HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel London Hostel

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 71%

Location 90%

Safety 77%

Staff 73%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.62USD
  • Towel 6.55USD

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].


We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 71%

Location 90%

Safety 77%

Staff 73%

Value 74%

Showing 401-136 of 136 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I like the location, because it's within walking distance to the city centre. I have to thank to the maintenance staff who let me have my breakfast one hour before the breakfast time. One of the best things were probably the beds - I liked the "triple bunkbeds" (I slept on the top) and it was very comfortable to sleep.

Disliked: I didn't like that staff couldn't do anything about people who entered the dorm in the middle of the night, turned on the light and talked loudly. I't true that I've been sleeping in a room for 24 people, but is some respect for those sleeping really too much to ask (I was woken probably ten times in one night)?

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: you can receive mail mechanic was very quick to fix the locker

Disliked: extra costs for lockers (1 pound/day) and luggage room after checking-out (2 pounds per luggage piece)should change my room after 7 days, cause the owner doesnt like people staying longer than that in the same room - ?!no possibilities to put your stuff anywhere in the room (except lockers - so in fact you HAVE TO pay for the locker to have some space)one very tiny washing-basin for six and more peoplea lot of hassle with the electronic backpackerstuff seemed often very buggedthe wi-fi is really crapbreakfast: the same marmelade- sort for 17 days!!!the cleaning-stuff seemed very bugged when I stayed in the room while they were cleaning (though i went out of their way)you couldn´t regulate the water temperature of the showersno proper washin-basins in the showersno toilets in the showers

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Do not pick this hostel since there is other options for you. Extremly bad service, no help at all and the shower room is in the basement only with HOT shower so you burn yourself! There is guards saying you are not allowed to talk outside the hostel- strange.

Disliked: Showers with BURNhot water only. Bad service in general.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A cool place to meet friendly people, it has people almost "living" there so it creates a nice atmosphere for the newcomers.

Disliked: three-stories-high beds... it might get uncomfortable if you are up there and you are afraid of heights!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: pleasant, clean and a good place for accommodation

Disliked: Wish you had a lamp in your bed so you dont need to put the main lamp on in the room.The electric contact is too close to the door that it was hard to have your telephone on charge and if you want to fix your hair it was long way from the mirror.Also some more hooks on the walls I recommend, to put up clothes or towels

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: It was close to a tube station

Disliked: Pretty much everything really though the thing that stands out most of all was 2 men walking into our room with very little notice to put down misce traps and fill in gaps. We had to make our own beds, there was a sink in our room but it wasn't drinking water, the toilets were quite a way from our room, it was really noisy and there are a 2 inch gap under our bedroom door which didn't help.Also, they didn't give any directions on how to get to the hostel which was a bit annoying.I was really disappointed to have paid £30 for one night and then have to put up with this.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's possible to choose different number of bed in a room, so it's possible to find attractive prices.

Disliked: I didn't like the locker room and the shower (too small) because they were dirty

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: warm place...nice living room...perfect place near underground...

Disliked: the staff checking u every time u want to entry!!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It is very close to the center in a calm area. WiFi and internet available - good connection. Nice staff, clear rules, TV in the common room. Showers are almost excellent - hot water, clean.

Disliked: The hostel itself was clean enough, but I stayed in a room with 24 beds and it was busy, with no place for the laguage, very hot and for that difficult to sleep well. One could also come in at any time would wake up (non intentionally) those who were sleeping.Breakfast was "plastic": the cheapest marmelade and butter. But for the price I payed it was more than good.I didn't like paying everything in advance, but I guess that is a hostel policy. And 10 pounds cash deposit...

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: location and price

Disliked: small and dirty

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability