HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel London Hostel

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 69%

Location 90%

Safety 76%

Staff 72%

Value 72%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.60USD
  • Towel 6.51USD

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].


We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 69%

Location 90%

Safety 76%

Staff 72%

Value 72%

Showing 51-60 of 125 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Great value for money for such a central location, very clean with welcoming helpful staff, felt comfortable staying there on my own.

Disliked: Lockers could have been allocated under visitor's own bed to avoid waking someone else up.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and superb score, we are please that our excellent location and friendly staff delighted you so much. Your situation with the locker will be passed onto the relevant department to help improve locker allocation, please note that guests can ask for specific lockers when renting, to help them have ease of access to there belongings Thank you again for staying with us at Smart Hostels and we hope to see you again soon.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Close walk from tube station

Disliked: No individual lights or electric plug sockets in bed spaces. Not enough lockers in rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback, we are really proud of our central location and happy you agree. There are several plugs in each room that we ask guests to share equally, there are also free plugs in our common areas and guests are more than welcome to leave devices with our reception to charge. The number of lockers equal the number of bed, with each guest able to rent 1 locker each. Thank you again for your review and for staying at Smart Hostels.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was really friendly, they helped me woth all my issues, I loved the place. Best hostel I have ever been so far

Disliked: The door in the bathroom was quite noisy, so it was disturbing to others in the morning, but that's not a big problem )

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your time in writing your review. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thrilled by your lovely comments for our staff. Your comments will help us improve our service so your issue with the door will be passed onto the relevant department for future improvement. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope your be back again soon.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Extremely cheap, very close to the metro station, good breakfast.

Disliked: Price of the locket to keep the luggage safe.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: great value for the money!!! great location - could even walk to Covent Garden

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Safety and location

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Na

Disliked: The entry doors always stuck trying to get in, I paid for a room with a private bath and shower but when I arrived I was told that I had to move out of that room but wasn't compensated for ot


The property's response is

Hi. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. The team thought they were helping by upgrading you to a smaller room. However it is now clear to us that this did not meet with your approval. If you are not happy with something next time, please let the friendly reception team know and we will use best endeavours to help. Thanks for the feedback.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The location

Disliked: The staff at night shift were hostile and unfriendly:a) they chase customers away calling outside the main door to make them stay in the rain ratherb) in the basement rooms it is impossible to sleep in the top beds as it gets to hot in them due to the low ceiling and insufficient circulation. all three nights customers complained about this but the staff did not put the heating down - you will not be able to sleep here in summer at all (this refers to the 18-bed dorm)c) The rooms are so crowded with beds that the luggage blocks all the walkways. At night you fall and stumble over luggage bags as you try to leave or enter the room.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is fantastic ! In very center of the city and from the underground station only takes you 3 minutes !


The property's response is

Hello and thank you for your review and for rating our location so favourably. We are also very proud of our convenient and central locations, but moreover we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please like our Facebook page to receive the latest news, photos and offers. Thank you for choosing to stay with Smart Hostels, you are welcome anytime!

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything else, not clean, freezing cold because heater is broken, slow wifi, strange staff

Check Availability