HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel London Hostel

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 74%

Location 94%

Safety 78%

Staff 74%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Pool Table
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 3.11USD
  • Towel 7.76USD

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].


We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 74%

Location 94%

Safety 78%

Staff 74%

Value 78%

Showing 51-60 of 146 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything else, not clean, freezing cold because heater is broken, slow wifi, strange staff

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location near the British museum and the tube station. Breakfast. Great place to meet other travellers in the common (and the breakfast) room.

Disliked: Your bed is probably too small for you if you're taller than 178 cm, it was very uncomfortable to sleep here. There are bathrooms only in the basement. The room was cold. I stayed in the 18-persons dorm, there was too much noise all the time, bring earplugs.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi and thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed our central location. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests up to 5ft 10 which is taller than average, however we are looking in to extending this for the comfort of our guests! The hostel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment programme whereby, all rooms will have en-suite bathrooms when complete. We apologise for your noisy roommates, we provide complimentary earplugs to all our guests should they wish to use them.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was a good location and had private bunks with curtains. They also had a small breakfast, which was small, but a nice free addition.

Disliked: The beds are closed in, so if you are more than 6 feet, you will have trouble in the larger dorms. The common room was also a bit small for the number of the people that were in the hostel. Lights went off in the showers multiple times, wasn't sure if they were on timers because it kept happening

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very well located, with breakfast and reasonable price. Bunker beds with curtains. ATM there. Staff very attencious, that booked me a cab.

Disliked: Bunker beds with curtains but no spotlights. Showers just in the basement, which means you have to cross the main common room in your pajamas. The water is in a good temperature but the lights turn off when no one is moving, which is annoying. Breakfast equals only toast and butter/jam. milk or tea, but no coffe. I don't expect much, but I've seen better, for the same price. I stayed for one week and did not see housekeeping not a single time. Tourist infos were displayed on the wall, but I only notice them at my 4th day. The staff did not tell me anything. Ok, I checked in at 2 am, but still no one told me.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly helpful staff

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was good, but the Russell Sq. Metro was not working in the mid mornings. Not a good choice if you luggage

Disliked: Luggage room was unlocked when arrived to retrieve mine. One employee on the phone would not acknowledge that I was waiting for over 25 min just to ask for my bags. No body at the door to check that I had a key card at mid day. And some other guest used the en-suite toilet room as a trash dump. Not easy to take a shower or use the toilet. No pillowcase means I would not sleep on the pillow.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is very good.

Disliked: It's always full of people.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Its well placed and priced, central London plus a 1 min walk to the Picadilly line, which means you can get the tube to Heathrow without any changes.

Disliked: The beds are a wee bit small, plus the ensuite is a weird cubicle thing which reminded me of a train toilet with a shower.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: They do serve a nice breakfast and there is a lot of space in the common areas which makes it easy to work or cook

Disliked: I was charged extra fees for placing my luggage in a safe room and for being offered a seif. The internet was not working and I was charged 1 pound per day for internet.The showers are activated only by pressing a button and keeping it pressed so it is basically impossible for anyone to take a decent shower. Too little toilets for so many people.Staff was not necessarily rude but they didn't do their best to help me with my problems.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: CleanGood beds

Disliked: Some of the staff arogant others really friendlyBreakfast to scrabby

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability