HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel London Hostel

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 70%

Location 90%

Safety 74%

Staff 73%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.64USD
  • Towel 6.60USD

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].


We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 70%

Location 90%

Safety 74%

Staff 73%

Value 73%

Showing 71-80 of 136 reviews

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There was a good wifi connection.

Disliked: In addition to the above statement (The property was poorly advertised on the front of the property, considerably dirty on the inside, and incorrect directions were given by staff to the location of my room), there was bad signage within the hostel. For example, signs leading to bathrooms were incorrect.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: cleanliness of showers/toilets and kitchen, location to GReat ormond street hospital, only 2min walk. plenty of freindly and polite staff, possibly more needed as very busy hostel.

Disliked: i lost my £10 despoit becuase i didnt check out before 10am even though i wasnt told about it.bunk beds are three high so things are quite cramped in my nine bed dorm.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It's in a great location for accesssing the tube and various sights.

Disliked: My room was new so while they had a locker for every bed, mine wasn'e on the system so I couldn't use it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Ottima la posizione, locali sempre puliti, aree comuni molto spaziose, personale disponibile. Sicuro e ben vigilato. Ottimo il rapporto qualià prezzo. Consigliato!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: near to the tube

Disliked: the bed are too smal

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: location

Disliked: not clean , breakfast is quite basic

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: average

Disliked: share room is no place to put luggage

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic location, right near Russell Square Tube & many places to eat/drink within walking distance! The beds were very comfortable & loved the privacy curtains/screens at end of the beds. Good clean linen on arrival & great kitchen facilities, also communal area was great with 2 televisions to choose from & plenty of places to sit - either comfy sofas or at a table to use the great FREE WiFi! The whole place was very clean even the toilets, which is not easy with so many guests, & we felt very safe here as security was excellent. Also being able to book tickets to local attractions & save money with QJump at reception was an added unexpected bonus. All in all would highly recommend & can't wait to book our next trip to London now with the knowledge of knowing we have an affordable place to stay in the heart of London. Can't wait to see Smart after its current renovations are finished!!

Disliked: Nothing, it was all we had hoped for to make our trip enjoyable!

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The atmosphere and the people.

Disliked: That it is not possible to change water temperature while taking a shower, lack of sockets

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good and conveniently located. I liked the free breakfast and the lockers in the room.

Disliked: Please fix the toilets of the basement. It was incovenient to go all the way up to use toilets

Check Availability