HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

69.3% Overall Rating

1177 out of 1713 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"cleanliness of showers/toilets and kitchen, location to GReat ormond street hospital, only 2min walk. plenty of freindly and polite staff, possibly more needed as very busy hostel."

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.32
  • Towel USD 8.28

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
158.37 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
39.80 USD

Hostel 82.5% 605 reviews
Generator London
29.02 USD

Hostel 89.4% 4135 reviews
St Athans Hotel
39.80 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
43.12 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Stay In Holborn Guest House
49.20 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
48.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Clink261
21.56 USD

Hostel 79.5% 950 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.3%

Overall Rating

1177 out of 1713 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
70.4%
Value
62.4%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 1162 of 1485 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Bostjan Fabjan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: breakfast only after 7:30, dirty toilets, unflexibility, 10 pounds of deposit per person

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

26 October 2012

Liked: .

Disliked: No wifi, crap breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JAMES-NICHOLAS LEE-ANGEL

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 October 2012 JAMES-NICHOLAS would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in the social areas was friendly and relaxed; helpful staff and value for money although I am always looking for cheaper deals.

Disliked: Not a dislike as such, but the atmosphere in my room was not as cosy as some of the other "Smart" hostels I have stayed in, maybe it is a combination of room layout design and the nature of the clientele, yet all round it was a good stay.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 October 2012

Liked: They charge you for everything, so many additional costs. The bathrooms were really terrible, worst I've ever seen in terms of cleanness, no soap etc. People keep coming the whole night so I woke up at least three times during the night - it was people who recently had checked in. The only good thing was the friendly staff.

Disliked: They charge you for everything, so many additional costs. The bathrooms were really terrible, worst I've ever seen in terms of cleanness, no soap etc. People keep coming the whole night so I woke up at least three times during the night - it was people who recently had checked in. The only good thing was the friendly staff.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Small room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: As previously mentioned more attention paid to security for possessions in room and while showering.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gelegen op een geweldige locatie dicht bij het centrum van Londen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and true to description

Disliked: WiFi did not work in the common area as advertised

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Stephen Kelly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012

Liked: Good location. Big kitchen though it was always very crowded.

Disliked: Bunk beds are small and enclosed. Felt like I was sleeping in a coffin. You need a map and hiking shoes to get to the showers. Seriously it's a massive trek. From our room it was down four flights of stairs and through a basement maze. I got lost on the way back and ended up in the kitchen. Very crowded and the internet is really shoddy. They charge for lockers in the room which I think is pretty dodgy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piotr Drozdek

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, friendly staff

Disliked: Average atmosphere and character, it's more like hospital not a hostel for young people.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012

Liked: Located very near Russell Square underground which is a direct line to the many attractions

Disliked: Insufficient power points in the room. 2 power sockets for a room of 9 travellers is ridiculous

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 October 2012

Liked: No

Disliked: It is not clean

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Davinia Albert Rodríguez

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 October 2012 Davinia would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Helpful staff. Efforts to keep rooms and corridors quiet despite large number of beds.

Disliked: Very small beds,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the location, the spacious kitchen and dining area, the three nice flat screen televisions, and finally how the shower room is divided into dry and wet areas.

Disliked: It annoyed me greatly that wifi only worked for about two hours over a 4 day 3 night stay. It only worked after trying to connect for an hour. I checked in on Tuesday and there was a sign saying wifi had been down since Saturday but was being upgraded on Monday. It worked on Tuesday evening. On Wednesday it failed again and a sign was posted that it would be out until Thursday evening or Friday morning. Staff acknowledged the problem but did little to help. They should have offered to look up information, provided complimentary vouchers for the in-house internet terminals, or give financial compensation. Wifi is listed as one of the facilities just like hot water and electricity. If this was not possible, I expect to be compensated. Unfortunately, this did not happen and was very inconvenient as many of the guests were there to look for jobs and arrange travel plans.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emma Cranmer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Staff - I knew id find a london hostel where the staff cracked a smile! HURRAH

Disliked: Very big and busy, and I dont think theres an age limit, i was a bit taken aback by the ages of some of the people there in terms of being by myself and not part of a travelling pack

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location...

Disliked: I had to find all the costa, starbuck etc of the area with free wi-fi because practicly the hostels didn't have wifi. I would never stay there the next time I visit London and need internet.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is okay

Disliked: Sometimes too much noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012

Liked: Checking out

Disliked: Beds are very small. To short for me to sleep comfortably being 187cm. Rooms are crampted with no real space for lugagge. The Commonroom was always full and loud with no quiet space in the entire hostel. WIFI was out of order for the entire time.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Dorm was in basement, felt like a maze to find, through so many doors. Room TINY, bunks stacked 3 high, beds are in a box. 1 powerpoint for 9 bed dorm, right at doorway so unusable. Wifi is always 'down'. Hairdyer not working in bathroom, showers press-button, lasts 10 seconds.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Callum Mill

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 October 2012 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: It's central location is excellent

Disliked: Beds and dorms are small

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Martin Weatherhead

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location close to tube station, Russell Square gardens and British Museum!! Courteous staff. Roomy common room. Liked privacy curtains around bed. Excellent value for money.

Disliked: Showers too far from my dormitory and no space in shower for towel etc so didn't use. OK for one night. Also only 2 toilets/ washbasins for 15 beds!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpfulness and friendliness of staff and location

Disliked: mixed rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

KONSTANTINOS VASILEIOU

Alone

Business / conference

23 September 2012

Liked: I liked that it was very central, very close to several universities and its price.

Disliked: I didn't like the quality of life there. Especially in the rooms. You have to sleep in something like a box and there isn't enough space in the rooms to feel comfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clinton Graves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

18 September 2012 Clinton would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is nice and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maciej Ziólkowski

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

17 September 2012 Maciej would recommend this property

Liked: It was good. I liked it.

Disliked: It was good. I liked it.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels