We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

77.3% Overall Rating

1191 out of 1730 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/12/2014)

Christopher Lukasik thinks…

"It was a good location and had private bunks with curtains. They also had a small breakfast, which was small, but a nice free addition."

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 8.10

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
154.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
25.97 USD

Hostel 85.9% 607 reviews
Generator London
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.5% 4144 reviews
St Athans Hotel
38.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
40.57 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Elmwood Hotel
40.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 24 reviews
Clink261
21.10 USD

Hostel 79.3% 952 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
32.05 USD

Hostel 88.0% 467 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.3%

Overall Rating

1191 out of 1730 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
74.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 1171 of 1501 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jose Luis Castillo Martinez

15 September 2009 Jose Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. Good location and nice staff. The rooms are big and there is a lot of space. The bad point is that the prices shown on the web do not include VAT, you must pay a 10 pound diposit and you have to pay all the extras like the locker service.Bonito lugar. Buena localización. Con habitaciones amplias y con mucho espacio. Lo malo es que los precios mostrados no incluyen IVA, hay que pagar un depósito de 10 libras al llegar y hay que pagar todos los extras. Incluso las taquillas.

Disliked: Jose Luis left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was so close to everything.Great if want centeral location.It was quite noisy at night with people partying and arriving in room in the middle of the night to check in.Great showers all together so no waiting.Heaps of infomation and special offers about what to do.Breakfast is included very basic but well organised.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cheap place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francis Oak

12 September 2009 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: Cannot fault this place, safe, secure and good value for money. I will use it again and would recommend it.

Disliked: Francis left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good place to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 September 2009

Liked: good location. but cant even sleep due to the noise level

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Ribeiro

11 September 2009 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: I'm from Portugal. I've stayed with my girlfriend and 2 friends and we really liked the hostel!It is cheap, clean and has a wonderful location. The staff is a bit unfriendly, but they are helpful.I really recommend this Hostel for people who are doing a 3 days trip or something alike trough London!The breakfast is nice :)

Disliked: Luis left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers are inconvenient to use and the water is way too hot.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

joyce anderson

06 September 2009 joyce would recommend this property

Liked: The comments I read about the hostel prior to going to stay there,put me off staying for longer,but it was the area I wanted to be in so booked it.I found it to be very good. It was nice to be given a choice of which bed to have and curtains made it nice and private.Other comments said the showers were in the basement,but they were seperate girls from boys which was good,& I think had hair dryers too.The only drawback I can comment on was the cheap plastic cups,bowls and plates provided for the breakfast it's not a good impression to give to our overseas visiters.So bring your own mug.Also a bit sound proof on the door as people in my room were good and quiet but the noise from the others were till the early hours of the morning was not.

Disliked: joyce left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Assim Ali Shah

06 September 2009 Assim Ali would recommend this property

Liked: I like the enviornment, specially breakfast was great. I would say its really value for money.

Disliked: Assim Ali left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy walking distance to everywhere I wanted to go in the city and the London Underground. Staff was very friendly and helpful!They have a kitchen and a fridge to cook and keep your food in which can save you money. Grocery and pub nearby. You can store your bag there for £1.50 all day, even without a reservation.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: curtains accross bunk beds

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 September 2009

Liked: Nice location, in about 5 minutes of the British Museum and 10 min. of Covent Garden.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alberto Nantiat

02 September 2009 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the rooms in common as the "dining room" and the kitchen and the room of the computers. I liked the location. I liked the atmosphere.I would have preferred a wider variety of foods for the breakfast.I don't remember having read that sheets, lockers, luggage room and internet are not included in the price and have to be paid apart (but maybe i is written and I don'tremember it). Same with the deposit. But I think they are sensible conditions, I just would have preferred to know about them before.

Disliked: Alberto left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadia Inchingolo

31 August 2009 Nadia would recommend this property

Liked: it is my 2nd time here and everything was fine.Good location,clean rooms and bathrooms.I definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Nadia left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

30 August 2009

Liked: the location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Gilleen Witkowski

28 August 2009

Liked: The location is excellent, but the atmosphere is not great, especially when you arrive and they nickel and dime you for every possible thing (towels, lockers, fee for using credit card, plus you have to provide a deposit of ten pounds -- cash -- per person).

Disliked: Gilleen left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 August 2009

Liked: Very hard to find due to no signs outside of the hostel, beds are good for people under 5'7" tall, breakfast is toast or cereal, some of the staff aren't very helpful. Location is good though

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Gabrielle Logan

26 August 2009 Gabrielle would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the price, but there were just far too many people in a small small space

Disliked: Gabrielle left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

25 August 2009

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The continental breakfast was quite nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

25 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very crowded. Beds to closely packed in together. Bed's too small for anyone taller than about 5 feet. Not enough space to move around. Not enough facilities for so many people. Otherwise clean and breakfast was reasonable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

24 August 2009

Liked: The room is very hot.Showers are far from the room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, the underground is 5 minutes away. The staff is friendly and helpfull.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels