HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel London Hostel

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Atmosphere 61%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 66%

Location 92%

Safety 78%

Staff 79%

Value 74%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].


We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 61%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 66%

Location 92%

Safety 78%

Staff 79%

Value 74%

Showing 351-360 of 528 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This is my first time being in London. Smart Russell Square is a hostel recommended to me by my friends. So me and my girlfriend decided to spend our nights there. Honestly speaking, we really love this place so so much! Most importantly, it is clean and it is really safe and secured to stay here. Staffs clean the place all the time and security is really tide here, so it's really safe! No outsiders can enter the hostel except for the customers themselves! Overall, it's an awesome place to stay!

Disliked: Nothing to say as everything is up to my expectation!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: security

Disliked: nothing at all

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great place and location

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Lots of school groups on tour, but a nice place.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Beds

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The beds are comfier than most places as they're not the typical spring bunks. Cleaners are always working so it's a really clean and hygienic place. Great kitchen space and lots of fridges.

Disliked: Nothing is done to encourage people getting to know ech other. There are always tour groups in (mostly teenagers) that are loud and take up the space. If staying longer tan first booked you need to check out and in again and you are NEVER in the same room!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Anything was great. The Stuff was friendly and the location perfect. The Tube is near to the Hostel and the rooms been fine. I was pleased about little lights, Plugs and also Ipod Station on each bed !! The beds were comfortable.

Disliked: The only thing is that some of the Toilets were dirty.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: showers are terrible

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I was really pleased with our room. The beds are nice we had light, Plugs and Ipod stations on each bed.

Disliked: some dirty toilets.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Price & Good location (Just round the corner from Russell Square tube station) & near the British Museum, food supermarket etc. Basic breakfast but you can probably get better going to Tesco's across the road.

Disliked: The staff were really unfriendly, rude & not helpful at all, the room was extremely hot & sweaty, there was no consideration for other people staying in the room - I had some really noisy Polish guys who kept shouting/talking & peeking in to my bed, I don't mind noise but it was 4am in the morning & after a whole day's of travel u just want to sleep, the showers were really cold, & I wouldn't recommend this youth hostel at all!!!

Check Availability