We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

76.9% Overall Rating

1189 out of 1728 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/11/2014)

"Very well located, with breakfast and reasonable price. Bunker beds with curtains. ATM there. Staff very attencious, that booked me a cab."

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.10

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
154.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
25.97 USD

Hostel 85.9% 607 reviews
Generator London
23.53 USD

Hostel 89.0% 4143 reviews
St Athans Hotel
38.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
41.79 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Elmwood Hotel
40.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 24 reviews
Clink261
21.10 USD

Hostel 79.3% 952 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
25.97 USD

Hostel 87.5% 466 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.9%

Overall Rating

1189 out of 1728 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 1171 of 1500 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

mark Brierley-Edwards

Alone

Business / conference

24 March 2013

Liked: Nothing old needs a paint job

Disliked: Everthink and the only shoers in basement no good when on 2 and 3 floors

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013

Liked: Location was good enough.

Disliked: It was quite noisy, which made it quite difficult to have a good nights sleep.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: It was not up to standards of other hostels I've been at, in terms of cleanliness, noise level, and the rooms themselves, but it's worth the amount of money I paid to stay there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Weatherhogg

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Can't believe how brilliantly quiet it is - Thank you

Disliked: Wish we had a choice of blankets rather than duvets ... and an extra electric socket in the room would have been handy.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

13 March 2013

Liked: The location was fantastic, not far from Euston station and close to all the places I needed to be.

Disliked: The staff weren't particularly friendly and for some reason the guests had lost their manners too, which really isn't the hostels fault but they were horribly noisy until around 2am and this was on a weekday too.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Too small, There is too many people for the size of the rooms, this includes bathrooms, common rooms, kitchens and especially the bedrooms, you awake it a pool of you're own sweat, that's if you got to sleep with all the coming and going. But really I don't mean to complain because you do get, what you pay for, unless you stay on the weekend when the price rate hikes, This hostel is worth the money if you get it from 10 - 15 pounds

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013

Liked: I like the location and the beds were ok.

Disliked: It wasnt very clean and sometimes the smell of the bedroom was horrible. I also hate that my bedroom was on the third floor, so I have to go upstairs and downstairs A LOT, and the showers were in the basement!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good for the price, well located

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was incredibly good value for money! The location was excellent and the staff were all lovely.

Disliked: The only slight drawback were the showers (either really hot or really cold) but for £12 a night you can't really complain!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Francesco Disperati

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 February 2013 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: sorry too lazy to fill this

Disliked: sorry too lazy to fill this

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Matthew Sinton

Alone

City break

19 February 2013

Liked: I liked the location. A 20 minute walk from oxford street is great.

Disliked: I ended up checking out the night before I was due to leave as I just couldn't stand to stay here anymore. I've stayed in a lot of hostels but I wouldn't come here. On day two if my stay, my rucksack was stolen, only to be found in reception with someone else's luggage. The woman on reception said that maybe the cleaner removed it from my room but couldn't explain why. The ventilation was non-existent and the heating was on full all the time. On checking out, I was told that I couldn't until I'd gone all the way back to the third floor and brought them a piece of paper from my bed and the bed linen. Utterly ridiculous. It's in a good location, and it's cheap, but expect nothing more than that.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Vaibhav Bhaiya

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Wifi should be accessibles in the rooms also.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dmitry Sidorov

Alone

Business / conference

17 February 2013 Dmitry would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: social area could be extended -- they have a bar area but don't use it!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

martin miguel SANTIAGO

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013 martin miguel would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and here´s a good athmosphere..

Disliked: We had a problem with the heating one night and the staff didin´t do a thing about it...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i am living in this hostel for few weeks and i am really enjoiing my stay! I appreciate the atmosphere specially, I especially like the atmosphere thanks to the staff!

Disliked: the rooms are too small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucas Marchesi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: They have averything you need.

Disliked: the common rooms are always crawded, many times I had to wait to find a place to seat.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful. We booked first for 5 people the 6 bed room, but later we booked one more and they gave us the same room. So it was really great to have our own room. The property is a hostel, and it's OK for a hostel. We ordered a pizza and the staff also helped us to store it separetely, because you cannot store it in your room. You can also buy travelcard at the reception, which is easier than in a crowded underground station. So, if you know what a hostel is and what you should except it's definitely a good choice.

Disliked: The room was very hot, it's February and we slept with opened window. But it's not really a big problem, better than a cold room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

peter dooley

Alone

Shopping

01 February 2013 peter would recommend this property

Liked: big, spacious, common room and kitchen are effecient.

Disliked: dorm bed small. three tiered bunks. 16 or so beds, snoring like a plane preparing to take off. i did not sleep well in the hostel. atmosphere : crowds of students, italians and well disguised dregs. it had as much quietness as a football game. hoards in the common area. the hostel looked like it was once good but standards have dropped because they dont need to up them. also they check your key card, spot checks and when coming in and going out. oh ye showers are all one temp. a tiny bit too hot.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the use of the kitchen option, however there were no ovens. There is free Wi-fi and a large common area.

Disliked: The free 'breakfast' is just white bread, Kellogg's corn flakes, milk, tea and coffee.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

grace oddie

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 January 2013 grace would recommend this property

Liked: 2 mins walk from night bus stop, 1 mins walk from tube, very close to everything. never had to wait for service on reception or the bathroom. very quiet in my room despite people in the common area being drunk

Disliked: it felt really soulless with the three tier bunk beds, everything plain as plain can be, eating cornflakes or white toast with one flavour of jam. Still, for central London, I was expecting worse.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was provided. Staff was helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Lack of toilets as the hostel was packed during my stay. Room was a bit stuffy as it was fully occupied.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: horrible, non-private showers, rude staff, no free lockers, having to pay in cash - it does not cost you 3 pounds to process a credit card fee, it is just their way of avoiding paying tax

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm, free WiFi, Clean, tidy, breakfast

Disliked: Charging for use of bed lockers in group room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucia Sinska

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2013 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean,close to centre, good price , breakfast ok, nice people. Just one negative, during our trip it doesn t work heat in room.

Disliked: Room was quite small,and it wasn t there any chairs in room, and there are just showers downstairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana-Felicia Dolhan

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 January 2013 Ana-Felicia would recommend this property

Liked: its young spirit

Disliked: the shower system


See all London hostels
See all London hotels