HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

71.0% Overall Rating

1178 out of 1714 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"cleanliness of showers/toilets and kitchen, location to GReat ormond street hospital, only 2min walk. plenty of freindly and polite staff, possibly more needed as very busy hostel."

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.32
  • Towel USD 8.28

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
158.48 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
39.83 USD

Hostel 82.5% 605 reviews
Generator London
27.38 USD

Hostel 88.9% 4136 reviews
St Athans Hotel
39.83 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
43.15 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Stay In Holborn Guest House
49.24 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
43.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Clink261
21.57 USD

Hostel 79.5% 950 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.0%

Overall Rating

1178 out of 1714 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
73.6%
Value
64.0%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 1162 of 1485 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ANTHONY SMALES

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 ANTHONY would recommend this property

Liked: The bunks have curtains on them, which is a clever privacy feature that I haven't seen before, - no reading lights in them tho. Large kitchen & main communal area.

Disliked: Someone threw up in the sink, that wasn't pleasant & it sat there all night. - Not the hostel's fault tho!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast included and avaliable for 2 hours. Basic but sufficient: toast, cereal, tea and coffee. I has a dining area with lots of seating and this is where the free wifi is, which gets you out of your room. A few powerpoints scattered around the room. The bunks have curtains which is great except for the top bunk which doesn't have a curtain over the top to stop the light. This hostel is within walking distance of theatres (I've walked this solo at night as a female) and the British Museum and Libraray. One of my favourite London Hostels and I come back because of the cheap mid-week prices and great location. It's also a block away from the tube and 10 - 15 min walk from Euston - Kings Cross/St Pancras, depending on your walking speed. Half hour walk to Embankment (south) and Camden Market (north).

Disliked: Price doubles on weekends (but that is all of London). Showers are in a large block downstairs. You pay extra for bag storage (2 pounds, standard with other London Hostels) and in room lockers as well. You make your own bed (again fairly standard with the cheap hostels in London).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No privacy Noise Snoring

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna Lysakowska

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Beds had personal curtains.

Disliked: My dorm door didn't close and noone repaired it for 2 days. Wi-Fi was off for one day.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gonzalo Salinas

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 November 2013 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: Great place and location

Disliked: Gonzalo left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: too crowded, too many people staying in a room, stuffy, noisy, and room smelled like a gym locker room all the time.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniel Farman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Beds Interior

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felix Mara

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and really friendly, helpful and considerate staff.

Disliked: Felix left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very Noisey. Common lighst in dormitory are put on whever anyone enters the dorm at anytime of the night/early hours of the morning and the lockers are particularly noisey! Beds are small

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, ok for one night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

phil williams

Alone

Events / festivals

02 October 2013 phil would recommend this property

Liked: its cheap and a nice place to stay thats why i always stop there on my visits to london :)

Disliked: phil left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tarun Prem

Alone

Business / conference

27 September 2013 Tarun would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Few Charging points

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 September 2013

Liked: Great location, Pod beds are good (if a little small)

Disliked: It's a mess. The building work didn't help, but it's not kept very clean anywhere. There's a maze of unsignposted coridors, and rubbish everywhere you look.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Pablo Hinojosa Nava

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: The cheapest hostel in a very good location.

Disliked: You have to pay for things such as computers or keys for locker,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's central and pretty straightforward: a comfortable bed with the advantage of curtains for extra privacy. Simple breakfast but good and for free. For £11 in central London this is luxury

Disliked: The wifi signal wasn't too strong in the common area. The access to showers is either through the living room or a maze of corridors and stairs. Not a problem, as long as you know it in advance.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the mixture o people staying. The staff were kind and very helpful.

Disliked: Very broken sleep. People were in and out the dorms (understandibly) late at night and early in the morning.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing value for money, good location

Disliked: towels and adapters expensive

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Eun kyoung Park

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013

Liked: I planed to stay here 6 nights but I deside to cancel 2 nights at the end. So, I asked the staff on 27th of Aug to cancel 2 nights of 30th and 31st (And it was 1 and half day before the nights at least) And they said yes but since now (14th Sep 2013) the cancelation hasn't been made successly eventhough I went to ask the reason on 11st sep and dublecheck for me. They keep saying that will be happen but never say till when and I fell bad and uncomfortable. If you are looking at this, PLEASE aware of this problem and solve for me. Or I have to visit you net week again and AGAIN.

Disliked: I planed to stay here 6 nights but I deside to cancel 2 nights at the end. So, I asked the staff on 27th of Aug to cancel 2 nights of 30th and 31st (And it was 1 and half day before the nights at least) And they said yes but since now (14th Sep 2013) the cancelation hasn't been made successly eventhough I went to ask the reason on 11st sep and dublecheck for me. They keep saying that will be happen but never say till when and I fell bad and uncomfortable. If you are looking at this, PLEASE aware of this problem and solve for me. Or I have to visit you net week again and AGAIN.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the prices are very moderate

Disliked: the electricity supply fluctuate sometimes

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013

Liked: LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

Disliked: AS ABOVE

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 September 2013

Liked: It was close to the tube station.

Disliked: The staff were not very friendly or helpful, the atmostphere was tense. The building had very little soundproofing I could here everything going on above me as my dormatory was in the basement, and all the people in the room were extremely noisy and inconsiderate. I would not recommend this to someone travelling alone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: All the toillets were the under repair on the last night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, easy to meet people, free wifi (if a bit erratic at times), basic kitchen facilities (cook top, microwave ovens, fridges), breakfast (basic, but there!). All I was wanting was a bed to sleep in and somewhere to cook, in a convenient location. Not a place for a luxury holiday but then it was £10 a night!

Disliked: The showers would probably wear a bit thin if I had stayed longer than 3 nights. Not enough fridge space but always possible to find somewhere. Can't use the under bed lockers unless you pay £1.50 each day and there's not much other space to put your belongings, so gets quite crowded. Takes a bit of work to get the receptionists to smile!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice venue well organised

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Zde?ka Tomisová

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2013 Zde?ka would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely its location and price. It´s fine that the breakfast is included.

Disliked: Bathrooms, there is a lot of water on the floor and you have to change in front of the other girls. Also hairdryer was broken. Room has tiny window, so even if outside was no so hot, in the room was quite hot. I can´t imagine to spend time there when is higher temperature.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels