HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel London Hostel

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 71%

Location 90%

Safety 77%

Staff 73%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.62USD
  • Towel 6.55USD

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].


We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 71%

Location 90%

Safety 77%

Staff 73%

Value 74%

Showing 31-40 of 136 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is a very gender fluid and trans friendly: mix dorms, common toilets with individual showers and WC.

Disliked: No free locker.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey,

Very happy you enjoyed our facilities. We have 2 lockers one for £1.50 and the other for £0.50, it depends which suits our guests more.

Best regards,

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location and cleaniness

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hope you'll stay with us again!!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, free breakfast, very reasonable prices!

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We hope you will stay with us again soon!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Cheap and great location.

Disliked: Too many people.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, our hostel is very big and can accommodate a lot.

Best regards,
Smart Hostels team

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: good location

Disliked: you can hear every step at night, hard to sleep

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hiya,

We apologies about the noise, we will make sure the security guard walks around more often. Also we do offer free ear plugs at reception for all our guests.

Best regards,

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was great

Disliked: Staff were not knowledgeable at all about the surrounding area.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: Close to tube lines. A fair amount of showers and a large dining area.

Disliked: There was no ventilation in the rooms and it quickly turned into a sauna in most of the rooms. The breakfast was nothing special.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great location, easy to get to everything in Central London. Safe neighborhood, safe Hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We're every happy you had a pleasant time at our hostel.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They were very flexible for checking in and storing luggage. The rooms were very clean as well.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hiya,

Very glad you enjoyed the services we provide our guests with.

Best regards,

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is fantastic. Right by the Russell Square tube station you are minutes from Piccadilly and Leicester Square. Good amounts of pubs and also grocery shops near by for eating out or eating in. Reasonably clean considering the number of people who stay there.

Disliked: Kitchen is very small and has no oven. Three high bunks can be a challenge and plugs in the rooms are limited. Lockers are below your beds but cost to hire.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,

I can assure you rooms are cleaned on a daily basis, and public areas more than 3 times a day. We are introducing new beds with build in sockets, the lockers under the bed are for £1.50 per night and the new lockers at reception are for £0.50 pence. Hopefully you will come back to see the changes we've made.

Best regards

Check Availability