooms a little grubby and dated. Rooms could do with a coat of paint.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff; Nice breakfast (with juice and cookies!)

Disliked: Kitchen closes too early; Kitchen is very small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and courteous. The whole of the hostel had a laid back and friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: The only thing that i did not like was the noise of the trains going to Waterloo Station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

owen evans

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 owen would recommend this property

Liked: just a cool place

Disliked: owen left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

catherine Daniels

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 May 2012 catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Ease of location, bar downstairs and relaxed atmosphere, and after reading bad reviews about the showers, pleased to say had a HOT shower!

Disliked: Beds very uncomfortable, felt like I was laying on springs and very lumpy pillows!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed here 8 times and every-time would come again!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was really central

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent. Only 5 mins walk to the London Eye and Big Ben. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sharri-Louise Holroyd

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 May 2012 Sharri-Louise would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fab. A short walk to Waterloo station and close to main attractions too. The staff are friendly and helpful. Great!

Disliked: The showers need replacing with electric showers so there's always hot water I've stayed here fo over a week and only anged to have one warm shower in that time

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast.

Disliked: Dorm a bit crowded, mattresses pretty uncomfortable, not the greatest shower (although no problem with hot water as in previous reviews).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominique Purtell

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 May 2012 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: The amazing friendly welcome by owners and workers Alex, Steve and Jack! Very helpful and polite in showing to rooms. Free things - lockers, towels, wifi (although in bar not that great), discounted drinks, delicious brekky Location so central.. very close to waterloo station, managed to do most things on foot.. so close to Thames river. Always awoke to someone friendly and helpful at the front desk. Loved the fact that the owners work hard to keep the hostel amazing. I like the fact that the hostel is not a chain and the owners have worked so hard to make sure you have a welcome and comfortable, secure and fun stay!

Disliked: Hot water not working in 16bed dorm showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juliana Kojima

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: O hostel possui excelente localização e o pessoal do staff são atenciosos e simpáticos. Recomendo para quem está pensando em viajar a Londres!

Disliked: Juliana left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gabriel Sturla

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the staff are both great.

Disliked: During my stay (4 nights), the water heater was broke so there was no hot water in the hostel. The manager fixed it the day we left. The rooms were cold, too. There's no place to hang out after the bar closes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lorena Martos Santamarta

Alone

Business / conference

01 May 2012 Lorena would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the helpfulness of the staff because they let me a hairdryer and their laptop to connect to the wifi. The rooms are ok and very silent (well, I was at the top floor in a room of 4 girls).

Disliked: Lorena left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay in London, the Walrus Hostel was really great! We liked the kitchen because cooking ourselves saved a lot of money. The location is very central, only a few minutes to walk to Westminster and London Eye or Tate Modern or Trafalgar Square. There are also many pubs close to the hostel where you can go for a meal. The staff was very very nice and friendly!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Each floor had a shower(s) & separate toilet so never had to wait. Never had a problem w/ getting hot water either...you just have to turn the knob quite a bit which I found to be true while staying w/ friends as well. Plumbing is not the greatest in London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great...easy walk to Bakerloo and Waterloo stations. The Walrus Bar is frequented by locals who work nearby.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the staff were always really helpful. Also although my room was right over the train line the last train left at 1.05am and then it was really quiet for the rest of the night. (surprisingly so for its location)

Disliked: There is only two mirrors in the whole building so people would often be waiting to use them. Also they need need to invest in some new beds as I could really feel the springs on mine.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2012

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: Really cold water.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels