HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel London Hostel

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 65%

Location 90%

Safety 74%

Staff 70%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Housekeeping
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.51USD
  • Towel 6.28USD

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].


We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 65%

Location 90%

Safety 74%

Staff 70%

Value 69%

Showing 81-90 of 111 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic location, right near Russell Square Tube & many places to eat/drink within walking distance! The beds were very comfortable & loved the privacy curtains/screens at end of the beds. Good clean linen on arrival & great kitchen facilities, also communal area was great with 2 televisions to choose from & plenty of places to sit - either comfy sofas or at a table to use the great FREE WiFi! The whole place was very clean even the toilets, which is not easy with so many guests, & we felt very safe here as security was excellent. Also being able to book tickets to local attractions & save money with QJump at reception was an added unexpected bonus. All in all would highly recommend & can't wait to book our next trip to London now with the knowledge of knowing we have an affordable place to stay in the heart of London. Can't wait to see Smart after its current renovations are finished!!

Disliked: Nothing, it was all we had hoped for to make our trip enjoyable!

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The atmosphere and the people.

Disliked: That it is not possible to change water temperature while taking a shower, lack of sockets

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good and conveniently located. I liked the free breakfast and the lockers in the room.

Disliked: Please fix the toilets of the basement. It was incovenient to go all the way up to use toilets

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: No good

Disliked: Insecure

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: I love the curtains on your bed. Helps you sleep even when other guests come in really late at night and turn on the light. Check out is at 10am and as I was leaving the room, the cleaners came already in. So can't say anything negative about the cleanliness of the rooms. Breakfast is included but I didn't go for it so I could stay in bed a little longer. Lockers cost 1.50£ per night and are underneath the bed My 70 L bafpack fitted in their!

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Great price. Good location. Attractive staff. Decent beds.

Disliked: Toilets were a bit messy.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Location and the staffs.

Disliked: The cleanliness of the toilets area as well as the showers room. The noise outside your room, meaning the hall. There should be signs posting up saying 'No running or Talking in the hall'. Also Room mates should not turn on the light after 11:30 PM It wakes up other Room mates and It's disrespectful to do so. Use your phone light to get into bed.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location

Disliked: everything from the uncomfortable beds to the toilet and showers being very far from the room and lack of power points.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Hostel is very easy to find. It´s around 10 min by walk from subway. What i like was locker, which was free of charge and you dont need to use your lock, cause you can open it very simply with your card. For this card you need to pay 10 pounds which are given you back by check ou

Disliked: Rooms look like in hospital. Blue courtains and very small space. t. On reception you can buy some adapters (converter for UK electricity), but they dont borrow them. Breakfast was very simple, just toast, butter, jam and cornflakes. No ham or cheese, no eggs.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Good location and character.

Disliked: Before I choose I always make sure there is secure locker in the room so all my stuff safe. When I arrived they said have to pay for it (it wasnt say on the website to pay plus), after they said it didnt work. So I had to put in and out all the time from-to the luggage room and the receptionist was kept asking 1 pound about it. So it was pretty annoying.... I also had to sleep with my bags in my bad to keep it safe.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability