HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel London

Hostel

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 71%

Location 94%

Safety 78%

Staff 72%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 3.13USD
  • Towel 7.82USD

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].


We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 71%

Location 94%

Safety 78%

Staff 72%

Value 79%

Showing 51-60 of 175 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was good, but the Russell Sq. Metro was not working in the mid mornings. Not a good choice if you luggage

Disliked: Luggage room was unlocked when arrived to retrieve mine. One employee on the phone would not acknowledge that I was waiting for over 25 min just to ask for my bags. No body at the door to check that I had a key card at mid day. And some other guest used the en-suite toilet room as a trash dump. Not easy to take a shower or use the toilet. No pillowcase means I would not sleep on the pillow.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is very good.

Disliked: It's always full of people.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Its well placed and priced, central London plus a 1 min walk to the Picadilly line, which means you can get the tube to Heathrow without any changes.

Disliked: The beds are a wee bit small, plus the ensuite is a weird cubicle thing which reminded me of a train toilet with a shower.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: They do serve a nice breakfast and there is a lot of space in the common areas which makes it easy to work or cook

Disliked: I was charged extra fees for placing my luggage in a safe room and for being offered a seif. The internet was not working and I was charged 1 pound per day for internet.The showers are activated only by pressing a button and keeping it pressed so it is basically impossible for anyone to take a decent shower. Too little toilets for so many people.Staff was not necessarily rude but they didn't do their best to help me with my problems.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: CleanGood beds

Disliked: Some of the staff arogant others really friendlyBreakfast to scrabby

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Helpful staffa

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Smelly rooms which are full of junk. Staff who are a bit homophobic and unfriendly to Europeans who wear shorts.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There was a good wifi connection.

Disliked: In addition to the above statement (The property was poorly advertised on the front of the property, considerably dirty on the inside, and incorrect directions were given by staff to the location of my room), there was bad signage within the hostel. For example, signs leading to bathrooms were incorrect.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: cleanliness of showers/toilets and kitchen, location to GReat ormond street hospital, only 2min walk. plenty of freindly and polite staff, possibly more needed as very busy hostel.

Disliked: i lost my £10 despoit becuase i didnt check out before 10am even though i wasnt told about it.bunk beds are three high so things are quite cramped in my nine bed dorm.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It's in a great location for accesssing the tube and various sights.

Disliked: My room was new so while they had a locker for every bed, mine wasn'e on the system so I couldn't use it.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability