We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

78.3% Overall Rating

1230 out of 1783 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2015)

"It is a very gender fluid and trans friendly: mix dorms, common toilets with individual showers and WC."

Read all Smart Russell Square Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.09
  • Towel USD 7.71

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”]. We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
147.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
27.82 USD

Hostel 82.5% 669 reviews
Generator London
19.78 USD

Hostel 89.1% 4204 reviews
St Athans Hotel
41.42 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
45.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 6 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
38.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 29 reviews
Clink261
26.28 USD

Hostel 84.5% 973 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
22.83 USD

Hostel 87.0% 479 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.3%

Overall Rating

1230 out of 1783 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
75.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 1202 of 1554 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | … | 48 | 49   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very central. The whole place was extrememly modern and clean.Breakfast was basic ... but good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 October 2009

Liked: they just told me I need to pay 15% more, which didnt show on my on line booking confirmation. And it is weird, when I get there at noon, the other staff ask me to pay another price which was without the 15% extra...Make me feel they are not honest...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have slept in a 16 people-dorm and it wasn't very cosy...but that's so cheap !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

30 September 2009

Liked: having access to a kitchen was nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

30 September 2009

Liked: The cleaner was the worst....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

30 September 2009

Liked: Curtain

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Mariana Dias

29 September 2009 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: There should be bathrooms separate (men and woman)

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jeremy Stringer

29 September 2009 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Was stated towels provided in details but they were charged for 5.00 Stg

Disliked: Jeremy left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I found the hostel clean, the beds fairly comfortable, showers acceptable and a central location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty decent hostel. Nothing amazing, but good value and well kept.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 September 2009

Liked: Open 24 Hours so that we did not need to rush home after our night out. The comfiness of the bed. Internet access.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and easy to find, train station on the same block and its a short walk to oxford st!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 September 2009

Liked: Staff in the hostel is not much friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel. I stayed in a 20 something bed dorm (room A) and although I've stayed in many many different hostels across the world, it was my first in a dorm with more than 14 beds. The room was very spacious so you never felt like there were more than 20 people in it !The location is good too. A 3 minute walk to the nearest Tube Station. The Shakespeare's Globe Theatre and the Tate Modern are within walking distances and so is the Tower Bridge.There's a supermarket RIGHT across the street. I liked the chill out room with comfy sofas where you could check your emails with the free wifi. There's a bar downstairs which is quite nice and if you show your key card you get a 10% discount on meals.But to me, there is only one thing missing : a kitchen !! there's a microwave and some plastic knives and forks and that' it ! But I should also mention that there is free breakfast with everything you need : toasts, butter, jam, cereals, tea, coffee, hot cocoa ...I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 September 2009

Liked: Near Russell Square/ Doughty St

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Alison Smith

25 September 2009

Liked: It almost goes without saying that the location is excellent - I will give it that. Otherwise... I have probably stayed in over a hundred hostels around the world, and this one must be classed as one of the worst I've ever come across. I'd recommend it as somewhere cheap to crash in central London if you don't want to spend any of your waking hours in the hostel. However... the hostel is very cramped, the showers are cold, the kitchen is very poorly equipped, the breakfast is nasty, the lockers cost £1.50 a night and washing your clothes costs a total of £6.80.

Disliked: Alison left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Look like in a circle.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HALIL RIZA AVCI

23 September 2009 HALIL RIZA would recommend this property

Liked: I liked this place due to its close distance to the British Museum.

Disliked: HALIL RIZA left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

HALIL RIZA AVCI

23 September 2009 HALIL RIZA would recommend this property

Liked: I like the cleanliness and smiling faces of the staff of the Hostel..

Disliked: HALIL RIZA left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

22 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The environment was really cool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The only disgusting issue is it war really hot in our room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good. good curtains surrounding the beds.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

20 September 2009

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels