HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel London Hostel

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 74%

Location 94%

Safety 78%

Staff 74%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Pool Table
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 3.14USD
  • Towel 7.85USD

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].


We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 74%

Location 94%

Safety 78%

Staff 74%

Value 78%

Showing 31-40 of 146 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great location, easy to get to everything in Central London. Safe neighborhood, safe Hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We're every happy you had a pleasant time at our hostel.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They were very flexible for checking in and storing luggage. The rooms were very clean as well.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hiya,

Very glad you enjoyed the services we provide our guests with.

Best regards,

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is fantastic. Right by the Russell Square tube station you are minutes from Piccadilly and Leicester Square. Good amounts of pubs and also grocery shops near by for eating out or eating in. Reasonably clean considering the number of people who stay there.

Disliked: Kitchen is very small and has no oven. Three high bunks can be a challenge and plugs in the rooms are limited. Lockers are below your beds but cost to hire.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,

I can assure you rooms are cleaned on a daily basis, and public areas more than 3 times a day. We are introducing new beds with build in sockets, the lockers under the bed are for £1.50 per night and the new lockers at reception are for £0.50 pence. Hopefully you will come back to see the changes we've made.

Best regards

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It didn't have a friendly feeling and its absolutely massive, old and run down

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Localização, wifi pega em todos os lugares, o banheiro no quarto compartilhado era limpo, o quarto estava um pouco quente mas tinha ventilador.

Disliked: Só duas tomadas no quarto.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and friendly staff

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very well located: 5 minutes to British museum, 10 minutes to Oxford Street, 10 mins to St. Pancras and King's Cross... All main interesting areas are within a few steps' reach! Also, the quietest 14-persons dorm I've ever slept in :) Clean, secure, just the beds are a tad small! I did not have much time to get to know the staff but they were efficient and nice enough. Overall I'm pretty satisfied! Would be useful to have showers close to the dorm but I guess you have to do with the crammed central London spaces...

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: there was very little apart from the helpful late night security that did there best to make the stay more enjoyable.

Disliked: another guest urinated in my bed while i was away and then i wasn't offered another bed or room.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It was a nice place, But I couldn't find it at furst. Adress was not clear.I asked it many times and nobody nows it. I find it at least. And than is it easy.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Excellent location, very good price

Disliked: Rooms are somewhat outdated the whole Hostel could do with having new floors put in and fresh coat of paint

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability