HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel London Hostel

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 65%

Location 90%

Safety 74%

Staff 70%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Housekeeping
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.50USD
  • Towel 6.24USD

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].


We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 65%

Location 90%

Safety 74%

Staff 70%

Value 69%

Showing 31-40 of 111 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The staffs are communicative and helpful, the room is clean, the linen is white, and more importantly, the showers and the toilets are clean.Recommendation: I used the 9 bed and 15 bed room, and I can sleep well. But if you are light sleeper, choose less bed room. Choose second or bottom bunk, because it is dark after you close the curtain (no sudden light at midnight!). Choose the window faced bed, because it will smelled less and brighter. Use the toilet in the basement, because it is private. But use the shower on the second or third floor, because it's more private than the shower in the basement (the water is hotter too!). Use second floor one for stronger flow than third floor (the shower is only temperature-adjustable).For the hostel, can you provide bidet for the toilet? I will never get accustomed to clean butt using paper :D

Disliked: Well, my first room was smelled like feet (not the hostel's fault; someone had a very bad smelled shoes). My second room (I moved because I extend my stay) was better.Some toilets were dirty, but mostly because someone threw away toilet paper everywhere, or didn't flush after doing number two. But you can find clean one next to it though.The cleaning staffs can get angry with you if you obstruct their job, but I think that's normal. They are not there to lick your butt.No bidet in the toilet >_<

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Bed curtains were nice to have.

Disliked: Unfriendly staff, showers were bad, Wifi super slow, dirty toilets even after cleaning. Mediocre breakfast as well. Paying for lockers was inconvenient.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Hostel is centrally located. The price was very good and breakfast is even included. You can check in 24 hours a day. Furthermore you can get earplugs and a map of London for free. The staff is really nice!You can even use the kitchen - Londons restaurants are very expensive so its very great to have the opportunity to prepare a meal. A supermarket is just around the corner. Also a tube station is just next to the hostel.

Disliked: If you´re a tall person, you might have some problems with the size of the bed. The kitchen was not cleaned very well when we used it in the afternoon. Maybe because every guest had to clean the stuff he used by himself afterwards and some don´t do it very well.The breakfast is ok, but they just have instant coffee and the silverware is made of plastic!

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. 24h reception is great. Free breakfast (includes white bread, marmalade, Nutella, cereals, tea and juice). The location is really good, if you aren't afraid to walk a bit you can almost walk to all of londons sights.

Disliked: The rooms are small and you have to pay extra to secure your baggage. The beds are way to short, any person taller than 1,73m (my height) would get problems. The facilities should be cleaned more properly, I'm not picky but the toilets and showers aren't really inviting.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello Melina,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we're pleased you enjoy our breakfast and location.

We will make sure the issues you raised are dealt with immediately.

Best regards,

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is a very gender fluid and trans friendly: mix dorms, common toilets with individual showers and WC.

Disliked: No free locker.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey,

Very happy you enjoyed our facilities. We have 2 lockers one for £1.50 and the other for £0.50, it depends which suits our guests more.

Best regards,

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location and cleaniness

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hope you'll stay with us again!!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, free breakfast, very reasonable prices!

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We hope you will stay with us again soon!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Cheap and great location.

Disliked: Too many people.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, our hostel is very big and can accommodate a lot.

Best regards,
Smart Hostels team

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: good location

Disliked: you can hear every step at night, hard to sleep

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hiya,

We apologies about the noise, we will make sure the security guard walks around more often. Also we do offer free ear plugs at reception for all our guests.

Best regards,

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was great

Disliked: Staff were not knowledgeable at all about the surrounding area.

Check Availability