We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

78.1% Overall Rating

1205 out of 1752 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/05/2015)

"Great value for money for such a central location, very clean with welcoming helpful staff, felt comfortable staying there on my own."

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.10
  • Towel USD 7.72

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
147.79 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
24.76 USD

Hostel 85.8% 633 reviews
Generator London
26.31 USD

Hostel 89.9% 4187 reviews
St Athans Hotel
41.47 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
48.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 4 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
43.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 28 reviews
Clink261
20.12 USD

Hostel 83.4% 967 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
27.86 USD

Hostel 87.4% 478 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

1205 out of 1752 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 1183 of 1523 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 47 | 48   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i think it's Ok for the price i've paid. it was cheap, next to the city centre, next to the underground and it has breakfast. and they try to keep everything clean.

Disliked: it doesnt have a locker in room that fit your luggage. just one locker under the bed that you have to pay for using it. the shower is terrible. you have to keep pushing the button so the water can come down.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Vedrana Kristic

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Vedrana would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great! Very close to subway and tesco market :) the price is good, the girl that works on reception (Sara) is so helpul and kind. There are computers available and internet.

Disliked: Room was to small for 15 people, small beds and it was too hot in the room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bunk beds had curtains to pull across, like railway sleeper compartments, which is a nice touch.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location!!

Disliked: Showers n toilets

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 April 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: it wasnt clean the staff was not really friendly i must say the breakfast consisted of barely anything

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No charger... there are only two chargers near the door. You can't charge your phone on your bed, you have to put it far for charging which is unsafe.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Käty Tarkpea

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2013 Käty would recommend this property

Liked: WIFI, location, privacy (curtains on the bunkbeds)

Disliked: One of the staff members made inappropriate proposals to me

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philip Wharmby

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: cerntral London location, convenient for British Museum

Disliked: Pity it was difficult to find, walked past it first time

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: , WIFI, location, privacy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

André Pinto

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 André would recommend this property

Liked: Staff muito simpático, quartos bastante agradáveis(ter cortinas nas camas é optimo), cozinha e sala de estar bastante boas. A atmosfera do hotel é optima.

Disliked: André left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: in average, The hostel is very clean. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: shower room is not convenient to use.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, reasonable place for the price

Disliked: Very bad breakfast

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

mark Brierley-Edwards

Alone

Business / conference

24 March 2013

Liked: Nothing old needs a paint job

Disliked: Everthink and the only shoers in basement no good when on 2 and 3 floors

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013

Liked: Location was good enough.

Disliked: It was quite noisy, which made it quite difficult to have a good nights sleep.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: It was not up to standards of other hostels I've been at, in terms of cleanliness, noise level, and the rooms themselves, but it's worth the amount of money I paid to stay there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Weatherhogg

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Can't believe how brilliantly quiet it is - Thank you

Disliked: Wish we had a choice of blankets rather than duvets ... and an extra electric socket in the room would have been handy.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

13 March 2013

Liked: The location was fantastic, not far from Euston station and close to all the places I needed to be.

Disliked: The staff weren't particularly friendly and for some reason the guests had lost their manners too, which really isn't the hostels fault but they were horribly noisy until around 2am and this was on a weekday too.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Too small, There is too many people for the size of the rooms, this includes bathrooms, common rooms, kitchens and especially the bedrooms, you awake it a pool of you're own sweat, that's if you got to sleep with all the coming and going. But really I don't mean to complain because you do get, what you pay for, unless you stay on the weekend when the price rate hikes, This hostel is worth the money if you get it from 10 - 15 pounds

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013

Liked: I like the location and the beds were ok.

Disliked: It wasnt very clean and sometimes the smell of the bedroom was horrible. I also hate that my bedroom was on the third floor, so I have to go upstairs and downstairs A LOT, and the showers were in the basement!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good for the price, well located

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was incredibly good value for money! The location was excellent and the staff were all lovely.

Disliked: The only slight drawback were the showers (either really hot or really cold) but for £12 a night you can't really complain!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Francesco Disperati

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 February 2013 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: sorry too lazy to fill this

Disliked: sorry too lazy to fill this

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Matthew Sinton

Alone

City break

19 February 2013

Liked: I liked the location. A 20 minute walk from oxford street is great.

Disliked: I ended up checking out the night before I was due to leave as I just couldn't stand to stay here anymore. I've stayed in a lot of hostels but I wouldn't come here. On day two if my stay, my rucksack was stolen, only to be found in reception with someone else's luggage. The woman on reception said that maybe the cleaner removed it from my room but couldn't explain why. The ventilation was non-existent and the heating was on full all the time. On checking out, I was told that I couldn't until I'd gone all the way back to the third floor and brought them a piece of paper from my bed and the bed linen. Utterly ridiculous. It's in a good location, and it's cheap, but expect nothing more than that.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Vaibhav Bhaiya

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Wifi should be accessibles in the rooms also.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dmitry Sidorov

Alone

Business / conference

17 February 2013 Dmitry would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: social area could be extended -- they have a bar area but don't use it!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels