We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

78.1% Overall Rating

1205 out of 1752 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/05/2015)

"Great value for money for such a central location, very clean with welcoming helpful staff, felt comfortable staying there on my own."

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.08
  • Towel USD 7.69

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
147.26 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
24.67 USD

Hostel 85.8% 633 reviews
Generator London
26.21 USD

Hostel 89.7% 4188 reviews
St Athans Hotel
41.33 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
48.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 4 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
43.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 28 reviews
Clink261
21.59 USD

Hostel 83.4% 967 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
27.76 USD

Hostel 87.4% 478 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

1205 out of 1752 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 1183 of 1523 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | … | 47 | 48   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Matjaz Martincic

07 October 2009 Matjaz would recommend this property

Liked: Nice value for money, good location. Great people.

Disliked: Matjaz left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Juan Manuel Rodriguez Segarra

06 October 2009 Juan Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: good location.

Disliked: Juan Manuel left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well, had some rather noisy and pretty unfriendly/rude dorm mates, but i guess its not the hostel's fault. Otherwise its pretty good value on your money, i'd consider it specially if you're in a moderately sized group.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

04 October 2009

Liked: The location is great, right next to a tube station and about a 20 min walk from a great street with bars, clubs and good shopping.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kit Fu Siu

04 October 2009 Kit Fu would recommend this property

Liked: good location and room cleanliness, not enough electricity sockets in rooms, it would be better if the water temp. could be adjust in bathroom

Disliked: Kit Fu left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very central. The whole place was extrememly modern and clean.Breakfast was basic ... but good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 October 2009

Liked: they just told me I need to pay 15% more, which didnt show on my on line booking confirmation. And it is weird, when I get there at noon, the other staff ask me to pay another price which was without the 15% extra...Make me feel they are not honest...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have slept in a 16 people-dorm and it wasn't very cosy...but that's so cheap !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

30 September 2009

Liked: having access to a kitchen was nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

30 September 2009

Liked: The cleaner was the worst....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

30 September 2009

Liked: Curtain

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Mariana Dias

29 September 2009 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: There should be bathrooms separate (men and woman)

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jeremy Stringer

29 September 2009 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Was stated towels provided in details but they were charged for 5.00 Stg

Disliked: Jeremy left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I found the hostel clean, the beds fairly comfortable, showers acceptable and a central location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty decent hostel. Nothing amazing, but good value and well kept.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 September 2009

Liked: Open 24 Hours so that we did not need to rush home after our night out. The comfiness of the bed. Internet access.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and easy to find, train station on the same block and its a short walk to oxford st!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 September 2009

Liked: Staff in the hostel is not much friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel. I stayed in a 20 something bed dorm (room A) and although I've stayed in many many different hostels across the world, it was my first in a dorm with more than 14 beds. The room was very spacious so you never felt like there were more than 20 people in it !The location is good too. A 3 minute walk to the nearest Tube Station. The Shakespeare's Globe Theatre and the Tate Modern are within walking distances and so is the Tower Bridge.There's a supermarket RIGHT across the street. I liked the chill out room with comfy sofas where you could check your emails with the free wifi. There's a bar downstairs which is quite nice and if you show your key card you get a 10% discount on meals.But to me, there is only one thing missing : a kitchen !! there's a microwave and some plastic knives and forks and that' it ! But I should also mention that there is free breakfast with everything you need : toasts, butter, jam, cereals, tea, coffee, hot cocoa ...I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 September 2009

Liked: Near Russell Square/ Doughty St

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Alison Smith

25 September 2009

Liked: It almost goes without saying that the location is excellent - I will give it that. Otherwise... I have probably stayed in over a hundred hostels around the world, and this one must be classed as one of the worst I've ever come across. I'd recommend it as somewhere cheap to crash in central London if you don't want to spend any of your waking hours in the hostel. However... the hostel is very cramped, the showers are cold, the kitchen is very poorly equipped, the breakfast is nasty, the lockers cost £1.50 a night and washing your clothes costs a total of £6.80.

Disliked: Alison left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Look like in a circle.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels