We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

77.3% Overall Rating

1191 out of 1730 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/12/2014)

Christopher Lukasik thinks…

"It was a good location and had private bunks with curtains. They also had a small breakfast, which was small, but a nice free addition."

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.10

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
154.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
25.97 USD

Hostel 85.9% 607 reviews
Generator London
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.5% 4144 reviews
St Athans Hotel
38.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
40.57 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Elmwood Hotel
40.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 24 reviews
Clink261
21.10 USD

Hostel 79.3% 952 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
32.05 USD

Hostel 88.0% 467 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.3%

Overall Rating

1191 out of 1730 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
74.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 1171 of 1501 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing value for money, good location

Disliked: towels and adapters expensive

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Eun kyoung Park

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013

Liked: I planed to stay here 6 nights but I deside to cancel 2 nights at the end. So, I asked the staff on 27th of Aug to cancel 2 nights of 30th and 31st (And it was 1 and half day before the nights at least) And they said yes but since now (14th Sep 2013) the cancelation hasn't been made successly eventhough I went to ask the reason on 11st sep and dublecheck for me. They keep saying that will be happen but never say till when and I fell bad and uncomfortable. If you are looking at this, PLEASE aware of this problem and solve for me. Or I have to visit you net week again and AGAIN.

Disliked: I planed to stay here 6 nights but I deside to cancel 2 nights at the end. So, I asked the staff on 27th of Aug to cancel 2 nights of 30th and 31st (And it was 1 and half day before the nights at least) And they said yes but since now (14th Sep 2013) the cancelation hasn't been made successly eventhough I went to ask the reason on 11st sep and dublecheck for me. They keep saying that will be happen but never say till when and I fell bad and uncomfortable. If you are looking at this, PLEASE aware of this problem and solve for me. Or I have to visit you net week again and AGAIN.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the prices are very moderate

Disliked: the electricity supply fluctuate sometimes

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013

Liked: LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

Disliked: AS ABOVE

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 September 2013

Liked: It was close to the tube station.

Disliked: The staff were not very friendly or helpful, the atmostphere was tense. The building had very little soundproofing I could here everything going on above me as my dormatory was in the basement, and all the people in the room were extremely noisy and inconsiderate. I would not recommend this to someone travelling alone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: All the toillets were the under repair on the last night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, easy to meet people, free wifi (if a bit erratic at times), basic kitchen facilities (cook top, microwave ovens, fridges), breakfast (basic, but there!). All I was wanting was a bed to sleep in and somewhere to cook, in a convenient location. Not a place for a luxury holiday but then it was £10 a night!

Disliked: The showers would probably wear a bit thin if I had stayed longer than 3 nights. Not enough fridge space but always possible to find somewhere. Can't use the under bed lockers unless you pay £1.50 each day and there's not much other space to put your belongings, so gets quite crowded. Takes a bit of work to get the receptionists to smile!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice venue well organised

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Zde?ka Tomisová

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2013 Zde?ka would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely its location and price. It´s fine that the breakfast is included.

Disliked: Bathrooms, there is a lot of water on the floor and you have to change in front of the other girls. Also hairdryer was broken. Room has tiny window, so even if outside was no so hot, in the room was quite hot. I can´t imagine to spend time there when is higher temperature.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2013

Liked: There was a curtain around the bed.

Disliked: It was hot, our room had more people in it than what we booked. The beds are stacked three people high which is awkward trying to climb to the top (I thought I was going to fall). The lounge downstairs was not fun to hang out in, not enough seats and also very hot. There was a large group of about 10-12 year olds always in the lounge as well as our room was full of much older people. There is no sign outside except for a paper one that the door was covering when we arrived. Had to pay extra for a locker. The basement was a maze trying to find the showers. Overall it was a bed to sleep in but that was all. Not a fun time place to stay and meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, very close to the tube station and very central in London. The price is also great for London

Disliked: Triple decker bunk beds, although they have curtains for privacy which is a great idea.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Waleed Hegazy

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Waleed would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful :-)

Disliked: Sharing the bathroom with girls

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It served our purposes nicely - was good value for a group of 8 to share a room in a central location. I could tell that the cleaners were doing their jobs well; the numerous bathroom facilities were clean and hygeinic, despite there being hundreds of

Disliked: Between our first night and our second we found our window had been engineered shut with a block of wood drilled into the frame. In a tight room with only one window and eight sleeping bodies we thought this was mean and probably contravening some health regulation. It contributed to a distinct and pungent atmosphere in the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to a underground station and pretty close to Kings Cross and St. Pancras. So it's easy to move around the town from there. Breakfast is included, and there is a selfcatering kitchen. Next to the kitchen there is a big room with tables and a corner with sofas and a TV. It's also got a internet cafe in the foye, but not for free. With the lockers, you can hire under the beds, locks on the room doors and a night guard, so no strangers walk in, it is a secure place. The curtains infront of the beds give a bit more privacy, and the backwall of the bed ensures that you don't loose anything behinde the bed.

Disliked: The beds are a bit short, with about 1,85m length. The breakfast is very basic with cornflakes, white bred, butter, jam and tea and instant coffee. There is no wifi or free internet, but an internet cafe with 50p per 30mins.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap n cheerful

Disliked: Showers not the cleanest and need place for towels etc

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Benjamin Wayne Stone

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013

Liked: i hated my experience here so much, i cannot describe it accurately. it seems absurd, but its true.

Disliked: the rooms were so hot, i felt like some board of health and safety should be informed, so that some sort of official pressure could be brought upon the hostel to force them to improve or fix those conditions. it was more than just uncomfortably hot. it was a health risk. i tried to sleep in the air conditioned lounge room, but the front desk person - doing his duty dutifully - told me that that was against the rules. i considered sleeping on the streets, exposing myself to that danger, rather than go back to that hellishly hot room and tiny bunk bed. i'm not one to exaggerate, but i've never experienced such sleeping conditions.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Pauline de Vries

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2013 Pauline would recommend this property

Liked: That it's very cheap with an amazing location.

Disliked: That it's dirty, the showers are way too hot, the hairdryers don't work and there were insects crawling on the floor of our room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was a nice place for interaction

Disliked: staff are a bit clueless when you ask them for anything seems most of them don't know much and it is very difficult for them to even give correct directions to the hostel!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013

Liked: it was cheap

Disliked: it was dirty, and it's insane that they put a 15 people dorm in the basement, the room was very hot and it was very difficult to sleep. We only stayed one night, and that was enough.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nikol Figalová

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Nikol would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay there. I felt I am 13 years again and being on the summer camp. And I loved summer camps :) It was quite clean (I think it would not be better, if there is so much people) and I felt safety there. This hostel is located on a very advantageous position-everything I wanted was pretty close. The breakfast was the same every day, but we could eat as much as we wanted. I think it would not be much better for this money (and this position).

Disliked: I did not like the windows, which could be opened only for about 20 cm, and during my stay was unusually warm weather for London, however I was very tired every night and I did not have any problem to sleep. Also the beds were quite short, but as I said-if you are tired, every problem seems smaller at the clean and comfortable bed (does not matter if it is 10 cm longer or not-and I am 193 cm tall :) )

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marek Augustynek

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: It is a well run facility with friendly and helpful staff, the breakfast was basic but adequate, having access to the kitchen any time was great for preparing your own meals, snacks or a coffee. Lounge area was almost always busy with lots of friendly people to talk to, or you could just relax and watch one of the two large screen tv's. The location is great, close to everything.

Disliked: No WiFi in rooms. WiFi was also a problem in the common room sometimes. Showers were lukewarm at best, the temperature continuously alternating from lukewarm to cold while showering which forced me to shower very quickly. Just have to harden up I guess! lol. The showers and Toilets are all over the place, took me 3 days to get used to where they were without getting lost, the place is a bit of a maze but all in all the place grew on me and I liked it there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yee Lin Gan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Yee Lin would recommend this property

Liked: It is near the station and a lot of places where we can visit

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Silvia Vazzana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Silvia would recommend this property

Liked: curtains give you lots of privacy. When you first go inside it doesn't present itself very well but after a couple of minutes you get used to. Like the pool table. I was there on my own and in the late afternoon it was very easy to meet people.

Disliked: after read the review i decided not to visit the showers. I stayed there only for one night so I didn't need to, but toilets are not that great eighter. Too small. It is not a bad hostel but I would recommend it only for short stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 15 bed dorm. I still found it easy enough to sleep through the night. The room was really well paritioned, which seemed to keep it quieter. In a more open space, the person snoring across the room would be a lot more annoying. They have internet, which is best in the computer area. The breakfast is cereal, toast, and tea, but it's there and I appreciated it. They have a left luggage room and if you arrive before check-in, you can store it there for free.

Disliked: I wish the internet signal was stronger, perhaps for use in the rooms themselves. It gets particularly sapped when a lot of people are just hanging out in the tv area. Also, the kitchen only has a range/stovetop, no oven. I saw a few people struggling to microwave a frozen pizza, where an oven would have done the trick. The only other thing that I found tiresome was the height of the doorways. As a taller person, I knocked my head into more than one. So, be careful!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 June 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dirty and not what the page on hostelbookers led us to expect


See all London hostels
See all London hotels