We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

78.3% Overall Rating

1230 out of 1783 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2015)

"It is a very gender fluid and trans friendly: mix dorms, common toilets with individual showers and WC."

Read all Smart Russell Square Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.08
  • Towel USD 7.68

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”]. We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
146.95 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
27.70 USD

Hostel 82.5% 669 reviews
Generator London
19.70 USD

Hostel 89.1% 4204 reviews
St Athans Hotel
41.24 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
45.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 6 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
42.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 29 reviews
Clink261
23.08 USD

Hostel 84.5% 973 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
22.73 USD

Hostel 87.0% 479 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.3%

Overall Rating

1230 out of 1783 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
75.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 1202 of 1554 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | … | 48 | 49   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

28 October 2009

Liked: The merely valuable things are it close to the underground and have built Custom "Pod" beds although the staffs are rude and unpolite to Chinese.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Martina Michalkova

27 October 2009 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: cheep bud very uncomfortable

Disliked: Martina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

GEORGE BOYD

27 October 2009

Liked: the location

Disliked: GEORGE left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Smart Hostel is a very nice place; the people at the desk were quite nice, and, despite the immense size of the place, they managed to remember me during the few nights I was there. The breakfast was not by any means a feast, but it was quite fine, and it was a good time and money-saver. The place was impressively clean, and I actually ran into cleaning staff very morning keeping the place spick and span. It was not too loud and I slept well. I'd certainly reccomend it to anyone else coming though London!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 October 2009

Liked: The standard of cleanliness in the room I had was poor. There were too many beds for the room. .People's belongings were strewn around and it felt very cramped. I found the storage space, such as it is, to be inadequate (too small for a medium sized-suitcase) and awkward to use - in a corner behind another bed. This may not be a reflection of the hostel as a wholeYou have to pay extra to use the bed locker and the system is cumbersome. The locker corresponding to my bunk-bed was being used by one of the other bed occupants. On the positive side, I found the chap at the front desk to be very pleasant and professional and the location is convenient to e.g. Euston Station, British Museum.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Showers were not so good, because you have to press the button every five seconds to get some water...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they need to write all additional fees and taxes on their website for the prior knowledge of prospective customers. The staff also need to improve their services.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 October 2009

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great we arrived at Heathrow and could get on the train and get off at Russell Square and walk . The only thing I wasnt impressed with we arrived at 11.00pm and didnt get our room until 12.30pm we were tired from our flight and expestected our room to be ready only complaint

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mary neave

19 October 2009 mary would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were very comfortable ,every where clean ,and it was ideally located for central London

Disliked: mary left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

19 October 2009

Liked: the location is good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Telma Oliveira

18 October 2009 Telma would recommend this property

Liked: The only thing I actually liked about this property was the price and location!

Disliked: Telma left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.However, is it legal for the property not to include sales tax in the prices it advertises in the website? It is explained in the small print but...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

14 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, however the rooms are a bit basic. Good they provided breakfast, the eating lounge too crowded and not enough chairs/tables. The staff helpful and we were lucku to leave the luggage in the room. Three floor beds - not the best choice, be careful with 6 mixed dorms. No shower - I gave up.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: relaxing atmospfere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Franziska Palm

11 October 2009

Liked: I didn't feel like this is a new hostel. its not very clean. the rooms are tooo small. i stayed in a 9-people-room and there is not enough space for all the rucksacks and stuff of the people.the staff isnt very competent. i asked some questions about how to get to airport and stuff like that and they didn't know.and a really bad thing: neither the internet on the 3 computers nor the wi-fi was working.i wont come back!a positive thing are the lockers-but they do cost extra. 1,50 each day.

Disliked: Franziska left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JACKIE TAN

11 October 2009 JACKIE would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. The room for 24 is just too cramped but overall. Good place to stay and very near the Russel Square Underground to get around the city.

Disliked: JACKIE left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - the shower- the location- the included breakfast and bedlinens

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Thomas GUILLARD

09 October 2009 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoy student spirit, the student room with modern tvs. that's it !

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Matjaz Martincic

07 October 2009 Matjaz would recommend this property

Liked: Nice value for money, good location. Great people.

Disliked: Matjaz left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Juan Manuel Rodriguez Segarra

06 October 2009 Juan Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: good location.

Disliked: Juan Manuel left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well, had some rather noisy and pretty unfriendly/rude dorm mates, but i guess its not the hostel's fault. Otherwise its pretty good value on your money, i'd consider it specially if you're in a moderately sized group.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

04 October 2009

Liked: The location is great, right next to a tube station and about a 20 min walk from a great street with bars, clubs and good shopping.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kit Fu Siu

04 October 2009 Kit Fu would recommend this property

Liked: good location and room cleanliness, not enough electricity sockets in rooms, it would be better if the water temp. could be adjust in bathroom

Disliked: Kit Fu left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels