HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Walrus Hostel London Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 73%

Location 87%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Please ring in advance if likely to arrive during our closed reception times 23:30pm to 7.00am

This property has a 2 day cancellation policy.
Please note, if cancelled, modified or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. The total price of the reservation may be charged anytime after booking.

If your booking is over GBP 50 the Walrus Hostel may contact you to arrange the payment for the first night in advance.
Failure to reply the Walrus Hostel e-mail or complete the first night payment if required, your booking may be cancelled.

NOTICE: Before you make any bookings be aware that we do not accept people under 18 years old in any of the shared dorms. Under aged people can stay in private rooms only if accompanied by a legal guardian.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 73%

Location 87%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 82%

Showing 91-100 of 113 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The reception / bar downstairs is a really inviting area and I loved sitting down there quite regularly while I was staying at the end of a busy day sightseeing. All the staff were helpful and very easy to talk with

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff is always there to help if there's anything you need help with and they're all so incredibly nice

Disliked: The matresses were a bit uncomfortable but nothing really bad

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff, nice rooms, good overall experience.

Disliked: Nothing much.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - Staff was very friendly, helpful and humorous!!- Free towels- Free breakfast - Central location- Free wifi

Disliked: - Toilets do not flush properly- The trains from the nearby Waterloo station were very noisy - sleeping with an open window is impossible. With 10 people in a room you must decide between sleep and "the great stink".- 1 mattress of 7 (people) was OK, you could feel every single spring of the other ones though

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Muy buen rollito...bien situado....una acogida muy familiar en Londres...la regla es q te cuidan...se cuida al huésped..y se le regalan detalles..q no se tendrían porqué hacer...un oasis cálido en una gran ciudad..q dentro de poco estará fría... Debe contagiarse a los huéspedes la calidez porque sólo me encontré con gente genial, de México, argentina, Venezuela, Hong Kong, Escocia, Londres, Moscú...cada uno de su padre y madre, multiedad, felices compartiendo conocimientos, historias, penas, sueños y planes..Los dormitorios con literas mixtos, están limpios..sabanas limpias..y yo dormí genial las cuatro noches..super respetuoso todo el mundo..banhos suficientes, duchas cómodas..cocina para departir y compartiryo no me encontré tan en casa de viaje en Europa nuncaStaff super profesional.un placer conoceros

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Waterlo is located near Big Ben, staff is realy frendly, and you get the best value for your money

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. The bar is a great place to chill!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The Walrus is very close to Waterloo Station and the South Bank making it super convenient for lots of tourist-y activities and transport across and in/out of London.The staff were really friendly (and cute!).Everything was clean, you can be supplied with a towel, the breakfast was simple but filling and there's a bar downstairs for a last drink before bed.What's not to love?

Disliked: I had a great stay. If there was any downside, it was that (both times I stayed here) no padlocks were available to lock a safe in my room though the listing says they will be. Maybe they've been stolen etc. but it seems like there should be enough padlocks for everyone. None of my stuff was stolen but if I'd had something valuable like a laptop with me, I'd have been worried.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: really friendly staff; cosy bar downstairs; linnen and towels included; amazing location

Disliked: trains pass by all night but this didn't bother me as much as people coming in and going out of the room all the time (but this isn't the fault of the hostel obviously, depends on the people you share the dorm with and could be like this in any hostel)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability