We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

76.3% Overall Rating

1213 out of 1764 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/06/2015)

"Very well located: 5 minutes to British museum, 10 minutes to Oxford Street, 10 mins to St. Pancras and King's Cross... All main interesting areas are within a few steps' reach! Also, the quietest 14-persons dorm I've…"

Read all Smart Russell Square Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.15
  • Towel USD 7.85

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
150.30 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
29.90 USD

Hostel 88.7% 644 reviews
Generator London
29.90 USD

Hostel 89.9% 4194 reviews
St Athans Hotel
42.18 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
49.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 4 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
52.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 28 reviews
Clink261
20.46 USD

Hostel 83.9% 970 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
34.31 USD

Hostel 87.4% 478 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.3%

Overall Rating

1213 out of 1764 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 1189 of 1535 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 47 | 48   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jessica Ng

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: pretty good location, sheets included, friendly staff

Disliked: lack of atmosphere, showers far from rooms, *very* basic breakfast, luggage storage not included

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has settled down since I first stayed there. The cleaning ladies work their patooties off.

Disliked: Having the shower in the basement is a hassle. Sometimes the rooms get VERY stuffy and people shut the windows (if you can even open them at all).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ANTHONY SMALES

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 ANTHONY would recommend this property

Liked: The bunks have curtains on them, which is a clever privacy feature that I haven't seen before, - no reading lights in them tho. Large kitchen & main communal area.

Disliked: Someone threw up in the sink, that wasn't pleasant & it sat there all night. - Not the hostel's fault tho!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast included and avaliable for 2 hours. Basic but sufficient: toast, cereal, tea and coffee. I has a dining area with lots of seating and this is where the free wifi is, which gets you out of your room. A few powerpoints scattered around the room. The bunks have curtains which is great except for the top bunk which doesn't have a curtain over the top to stop the light. This hostel is within walking distance of theatres (I've walked this solo at night as a female) and the British Museum and Libraray. One of my favourite London Hostels and I come back because of the cheap mid-week prices and great location. It's also a block away from the tube and 10 - 15 min walk from Euston - Kings Cross/St Pancras, depending on your walking speed. Half hour walk to Embankment (south) and Camden Market (north).

Disliked: Price doubles on weekends (but that is all of London). Showers are in a large block downstairs. You pay extra for bag storage (2 pounds, standard with other London Hostels) and in room lockers as well. You make your own bed (again fairly standard with the cheap hostels in London).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No privacy Noise Snoring

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna Lysakowska

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Beds had personal curtains.

Disliked: My dorm door didn't close and noone repaired it for 2 days. Wi-Fi was off for one day.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gonzalo Salinas

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 November 2013 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: Great place and location

Disliked: Gonzalo left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: too crowded, too many people staying in a room, stuffy, noisy, and room smelled like a gym locker room all the time.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniel Farman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Beds Interior

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felix Mara

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and really friendly, helpful and considerate staff.

Disliked: Felix left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very Noisey. Common lighst in dormitory are put on whever anyone enters the dorm at anytime of the night/early hours of the morning and the lockers are particularly noisey! Beds are small

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, ok for one night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

phil williams

Alone

Events / festivals

02 October 2013 phil would recommend this property

Liked: its cheap and a nice place to stay thats why i always stop there on my visits to london :)

Disliked: phil left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tarun Prem

Alone

Business / conference

27 September 2013 Tarun would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Few Charging points

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 September 2013

Liked: Great location, Pod beds are good (if a little small)

Disliked: It's a mess. The building work didn't help, but it's not kept very clean anywhere. There's a maze of unsignposted coridors, and rubbish everywhere you look.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Pablo Hinojosa Nava

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: The cheapest hostel in a very good location.

Disliked: You have to pay for things such as computers or keys for locker,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's central and pretty straightforward: a comfortable bed with the advantage of curtains for extra privacy. Simple breakfast but good and for free. For £11 in central London this is luxury

Disliked: The wifi signal wasn't too strong in the common area. The access to showers is either through the living room or a maze of corridors and stairs. Not a problem, as long as you know it in advance.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the mixture o people staying. The staff were kind and very helpful.

Disliked: Very broken sleep. People were in and out the dorms (understandibly) late at night and early in the morning.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing value for money, good location

Disliked: towels and adapters expensive

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Eun kyoung Park

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013

Liked: I planed to stay here 6 nights but I deside to cancel 2 nights at the end. So, I asked the staff on 27th of Aug to cancel 2 nights of 30th and 31st (And it was 1 and half day before the nights at least) And they said yes but since now (14th Sep 2013) the cancelation hasn't been made successly eventhough I went to ask the reason on 11st sep and dublecheck for me. They keep saying that will be happen but never say till when and I fell bad and uncomfortable. If you are looking at this, PLEASE aware of this problem and solve for me. Or I have to visit you net week again and AGAIN.

Disliked: I planed to stay here 6 nights but I deside to cancel 2 nights at the end. So, I asked the staff on 27th of Aug to cancel 2 nights of 30th and 31st (And it was 1 and half day before the nights at least) And they said yes but since now (14th Sep 2013) the cancelation hasn't been made successly eventhough I went to ask the reason on 11st sep and dublecheck for me. They keep saying that will be happen but never say till when and I fell bad and uncomfortable. If you are looking at this, PLEASE aware of this problem and solve for me. Or I have to visit you net week again and AGAIN.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the prices are very moderate

Disliked: the electricity supply fluctuate sometimes

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013

Liked: LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

Disliked: AS ABOVE

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 September 2013

Liked: It was close to the tube station.

Disliked: The staff were not very friendly or helpful, the atmostphere was tense. The building had very little soundproofing I could here everything going on above me as my dormatory was in the basement, and all the people in the room were extremely noisy and inconsiderate. I would not recommend this to someone travelling alone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: All the toillets were the under repair on the last night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, easy to meet people, free wifi (if a bit erratic at times), basic kitchen facilities (cook top, microwave ovens, fridges), breakfast (basic, but there!). All I was wanting was a bed to sleep in and somewhere to cook, in a convenient location. Not a place for a luxury holiday but then it was £10 a night!

Disliked: The showers would probably wear a bit thin if I had stayed longer than 3 nights. Not enough fridge space but always possible to find somewhere. Can't use the under bed lockers unless you pay £1.50 each day and there's not much other space to put your belongings, so gets quite crowded. Takes a bit of work to get the receptionists to smile!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels