HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

68.6% Overall Rating

1170 out of 1702 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

"Good and conveniently located. I liked the free breakfast and the lockers in the room."

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.40
  • Towel USD 8.49

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
60.39 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
40.83 USD

Hostel 81.4% 601 reviews
Generator London
47.64 USD

Hostel 87.1% 4127 reviews
St Athans Hotel
40.83 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
41.68 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Stay In Holborn Guest House
50.48 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
53.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Clink261
22.12 USD

Hostel 78.9% 946 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.6%

Overall Rating

1170 out of 1702 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
70.4%
Value
64.8%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 1154 of 1475 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was a nice place for interaction

Disliked: staff are a bit clueless when you ask them for anything seems most of them don't know much and it is very difficult for them to even give correct directions to the hostel!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013

Liked: it was cheap

Disliked: it was dirty, and it's insane that they put a 15 people dorm in the basement, the room was very hot and it was very difficult to sleep. We only stayed one night, and that was enough.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nikol Figalová

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Nikol would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay there. I felt I am 13 years again and being on the summer camp. And I loved summer camps :) It was quite clean (I think it would not be better, if there is so much people) and I felt safety there. This hostel is located on a very advantageous position-everything I wanted was pretty close. The breakfast was the same every day, but we could eat as much as we wanted. I think it would not be much better for this money (and this position).

Disliked: I did not like the windows, which could be opened only for about 20 cm, and during my stay was unusually warm weather for London, however I was very tired every night and I did not have any problem to sleep. Also the beds were quite short, but as I said-if you are tired, every problem seems smaller at the clean and comfortable bed (does not matter if it is 10 cm longer or not-and I am 193 cm tall :) )

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marek Augustynek

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: It is a well run facility with friendly and helpful staff, the breakfast was basic but adequate, having access to the kitchen any time was great for preparing your own meals, snacks or a coffee. Lounge area was almost always busy with lots of friendly people to talk to, or you could just relax and watch one of the two large screen tv's. The location is great, close to everything.

Disliked: No WiFi in rooms. WiFi was also a problem in the common room sometimes. Showers were lukewarm at best, the temperature continuously alternating from lukewarm to cold while showering which forced me to shower very quickly. Just have to harden up I guess! lol. The showers and Toilets are all over the place, took me 3 days to get used to where they were without getting lost, the place is a bit of a maze but all in all the place grew on me and I liked it there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yee Lin Gan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Yee Lin would recommend this property

Liked: It is near the station and a lot of places where we can visit

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Silvia Vazzana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Silvia would recommend this property

Liked: curtains give you lots of privacy. When you first go inside it doesn't present itself very well but after a couple of minutes you get used to. Like the pool table. I was there on my own and in the late afternoon it was very easy to meet people.

Disliked: after read the review i decided not to visit the showers. I stayed there only for one night so I didn't need to, but toilets are not that great eighter. Too small. It is not a bad hostel but I would recommend it only for short stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 15 bed dorm. I still found it easy enough to sleep through the night. The room was really well paritioned, which seemed to keep it quieter. In a more open space, the person snoring across the room would be a lot more annoying. They have internet, which is best in the computer area. The breakfast is cereal, toast, and tea, but it's there and I appreciated it. They have a left luggage room and if you arrive before check-in, you can store it there for free.

Disliked: I wish the internet signal was stronger, perhaps for use in the rooms themselves. It gets particularly sapped when a lot of people are just hanging out in the tv area. Also, the kitchen only has a range/stovetop, no oven. I saw a few people struggling to microwave a frozen pizza, where an oven would have done the trick. The only other thing that I found tiresome was the height of the doorways. As a taller person, I knocked my head into more than one. So, be careful!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 June 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dirty and not what the page on hostelbookers led us to expect

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere and helpful staff

Disliked: you had to pay for luggage storage and locker. Breakfast was HIGH on sugar

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stan van Mierlo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

27 May 2013 Stan would recommend this property

Liked: very nice location! nice staff

Disliked: it costs 2 pounds to drop your luggage in the luggageroom.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean for such old dated environment, also felt very safe place.

Disliked: Not all staff members are at the same level of customer service. Also, couldn't charge my smart phone in the room itself as simply where was no electricity socket just one with no electricity. Had to do it in living area. Would be great to have a bed lamp. It seems that Pillows and Duvets are not changed with new covers each time for new customers, only new sheets provided, other hostels do so.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

alok singhal

Alone

Business / conference

09 May 2013 alok would recommend this property

Liked: location.

Disliked: shower in basement.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013

Liked: Leaving

Disliked: Staff where rude and unhelpful. Our 20 pound deposit was kept because we checked out half an hour late. the room was to small for 9 people, with only 2 plugs and a charge for the locker.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013

Liked: Close to King's Cross/St Pancras and Euston stations

Disliked: Although the pods were a nice idea they meant the bed was quite small (I am 1.75 metres and barely fit, couldn't stretch out at all or move my arms from my side). The showers were all in the basement, which was annoying when you were on the second floor. They were also quite small and not particularly clean. Whilst there were toilets on each floor, these were unisex and nearly always at least half were blocked. Worst part was the attitude of the staff upon our arrival. There had been some confusion regarding the amount of the deposit required (per person rather than per group) and rather than explaining this civilly the memb of staff at the desk chose to raise his voice and basically state that those were the rules, so either obey or get out. When we had first arrived he also chose to ignore us for a while in favour of counting out money/speaking to other members of staff. Also, if you want to get your deposit back, make sure you keep that little slip of paper they give you! Even though they say the deposit is only for your sheets/to make sure you check out on time, if you go down without it they will refuse to refund you (as happened to the other girl staying in our dorm room). Finally, don't expect a good night's sleep. Any time someone walked along our corridor or the one above you could hear it (like loud thumping)- much noisier than any other hostel I've stayed at. Breakfast was ok, but not much- cornflakes, toast with butter and jam, and instant coffee.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Dr. A Moosani.

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013

Liked: NOTHING! Absolutely nothing.

Disliked: VERY, VERY BAD AND UNCOMFORTABLE HOSTEL! Read my justification below: 1. THE STAFFF MEMBERS, SPECIALLY THE ARAB/MIDDLE EASTERN RECEPTIONISTS AT THIS HOSTEL ARE EXTREMELY UNFRIENDLY AND UNWELCOMING. THE MALE RECEPTIONISTS AT NIGHT TIME KNOW NOTHING ABOUT BEING "GOOD WITH THE GUESTS" AND ARE GLUED ALL THE TIME WITH THE INTERNET! THEY FROWN AND FUME AT YOU WHEN YOU HAVE EVEN THE SMALLEST OF REQUESTS. VERY, VERY BAD!! THE CURRENT MALE RECEPTIONISTS AT THIS HOSTEL MUST BE REMOVED IMMEDIATELY! 2. THE TEMPERATURE OF THE LOUNGE OR THE SITTING AREA AT THIS HOSTEL IS "ALWAYS" HOT AND VERY UNCOMFORTABLE! THE WINDOWS ARE ALWAYS CLOSED AND THE AIR CONDITIONERS ARE NEVER ON, UNLESS YOU BEG AT THE RECEPTION TO ON IT. AFTER SOMETIME, THEY WILL OFF IT AGAIN FOR YOU TO SWEAT! 3. BAD LEVEL OF CLEANLINESS IN TOILETS AND THE DORM ROOMS (THE BEDS ARE DIRTY WITH DUSTY PARTICLES!). 4. WARNING: DO NOT BOOK OR STAY AT THIS HOSTEL UNLESS YOU ARE USED TO BEING TREATED LIKE A DOOR MAT BY ARROGANT AND UNPROFESSIONAL ARAB/MIDDLE EASTERN MEN, AND ALSO IF YOU CAN BEAR THE UNCOMFORTABLE HEAT AT THIS HORRIBLE HOSTEL.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Enough showers and toilets:-) Friendly receptionists. Clean beds with curtains.

Disliked: The machine to get water etc. from is out of order.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: showers only in the basement

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: showers one location leaking ceilings

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Roberts

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of people from all over the world. The included breakfast was a huge money-saver in an expensive city like London. Very secure and the staff were helpful.

Disliked: The shower facilities were down into the center of the labyrinthine complex of the hostel. It was somewhat uncomfortable to get down to and take a shower. Since there are so many people, you can get a hit or miss group in the larger dormitories, but that's not necessarily the hostel's fault.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap washing machines & dryers Big kitchen Curtains on bunk beds for privacy & to keep light out

Disliked: Horrible showers Only 1 cereal or toast with jam for breakfast Vending machines don't work No wi-fi in rooms & bad connection in common room Lots of stairs Not enough powerpoints (only 4 in 10 bed dorm)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's right in the middle of London, and was just around the corner from the conference I was attending so it was great!

Disliked: I don't think they mention that the showers are in the basement, and I was staying on the third floor so it was a real mission to get to and from the showers. The shower room could really do with being updated as well - the cubicles were small and the hairdryers were broken. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful but the others were just grumpy! Don't get your hopes up too much about breakfast... It's reall basic (they didn't even have fruit juice!)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i think it's Ok for the price i've paid. it was cheap, next to the city centre, next to the underground and it has breakfast. and they try to keep everything clean.

Disliked: it doesnt have a locker in room that fit your luggage. just one locker under the bed that you have to pay for using it. the shower is terrible. you have to keep pushing the button so the water can come down.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Vedrana Kristic

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Vedrana would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great! Very close to subway and tesco market :) the price is good, the girl that works on reception (Sara) is so helpul and kind. There are computers available and internet.

Disliked: Room was to small for 15 people, small beds and it was too hot in the room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bunk beds had curtains to pull across, like railway sleeper compartments, which is a nice touch.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location!!

Disliked: Showers n toilets


See all London hostels
See all London hotels