HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Smart Russell Square

Hostel | 71-72 Guilford Street., London, England WC1N 1DF

68.6% Overall Rating

1170 out of 1702 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

"Good and conveniently located. I liked the free breakfast and the lockers in the room."

Read all Smart Russell Square reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.40
  • Towel USD 8.49

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We require guests under 12 to be booked into private accommodation. If booking a dormitory for a family, please email us before booking to guarantee private placement is available. BOOKINGS OF 10 OR MORE PEOPLE are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with The Group Bookings Department to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per HostelBookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
60.39 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
40.83 USD

Hostel 81.4% 601 reviews
Generator London
47.64 USD

Hostel 87.1% 4127 reviews
St Athans Hotel
40.83 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fairway Hotel
41.68 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Stay In Holborn Guest House
50.48 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
53.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Clink261
22.12 USD

Hostel 78.9% 946 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.6%

Overall Rating

1170 out of 1702 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Russell Square'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
70.4%
Value
64.8%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 1154 of 1475 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 46 | 47   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very Noisey. Common lighst in dormitory are put on whever anyone enters the dorm at anytime of the night/early hours of the morning and the lockers are particularly noisey! Beds are small

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, ok for one night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

phil williams

Alone

Events / festivals

02 October 2013 phil would recommend this property

Liked: its cheap and a nice place to stay thats why i always stop there on my visits to london :)

Disliked: phil left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tarun Prem

Alone

Business / conference

27 September 2013 Tarun would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Few Charging points

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 September 2013

Liked: Great location, Pod beds are good (if a little small)

Disliked: It's a mess. The building work didn't help, but it's not kept very clean anywhere. There's a maze of unsignposted coridors, and rubbish everywhere you look.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Pablo Hinojosa Nava

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: The cheapest hostel in a very good location.

Disliked: You have to pay for things such as computers or keys for locker,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's central and pretty straightforward: a comfortable bed with the advantage of curtains for extra privacy. Simple breakfast but good and for free. For £11 in central London this is luxury

Disliked: The wifi signal wasn't too strong in the common area. The access to showers is either through the living room or a maze of corridors and stairs. Not a problem, as long as you know it in advance.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the mixture o people staying. The staff were kind and very helpful.

Disliked: Very broken sleep. People were in and out the dorms (understandibly) late at night and early in the morning.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing value for money, good location

Disliked: towels and adapters expensive

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Eun kyoung Park

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013

Liked: I planed to stay here 6 nights but I deside to cancel 2 nights at the end. So, I asked the staff on 27th of Aug to cancel 2 nights of 30th and 31st (And it was 1 and half day before the nights at least) And they said yes but since now (14th Sep 2013) the cancelation hasn't been made successly eventhough I went to ask the reason on 11st sep and dublecheck for me. They keep saying that will be happen but never say till when and I fell bad and uncomfortable. If you are looking at this, PLEASE aware of this problem and solve for me. Or I have to visit you net week again and AGAIN.

Disliked: I planed to stay here 6 nights but I deside to cancel 2 nights at the end. So, I asked the staff on 27th of Aug to cancel 2 nights of 30th and 31st (And it was 1 and half day before the nights at least) And they said yes but since now (14th Sep 2013) the cancelation hasn't been made successly eventhough I went to ask the reason on 11st sep and dublecheck for me. They keep saying that will be happen but never say till when and I fell bad and uncomfortable. If you are looking at this, PLEASE aware of this problem and solve for me. Or I have to visit you net week again and AGAIN.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the prices are very moderate

Disliked: the electricity supply fluctuate sometimes

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013

Liked: LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

Disliked: AS ABOVE

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 September 2013

Liked: It was close to the tube station.

Disliked: The staff were not very friendly or helpful, the atmostphere was tense. The building had very little soundproofing I could here everything going on above me as my dormatory was in the basement, and all the people in the room were extremely noisy and inconsiderate. I would not recommend this to someone travelling alone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: All the toillets were the under repair on the last night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, easy to meet people, free wifi (if a bit erratic at times), basic kitchen facilities (cook top, microwave ovens, fridges), breakfast (basic, but there!). All I was wanting was a bed to sleep in and somewhere to cook, in a convenient location. Not a place for a luxury holiday but then it was £10 a night!

Disliked: The showers would probably wear a bit thin if I had stayed longer than 3 nights. Not enough fridge space but always possible to find somewhere. Can't use the under bed lockers unless you pay £1.50 each day and there's not much other space to put your belongings, so gets quite crowded. Takes a bit of work to get the receptionists to smile!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice venue well organised

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Zde?ka Tomisová

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2013 Zde?ka would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely its location and price. It´s fine that the breakfast is included.

Disliked: Bathrooms, there is a lot of water on the floor and you have to change in front of the other girls. Also hairdryer was broken. Room has tiny window, so even if outside was no so hot, in the room was quite hot. I can´t imagine to spend time there when is higher temperature.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2013

Liked: There was a curtain around the bed.

Disliked: It was hot, our room had more people in it than what we booked. The beds are stacked three people high which is awkward trying to climb to the top (I thought I was going to fall). The lounge downstairs was not fun to hang out in, not enough seats and also very hot. There was a large group of about 10-12 year olds always in the lounge as well as our room was full of much older people. There is no sign outside except for a paper one that the door was covering when we arrived. Had to pay extra for a locker. The basement was a maze trying to find the showers. Overall it was a bed to sleep in but that was all. Not a fun time place to stay and meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, very close to the tube station and very central in London. The price is also great for London

Disliked: Triple decker bunk beds, although they have curtains for privacy which is a great idea.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Waleed Hegazy

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Waleed would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful :-)

Disliked: Sharing the bathroom with girls

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It served our purposes nicely - was good value for a group of 8 to share a room in a central location. I could tell that the cleaners were doing their jobs well; the numerous bathroom facilities were clean and hygeinic, despite there being hundreds of

Disliked: Between our first night and our second we found our window had been engineered shut with a block of wood drilled into the frame. In a tight room with only one window and eight sleeping bodies we thought this was mean and probably contravening some health regulation. It contributed to a distinct and pungent atmosphere in the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to a underground station and pretty close to Kings Cross and St. Pancras. So it's easy to move around the town from there. Breakfast is included, and there is a selfcatering kitchen. Next to the kitchen there is a big room with tables and a corner with sofas and a TV. It's also got a internet cafe in the foye, but not for free. With the lockers, you can hire under the beds, locks on the room doors and a night guard, so no strangers walk in, it is a secure place. The curtains infront of the beds give a bit more privacy, and the backwall of the bed ensures that you don't loose anything behinde the bed.

Disliked: The beds are a bit short, with about 1,85m length. The breakfast is very basic with cornflakes, white bred, butter, jam and tea and instant coffee. There is no wifi or free internet, but an internet cafe with 50p per 30mins.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap n cheerful

Disliked: Showers not the cleanest and need place for towels etc

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Benjamin Wayne Stone

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013

Liked: i hated my experience here so much, i cannot describe it accurately. it seems absurd, but its true.

Disliked: the rooms were so hot, i felt like some board of health and safety should be informed, so that some sort of official pressure could be brought upon the hostel to force them to improve or fix those conditions. it was more than just uncomfortably hot. it was a health risk. i tried to sleep in the air conditioned lounge room, but the front desk person - doing his duty dutifully - told me that that was against the rules. i considered sleeping on the streets, exposing myself to that danger, rather than go back to that hellishly hot room and tiny bunk bed. i'm not one to exaggerate, but i've never experienced such sleeping conditions.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Pauline de Vries

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2013 Pauline would recommend this property

Liked: That it's very cheap with an amazing location.

Disliked: That it's dirty, the showers are way too hot, the hairdryers don't work and there were insects crawling on the floor of our room.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels