HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel London Hostel

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 69%

Location 90%

Safety 76%

Staff 72%

Value 72%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.60USD
  • Towel 6.51USD

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].


We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 69%

Location 90%

Safety 76%

Staff 72%

Value 72%

Showing 371-125 of 125 reviews

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nothing

Disliked: please do not book this hostel!!!!!!! I did not wanna recall the memories when I stayed there. It was terrible, totally a nightmare and disaster for me. I don't know how they get such previous ranking on this website!!!!

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it was allright in the beginning. But nothing special

Disliked: Almost everything. The staff seems to be very nice and helpfull but in the end they screw you about money. They make stuff up so you have to pay for things they say you broke, but you didn't even touch them.The wifi barely worked. And the rooms were TOO hot. The beds are way to uncomfortable.

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: The most unprofessional hostel I have ever stayed at. The staff lacked communication skills and were not helpful at all. If your already staying there and you make another reservation they still make you check out the next day and recheck in just to put you in the same room. All the showers are in the basement and the toilets are disgusting. Please save your self the hassle and look else where.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Price and location...

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is the only really good point of this hostel. But even the location can be controversial, because it depends on where you would like to go! So, for covent garden, leicester square, etc. the location is really very good. For oxford street, it is not.I also liked that they had a huge common room, so you can maybe meet other travelers there.

Disliked: TINY beds. Im 1,78m and I could not fit in them! It is horrible to sleep in them. Really, if you are 1,75ish or taller, dont stay there.The rooms were soooo dirty. Not aweful, but really, they never even swipe the floor.You need to pay extra to have a locker! Then what happens is that most people leave their stuff on the floor.One lady in the reception was very friendly, and one guy also, but one blond girl (i guess she is french or whatever), she was so unfriendly, I guess she thinks that she is actually doing customers a favor, and not actually working there.For the price that I paid (9£/night), I know of MANY better places in london. For instance, the green man bestplace inn.Overall I desliked the hostel.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: good location, kitchen facilities

Disliked: small rooms

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good Location, Good Price

Disliked: Dirty! Very noisy at night as well from street, people in lobby, and people coming in and out. People can check in any time, so we had people arriving at our room at 5AM. Also have to pay more for lockers and 10 pound deposit. If you don't want sleep, this place is cheap. Mostly international people.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Finding my room was quite fun and I liked the curtains on the beds.

Disliked: nothing really.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location very central, the price and free-wifi

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice russian girls at reception. Big lounge area, good beds in the rooms. In general, pretty modern hostel. Good value for money.Hermann.

Disliked: Hell of a noise in common room and shitty wifi

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability