We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square Hostel

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

78.4% Overall Rating

1214 out of 1765 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/06/2015)

"Very well located: 5 minutes to British museum, 10 minutes to Oxford Street, 10 mins to St. Pancras and King's Cross... All main interesting areas are within a few steps' reach! Also, the quietest 14-persons dorm I've…"

Read all Smart Russell Square Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.13
  • Towel USD 7.82

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
149.59 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
29.76 USD

Hostel 89.4% 647 reviews
Generator London
36.03 USD

Hostel 89.9% 4194 reviews
St Athans Hotel
41.98 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
49.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 4 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
52.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 29 reviews
Clink261
20.36 USD

Hostel 84.8% 971 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
39.16 USD

Hostel 87.4% 478 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

1214 out of 1765 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 1190 of 1536 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | … | 47 | 48   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.However, is it legal for the property not to include sales tax in the prices it advertises in the website? It is explained in the small print but...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

14 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, however the rooms are a bit basic. Good they provided breakfast, the eating lounge too crowded and not enough chairs/tables. The staff helpful and we were lucku to leave the luggage in the room. Three floor beds - not the best choice, be careful with 6 mixed dorms. No shower - I gave up.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: relaxing atmospfere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Franziska Palm

11 October 2009

Liked: I didn't feel like this is a new hostel. its not very clean. the rooms are tooo small. i stayed in a 9-people-room and there is not enough space for all the rucksacks and stuff of the people.the staff isnt very competent. i asked some questions about how to get to airport and stuff like that and they didn't know.and a really bad thing: neither the internet on the 3 computers nor the wi-fi was working.i wont come back!a positive thing are the lockers-but they do cost extra. 1,50 each day.

Disliked: Franziska left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JACKIE TAN

11 October 2009 JACKIE would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. The room for 24 is just too cramped but overall. Good place to stay and very near the Russel Square Underground to get around the city.

Disliked: JACKIE left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - the shower- the location- the included breakfast and bedlinens

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Thomas GUILLARD

09 October 2009 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoy student spirit, the student room with modern tvs. that's it !

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Matjaz Martincic

07 October 2009 Matjaz would recommend this property

Liked: Nice value for money, good location. Great people.

Disliked: Matjaz left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Juan Manuel Rodriguez Segarra

06 October 2009 Juan Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: good location.

Disliked: Juan Manuel left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well, had some rather noisy and pretty unfriendly/rude dorm mates, but i guess its not the hostel's fault. Otherwise its pretty good value on your money, i'd consider it specially if you're in a moderately sized group.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

04 October 2009

Liked: The location is great, right next to a tube station and about a 20 min walk from a great street with bars, clubs and good shopping.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kit Fu Siu

04 October 2009 Kit Fu would recommend this property

Liked: good location and room cleanliness, not enough electricity sockets in rooms, it would be better if the water temp. could be adjust in bathroom

Disliked: Kit Fu left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very central. The whole place was extrememly modern and clean.Breakfast was basic ... but good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 October 2009

Liked: they just told me I need to pay 15% more, which didnt show on my on line booking confirmation. And it is weird, when I get there at noon, the other staff ask me to pay another price which was without the 15% extra...Make me feel they are not honest...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have slept in a 16 people-dorm and it wasn't very cosy...but that's so cheap !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

30 September 2009

Liked: having access to a kitchen was nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

30 September 2009

Liked: The cleaner was the worst....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

30 September 2009

Liked: Curtain

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Mariana Dias

29 September 2009 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: There should be bathrooms separate (men and woman)

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jeremy Stringer

29 September 2009 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Was stated towels provided in details but they were charged for 5.00 Stg

Disliked: Jeremy left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I found the hostel clean, the beds fairly comfortable, showers acceptable and a central location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty decent hostel. Nothing amazing, but good value and well kept.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 September 2009

Liked: Open 24 Hours so that we did not need to rush home after our night out. The comfiness of the bed. Internet access.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels