We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of All Star Hostel

Hostel | 39 Chatsworth Road, London, England NW2 4BL

58.1% Overall Rating

69 out of 93 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2014)

"Location close to tube station, near Central London. Beds were comfortable. Free breakfast of toast and cereal."

Read all All Star Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

london365 hostel
26.22 USD

Hostel 65.8% 92 reviews
Accommodation London
26.22 USD

Hostel 68.9% 657 reviews
247 London Studios
26.22 USD

Apartment 80.0% 10 reviews
Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green
26.23 USD

Hostel 86.6% 746 reviews
The Windmill
139.37 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lodge NW2
17.22 USD

Guesthouse 86.9% 15 reviews
Best Western Palm Hotel
59.57 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostel 639
14.76 USD

Hostel 52.1% 184 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
58.1%

Overall Rating

69 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'All Star Hostel'

Atmosphere
52.8%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
48.0%
Staff
60.0%
Value
58.4%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 58 of 90 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location close to tube station, near Central London. Beds were comfortable. Free breakfast of toast and cereal.

Disliked: Basic explanation although the staff were friendly we were left having to find the bathroom and kitchen ourselves as well as being told we help ourselves freely to lockers there were no padlocks on the spare lockers so we had to leave our bags on beds! We were told someone would come and collect our keys between 9:30-10am which didn't happen! The member of staff that did come in (male staff who didn't knock on female dorm before entry) just popped his head in and asked if we were checking out today without taking our keys or anything?! So we did the self checkout and put keys in the envelope to post through a little box...no pen provided so we had to just put the keys and hope they'd know they were ours!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good condition. Lots of storage.

Disliked: Some of the beds were very uncomfortable and there were no cups!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is near the Killburn underground station, it takes about 15min to get to Westminster. The staff was very friendly and there is a number of grocery stores nearby.

Disliked: DIRTY! I have seen cleaners every morning but it seemd like they just were not doing anything. This is a big minus unfortunately.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: just was the right place for what i needed 100% coming back

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 July 2013

Liked: Location was near Kilburn Station, and generally felt safe.

Disliked: Left waiting for over an hour at Willesden Green for the pick-up service, despite being assured (twice) employee was on his way. This would not have been a problem, had we not been asked to wait at the station and not walk to the hostel, since we need to be checked in individually and couldn't enter the building without staff presence. Pick-up round-trips took approximately 30 minutes and, for unclear reasons, could only pick up 1-2 guests at a time, leaving others waiting. Room was fine before the discovery of bed bugs. Shared toilets were very unhygienic, including the sink, shower and (literally) snot on the walls. Kitchen was also not kept in hygienic condition by the guests – dirty dishes in the sink, or greasy dishes in the cupboards was a constant. Despite some of these issues not being the direct fault of the otherwise friendly staff, it seems to result from the lack of staff presence in the building, since there is no reception desk on the premises, unfortunately leaving an otherwise nice place in a nice area in chaos.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maureen Byrne

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 May 2013 Maureen would recommend this property

Liked: Like the large kitchen and availability of facilities. I like having other people around.

Disliked: A bit far from the tube station. toilets downstairs

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Linda McCarthy

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 April 2013

Liked: I felt safe in the building. It wasn't a loud hostel so I could get a good nights sleep.

Disliked: Not as described on the website - very frustrating. Different address and lacking all the facilities it said would be in the room. It really lacked the character and friendliness of a hostel. The layout of the building was strange - I had to walk through the kitchen area to get to the bathroom (which was not cleaned properly). No staff on site to ask for help on anything..all week. The whole check-in procedure is weird. The light in the hallway didn't work.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 March 2013

Liked: It is close to the centre of London

Disliked: The manager is so rude and most of the staff. They don't care of the customers at all.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money and newly renovated

Disliked: That it was a bit unclean when we arrived

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice kitchen area, backyard and internet access (2 computer screens in kitchen and also wireless in house). Fairly close to both Wilesden Green and Kilburn Undergrounds.Staff are friedly when contacted.

Disliked: Loud. My room was on ground floor right by the entrance. You can hear every person walking in or out. Also the fridge in the room is quite loud. Heaters were not really on when I wanted them to be on, it was a bit chilly at night, draft coming from the window. Also the curtains did not close properly, so the street lights were a bit of a nuisance. No hairdrier was provided, this was also inconvenient. Staff suggested I should by a cheap one down the road. Not very environmentally friendly is it?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, great people. Very modern and new, nice and clean. Free wifi (most hostels charge!) and the huge tv with sky in the lounge was a big bonus. Nice place to chill out. Would definately come back, highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing, can't complain.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012

Liked: The employees were helpful upon arrival and the rooms were clean until flooded.

Disliked: Our room flooded and we were barely able to get any sort of refund or reimbursement for the damage. Two days after the room flooded there was still no known cause, although the walls and windows were dry, we believed it to be a burst pipe in the middle of the night so all of our clothes and travel documents were soaked. We were moved to a location that did not have a washer or dryer and lost a day of traveling trying to get our clothes dried at the laundromat and all of our electronics that were plugged in were destroyed. The owner is a poor property owner and with how poorly he treats his customers it will be a wonder if he will be in business much longer. Also asking to leave us to leave our destroyed property behind so he could have his people take it to get appraised is just a terrible idea, even if it was damaged. It was also weird how there was no employees to help us out until much later in the day but when we asked to check out early there was a person ready check us out within ten minutes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lajlim Yang

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2012 Lajlim would recommend this property

Liked: During my stay here it was generally quiet. They close the common room at midnight which keeps things in check. I never had a bad night of sleep. Most people kept to themselves, I prefer it that way. I'm not sure hostels get better than this... any better and you get a hotel.

Disliked: Not much... staff really friendly. Especially the filipino workers. I liked them best.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marina Guignon

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 February 2012 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet Place, everybody knows each other, really close to tube station

Disliked: when they close the living area at 6pm for no reasons

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very nice and clean. Good internet connection (Wifi). But there are limitations on some websites.

Disliked: I did not like the dirty and messy people in the house. We had cleaner every day but at the and of the night the place looked liked filthy. People were drinking alcohol and smoking weed and having party at night. I don't like the business strategy of this company. They offer you really cheap nights for a week for £4.99/night just to get you in and once you want to extend they are asking for £16/night. And during that cheap time period you will meet some really wierd jobless people in the place.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kendall Brewer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Kendall would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, value for money.

Disliked: Price of washing machine!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brett Burisch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2011 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely feel to it, Nice to come back to after a day out in the city and relax

Disliked: Not Much, it was a very nice place to stay. I have extended my stay for another week here

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

christian opare

As a family with children

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 September 2011 christian would recommend this property

Liked: neat and well equiped kitchen

Disliked: rooms are too small and poorly ventillated

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kym Evans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

12 August 2011 Kym would recommend this property

Liked: The property had wifi and sky tv. It had a good socail side and was good value

Disliked: The property had a smell in my room. It also has no reception area so you need to call on arrival. The showers also don't drain well

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alice Roux

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 August 2011 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: I could find everything I wanted, and I lliked the fact that we had free breakfast every morning, it made my stay easier. I also liked the way the rooms were arranged. it was easy to go from the bedroom to the kitchen or shower and common area.

Disliked: The lack of room in the bedroom ias I wanted to put my belongings in the wardrobe instead of keeping them in my suitcase which was not very handy. Maybe the present cupboards could be organised in a way that everyone could have his own place ?

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 3 kitchens. large common room. Very clean in public area.

Disliked: room is small. strange smell in the house. can't avoid noise from outside or common room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful house, big kitchens, nice lounge and big tv

Disliked: Very loud/echoey - u can hear every footstep

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is clean, safe and comfortable. the garden is wonderful.

Disliked: The whole situation with booking and payment. It is a kind of strange. Also I did not like the fact that until the last moment I did not know the address of the place I am going to stay.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 May 2011

Liked: 3 well kitted out kitchens, decent showers, Sky tv with all the channels in the commen room.

Disliked: the rooms were so hot as to be almost uninhabitable. It's a shame because almost everything else was right with this place

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karen Robb

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011

Liked: This property was an apartment with all the amenities needed for a long term stay. It offered quite a bit of space for us in a neighborhood location. We liked the free wifi and tv for relaxing in the evenings.

Disliked: This was basic accommodation yet clean and comfortable. It was about a 12 minute walk to the tube station which was a bit far for us. I haven't paid for laundry facilities for a while now but I thought 3.40pounds for a load of wash was quite expensive an 1pound for 30 minutes of dry time expensive too.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels