HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of ALL STAR HOSTEL London

Hostel

39 Chatsworth Rd, Kilburn, London, England

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 57%

Facilities 61%

Location 70%

Safety 73%

Staff 59%

Value 68%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 57%

Facilities 61%

Location 70%

Safety 73%

Staff 59%

Value 68%

Showing 11-18 of 18 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location close to tube station, near Central London. Beds were comfortable. Free breakfast of toast and cereal.

Disliked: Basic explanation although the staff were friendly we were left having to find the bathroom and kitchen ourselves as well as being told we help ourselves freely to lockers there were no padlocks on the spare lockers so we had to leave our bags on beds! We were told someone would come and collect our keys between 9:30-10am which didn't happen! The member of staff that did come in (male staff who didn't knock on female dorm before entry) just popped his head in and asked if we were checking out today without taking our keys or anything?! So we did the self checkout and put keys in the envelope to post through a little box...no pen provided so we had to just put the keys and hope they'd know they were ours!

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Pretty good condition. Lots of storage.

Disliked: Some of the beds were very uncomfortable and there were no cups!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is near the Killburn underground station, it takes about 15min to get to Westminster. The staff was very friendly and there is a number of grocery stores nearby.

Disliked: DIRTY! I have seen cleaners every morning but it seemd like they just were not doing anything. This is a big minus unfortunately.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: just was the right place for what i needed 100% coming back

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location was near Kilburn Station, and generally felt safe.

Disliked: Left waiting for over an hour at Willesden Green for the pick-up service, despite being assured (twice) employee was on his way. This would not have been a problem, had we not been asked to wait at the station and not walk to the hostel, since we need to be checked in individually and couldn't enter the building without staff presence. Pick-up round-trips took approximately 30 minutes and, for unclear reasons, could only pick up 1-2 guests at a time, leaving others waiting.Room was fine before the discovery of bed bugs. Shared toilets were very unhygienic, including the sink, shower and (literally) snot on the walls. Kitchen was also not kept in hygienic condition by the guests – dirty dishes in the sink, or greasy dishes in the cupboards was a constant.Despite some of these issues not being the direct fault of the otherwise friendly staff, it seems to result from the lack of staff presence in the building, since there is no reception desk on the premises, unfortunately leaving an otherwise nice place in a nice area in chaos.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Like the large kitchen and availability of facilities. I like having other people around.

Disliked: A bit far from the tube station. toilets downstairs

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: I felt safe in the building. It wasn't a loud hostel so I could get a good nights sleep.

Disliked: Not as described on the website - very frustrating. Different address and lacking all the facilities it said would be in the room. It really lacked the character and friendliness of a hostel. The layout of the building was strange - I had to walk through the kitchen area to get to the bathroom (which was not cleaned properly). No staff on site to ask for help on anything..all week. The whole check-in procedure is weird. The light in the hallway didn't work.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It is close to the centre of London

Disliked: The manager is so rude and most of the staff. They don't care of the customers at all.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Value for money and newly renovated

Disliked: That it was a bit unclean when we arrived

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice kitchen area, backyard and internet access (2 computer screens in kitchen and also wireless in house). Fairly close to both Wilesden Green and Kilburn Undergrounds.Staff are friedly when contacted.

Disliked: Loud. My room was on ground floor right by the entrance. You can hear every person walking in or out. Also the fridge in the room is quite loud. Heaters were not really on when I wanted them to be on, it was a bit chilly at night, draft coming from the window. Also the curtains did not close properly, so the street lights were a bit of a nuisance. No hairdrier was provided, this was also inconvenient. Staff suggested I should by a cheap one down the road. Not very environmentally friendly is it?

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability