We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Northfields Hostel

Hostel | 264 Northfield Avenue, London, England W5 4UB

61.0% Overall Rating

84 out of 151 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/11/2013)

"Safe very good valuefor money staffs were very helpful specially Ali. Near northfield underground station about 1 minute walking"

Read all Northfields Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Euro Hotel Wembley
32.25 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.0% 104 reviews
Quality Hotel Wembley
40.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.2% 23 reviews
Chiswick Rooms
77.88 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel 261
49.19 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.7% 24 reviews
Firs Lodge
31.69 USD

Hotel 4 star 71.4% 4 reviews
The Monkeys in the Trees
13.94 USD

Hostel 75.4% 228 reviews
West One Guesthouse
24.59 USD

Guesthouse 71.5% 27 reviews
247 Hostel and Studio Apartments
26.23 USD

Hostel 71.8% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.0%

Overall Rating

84 out of 151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Northfields Hostel'

Atmosphere
55.2%
Location
62.4%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
76.8%
Value
65.6%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 117 of 142 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 September 2011

Liked: I used it as an airport stop over which was ideal as it was cheap and clean and directly opposite the tube station which was great as it meant after a long day travelling I didn't have to worry about walking around finding the place late at night.

Disliked: Although it says it is shared bathroom facilities - the shower facilities are in the basement and the female and male accommodation is on 1st and 2nd floor which is not very easy to get to. The toilets were on the end of each floor which was fine. The showers were not too clean though - footwear definitely required in the showers!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you are travelling to or from Heathrow airport the hostel is really convenient. It is also very close to the underground station. The room was a good size too.

Disliked: Didn't dislike it, but the shower was on a different floor, some may find that inconvenient..

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011

Liked: Friendly staff and close to the airport

Disliked: Really squeaky uncomfortable beds and a little too close to the train station. The trains kept me awake most of the night and woke me early in the morning. Showers were really gross and thin almost see through curtains.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Roommates, helpful staff.

Disliked: Cleanliness of shared facilities, toilets.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2011

Liked: Traffic

Disliked: Cleaness

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Kelly Speer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011

Liked: It was right across the street from the tube station, it was very close to Heathrow airport and our room had a fridge.

Disliked: The property is right next to the above-ground tube-tracks and trains are very loud and run throughout the night. There was no air-conditioning so we kept the window open (which really didn't help the heat), letting in all of the noise from the train. But closing the window was too hot. Also, the bathrooms are DISGUSTING! There is mold all over the shower and there is no good place to put your clothes. The beds and blankets smelled bad.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to subway, easy to reach Heathrow and the city fridge in the room

Disliked: showers in the basement, beds uncomfortable, no plug for the tv

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Waited a long time to check in; staff tried to overcharge me; our room was double-booked; my girlfriend got bed bugs

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fine. I liked that they let us leave our baggage in a safe room while we did not even have the room. It was friendly. I liked that in every room there were fridge.

Disliked: In the first room that we were, my pillow smelled lof cigarette smoke. In the firs room also the beds were making sound every time one turned on other side. There were no bidé in womens toilet (restroom). I didn't like the fact that towels were not included.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy to reach by underground, close to Heathrow although not far from the city, cheap foodstalls nearby, quiet if the windows are closed, fridge in the room

Disliked: showers only in the basement, no lift, uncomfortable bed, poor kitchen-equipment, big tv but no power connection

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: The hostel was close to the tube and the airport. It would be a a good place to crash the night after/before a flight from heathrow. Cheap, and close to supermarkets and a few pubs.

Disliked: Long tube ride to central London (and in different zone). The bathrooms needed to be cleaned more. There is no TV lounge as advertised (just a broken TV in the kitchen). The hostel had a lot of families and people traveling for school.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 July 2011

Liked: The staff, they were so so helpful and really go out of their way to help. Would like to recommend to others based on the staff.

Disliked: The showers really need a clean and perhaps even a renovation. They were really dirty and put me off wanting to use them, especially without flip flops!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Su Yi Zhang

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 July 2011 Su Yi would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel with well equiped kitchen. very friendly staff. make sure to check if the piccadilly line's in service.

Disliked: the beds made funny creaking sounds :(

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was right off the Tube and real easy to get to

Disliked: Walls are very thin. Right next to the Tube so it can get load when its running

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 July 2011

Liked: Very helpful staff, right next to the underground.

Disliked: There were some strange mix-ups in the booking and the staff didn´t seem to know what they were doing. Beds are squeky, kitchens filthy and the house in general is very dreadful. Showers are smelly and unfunctional. Trains keep you awake aswell as loud visitors behind thin walls.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011

Liked: the staff are very friendly and helpful. We provide useful information and recommendation.

Disliked: Our room just next to the railway. We could not sleep untill they stop running and we wake up when they start to work.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 July 2011

Liked: - good location near train station on central line (Piccadilly) - near excellent restaurants - staff were generally helpful and pleasant

Disliked: - near train station means hearing (loud) trains from 5.00 AM to 1.30 AM every day (tracks right outside window) - bathroom facilities dirty - showers not clean or fully functional; lack of hot water, poor pressure - no sign on the building made it challenging to find - paid WiFi access (3 GBP for 24 hours) - beds squeaky and loud

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ulla-Greta Ronnqvist

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Ulla-Greta would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the underground station, just across the road from the hostel. Cheap for being quite close to central London, about 25-30 min with the underground.

Disliked: It could be cleanier in the kitchen and in the rooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms, price

Disliked: Needs some upgrade

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff

Disliked: the noise of the metro station

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just across the street from the tube station and very easy access to Heathrow as well as downtown. Great kitchen facilities for those desiring to cook with a market close to buy basics. Staff very helpful. Clean and basic. Nice having a desk in room. Great for long term

Disliked: Trains do make noise regularly until midnight, so I would suggest earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melvin D'Souza

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 May 2011 Melvin would recommend this property

Liked: Checked in quite late around 11.30is but was greeted by Ali who was kind of expecting me given the reservation.. nice to see that!! ... Rooms were pretty straightforward... clean, airy, and had all the bases covered... and end of the day provided for a good nights sleep... will come back...

Disliked: nothing really....

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011

Liked: I liked having a private room, because I probably would of not felt as safe sharing with people in that hostel. And the rooms were quite large.

Disliked: The kitchen and bathrooms were very unclean, the ceiling in the showers was coming off and there were bugs when I am in there. The kitchen also didn't have any dishsoap, so "cleaning" the dishes wasn't very effective.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Qian Zhao

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

27 April 2011 Qian would recommend this property

Liked: good location and fully equipped

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011

Liked: Close to the airport, close to pub

Disliked: Too expensive, small rooms, uneasy feeling about manager


See all London hostels
See all London hotels