HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

69.8% Overall Rating

1172 out of 1704 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

Joanne Roberts thinks…

"Fantastic location, right near Russell Square Tube & many places to eat/drink within walking distance! The beds were very comfortable & loved the privacy curtains/screens at end of the beds. Good…"

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.38
  • Towel USD 8.43

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
59.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
40.55 USD

Hostel 81.4% 601 reviews
Generator London
39.70 USD

Hostel 88.5% 4130 reviews
St Athans Hotel
40.55 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
63.36 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Stay In Holborn Guest House
50.13 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
50.68 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Clink261
21.96 USD

Hostel 78.9% 946 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.8%

Overall Rating

1172 out of 1704 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
72.8%
Value
65.6%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 1155 of 1476 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location!!

Disliked: Showers n toilets

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 April 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: it wasnt clean the staff was not really friendly i must say the breakfast consisted of barely anything

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No charger... there are only two chargers near the door. You can't charge your phone on your bed, you have to put it far for charging which is unsafe.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Käty Tarkpea

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2013 Käty would recommend this property

Liked: WIFI, location, privacy (curtains on the bunkbeds)

Disliked: One of the staff members made inappropriate proposals to me

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philip Wharmby

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: cerntral London location, convenient for British Museum

Disliked: Pity it was difficult to find, walked past it first time

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: , WIFI, location, privacy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

André Pinto

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 André would recommend this property

Liked: Staff muito simpático, quartos bastante agradáveis(ter cortinas nas camas é optimo), cozinha e sala de estar bastante boas. A atmosfera do hotel é optima.

Disliked: André left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: in average, The hostel is very clean. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: shower room is not convenient to use.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, reasonable place for the price

Disliked: Very bad breakfast

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

mark Brierley-Edwards

Alone

Business / conference

24 March 2013

Liked: Nothing old needs a paint job

Disliked: Everthink and the only shoers in basement no good when on 2 and 3 floors

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013

Liked: Location was good enough.

Disliked: It was quite noisy, which made it quite difficult to have a good nights sleep.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: It was not up to standards of other hostels I've been at, in terms of cleanliness, noise level, and the rooms themselves, but it's worth the amount of money I paid to stay there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Weatherhogg

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Can't believe how brilliantly quiet it is - Thank you

Disliked: Wish we had a choice of blankets rather than duvets ... and an extra electric socket in the room would have been handy.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

13 March 2013

Liked: The location was fantastic, not far from Euston station and close to all the places I needed to be.

Disliked: The staff weren't particularly friendly and for some reason the guests had lost their manners too, which really isn't the hostels fault but they were horribly noisy until around 2am and this was on a weekday too.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Too small, There is too many people for the size of the rooms, this includes bathrooms, common rooms, kitchens and especially the bedrooms, you awake it a pool of you're own sweat, that's if you got to sleep with all the coming and going. But really I don't mean to complain because you do get, what you pay for, unless you stay on the weekend when the price rate hikes, This hostel is worth the money if you get it from 10 - 15 pounds

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013

Liked: I like the location and the beds were ok.

Disliked: It wasnt very clean and sometimes the smell of the bedroom was horrible. I also hate that my bedroom was on the third floor, so I have to go upstairs and downstairs A LOT, and the showers were in the basement!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good for the price, well located

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was incredibly good value for money! The location was excellent and the staff were all lovely.

Disliked: The only slight drawback were the showers (either really hot or really cold) but for £12 a night you can't really complain!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Francesco Disperati

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 February 2013 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: sorry too lazy to fill this

Disliked: sorry too lazy to fill this

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Matthew Sinton

Alone

City break

19 February 2013

Liked: I liked the location. A 20 minute walk from oxford street is great.

Disliked: I ended up checking out the night before I was due to leave as I just couldn't stand to stay here anymore. I've stayed in a lot of hostels but I wouldn't come here. On day two if my stay, my rucksack was stolen, only to be found in reception with someone else's luggage. The woman on reception said that maybe the cleaner removed it from my room but couldn't explain why. The ventilation was non-existent and the heating was on full all the time. On checking out, I was told that I couldn't until I'd gone all the way back to the third floor and brought them a piece of paper from my bed and the bed linen. Utterly ridiculous. It's in a good location, and it's cheap, but expect nothing more than that.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Vaibhav Bhaiya

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Wifi should be accessibles in the rooms also.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dmitry Sidorov

Alone

Business / conference

17 February 2013 Dmitry would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: social area could be extended -- they have a bar area but don't use it!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

martin miguel SANTIAGO

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013 martin miguel would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and here´s a good athmosphere..

Disliked: We had a problem with the heating one night and the staff didin´t do a thing about it...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i am living in this hostel for few weeks and i am really enjoiing my stay! I appreciate the atmosphere specially, I especially like the atmosphere thanks to the staff!

Disliked: the rooms are too small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucas Marchesi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: They have averything you need.

Disliked: the common rooms are always crawded, many times I had to wait to find a place to seat.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels